Roos Fanatic Top 60 2009 Phantom Draft. - updated!

Sep 21, 2008
Vic
[/I]I've decided to update my current Phantom draft based on a few results from draft camp/state screenings and because of my knowledge on team needs.

Priority selection
1. Melbourne-
Tom Scully - Pretty easy to see why this kid will be going number one, had a stellar year and he just has amazing leadership qualities.

First round
2. Melbourne- Jack Trengove - Stellar under 18's carnival, tough customer, who has excellent skills and footy smarts.

3. Richmond- Dustin Martin - Had him going to the roos at pick 5 before the carnival, but i highly doubt the tigers will let him slip past.

4. Fremantle-Anthony Marobito - Local boy who has the potential to become a champion. Tall midfielder with a touch of class.

5. North Melbourne- Ben Cunnington - Tough on-baller with good skills. Will definately suit Scott's style. Can drift forward and kick goals.

6. Sydney Swans- John Butcher - Will form a formidable tag team with Lewis Johnstone. Excellent hands, rated him a bit higher but wasn't too flash this season. Needs to work on his kicking.

7. West Coast- Kane Lucas - Local boy. Wouldn't be surprised if he goes higher, end of season form was firt class. Will play round one next year IMO.

8. Port Adelaide-Luke Tapscott- Port Will be tempted with Rohan here, but i think they will take the local boy with the booming kick. Will partner up well with hamish hartlett.

9. Port Adelaide- Gary Rohan - I definately think that these guys will take two mids here. With Salter, Stewart and the westoff's already on there list, a KP forward isn't their requirement as much as i first thought.

10. Essendon- Koby Stevens - Will give all the essendon supporters what they want. Copped a bit of criticism for having Rohan here, but Jobe Watson definately needs help in the middle.

11. Melbourne- Daniel Talia - Go with the 2nd best KP in the draft. Talia could be groomed as a CHF or CHB. I think he will slip straight in and have an impact, similar to Michael Hurly last year.

12. Carlton- Matthew Panos- Get the next best available forward. Will develop every quickly IMO, has the body to play first year. Excellent hands, and a good, penetrating kick.

13. Adelaide- Jordan Gysberts - No real needs. Pick up a quality mid who has an excellent football brain and leadership qualities. He will thrive in the Adelaide football environment.

14. Sydney Swans- Andrew Moore - Pick up the versatile Moore who can play all over the ground. Has excellent vision and ball skills.

15. Western Bulldogs- Brad Sheppard- Have the Bulldogs going with Sheppard, because of the way they have drafted in the past couple of years. Have a lot of developing talls on the list, so they decide to get a running flanker who could replace Eagleton.

16. Port Adelaide- Nathan Vardy - Simple. Need a ruckman to replace Lade. Very capable around the ground and has good skills for a big man. Will take time.

17. Geelong- Allen Christensen - Go with the best avaiable. Speedy outside mid with good skills and smarts. Could settle as a rebounding defender, who replace Wojinski.

Second round
18. Melbourne- Mitch Duncan- Excellent midfielder with good work ethic and hands. Very hard at the contest, he will possibly replace Brock Mclean, will be suited to a flank in the early years though.

19. Richmond- Aaron Black - Pick up a KP forward with huge potential, has an excellent work-rate and could possibly be something special.

20. Fremantle- Jake Carlilse - Freo need Talls. They don't have too many on the list, and they drafted mid's last year. Carlilse will love the wide open expanses of Subiaco. Can play either end, his endurance and work ethic and first rate.

21. North Melbourne- Ryan Bastinac - Roos pick up another mid with good skills, to go with Cunnington. Plays a bit more outside, and has excellent finishing skills. His endurance is a major factor.

22. West Coast- Lewis Jetta - Get their wish of a small forward. Can't see him going an earlier. I think he will be too much of a risk for interstate clubs.

23. West Coast- Nate Fyfe - Potential KP/HF with some serious X-factor. Kicked bags on several occasions at Colts level this year. Is a long term project, but could be something very very special.

24. Essendon- Jake Melksham - Excellent mid, with good closing speed and skills. Works hard around the ground, and is good around the stoppages.

25. North Melbourne- Ben Griffiths - North won't pass on the oppurtunity to pick up a good key forward prospect.

26. Essendon- Jesse Crichton - Best available, hard at it mid from Tassie. Good endurance, and will suit Matthew Knights game style.

27. Brisbane Lions-Travis Coyler- Super Quick small forward/wingman. I think the lions will go with a small forward here to counter the loss of Rhan Hooper.

28. Geelong- Jack Fitzpatrick - With Mumford heading up to Sydney I think its best they take a punt on the raw but talented Fitzpatrick. I originally had him slipping further but i think he suits the cats needs.

