BigFooty  

Upgrade your account!          

Connect with Facebook
Left Nav Register Forums Blogs Groups Tipping Betting Odds FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Closed Thread

Old 20 Feb 2008, 13:55   #31
Pawtucket Patriot
BigFooty Elite Member
BigFooty Tipping 2009

Queensland Reds, Melbourne Rebels

Tips W: (1498), O: (1309)

Re: NAB CUP RD 2 v DOGS

I wonder why Lee is not getting a run. Is he injured?
Old 20 Feb 2008, 14:42   #32
DaSawx
BigFooty Elite Member
This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Red Sox, Man U, Chi Bears

For me I'd drop Dick, Chartres and Atkinson
Old 20 Feb 2008, 14:49   #33
The Dustbin
BigFooty Senior Member
This is a Veteran user. Respect.

Liverpool

Essendon Team Selection
NAB Cup Round 2 2008, ESSENDON v. WESTERN BULLDOGS
Friday, 22 February 2008

Essendon’s squad is:

Backs: Slattery Fletcher Michael

Half-backs: Welsh Ryder Lovett-Murray

Centres: Houli Stanton Ramanauskas

Half-forwards: McVeigh Laycock Monfries

Forwards: Jetta Lucas Davey

Rucks: Hille Johnson Watson

Bench: Hooker Pears Peverill Dyson Myers Lonergan Reimers Atkinson Dick Chartres Magin

In's and out's to be confirmed.
[QUOTE=Hodge2Franklin;10213151]You may think I am being premature here but coaching is one of my fascinations in footy and for whatever reasons I saw Clarko coming and see the same with Knights.[/QUOTE]
[B][I]1st March 2008[/I][/B]
Old 20 Feb 2008, 14:51   #34
Merv
Resident Mongrel
BigFooty Tipping 2009Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Quote:

Scott Lucas will return to side this week.

Alwyn Davey's pace will be called upon this week.
Bombers face true test

Wednesday, 20 February 2008
Friday night's clash with the Western Bulldogs at the Dome should give fans a better understanding of where the Club's development is at for 2008.

An extremely young Essendon line-up ran onto Gold Coast Stadium to defeat the Lions last week but, with both teams missing key players, the win was more important as a confidence booster rather than a gauge on the season ahead.

A bigger test will come this in Friday night's NAB Cup quarterfinal blockbuster.

Matthew Knights has injected a mass of experience into his side to combat an opposition squad hit by injury but still featuring a strong line-up following their solid win in Darwin on Friday night against the Kangaroos.

He has called on Bomber favourites to rejoin the side including Dustin Fletcher, Mark McVeigh, Jobe Watson, Brent Stanton, Adam Ramanauskas, Andrew Welsh, Alwyn Davey and Scott Lucas.

It will be interesting how the Bombers adapt to the new mix of youth and experience given the way the younger players were able to gel with one another last week.

Last week, the team were playing to show what they are capable of knowing too well that Knights had given them their first real test and they would have to earn a game in the weeks to follow.

Despite the big name additions, Essendon will still maintain a strong youth presence against the Bulldogs. Rookie listed Rhys Magin will gain another opportunity to put his flair and classy skills on show, while Tayte Pears will be another one to watch after showing that, despite only being 17, he has the ability to match it with key opponents from a physicality point of view.

Get your 2008 Essendon membership here.

The Bulldogs are renowned for their leg speed but will they live up to the hype when they take on the Bombers’ emerging speed demons? Essendon have discovered their own share of pacey midfielders in recent years and when Ricky Dyson, Leroy Jetta and Alwyn Davey are let lose, they take some catching.

David Hille and Jason Laycock shaped up as an exciting ruck duo in last week’s match with the pair alternating between rucking duties and providing a tall target up forward. Hille was influential in front of goals in the absence of Lucas and could add some weight to the forward line again this week with Matthew Lloyd still watching from the sidelines.

