Sep 28, 2004
New York City
Howdy folks.

An ex-Eagles fan (and member for the last 8 years) would like to check in to Tigerland. Not an easy decision to make, however, I made the call a while back that if the Eagles would not support their greatest player after all he had given the club, and in light of the inconsistencies regarding his penalty and the sanctions in place, then I would be finding myself a new home.

I'm not jumping ship at the convenience of their low finish this season. West Coast tanked to perfection, has rebuilt itself in 2 drafts, and will be a serious threat in the next 2-3 years. Good on them, but it's not enough to make me want to follow them.

Nor am I selecting Richmond based on the fact that they took Cousins today (no doubt that has made it easier). When it became apparent 2 months ago that West Coast would be passing on the opportunity to re-draft Cousins (in order to appease the sponsors, AFL, and with total disregard for the opinions of the supporters), I started the search for a new club.

The Tigers were a traditional club that I thought would be a good fit (I hate Carlton...re Judd... Essendon were out of the question as they had the better of the Eagles, and Collingwood just don't do it for me). They have a young list (unproven but with upside), have been starved of recent success, and are followed by a strong group of very passionate supporters. I want to see them win a flag.

I'm now going to call myself a Richmond man and can't wait to watch every Tigers game (signed up for Foxtel today). I will be grabbing a membership as soon as possible.

It feels good to be now following a club that is willing to back it's players even if that means taking a risk. The game of AFL will be better off now, thanks to Richmond.

Bring on Round 1 :eek: :D

I think the West Coast were damned if they did and damned if they didn't get rid of Ben. I hope their supporters don't take it out on the club.

But I would welcome them having a second club in Richmond :thumbsu:

Howdy folks.

An ex-Eagles fan (and member for the last 8 years) would like to check in to Tigerland. Not an easy decision to make, however, I made the call a while back that if the Eagles would not support their greatest player after all he had given the club, and in light of the inconsistencies regarding his penalty and the sanctions in place, then I would be finding myself a new home.

I'm not jumping ship at the convenience of their low finish this season. West Coast tanked to perfection, has rebuilt itself in 2 drafts, and will be a serious threat in the next 2-3 years. Good on them, but it's not enough to make me want to follow them.

Nor am I selecting Richmond based on the fact that they took Cousins today (no doubt that has made it easier). When it became apparent 2 months ago that West Coast would be passing on the opportunity to re-draft Cousins (in order to appease the sponsors, AFL, and with total disregard for the opinions of the supporters), I started the search for a new club.

The Tigers were a traditional club that I thought would be a good fit (I hate Carlton...re Judd... Essendon were out of the question as they had the better of the Eagles, and Collingwood just don't do it for me). They have a young list (unproven but with upside), have been starved of recent success, and are followed by a strong group of very passionate supporters. I want to see them win a flag.

I'm now going to call myself a Richmond man and can't wait to watch every Tigers game (signed up for Foxtel today). I will be grabbing a membership as soon as possible.

It feels good to be now following a club that is willing to back it's players even if that means taking a risk. The game of AFL will be better off now, thanks to Richmond.

welcome aboard buddy. but what are you gana do when cuz leaves us and we do something you dont agree with are you gana go club searching again.

I've had plenty of time to think about which club I wanted to support and the decision came well before Richmond's move on Cousins...today it just became official...and I guess i'm VERY lucky that he's at the club which I picked.

welcome mate! i will warn you though, dont take it to heart when we start to eat our own ;) haha nah you'll fit alright at tigerland, everyone is welcome!

Same for me Masta..been with West Coast 17 years prior to them shafting Ben..I walked for the same reason.

Ill stay with Richmond now because they were the only ones with enough guts,vision and nouse to take him. Thank **** for Sheedy.

Im signing up.

Well as opposed to the OP I am not going to jump ship even though like the OP I am very pissed off with my club for kicking their greatest player to the curb.

But today I have invested in a $76 interstate membership just really to show support for Ben but also to reward the Richmond football club for having the courage to recruit him.

Well done to the Richmond Football club, its supporters and its members for showing the other 15 clubs that the first mandate of any football club should be football.

