BigFooty  

Upgrade your account!          

Connect with Facebook
Left Nav Register Forums Blogs Groups Tipping Betting Odds FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Old 17 May 2009, 12:44   #1
Mr Reliable
BigFooty Elite Member
NMFC 2010NMFC 2007NMFC 2009NMFC 2008This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Dean Laidley says (2)

Dean was a guest on JB's Sunday Footy Show.

He agreed with JB that we lost the game in the last 10 minutes of the first quarter and the first 10 minutes of the second quarter when Geelong kicked 9 unanswered goals.

He was very impressed with the way Geelong players played to a structure and peeled away from the contests when one of them got the footy. He said they had been playing together for years.

He said he addressed our issues with the players at half time and we matched them pretty well in the second half.

On Hale, he said he hits the post a lot and has been struggling as the forward focal point.

On Jesse Smith he said he would be back in around 4 weeks and would need 4 weeks in the VFL.
"....People need to realise that you can't relocate the North Melbourne Football Club, because it would no longer be the North Melbourne Football Club!!! And I'm talking about more than just the name!" melbournemartin 28/7/10
Mr Reliable is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove the two ads above - Register for free or log in.
Old 17 May 2009, 12:48   #2
Zvim
BigFooty Legend

Re: Dean Laidley says (2)

I think I could rip my hamstring out of my leg and have it put back in and come back quicker than Smith has come back from his hamstring strain.
Zvim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2009, 12:56   #3
Event Horizon
BigFooty Elite Member
NMFC 2010NMFC 2009Gold BigFooty Supporters Club MemberThis is a Veteran user. Respect.

I hope the reason for Smith's delayed return is due to us putting him on some sort of leg strengthening program.
Old 17 May 2009, 13:05   #4
Zondor
BigFooty Elite Member
This is a Veteran user. Respect.

Leigh Brown

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zvim View Post
I think I could rip my hamstring out of my leg and have it put back in and come back quicker than Smith has come back from his hamstring strain.
Yep. Sack Dr Con. Bring back the Silver Fox.
Old 17 May 2009, 13:10   #5
Mr Reliable
BigFooty Elite Member
NMFC 2010NMFC 2007NMFC 2009NMFC 2008This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Event Horizon View Post
I hope the reason for Smith's delayed return is due to us putting him on some sort of leg strengthening program.
Dean said we've gone about the rehab totally differently this time.

JB said we need a "big 100kg gorilla" down back to play on the big full forwards, instead of expecting "warriors" like Spud, Gibbo and Pratty to do the job.

Dean said we're "going to have a look at Nathan Grima for a period of time" and "we've been giving Scott Thompson a go down there."
"....People need to realise that you can't relocate the North Melbourne Football Club, because it would no longer be the North Melbourne Football Club!!! And I'm talking about more than just the name!" melbournemartin 28/7/10
Old 17 May 2009, 13:35   #6
giantroo
Bleeding Blue and White

Arsenal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Reliable View Post

That's because they have finally found the issue that was causing it.

giantroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2009, 13:42   #7
blackshadow
BigFooty Senior Member
NMFC 2010NMFC 2009BigFooty Tipping 2009Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Tips W: (960), O: (1221)

At the end of the interview he also mentioned how important it was for North supporters to get along to the next three games as it costs us an arm and a leg to play at Etihad and that it's worth getting along to look at the young blokes.
Flickr
blackshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2009, 13:53   #8
AGC
BigFooty Senior Member

Predators,Dodgers,West Ham,Chargers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Reliable View Post

JB said we need a "big 100kg gorilla" down back to play on the big full forwards, instead of expecting "warriors" like Spud, Gibbo and Pratty to do the job.

Dean said we're "going to have a look at Nathan Grima for a period of time" and "we've been giving Scott Thompson a go down there."
Dean has been impressive lately.
HOpefully Grima can turn out to be that "big 100kg gorilla) to play on the huge forwards.
The important thing in a 'premiership list' is to have a very good crop of KPP- because it takes a lot of time to develop and obtain very good KPP- whereas it's much easier to draft a solid midfielder like Ziebell- that can come into the side and instantly make an impression.
If we ensure that we develop our spine and talls- then our rebuilding process will be much more fruitful. Considering the injuries-we may be finishing in the bottom 4 or so- which will mean aTop 5 pick- which will give us another midfielder. It seems to me-that some class and pace in the midfield- will make some of our other players look much better.
AGC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2009, 15:08   #9
trooroo4life
BigFooty Member

it was also interesting to here laid's discussing the arden st surface that may be playing a role in all these soft tissue injuries , your thoughts on that ?
trooroo4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2009, 15:13   #10
Fire
BigFooty Elite Member

I was disappointed again after the match.

