Bulldogsman's 2011 phantom draft (includes descriptions and analysis)

:thumbsu: Top effort mate. Just a suggestion, if you aren't fully aware of the lions needs but we are desperate for talls atm. A ruckman has been delisted, Charman retired, Clark will be traded, Fev gone and Brown is nearing the end. The club last year in the draft was tossing up whether to go for a midfielder or KPP at our last pick and went for Green so this year the focus will again most likely be on players in the 190cm+ area. I think we will go a midfielder for the first pick followed by 3 talls and whatever spots on our list are still free will be used as rookie upgrades.

Cheers for the feedback.

Yeah I considered taking 3 talls. 2 KPF's and one KPD, but went with one each. Regarding rucks, there just aren't many this draft and GWS will probably be after them unfortunately. There are a few ruckman worth looking at in the rookie draft though.

Great effort. Not going to have a go at you or having essendon pick a tall, just hope we don't go with a tall with our first pick. Bit harsh on pears was awesome last year before getting injured and been injured mist of this year. Hurley or Carlisle may become backs with Daniher coming in. If we did go tall with our first pick would hope it's a forward. But hope it's a Mid with our first.

We are probably going tall with one of our picks, but your thoughts on Anthony Soriano? Where do you think he'll go, if at all? Thanks

Cheers for the feedback.

Yeah I considered taking 3 talls. 2 KPF's and one KPD, but went with one each. Regarding rucks, there just aren't many this draft and GWS will probably be after them unfortunately. There are a few ruckman worth looking at in the rookie draft though.

I've seen a few posts around of about 3 different ruckman that we are apparently interested in. We will definitely pick 2, possibly 3 players that can play ruck but they may come from trades/rookie draft because as you said there just aren't many decent rucks in the draft.

Can't say I agree with your assessment of the Saints' needs given the club loaded up on speedsters last year. What's needed are big men, at least one ruckman given our current deficiency in that area.

(Will Johnson's spent the year playing full forward in the VFL by the way. Simpkin's the key back waiting in the wings, possibly Walsh)

Great read though, appreciate anyone willing to have a crack

Great effort. Not going to have a go at you or having essendon pick a tall, just hope we don't go with a tall with our first pick. Bit harsh on pears was awesome last year before getting injured and been injured mist of this year. Hurley or Carlisle may become backs with Daniher coming in. If we did go tall with our first pick would hope it's a forward. But hope it's a Mid with our first.

Thanks mate. I don't like the idea of moving Hurley to the back line though, he looks to be a great forward. Forwards like this don't grow on trees. I understand your reasoning for wanting a mid with your first pick, but I don't think you guys should be going for a tall forward. I think you have plenty on your list. I guess I'm not really the biggest fans of your key position defenders though.

We are probably going tall with one of our picks, but your thoughts on Anthony Soriano? Where do you think he'll go, if at all? Thanks

The rookie draft is his best chance. He's a bit small and doesn't really standout.

Can't say I agree with your assessment of the Saints' needs given the club loaded up on speedsters last year. What's needed are big men, at least one ruckman given our current deficiency in that area.

(Will Johnson's spent the year playing full forward in the VFL by the way. Simpkin's the key back waiting in the wings, possibly Walsh)

Great read though, appreciate anyone willing to have a crack

Cheers for that mate.

I skimmed over Crocker and Ledger so that was a bad assessment on my part. I did look at ruckman but they are pretty tough to find. I guess Myles Bolger is a big chance at your first round pick, but fitting him and McEvoy in your side may become hard. Tom Downie is probably a better fit, otherwise it's the rookie draft.

Great Effort Mate:

Myles Bolger – Ruckman
Thomas Sheridan – Midfielder
Jackson Starcevich – Tall forward
Jarrod Witts – Ruckman

Summary: I wanted to bolster up there ruck stocks and did that. They have a good list Collingwood and it’s hard to identify the exact needs. They do need a tall forward though and the father son selection will be a good get late in the draft. I suspect they will go for a medium x factor type forward, running defender and maybe another tall forward.

I have been thinking that if Bolger get's to our 1st Round Pick then we just might Select Him.

Doubt Starcevich would be Father and Son'ed on what I am been Hearing

Really appreciate the effort. Well done and thank you:thumbsu:

Think we might look for a fwd on the ND. I like O'Hanlon, and would be very happy with him at 37. Even Elton ahead of McKenzie. As evidenced by Connors' request for a trade, we are pretty stocked with HBF's. Esp with Morris coming on board, hopefully

From a North perspective, I'd be disappointed if we chose Jordan Kelly. We simply do not need more tall defenders. I think Webster or Ross are better options for that pick at 40. Great effort though.

Thanks for the post , I think the Lions would walk away from the draft pretty happy, looking at your selections.

We got smashed most of the year in the middle, another quality inside mid combined with a fitter Harwood, could really help the Lions. It will also help Rich get on the end of some good work and use his foot skills to advantage.

