Rockford

Aug 22, 2006
Halls Head
In the lead up to this round I was thinking about 5th place. Talking to an Eagles supporting mate of mine I suggested that the Eagles would finish in the top 4 if they could beat the Cats. He wasn't as confident but I managed to convince him with the argument that by taking 4 points from the Cats they'd have done what none of the other teams in top 4 contention have been able to do (yet). When it comes to ladder position it's the equivalent of an 8 point swing.

I can't see the Swans or Freo seriously challenging for that 5th spot which leaves it open for one of three teams to fall into.

Carlton's loss at home to the Eagles is another game that gets the Eagles closer to a top 4 finish and Carlton's loss today has them well in contention for missing top 4. I've heard a lot about Hawthorn's injury problems from supporters, can their young team stay competitive against harder, more mature bodies of older sides?

Personally, I think Carlton will miss. I think as long as the Hawks don't lose one of Hodge, Franklin or Mitchell that they'll be able to find players with comparable skills to replace anyone that gets injured. Hawks and West Coast also have an easier run home than Carlton and West Coast have a fair bit of improvement in them with Waters to come back from injury and room for the likes of NicNat and Shuey to improve and Le Cras and Kennedy to re-capture better form.

west coast's run home

staints
freo
dogs
tigers
demons
bombers
lions
crows

verse no other top 5 team very nice run home

Hawks run home

bye
demons
freo
north
port
blues
dogs
suns

only tough game is the blues

blues run home
pies
bombers
noth
demons
freo
hawks
bye
staints

have to verse hawks and pies hardest run home

Carlton have a hard run home.
Rd 19, 20 and 21 they have NM, Melbourne and Fremantle at Subi. The first two can play great footy at times. We will be tough to beat at Subi...should have some cattle back by then. The Eagles' run home is a doddle in comparison.

Around those games, they've got Collingwood , hawthorn, St
Kilda, and Essendon.

I think Carlton

West Coast seem like they're on fire and will barely lose another game.

Hawthorn? Well we're in 3rd now and next time we play we get 3 very good players back and a couple of who-knows, we've got an easy draw which obviously means we've already had the hard part and we're in 3rd from it... don't see how we could miss the top 4 at this point.

west coast's run home

staints
freo
dogs
tigers
demons
bombers
lions
crows

verse no other top 5 team very nice run home

Hawks run home

bye
demons
freo
north
port
blues
dogs
suns

only tough game is the blues

blues run home
pies
bombers
noth
demons
freo
hawks
bye
staints

have to verse hawks and pies hardest run home

West Coast's games against the Bulldogs and Saints are over here - not gimmes by any stretch, especially with those two teams desperate to keep winning for a final eight spot. With all due respect to the Eagles and their great win against Carlton, I don't think we should be pencilling them in for wins in Melbourne against decent opposition just yet.

Hawthorn's game against Freo is over at Patersons and Sandi will possibly be back by then (possibly only missing Mundy and Morabito from their best 22). The Bulldogs are rejuvenated and are in top four form at the moment, so that's certainly no easy match. Carlton will definitely be playing against Sandilands at Patersons. Essendon always seems to give them trouble.

I think the loser of the round 22 game finishes fifth. Wish it was at the MCG...

I think I'd rather finish 5th and dispatch one of the ordinary sides thats going to be 8th this year in the first week rather than role up to a rabid Collingwood at the G on week 1...

That said I'd take ANY finals!

West Coast's games against the Bulldogs and Saints are over here - not gimmes by any stretch, especially with those two teams desperate to keep winning for a final eight spot. With all due respect to the Eagles and their great win against Carlton, I don't think we should be pencilling them in for wins in Melbourne against decent opposition just yet.

This is quite interesting because I actually think (and quite possibly am alone in thinking this), but with the team West Coast currently have, Etihad Stadium is the ground that best suits us.

I think I'd rather finish 5th and dispatch one of the ordinary sides thats going to be 8th this year in the first week rather than role up to a rabid Collingwood at the G on week 1...

Silly logic.

Finish 5th - smash 8th, travel to the MCG for semi vs 4th
Finish 4th - get smashed by Collingwood, semi final at Subi against 5th

I know which I'd prefer as an eagles fan.

This is quite interesting because I actually think (and quite possibly am alone in thinking this), but with the team West Coast currently have, Etihad Stadium is the ground that best suits us.

Fair point...but there's the external factors of the travel and a 95% anti-WCE crowd to contend with. If they can beat St Kilda this week, it's a massive stepping stone for them, not least because they'll be equal on points with Hawthorn and ahead of Carlton (assuming Carlton loses), with a game in hand on the Blues.

completely agree, those games will be huge challanges, and i think will define just were we really stand in the league

Where's the Geelong option?

Same place as the Collingwood option.

For Geelong to finish 5th they'd need to lose 4 of their remaining games (Lions, Richmond, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Adelaide, Sydney and Collingwood) and for West Coast to win all of their remaining games (and for Hawthorn and Carlton to only lose one of their remaining games). Given that West Cost and Carlton still have a game to play against eachother it seems unlikely.

Probably Carlton. Though if we cop anymore injuries I don't know how many players we can keep covering. Playing with 6 to 10 of your best 22 out every week is living on the edge and we will be in real danger of dropping out of the four, if anymore key players go down long term.

Still probably Carlton will finish 5th. Their forward line looks a bit dysfuctional against the better sides.

If Carlton do finish 5th, they wouldn't want to run into a charging Western Bulldogs side. They would be praying that Essendon or Fremantle finish 8th.

Probably Carlton. Though if we cop anymore injuries I don't know how many players we can keep covering. Playing with 6 to 10 of your best 22 out every week is living on the edge and we will be in real danger of dropping out of the four, if anymore key players go down long term.

Still probably Carlton will finish 5th. Their forward line looks a bit dysfuctional against the better sides.

If Carlton do finish 5th, they wouldn't want to run into a charging Western Bulldogs side. They would be praying that Essendon or Fremantle finish 8th.

I don't see Bombers or Freo making the 8. I reckon Saints and Dogs will take up 7th and 8th and be in dangerous form.

I've gone through the ladder predictor a couple of times with slightly altered results in many positions but Carlton always end up 5th.

carlton are looking the weaker side with the harder draw.

Hawks could easily blow up.

Eagles look the only dead set certs.

Picked blues and was surprised to see most others did as well...interesting.

Ah... that would be the Bulldogs and we can't wait to get another crack at ya!!
You'll be smarting after a 5 goal loss to us earlier at Etihad.

Who'll finish 5th?