22 Apr 2003, 21:42
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Port Melbourne Reserves
Dont know whether this issue has been raised before......
What is the point of North Melbourne Senior list players playing in the Port Melbourne Reserves? This makes it extremely hard for these players to both gain experience against quality opposition and feel as though they are part of an AFL team. They may as well be playing for the Orbost Orca's (Not an actual team...hopefully). The arrangement with the Murray Kangaroos last year was far better for our younger players to aspire to the top AFL ranks. I just hope that we dont lose a potential star due to being forgotten about or mistreated in lower grades of football. Who's to say some hack doesnt just king hit one of them behind play in order to brag to mates down at the pub? Get them into the Port 1's even if they arent up to scratch. They should get priority in the arrangement between the Roos and Port surely.
|
|
|
22 Apr 2003, 22:42
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
|
Re: Port Melbourne Reserves
Quote:
Originally posted by Royal Blue And White
Dont know whether this issue has been raised before......
What is the point of North Melbourne Senior list players playing in the Port Melbourne Reserves? This makes it extremely hard for these players to both gain experience against quality opposition and feel as though they are part of an AFL team. They may as well be playing for the Orbost Orca's (Not an actual team...hopefully). The arrangement with the Murray Kangaroos last year was far better for our younger players to aspire to the top AFL ranks. I just hope that we dont lose a potential star due to being forgotten about or mistreated in lower grades of football. Who's to say some hack doesnt just king hit one of them behind play in order to brag to mates down at the pub? Get them into the Port 1's even if they arent up to scratch. They should get priority in the arrangement between the Roos and Port surely.
|
Port will pick there best side available. If the Port believe players on North list njot up to playing in the VFL 1st so be it.
North can't say pick these players in the seniors and play them in this position. North Melbourne and Port Melbourne are 2 different clubs. Another question is where do the rookie players play. I know I know Stuart Cooper has been playing for Port Melbourne Reserves. What other players are playing in the Port Melbourne reserves. It seems a few clubs are playing AFL players in the VFL reserves.
What do you think of rookie listed players playing for Port Melbourne Reserves. I know Stuart Cooper has been. Which North Melbourne players are playing for Port Melbourne Reserves. I don't Port Melbourne will be happy if they are not playing there best team available, when you will have players in the reserves thatg should be in the seniors.
|
|
|
22 Apr 2003, 23:50
|
|
|
BigFooty Legend
BH, SAS, BRFC, MVFC.
|
Re: Port Melbourne Reserves
Quote:
Originally posted by Royal Blue And White
They should get priority in the arrangement between the Roos and Port surely.
|
The VFL doesn't work that way mate.
My North is spot on in saying they are 2 different entities and the Port side will be picked on whats best on the park, not act as a Kangaroos reserve side.
We have a good relationship working between Box Hill and Hawthorn in which we have a good mix of VFL and AFL players in the senior side.
|
|
|
23 Apr 2003, 09:21
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Kangaroos
|
I think it is actually helpful to get a good idea of where players are at
Stevo Jnr - Played in the Ressi's but was best on ground
McIntosh - Ressies and kicked a couple of goals
Better this quality game time then sitting on the Port Melbourne bench for half the game.
I think it might even be beneficial in this regard - perhaps the North/Port Melbourne agreement is that the North players play 100 minutes - whether in the 1sts or the seconds. This would certainly be of some benefit.
Also it could be a confidence booster - get a lot of game time, -play well - get promoted. Seen as another step up the ladder and possibly better for the confidence than playing half the time on the bench and the other half in pocket somewhere out of the play
|
|
23 Apr 2003, 10:10
|
|
|
BigFooty Moderator
|
It all depends on the relationship with the club. Obviously Hawthorn and Box Hill work well. So do us (richmond) and Coburg.
What is the deal with the port coach in relation to you guys. At Richmond the Coburg coach was part of the match day coaching panel. First it was Alan Richardson, who now is assistant at the doggies and now Paul Spargo. I guess if the VFL coach has aspirations of one day coaching in the AFL he would be very "friendly" to his AFL affiliate.
That might be an issue with port as they are an extremely proud and maybe insular club.
That might take a bit of managing and after all it is only your first year. It can work - not sure about other AFL/VFL links but Hawthorn and Richmond have done ok - something tells me Sandy and the saints works well also.
|
23 Apr 2003, 10:20
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Kangaroos
|
Quote:
Originally posted by peejay
What is the deal with the port coach in relation to you guys. At Richmond the Coburg coach was part of the match day coaching panel. First it was Alan Richardson, who now is assistant at the doggies and now Paul Spargo. I guess if the VFL coach has aspirations of one day coaching in the AFL he would be very "friendly" to his AFL affiliate.
|
I reckon that Port Melbourne have a fair bit to say about how they run their club and is possibly one of the reasons that the Swans pulled out (aside from the obvious distance and monetary problems).
I personally don't mind the situation and would like the North / Port relationship to blossom into success both on and off the field. At the very leat we should reserve any negative judgements until the year is up and by the looks of it Port will be playing Finals footy which is always good for experience at any level
|
|
23 Apr 2003, 10:20
|
|
|
BigFooty Jedi
|
Quote:
something tells me Sandy and the saints works well also.
|
I think Sandringham are with Melbourne whilst St.Kilda are aligned with Springvale.
|
23 Apr 2003, 10:26
|
|
|
BigFooty Jedi
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Ausgard
I think it is actually helpful to get a good idea of where players are at
Stevo Jnr - Played in the Ressi's but was best on ground
McIntosh - Ressies and kicked a couple of goals
|
I might be wrong on this, but I thought that in previous years, AFL listed players (and rookies?) HAD to play in their senior VFL side if fit. Maybe the rules have changed in that regard.