But now I am furious, having heard this excuse last night and again today.

We were beaten all day. The fact the club seems to think we lost the game in 20 minutes of footy is nothing short of frightening. They seem to think that Geelong would have played to the same intensity in the second half had we managed to contain them in the first.

We did not match it with them. At any stage.

This clubs future looks ****ed with these deluded clowns at the helm. I might be being harsh on JB, but I can only judge him on what he has been saying the last two days. So ****ing furious.

Clowns.
Old 17 May 2009, 15:29   #11
trooroo4life
BigFooty Member

look i see where your coming from i like JB for the main reason of fighting to keep us in melbourne if he didnt come in we would be up there in the sunshine state but there are a few other things he has needed to do and hasnt

i may be harsh in saying this but if it was up to me i wouldnt have dean coaching next year , who would replace him well idk but i dont think he is right for the job and its harsh because a few years ago we were only one game off a grand final a few years ago ut that is my opinion
trooroo4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2009, 15:29   #12
isthisavailable
Red Card

Gold Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire View Post
This clubs future looks ****ed with these deluded clowns at the helm. I might be being harsh on JB, but I can only judge him on what he has been saying the last two days. So ****ing furious.

Clowns.
Did you just copy and paste that response from your usual bleatings about the government on the SRP board, and replace the names of pollies with JYD and JB, and 'Australia' with 'the club'?
isthisavailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2009, 15:54   #13
Mr Reliable
BigFooty Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by trooroo4life View Post
it was also interesting to here laid's discussing the arden st surface that may be playing a role in all these soft tissue injuries , your thoughts on that ?
Yes, thanks for the reminder. He was asked about the injuries and he questioned the hardness of the surface at Arden St. Suggested tests have been done and they might train elsewhere or soften the ground.
Old 17 May 2009, 16:01   #14
Fire
BigFooty Elite Member

Quote:
look i see where your coming from i like JB for the main reason of fighting to keep us in Melbourne if he didn't come in we would be up there in the sunshine state but there are a few other things he has needed to do and hasnt
I was at the Dallas Brooks hall, I will forever love JB for what he has done for the club, its a hell of a lot more than I will ever be able to contribute.

But to say i am disappointed with his public comments at the moment would be an understatement.

I am loving the fact that we are playing our youngsters, and yes, I don't have any delusions that we should have beaten the cats.

But I don;t want to hear the coach come out and be positive about a 70 point loss. I don't want to hear JB attempt to lead a group delusion by claiming we matched it with he cats for most of the games. I am not an idiot. I don't demand that the club win the 2009 premiership.

But all we are doing now is giving the young players games without expectations, or even aspirations of winning. We have seen it in so many clubs, it develops a losing mentality where showing up and getting a few kicks means you had a good game.

No, the club needs to hurt after a loss. Every time. If it doesn't, then there is no hunger. This clan lead to decades of mediocrity. Decades.

I am sure that the boys don't enjoy losing. However, with comments and attitudes being displayed this weekend, I am not convinced they are putting their emphasis in the right places.

Quote:
i may be harsh in saying this but if it was up to me i wouldn't have dean coaching next year , who would replace him well idk but i dont think he is right for the job and its harsh because a few years ago we were only one game off a grand final a few years ago ut that is my opinion
I think Laidley has had more than enough time and failed. I think that if we are rebuilding a young team, he is not the man to give them a gameplan. It's got nothing to do with his sub 50% win loss record. I don't care.

What I do care about is that I see no development potential in him. Every year we see the same issues arise, and as soon as we take a step forward in an area, we seem to step right back the next year. He has persisted and continues to persist with players that have no future. And I can't recall him having a particularly strong gameplan in any of the 7 years he has been here, including 2007.
Old 17 May 2009, 16:03   #15
Fire
BigFooty Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by isthisavailable View Post
Did you just copy and paste that response from your usual bleatings about the government on the SRP board, and replace the names of pollies with JYD and JB, and 'Australia' with 'the club'?
I'm sorry, are you an alias or have you really never interacted with me before?

If you reckon my bleatings are mindless, then take me on.

-->