Good Luck to Ben and the Tigers.

p.s. Before the Eagles inception in 1987 I did barrack for Richmond but my main football side in my life was West Perth.

welcome mate! i will warn you though, dont take it to heart when we start to eat our own ;) haha nah you'll fit alright at tigerland, everyone is welcome!

There's been a fair bit of cannibalism at West Coast over the past year...but I have heard a fair bit about Richmond supporters...that's part of the attraction.

Same for me Masta..been with West Coast 17 years prior to them shafting Ben..I walked for the same reason.

Ill stay with Richmond now because they were the only ones with enough guts,vision and nouse to take him. Thank **** for Sheedy.

Im signing up.

Good to hear - can't wait to boo the shit out of the Eagles at Subi next year.

Howdy folks.

Have you lost your mind mate? What person in their right mind would switch teams to follow Richmond??

I would say most of us on this board never had a say in the matter. Yellow and Black was just thrust upon us from birth and we have never been able to escape its grip!

Well all the best to you! We welcome you to Tigerland, but gee your gunna be in for one hell of a ride!

Buckle up!

I will stay an eagles supporter. But i will follow and support Richmond also next years. You have the guts to give a player who want play again a next chance. And that shows that in Sports is not only ruled by the money like st. Kilda and Brisbane decided against it. They were looking that they dont losing sponsors by recuiting Cousins. And with this pick you can only win next year. :thumbsu:

I've had plenty of time to think about which club I wanted to support and the decision came well before Richmond's move on Cousins...today it just became official...and I guess i'm VERY lucky that he's at the club which I picked.

If you are fair dinkum & this isn't a troll, you are a disgrace, you support your team, not a player.

couple of turncoats...i like most wce supporters will watch a fav son with interest- however i will not desert my TEAM no matter what our BOARD throws up.

Masta, i think its safe to say you support individuals rather than teams and sound a bit fickle.

Sorry to intrude on the tiges board....

Howdy folks.

How old are you?.....6?

Wasn't that idiot from Carlton celtic_pride (probably the biggest Carlton ****wit on BF and that's saying something) originally a Geelong supporter? I dunno ...Carlton might welcome turncoats with open arms, but we all know they are whores with no real sporting values.... jumping ship is not part of the true Richmond mentality as far as I'm concerned and we shouldn't accept bandwagoners regardless of their motivations. West Coast don't deserve this kind of supporter , but neither do we.:thumbsdown:

Wasn't that idiot from Carlton celtic_pride (probably the biggest Carlton ****wit on BF and that's saying something) originally a Geelong supporter? I dunno ...Carlton might welcome turncoats with open arms, but we all know they are whores with no real sporting values.... jumping ship is not part of the true Richmond mentality as far as I'm concerned and we shouldn't accept bandwagoners regardless of their motivations. West Coast don't need this kind of supporter , but neither do we.:thumbsdown:
Somewhat harsh, but I agree in essence...
It's the team, not the player ;)

Wasn't that idiot from Carlton celtic_pride (probably the biggest Carlton ****wit on BF and that's saying something) originally a Geelong supporter? I dunno ...Carlton might welcome turncoats with open arms, but we all know they are whores with no real sporting values.... jumping ship is not part of the true Richmond mentality as far as I'm concerned and we shouldn't accept bandwagoners regardless of their motivations. West Coast don't deserve this kind of supporter , but neither do we.:thumbsdown:

How am I jumping ship?? It's not like the Eagles are sinking...if you don't think they will be a threat for a flag in the next couple of years you haven't been watching their list development of the past couple.

Sporting values to me is a club sticking by its players, and watching the best players possible play the game.

Comment deleted - GB

You weak, fickle crybaby of a fan. The less "supporters" we have like you, the better. Glad to have you gone.

Nothing against Richmond and Cuz, I will be cheering your team on when your not playing us. But supporters like this are just piss-weak flogs who crack the shits when things don't go their way...

Speedwagon is correct in a way. How could you change complete the team in a heartbeat? Because of your favourite player plays for the new team? :confused:

@Forrest Gimp you right