|
Player Expectations: Alex Rance
Quote:

Born: Oct 9, 1989
Games: 0
Height: 192cm
Weight: 88kg
|
Just wondering whether you think he'll get a game in '09 and if so what role would he play. How was his year in the vfl?
Last edited by PHX; 19 Nov 2008 at 09:19.
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 14:56
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
|
Re: Player Expectations: Alex Rance
he went allright from what ive heard and read. he had a couple of good games this year andgot named emergency a for a couple of games. i think he should get a game. if there is a injury to will/McGuane/Moore he will come in but i expect maybe one of them will go forward and rance will come in.
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 18:04
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Daylesford Bulldogs
|
I would expect no less than 8 or so games from Rance next year, unless we're having an absolute ripper and he genuinely cannot break in. But he's physically ready, and a standout at Coburg. I reckon we'll get a glimpse of a 10 year+ player next season.
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 18:08
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Apache Cat
|
I think he'll go close to playing all season either in the backline or off the wing or forward flank. The kid has class and is a running machine and they'll try and get him in the side as many times as possible this year.
I think the coaching staff will be giving games to blokes like Rance , Connors, Collins , our number 8 pick and any one basically producing the goods in the burgers and performing on a weekly basis more so this year than in the past. Common sense suggests that we can't have talented players playing 50 games in reserves before making their debut unless they are Michael Tuck.
Rance to play in between 10 -15 games for me this year maybe even more.
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 18:26
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Daylesford Bulldogs
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerTroy0055
I think he'll go close to playing all season either in the backline or off the wing or forward flank. The kid has class and is a running machine and they'll try and get him in the side as many times as possible this year.
I think the coaching staff will be giving games to blokes like Rance , Connors, Collins , our number 8 pick and any one basically producing the goods in the burgers and performing on a weekly basis more so this year than in the past. Common sense suggests that we can't have talented players playing 50 games in reserves before making their debut unless they are Michael Tuck.
Rance to play in between 10 -15 games for me this year maybe even more.
|
Lot of similarities between Andy Collins and Michael Tuck though, hey Troy?
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 18:32
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Richmond/Pittsburgh
|
Our backline is already full for next season. McGuane, Moore, Thursty, McMahon (he will be played 22 unfortunately), Newman and Tambling (see him getting a big of time down there next year). We got a few other I can't think of right now to.
Rancey isn't a forward...so wheres he going to go, not wing. We have plenty of wingers/midfields/Richo to go there.
off topic...just thinking about our midfield next year...exciting times ahead boys...Deledio, Cotchin, Foley, Coughlan, Ziebel/Hartlett, Tuck, White...
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 19:08
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
west tigers. glenelg.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by richcogs
Our backline is already full for next season. McGuane, Moore, Thursty, McMahon (he will be played 22 unfortunately), Newman and Tambling (see him getting a big of time down there next year). We got a few other I can't think of right now to.
Rancey isn't a forward...so wheres he going to go, not wing. We have plenty of wingers/midfields/Richo to go there.
off topic...just thinking about our midfield next year...exciting times ahead boys...Deledio, Cotchin, Foley, Coughlan, Ziebel/Hartlett, Tuck, White...
|
sheesh no place for rance.here we have a fantastic mover in rance a bloke who is big and has GENUINE SIZE SOMEONE AT LAST CAPABLE OF TAKING ON AND BEATING GENUINELY BIG BLOKES.
the rfc backline has there ever been a smaller backline in the league ever. moore kpp 189cm and 86kg talk about asking a bloke to play out of his weight division. moore has genuine pace and good footskills he should be turned into a running defender who is a solid negater.
thursfield 190cm and 85kg hes a stick yet we ask him to play kp.
hes our third tall option hes the one who gives a chop out to the fb chb hes the one whos the third man up to spoil.
mcguane clearly the obvious one to go is mcguane.skinny just 86 kg 190cm not what you would call the top end of the tall scale. hes a battler but a shocking kick and his decision making with ball in hand is terrible.
to me tambling should take mcmahons role at hbf hes shown he can really play in the position and hes shown as well as attack he can shut a player down unlike mcmuffin.
the other small in defense should be white his pace is ultra important.
the back line for next yr should look likethis.
fb white thursfield moore.
hb rance schulz tambling.
three running players with pace and skill and defensive attributes in moore tambling and white.
three genuine talls two with size schulz and rance. rance offers the bonus of run and carry.
i think it crazy that supporters think our backline is settled we dont have a premiership backline theres room for tons of improvement to climb the ladder we have to continually look to improve all areas of the team. in time i would like to give schutz the arse and find a genuine top notch big bodied fb.rance in two yrs will be our chb no buts no bones about it.
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 20:03
|
|
|
Please win 4 our kids
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by santa claws
sheesh no place for rance ?
mcguane clearly the obvious one to go is mcguane.skinny just 86 kg 190cm not what you would call the top end of the tall scale. hes a battler but a shocking kick and his decision making with ball in ha...
three running players with pace and skill and defensive attributes in moore tambling and white.
three genuine talls two with size schulz and rance. rance offers the bonus of run and carry.
i think it crazy that supporters think our backline is settled we dont have a premiership backline theresbones about it.
|
Of course your right a out a place for rance .