I think it is good to give players the option of playing with Port Melbourne reserves. It will be less intense, especially for those players who are coming back from injury (like Stevo Junior) or who are just raw players (like McIntosh).
Quote:
Also it could be a confidence booster - get a lot of game time, -play well - get promoted. Seen as another step up the ladder and possibly better for the confidence than playing half the time on the bench and the other half in pocket somewhere out of the play
|
The risk is that it could also be a confidence breaker if a senior player does so badly that they end up in the Port Melbourne reserves. But then again, if they're doing that badly, it's probably better for them to have that honest assessment than to be putting in half-arsed efforts in a VFL team (hello David Calthorpe).
|
23 Apr 2003, 10:30
|
|
|
de Jackal
|
I had this discussion with a mate last week.
While i can fully understand your concern Royal Blue And White, i actually like the idea that all our listed players will have to play at their best to earn a game each week, rather than there being no consequence for a poor performance.
I too really liked the MK's concept. Hammo was pretty consistent throughout his tenure as reserves coach that it was purely a developmental team. That obviously has plenty of benefits for the youngsters, but one flaw was that if they played very poorly or werent meeting their objectives, they'd still get a game the next week because there wasnt much competition for spots. That doesnt teach a kid the best of habits IMO.
Now that we are aligned, all our kids have seasoned VFL veterans to compete for spots with, meaning that if they dont perform, they will be playing VFL reserves. Thata a great incentive to improve quickly and strive for your best more consistently, even if a spot in the senior team (AFL) isnt a realistic propostion yet.
|
23 Apr 2003, 10:54
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
All very valid responses...thanx
I just wouldnt want to see players feel "left out" of the North Melbourne culture (Its one of our key's as a club I feel) by being stuck in lower levels of football in their formative AFL years. I can understand when a player is coming back from injury I guess.....
A person pointed out that Port "will pick the best team available"....I have no doubts this is true but is it in the best interests of the Roos. In some ways yes (As pointed out on this thread), in other ways no......
|
|
|
23 Apr 2003, 11:09
|
|
|
de Jackal
|
FWIW, i dont think it is goign to be a long term concern anyway.
The Port agreement is one of convenience only, and both parties have pretty much openly admitted that it isnt a long term proposition. Port needed an affiliate, we needed to save some cash. Hence the link up.
As soon as the Casey stuff is all up and running, i think you'll see the birth of a new VFL team: the Casey Kangaroos.
|
23 Apr 2003, 11:49
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
|
You have to be realistic here. Port want to win matches so they will field there best team. If North players aren't good enough to play for Port then it would be highly unlikely that they will be playing at AFL level in the comming weeks.
If North players can't get a few BOGs playing at VFL 2nds level then they must be freaking useless or just young,skinny and not ready senior footy yet.
Having to perform well to get a game isn't actually a bad thing.
|
23 Apr 2003, 12:45
|
|
|
BigFooty Legend
BH, SAS, BRFC, MVFC.
|
Quote:
That might be an issue with port as they are an extremely proud and maybe insular club.
|
Probably a very fair statement.
But, bear in mind the Roos/Borough relationship is only a few months old so the connections between the players and coaching staff will still be in the works.
At Box Hill be had 8 VFL players in the senior squad. In previous weeks there's been a few Hawk boys in the reserves, mainly the underdeveloped kids or guys returnin form injury. As stated about, it's all a matter of match fitness and then gaining form.
To be honest, Campbell Brown played one or two Box Hill reserves games at the start of last season.
|
|
|
23 Apr 2003, 13:02
|
|
|
BigFooty Legend
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Carlos
I had this discussion with a mate last week.
While i can fully understand your concern Royal Blue And White, i actually like the idea that all our listed players will have to play at their best to earn a game each week, rather than there being no consequence for a poor performance.
I too really liked the MK's concept. Hammo was pretty consistent throughout his tenure as reserves coach that it was purely a developmental team. That obviously has plenty of benefits for the youngsters, but one flaw was that if they played very poorly or werent meeting their objectives, they'd still get a game the next week because there wasnt much competition for spots. That doesnt teach a kid the best of habits IMO.
Now that we are aligned, all our kids have seasoned VFL veterans to compete for spots with, meaning that if they dont perform, they will be playing VFL reserves. Thata a great incentive to improve quickly and strive for your best more consistently, even if a spot in the senior team (AFL) isnt a realistic propostion yet.
|
It also gives injured players one more step (from further back) towards a comeback.
If a player isn't deemed ready for a full game of VFL football, there is always the option of easing him back through the VFL reserves with probably more game time and less pressure than in the VFL seniors.
This would probably apply to players who have had a long lay-off with injury, or younger players who, as half-fit or returning from injury, would not merit selection above a fit, incumbent Port Melbourne senior player.
|
23 Apr 2003, 14:48
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Kangaroos
|
Ive heard the club is rapt with the arrangement. Hamish McIntosh is a fair example of where the club was confident in being able to pick players with obvious talent but who may not necessarily be ready for full on senior footy in their first year. By all reports his form has been encouraging. Beats the hell out of getting smashed every week.
And Carlos, where did you hear of the 'temporary arrangement' thing we may have going? I always wondered what tangible result would come of the Casey alignment.
|
|
|
-->
|
|
| Display Modes |
Hybrid Mode
|