The team’s tackling pressure and hard running was a clear highlight from last week’s performance and the Bombers will need to maintain this pressure and use it to their advantage this week or risk an assault on the scoreboard.

Essendon’s squad is:
Backs: Slattery Fletcher Michael
Half-backs: Welsh Ryder Lovett-Murray
Centres: Houli Stanton Ramanauskas
Half-forwards: McVeigh Laycock Monfries
Forwards: Jetta Lucas Davey
Rucks: Hille Johnson Watson
Bench: Hooker Pears Peverill Dyson Myers Lonergan Reimers Atkinson Dick Chartres Magin
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5585
Old 20 Feb 2008, 14:54   #35
The Dustbin
BigFooty Senior Member

Liverpool

Quote:
Essendon have discovered their own share of pacey midfielders in recent years and when Ricky Dyson, Leroy Jetta and Alwyn Davey are let lose, they take some catching.
And the so called experts think we are slow!
[QUOTE=Hodge2Franklin;10213151]You may think I am being premature here but coaching is one of my fascinations in footy and for whatever reasons I saw Clarko coming and see the same with Knights.[/QUOTE]
[B][I]1st March 2008[/I][/B]
Old 20 Feb 2008, 15:04   #36
Ryder Is God
Still Throwed
Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club MemberBigFooty Board Moderator

LA Lakers, Manchester United

Tips W: (417), O: (458)

Old 20 Feb 2008, 15:25   #37
HULK HOGAN
BigFooty Member

G'day everyone,
I'm looking to take my 4 year old son along to the footy for the first time on Friday night.
Could anyone please tell me the ticketing arrangements or is it first in best dressed?
Go Dons
Old 20 Feb 2008, 15:29   #38
DaSawx
BigFooty Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by HULK HOGAN View Post
G'day everyone,
I'm looking to take my 4 year old son along to the footy for the first time on Friday night.
Could anyone please tell me the ticketing arrangements or is it first in best dressed?
Go Dons
Yeah pretty much first in best dressed for NAB Cup games.
Old 20 Feb 2008, 15:32   #39
DonMania#5
BigFooty Senior Member
BigFooty Tipping 2009

Arsenal FC

Tips W: (1384), O: (1133)

Do we have to drop 4? Forgot how much bench players there is in the Nab Cup.
Old 20 Feb 2008, 15:34   #40
HULK HOGAN
BigFooty Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaSawx View Post
Yeah pretty much first in best dressed for NAB Cup games.
Thanks mate
Old 20 Feb 2008, 15:39   #41
DaSawx
BigFooty Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonMania#5 View Post
Do we have to drop 4? Forgot how much bench players there is in the Nab Cup.
8 on the bench
Old 20 Feb 2008, 15:54   #42
DonMania#5
BigFooty Senior Member
BigFooty Tipping 2009

Arsenal FC

Tips W: (1384), O: (1133)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaSawx View Post
8 on the bench
Ah, thanks for that.
From the article Magin and Pears are both playing which would leave Hooker, Peverill, Dyson, Myers, Lonergan, Atkinson, Reimers, Dick and Chartres to drop from.

My guess is that Hooker, Dick and Chartres get dropped.
Old 20 Feb 2008, 16:28   #43
Schmick
BigFooty Member

Quote:
Ah, thanks for that.
From the article Magin and Pears are both playing which would leave Hooker, Peverill, Dyson, Myers, Lonergan, Atkinson, Reimers, Dick and Chartres to drop from.

I'd say that'd be a pretty good guess.
Old 20 Feb 2008, 19:32   #44
Darealrath
BigFooty Elite Member

Arsenal, Pacers

Nice squad...I'm expecting a win.
Old 20 Feb 2008, 22:39   #45
smcateer
BigFooty Member

Quote:
Ah, thanks for that.

I think DD did enough to justify his inclusion this week. I reckon he'll play.

I reckon the three omissions will be Hooker, Lonergan and Chartres. Maybe the Chartres one should be hope rather than reckon.

-->