But your off the mark with mcguanne. Anyone who watched closely this year noticed a fundamental shift in his disposal and choices. To my eye he was one of the most improved by years end. I suspect you will find he has grown a couple of inches as well.
Rance will get games when his disposal ok is afl standard.
Of course there's also a chance injuries promote him as well.
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 21:15
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Aston villa
|
Quote:
sheesh no place for rance.here we have a fantastic mover in rance a bloke who is big and has GENUINE SIZE SOMEONE AT LAST CAPABLE OF TAKING ON AND BEATING GENUINELY BIG BLOKES.
the rfc backline has there ever been a smaller backline in the league ever. moore kpp 189cm and 86kg talk about asking a bloke to play out of his weight division. moore has genuine pace and good footskills he should be turned into a running defender who is a solid negater.
thursfield 190cm and 85kg hes a stick yet we ask him to play kp.
hes our third tall option hes the one who gives a chop out to the fb chb hes the one whos the third man up to spoil.
mcguane clearly the obvious one to go is mcguane.skinny just 86 kg 190cm not what you would call the top end of the tall scale. hes a battler but a shocking kick and his decision making with ball in hand is terrible.
to me tambling should take mcmahons role at hbf hes shown he can really play in the position and hes shown as well as attack he can shut a player down unlike mcmuffin.
the other small in defense should be white his pace is ultra important.
the back line for next yr should look likethis.
i think it crazy that supporters think our backline is settled we dont have a premiership backline theres room for tons of improvement to climb the ladder we have to continually look to improve all areas of the team. in time i would like to give schutz the arse and find a genuine top notch big bodied fb.rance in two yrs will be our chb no buts no bones about it.
|
your kidding arent you? youre dropping mcguane who has proven himself this year as one of our best up and coming defenders , for rance who hasnt played an AFL game and is in your side based on the potential you here/ see from others. rance cant just walk into mcguanes role and im sick of everybody basing unplayed players on hype and potential, rather than have shown that they can live up to it at afl.
|
12 Nov 2008, 22:08
|
|
|
BigFooty Apprentice
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohhhBigMalcho
your kidding arent you? youre dropping mcguane who has proven himself this year as one of our best up and coming defenders , for rance who hasnt played an AFL game and is in your side based on the potential you here/ see from others. rance cant just walk into mcguanes role and im sick of everybody basing unplayed players on hype and potential, rather than have shown that they can live up to it at afl.
|
agreed, McGuane was a ripper this year.
he's got a bit of agro in him too which is what we need
|
|
|
12 Nov 2008, 23:42
|
|
|
Not a passenger
Western Vultures (AFLTM)
|
santa_claws is probably the biggest pessimist on this board and thats saying something.
Back to Rance. I'm really unsure on what will come of his 2009. It will depend a lot on how Thursfield, McGuane and Moore are form wise and whether they stay injury free. Rance should at least debut.
|
13 Nov 2008, 05:55
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
|
Quote:
|
i dont think Schulz will start there. unless will plays on a small/medium forward. and as said above McGuane would be in our 22 at the start of the year, unless something goes wrong.
my backline.
FB. newman thursfield moore
HB. McMahon McGuane tambling
this is unless there is an injury or we get a got defender in the draft like hurley.
|
|
|
13 Nov 2008, 13:13
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
We had a pretty good run with injuries this year you don't always get that lucky, he will get plenty of chances to break into the team.
McGuane was fantastic this year anyone who reckons he doesnt deserve a spot really needs to go watch some games hes quickly becoming one of my favourite players.
He has that tuck type build very strong and lanky and he goes hard at opposition players and im not talking about that bump he did, even though i liked it, im talking about the ferocity he tackles with. I didn't see any issues with his delivery this year so im not sure why people bring this up.
|
13 Nov 2008, 13:53
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
aston villa ,melb victory
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigertiger
We had a pretty good run with injuries this year you don't always get that lucky, he will get plenty of chances to break into the team.
McGuane was fantastic this year anyone who reckons he doesnt deserve a spot really needs to go watch some games hes quickly becoming one of my favourite players.
He has that tuck type build very strong and lanky and he goes hard at opposition players and im not talking about that bump he did, even though i liked it, im talking about the ferocity he tackles with. I didn't see any issues with his delivery this year so im not sure why people bring this up.
|
Great post totally agree he's in our best 22 by a mile. When TW was asked the question at the end of the year who he thought had the developed more then he thought would so this year quickly he said Mcguane he was very suprised and happy.He does his job week in and week out with no fuss against sometimes great players and goes unnoticed.
|
|
|
13 Nov 2008, 14:07
|
|
|
BigFooty Newbie
|
no doubt mcguane has well and truly earnt his spot..ud be stupid not to rate in our top 22. love the way he goes about his footy. bit of mongrel, not scared to take some risks
back to rance, hes a strong, tall, running machine who is strong defencively. after seeing him play a couple of times for the burgers and another pre-season to build on his already massive frame and aerobic capacity i wouldnt be suprised to see him be a big part of our already exciting young backline next year in the place of shultz or mabye even play further up the ground
exciting player for the future nonetheless

|
|
|
-->
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|