BigFooty  

Upgrade your account!          

Connect with Facebook
Left Nav Register Forums Blogs Groups Tipping Betting Odds FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Old 11 May 2008, 14:01   #1
the egg
BigFooty Member

Swapping Jumpers?

Why did they swap jumpers after the game last night? That just shows that majority of the players out their didn't even care about playing for their state and were just having a bit of fun. I can't recall in any of the other state games where they swapped their jumpers. If the DT won would they have still swapped?
Old 11 May 2008, 14:04   #2
TheBrownDog
Flogbuster
Gold BigFooty Supporters Club MemberThis is a Veteran user. Respect.BigFooty Board Moderator

Brisbane
NFL-Cowboys, MLB-Mariners
Re: Swapping Jumpers?

Made the photo with the trophy look a little silly.
TheBrownDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:07   #3
PowerKop
BigFooty Member
This is a Veteran user. Respect.

Port Adelaide

It's a tradition that has taken place throughout all state of origin games. Look at the old photos from after these games and you will see that it has always occurred.

I will excuse you though because you are a Crows supporter and have probably only been watching footy since 97/98 and probably don't know about state of origin.

Liverpool 2005 European Champions
PowerKop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:07   #4
Shane_Mag
BigFooty Member
BigFooty Tipping 2009

Port Adelaide
Adelaide United FC

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrownDog View Post
Made the photo with the trophy look a little silly.
Thats what i was thinking last night. Was nice to see them swapping jumpers. But made things kinda confusing after though with handing of the trophy and photos.
Shane_Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:11   #5
Dan26
BigFooty Legend

Quote:
Originally Posted by the egg View Post
Why did they swap jumpers after the game last night? That just shows that majority of the players out their didn't even care about playing for their state and were just having a bit of fun. I can't recall in any of the other state games where they swapped their jumpers. If the DT won would they have still swapped?
Rubbish. They used to swap jumpers after VFL Grand Finals all the time. Look at St.Kilda's Baldock in 1966.

The tradition has ceased in Grand Finals, but they used to do it all the time. The last player doing it, that I remember was Hawthorn's Ben Allan, in 1991, who donned an Eagles jumper.

So, do you think the VFL players that did it all those years ago in Grand Finals, didn't care and were just playing the GF for a "bit of fun" ?
Dan26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:13   #6
Hawks1523
BigFooty Senior Member
BigFooty Tipping 2009Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Storm, Arsenal, Cowboys, Red Wings.

It's been happening for a while, and if you watched the sunday footyshow you would have heard that at least J. Brown changed his jumper at half time so he has a vic and a dream team jumper now. Gave away his second half jumper.
2008 Hawthorn Best and Fairest. 2005 NAB Rising Star Nominee.
Hawks1523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:29   #7
doggiesin08
BigFooty Senior Member
BigFooty Tipping 2009

Bushrangers

James Kelly is the luckiest bloke in the Vic team because Daniel Kerr wasn't there he was the 1 bloke to get to keep his Vic Jumper.
doggiesin08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:37   #8
Hawks1523
BigFooty Senior Member
BigFooty Tipping 2009Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Storm, Arsenal, Cowboys, Red Wings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by doggiesin08 View Post
James Kelly is the luckiest bloke in the Vic team because Daniel Kerr wasn't there he was the 1 bloke to get to keep his Vic Jumper.
I'm sure the players all had more the one Victorian jumper, and all have one to take home with them. Just now they also have a Dream Team jumper to take too.
2008 Hawthorn Best and Fairest. 2005 NAB Rising Star Nominee.
Hawks1523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:37   #9
Gyroscope_182
BigFooty Member

All players had a spare Vic jumper as it is. Also, look at these pictures.

St Kilda (not Collingwood) celebrating the 1966 premiership

Tony Modra in the Vic guernsey celebrating with SA teammates

Dermott Brereton and Ted Whitten celebrate Vics win
Old 11 May 2008, 14:42   #10
stellation
BigFooty Member

Sydney Swans

It's a situation just made for modern day footy nerds...

Your assignment;
Consider the Dream Team vs. Big V game, in particular the swapping of jumpers at the end. Create a table showing every player from last night's game, then work out who they swapped jumpers with and add that to the table in a new column.

Now look at the data, does it show any trends? What is the percentage of players who changed jumpers with their direct opponent? What is the percentage of players who changed jumpers with a current (AFL) teammate? What is the percentage of players who changed jumpers with a former (AFL) teammate? What is the percentage of players who changed jumpers with a former (AFL) teammate? What is the percentage of players who changed jumpers with a former (non-AFL) teammate?

Bonus points for identifying the player who traveled furthest from their finishing position on the ground to swap jumpers.
stellation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:44   #11
the egg
BigFooty Member

I reckon the winning team would initiate the swap of jumpers though. I can't imagine any of the SA boys playing last night would be begging to wear a Victorian jumper....
Old 11 May 2008, 14:46   #12
stellation
BigFooty Member

Sydney Swans

Quote:
Originally Posted by the egg View Post
I reckon the winning team would initiate the swap of jumpers though. I can't imagine any of the SA boys playing last night would be begging to wear a Victorian jumper....
Adam Goodes seemed relatively happy about it
stellation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:47   #13
scout
BigFooty Member
Muston 2008Muston 2009BigFooty Tipping 2009This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Another of the old traditions gone from football.

These days the jumper sponsors pay good money to be seen on the winning team.
scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 14:47   #14
Animosity1989
BigFooty Member

Yeah it made the winning team photo at the end look a bit silly but other than that, i liked it?

it's a nice tradition that they should continue to do. Maybe after the photo though
Animosity1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2008, 15:05   #15
Spook
BigFooty Member

Claremont

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan26 View Post
Rubbish. They used to swap jumpers after VFL Grand Finals all the time. Look at St.Kilda's Baldock in 1966.

The tradition has ceased in Grand Finals, but they used to do it all the time. The last player doing it, that I remember was Hawthorn's Ben Allan, in 1991, who donned an Eagles jumper.
Ben Allen swapped with his best mate Don Pyke after belting the shit out of each other all day.
Spook is offline   Reply With Quote

-->