29. Adelaide- Alex Carey - Very very lucky that he is still around. Will add to their inside mids and will love the fact that he gets to stay home. Tough midfielder with smarts around the contest.

30. Collingwood- Troy Taylor - Will go with a player who could become something special. Hails from the Northern Territory and could be something special. Plays HF but could develop into a wingman. Daniel Motlop-esque with his ability to find the goals.

31. Western Bulldogs- -Joseph Dare- Go after the tall athletic flanker, can play forward and kick goals. His line breaking abilit is his feature, he will suit the bulldogs game style.

32. St Kilda- Andrew Hooper - Get a tough, ready made player, who could replace the ageing Steven Baker.

33. Essendon- Roland Ah Chee - Get another speedy midfielder with good skills. I could see them taking Harwood here, but speed seems to be their thing!

Third round
34. Melbourne- Tom Hill - Atheletic FF, was tipped to go in the draft last year but was overlooked. Definately has potential but has been up and down this season.

35. Richmond- Ayden Kennedy - Bit of a lottery from here on in. Tigers pick up another good mid with leaderhsip qualities, and excellent endurance.

36. Fremantle- James Craig - Freo pick up a talented tap ruckman who works very hard around the ground. Need another ruckman to develop with Sandilands.

37. North Melbourne- Mark Hutchings - Could take Temel here, as another KP prospect. The oppurtunity for Hutchings however is too good to pass up. Outstanding leader, who puts his body on the line. Can play an outside role if needed.

38. Sydney Swans- Nicholas Winmar - Pick up an indigenous lad, who will provide the swans with some spark. Would be a good pick up if they decide to overlook Rohan at pick 6.

39. Hawthorn- Max Gawn - Hawks pick up a good tap ruckman who is athletic and tall. Could take over from one of Taylor or Renouf. Definately need a ruckman with the pre-mature retirement of Robbie Campbell

40. Geelong- Kyle Hartigan - Look to go big again. With Tom Harley retiring, i can see them picking another tall defender. I know they have Gillies, but Scarlett, Harley and Milburn ageing, they look to shore up their defence with another tall. AIS academy graduate who athletic and skillful.

41. North Melbourne- Derrick Wanganeen - Take a half forward who has serious flair and X-Factor. Will fit the roos nicely with his outside game.

42. Geelong- Daniel Menzel- Take a small, who has good pace and quality ball handling skills.

43. Carlton- David Astbury - Take a punt on another key forward. Need to find another replacement for Fev. Could be developed into a Key back too.

44. Richmond- Callum Bartlett - Have recently changed my mind on Bartlett, simply due to his injuries. Will definately be worth a pick in this round. Richmond will be very happy with another mid with good speed.

45. Adelaide -Ryan Harwood - His stock slid a fair bit after a less than impressive final series in the TSL. Very hard at it, and with good skill will be a very good pick-up for Adelaide.

46. Hawthorn- Dylan Grimes - Sure up their defensive unit with another defensive option. Can play tall or small, and has good endurance.

47. Brisbane Lions- Joel Houghton - Brisbane look to sure up the KP stocks after trading Hendo. They do so with a very capable big man in Houghton. Very Important pick now that Bradshaw has decided to move on.

48. Fremantle- Serhat Temel - Freo pick up another Tall in Temel. A power forward who has good hands and a very accurate kick.

49. Fremantle- Dylan McNeil- Tough nut, who is highly rated in NSW.

Fourth round
50. Melbourne- Johnny Rayner - Athletics background. National 800m runner, has incredible endurance, and will be picked up. Was surprised he was overlooked last year, simply based on his athletic capabilities.

51. Richmond - Zach Ledin - Tough onballer, whose endurance is a contributing factor.

52. Fremantle- Anthony Delborello- Gone tall for the majority of the draft. Pick up a local boy who has good speed, and contested football ability.

53. North Melbourne- Michael Barlow - Runner-up in the VFL for the league best and fairest. A late bloomer, who runs hadr and has good disposal

54. Sydney- Chris Luff- Athletic KP backman who can play small. Pretty fast for his size. Rarely gets beaten one on one.

55. Sydney- Brayden Norris -Originally had him going in the rookie draft. Very good draft camp, i could see him going a lot higher than this due to his outstanding athletic background.

56. Geelong- Josh Thomas- Underage kid who decided not to join GC. Will be a very good footballer, tough at it and with good skills.

57. Hawthorn -Gerrick Weedon- Athletic mid with good visability. Rarely gets tackled, and is composed under pressure.

58. Hawthorn - Myles Sewell - Joins his brother at the hawks. Very light, but makes up for it with his attitude and ability to win the contested ball. The reigning JJ liston trophy winner, will benefit from an AFL pre-season.