Thanks for the time and effort you have put into this thread. A great job. However, for the Saints, instead of

Daniel Markworth – Lead up fwd/mid
Jimmy Webster – running defender/mid
Michael Bussey – KPD
Sam Gordan

I would have taken
1st round .. Andrew Boseley FullBack ( our fullback needs improving, and there is a good chance we will be losing Dawson).
2nd..Tom Downie - Ruck. (Only McEvoy on our list now. Would pick another late in the draft or rookie as well)
3rd.. A small quick forward, Milney is getting on. Maybe Murray Newman if still available.
4th.A small / medium defender. We have lost Bakes. We have a few big blokes coming on, Tommy Walsh 195cm(Probably CHF) Rhys Stanley 202cm and I would love to see KOSI finish his career where he won the rising Star Award in 2001 CHB.

Hi Bulldogsman, great effort this year!

Daniel Markworth – Lead up fwd/mid
Jimmy Webster – running defender/mid
Michael Bussey – KPD
Sam Gordan – KPF

I would be happy if this was how our draft panned out. We need a pacey lead up forward to help out Riewoldt, which we would get in Markworth. We need a quick medium midfielder to provide that spark in the middle, which we would get in Webster. And we need to bolster our key position stocks, which we would get in Bussey and Gordan. So overall, I would be pleased if that was how it panned out.

Doubt Starcevich would be Father and Son'ed on what I am been Hearing

Hawthorn have announced that they will not select Curran with their father/son selection.

Thanks for the info boys.

Not surprised on Starcevich, I think he's more a rookie choice.

Curran I'm a little surprised on, but I think he's a little bit like Lisle so I can see why.

Really appreciate the effort. Well done and thank you:thumbsu:

Think we might look for a fwd on the ND. I like O'Hanlon, and would be very happy with him at 37. Even Elton ahead of McKenzie. As evidenced by Connors' request for a trade, we are pretty stocked with HBF's. Esp with Morris coming on board, hopefully

No worries mate.

McKenzie can play on the wing though, he's as hard working as they come and was best available. I think he's a good selection for Richmond.

I thought you guys we're fairly well off for tall forwards. Riewoldt, Griffiths, Vickery and then I thought Post was developing their also. Astbury is another one I'm a bit unsure of as a defender too. In saying all that, Darrou can also play up forward and is a bit of a steal that late. He's a strong mark overhead and leads hard at the ball. He looks a better prospect in defence though.

Gee you did alright in 2009 :thumbsu:

Good work, great job selecting Dylan Riley too. Didn't have a great national champs but he's come a long way in the last two years and is a good player, should be at an AFL club next year.

Thanks for that. Yeah it was alright, I went a bit hard with the talls early though. I've tried to back off a little bit this year. It's pretty tough to predict though, I would've never expected Lucas Cook to rise so high and for Jack Darling to fall so low last year.

Yeah I'm a bit of a fan of the Tassie boys this year. Both Webster and Riley didn't do overly well in the champs but I thought they looked good after that. Riley might be a bit high, but I wanted to get his name out there a bit.

Great phantom Bulldogsman. I wouldn't mind having Kerridge or C Smith.

Thanks mate.

Richmond fans would love Smith.

From a North perspective, I'd be disappointed if we chose Jordan Kelly. We simply do not need more tall defenders. I think Webster or Ross are better options for that pick at 40. Great effort though.

Thanks.

Yeah I had a feeling that someone would pick up on this, but Kelly was the best available option. I see Kelly shutting down the medium forwards and providing run from defence. I know you have Firrito there though. I think I mentioned that I considered Webster at your pickk, but I felf Kelly was too good to pass up.

really good read. think there are a few you have missed that I would take but given the evenness of this year I think it would be pretty rich for anyone to say "this kid XYZ is a definite"........

really good read. think there are a few you have missedthat I would take but given the evenness of this year I think it would be pretty rich for anyone to say "this kid XYZ is a definite"........

Thanks mate.

Yep no doubting I missed some and yeah it is very even this year. Just reading Knightmare's and Chris' ones now. Fraser McInness is the biggest one I missed, but I haven't been able to see or get any footage of him yet. Waylan Manson sounds interesting too.

he and Mohr are probably two that I would say are highly likely to go but look you never know and we have had plenty of surprises before havent we. Had a second read and its very similar to what I am thinking.

Couldnt remember if you did or didnt have them in but interested in your views on Boyd, Yeo, Hylton and Lachie Dalgleish

he and Mohr are probably two that I would say are highly likely to go but look you never know and we have had plenty of surprises before havent we. Had a second read and its very similar to what I am thinking.

Couldnt remember if you did or didnt have them in but interested in your views on Boyd, Yeo, Hylton and Lachie Dalgleish

Yeah Mohr is another I haven’t seen. I didn't catch as much VFL footy as I would've liked.

Dalgleish and Hylton I originally had in ahead of Mascitti and Minchington so they were very close. Hylton had a pretty good year and really deserves a spot. I had him out only because of club needs. Yeo was also pretty close, he had fairly reasonable champs and well I haven’t seen him since. All three of these could have easily been in my phantom though and if I had 3 more picks at least two of them would be there. It’s just so even as you said, I can see a few good ones slipping to the rookie draft.

Boyd I never really considered for the main draft and I have him as a rookie chance.