59. Carlton- Sean Tighe - Pick up the Western Jets B and F. Very very agile footballer, can play all around the ground, has excellent endurance for a kid his size, very similar to Jayden Post. Has very very strong hands.

60. St.Kilda- Miles Pitt- CHF or FF who has good clean hands. His contested marking was a feature.

61. Adelaide - Josh Donaldson - Pick up local ruckman who has an influence around the ground. Is a long-term prospect.

62. Collingwood- Joshua Giddings- Talented FF, who is avery agile. Could play a lead up role along side Travis Cloke.

63. Western Bulldogs - Mitch Taylor - KP backman from the NT. Is very raw but had some special talents.

64. St.Kilda - Kallen Geary - Endurance athlete, who has good skills on both sides of the body. Gets the oppurtunity to play with his brother down at the saints.

65. Geelong- Jasper McMillan Pittard- Athletic Line breaking mid, who has a penetrating kick and good vision. Needs to work on consistancy.

Re: Roos Fanatic Top 50 2009 Phantom Draft.

I love this draft from a Richmond perspective. If it turned out this way I would be wrapt.

Martin
Black
Ayden Kennedy
Wanganeen
:thumbsu::thumbsu::):eek:

r_f, why would you say Jetta is a risk for interstate clubs? Supposedly 10+ interviewed him at draft camp, so why would you consider him a risk?

Rubbish from Essendon's view. Rohan is dead set the LAST person I'd draft first round. I am sorry but I aint sold on a guy who barely averages 15 touches a game. Give me Koby Stevens before Rohan any day of the week.

28. Geelong- Callum Bartlett - Take a risk and go a KP. Could be a replacement for the ageing Mooney. Will take time, but has amazing potential.

As much as I like Bartlett, at 179cm I think he might be a little small to play as a KPP.

Geelong taking 3 midfielders and 1 KPD? Won't happen. Geelong already have a fair midfield, if anything, they need to develop a ruckman or a Key Position Forward. Maybe they might need a Key Position Defender but they have Gillies developing along with Drum, something like a back pocket would suit their needs more I reckon. I honestly don't know why so many people have them taking Christensen though.

Also you have Fitzpatrick going too low. He may have been poor this year but he still has his potential. Not to mention, Ruckmen are valued very highly, especially based on potential (See Cam Wood).

23. West Coast- Tom Hill - Orginally had Fyfe going here, but i think they might take a risk on Tom Hill. Could reap huge rewards. KP forward who has had injury concerns. Has a great leap and very very strong hands.

Stoked with lucas and i agree jetta could easily slip to 22, as for tom hill, i dont really know much about him and he hasnt been listed that highly in most PD.

Can you give me anymore information on him...

cheers

23. West Coast- Tom Hill - Orginally had Fyfe going here, but i think they might take a risk on Tom Hill. Could reap huge rewards. KP forward who has had injury concerns. Has a great leap and very very strong hands.

Stoked with lucas and i agree jetta could easily slip to 22, as for tom hill, i dont really know much about him and he hasnt been listed that highly in most PD.

Can you give me anymore information on him...

cheers

Not the player I thought he was, as in from last year' draft, but here is some info on him:

Tom Hill (Northern Knights, VIC)
Height: 199cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 07/04/91
Recruited from: Northern Bullants FC (VAFA)
Strong hands overhead, excellent speed and agility for his size and sound skills by foot. Vic Metro U18 representative in 2009 and an AIS-AFL Academy graduate.

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Phantom Drafts that have Port obsessed by local boys are rubbish and lose all credibility for me. If #8 and #9 went to Carlton there is no way anyone would be considering Tapscott or Panos with those picks.

Butcher, Stevens and Winmar!

Outstanding draft from Sydney's perspective!

It seems a real mystery looking at who the swans will get at Pick #6...

10. Essendon- Gary Rohan - Essendon will be licking their lips, that he has fallen this far. Can't see him going high in the draft simply due to his consistancy. Will be a long-term replacement for Andrew Lovett. It will be good to see him under the feet of Neagle and Gumbleton.

24. Essendon- Jake Melksham - Excellent mid, with good closing speed and skills. Works hard around the ground, and is good around the stoppages.

26. Essendon- Jesse Crichton - Best available, hard at it mid from Tassie. Good endurance, and will suit Matthew Knights game style.

33. Essendon- Roland Ah Chee - Get another speedy midfielder with good skills. I could see them taking Harwood here, but speed seems to be their thing!

I'd definetly take Koby Stevens over Gary Rohan.

Happy with the other three selections, especially Melksham.

We might take either a ruckman or small defender with one of our four picks though.

Butcher, Stevens and Winmar!

Outstanding draft from Sydney's perspective!

It seems a real mystery looking at who the swans will get at Pick #6...

Yeah, with the top 5 virtually a lock, the swans will shape the rest of the first round.

Like most people i believe it will be between Butcher, Rohan or Lucas.

With White and Johnston already on your list I'd say you will pass on Butcher and he'll go to port.

r_f, why would you say Jetta is a risk for interstate clubs? Supposedly 10+ interviewed him at draft camp, so why would you consider him a risk?

From what I've heard he is very close with his family, and he'd prefer it if he didn't move interstate. From what I have seen of him (which isn't too much as I'm a victorian) he could be a risk, simply because he sometimes fades in and out of games. Very similar to Rohan, that why i rate them a little less highly than others.

Rubbish from Essendon's view. Rohan is dead set the LAST person I'd draft first round. I am sorry but I aint sold on a guy who barely averages 15 touches a game. Give me Koby Stevens before Rohan any day of the week.

I didn't think it was that bad for essendon. Some people have Rohan going as early as pick 5. I think he would be a good pick up for the bombers and he would suit their game style. I don't rate him that highly either, but I just can't see him slipping past your pick. I understand why you rate Koby too, but with his recently diagnosed OP, I CAN SEE HIM SLIPPING.

Very happy with Essendon's second rounders in this one, I actually like Rohan unlike most people, good finisher.

Geelong taking 3 midfielders and 1 KPD? Won't happen. Geelong already have a fair midfield, if anything, they need to develop a ruckman or a Key Position Forward. Maybe they might need a Key Position Defender but they have Gillies developing along with Drum, something like a back pocket would suit their needs more I reckon. I honestly don't know why so many people have them taking Christensen though.

Also you have Fitzpatrick going too low. He may have been poor this year but he still has his potential. Not to mention, Ruckmen are valued very highly, especially based on potential (See Cam Wood).

Geelong have taken a lot of KP's in the last couple of drafts. They have Mitch Brown, Tom Gilles and they've just picked up Marcus Drum. I can see them taking one more in this draft, but they have no need for another ruckman. They still have Trent West developing. Christensen is one of the most consistant players at TAC level and he will definately go in the top 20. Why don't you rate him?

Is fitzpatrick a ruckman though? That is my query... He has played mostly as a KP forward throughout his juniors and TAC years. Can't see him going as high as some people have him because he was pretty terrible this year. You do have something to work with as far as his potential goes, but he seems like the kind of guy who just think he deserves it. His attitude at TAC cup level was horrible.

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Phantom Drafts that have Port obsessed by local boys are rubbish and lose all credibility for me. If #8 and #9 went to Carlton there is no way anyone would be considering Tapscott or Panos with those picks.

The local factor isn't the only reason why i have you looking at those two. Tapscott i rate very highly and i think he would go at 8 or 9 regardless of what team had the pick. He has the 2nd best kick in the draft and he is as tough as nails. I think he will compliment Hamish Hartlett and Boak very well.

As for Panos, I think i could see you guys taking Rohan there, but Panos is too hard to pass up with the ageing Tredrea. As i said the local thing isn't the only reason why i decided to put him there. Panos has the potential to be a very very good forward, and i think you guys are lacking in that department. Salter and Westhoff have potential but i think only one of them will make it. Thats why i have you guys going with Panos and Tapscott. Should've explained it better. My bad!

4. Fremantle- Anthony Marobito - Local boy who has the potential to become a champion. Tall midfielder with a touch of class.
on-baller. Will definately suit the Sydney game style.

20. Fremantle- Mitch Duncan - Excellent midfielder, who is hard as nails. Will give freo an extra dimension in the midfield.

36. Fremantle- Ryan Harwood - Another Tasmania. I rate him very highly and i think he definately deserved his all-australian spot. Freo will be ahppy they secured another tough mid.

48. Fremantle- Majak Daw - With not much back-up for Sandy, they add Daw to their ranks. Although a long term prospect, Daw has the capabilites and athleticsm to be something very special. Similar to Naitanui with his freakish leap and leg speed, is a bit shorter and more of a project player.

49. Fremantle- Dylan McNeil- Tough nut, who is highly rated in NSW.

Midfielder/Midfielder/Midfielder/Ruck-Project Player/Midfielder??? (i don't know the last bloke)

Way to many mid's for us, we need KPP bad.
We stocked up on midfielders/small forwards last year and i'd hope this year we would get a few more KPP.

Majak Daw..... Will probably last until the rookie draft IMO. Way to much risk to be taken in the ND unless for pick 100 or something.