BigFooty  

Upgrade your account!          

Connect with Facebook
Left Nav Register Forums Blogs Groups Tipping Betting Odds FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Old 15 May 2001, 21:00   #1
Michael23
BigFooty Member

3aw, MMM or 3LO

Just want to know what all the Big Footy fans thinks what is the best radio station in melbourne to listen to on the weekend whether your teams plays or not...As for me im am a 3aw fan..I love sundays with Rohan Connolly...I dont mind mmm when dermie isnt there..His dribble sometimes is too boring for me...I try to listen to 3LO once in a while..Tim Lane is great football commentator and I love listening to Stan Alves....I didnt knwo how to do a Voting pole...So if anyone can tell me that would be great/...
Michael23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove the two ads above - Register for free or log in.
Old 15 May 2001, 21:06   #2
FitzroyJamesDio
Red Card

AW rules supreme...be it the morning show with Ross and John..to Neil Mitchell, to ernie in the arvo..to ******** steve price to the sportshow with gerard healy hooksey and and gary lyon to bruce and phil...and lets not forget nightline with alan pearsal...oh keith magowan is gay!
FitzroyJamesDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2001, 21:10   #3
Hit The Boundary Saints
BigFooty Member

The review on Sunday afternoon on 3AW immediately after 12 is excellent, before Rex comes in and takes over and we are back to Rex promoting himself.
Triple MMM is usually pretty good, except for Dermie & Sam. Has anyone ever noticed how many predications Dermie makes in a game that never eventuate. He'll say "Thompson will be the target for this kickout", as if he has great insight, and the ball goes nowhere near him, yet nobody ever mentions it. On the odd occasion he guesses one right, he is considered to be so analytical. I would be too, if I had that many tries at it.
Sam is now playing the fool, and rarely has something worthwhile to say.
I used to be an ABC listener, but for some unknown reason have gone off them.
Hit The Boundary Saints is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2001, 21:20   #4
Same Old's
BigFooty Member
This is a Veteran user. Respect.

ABC (used to be 3LO) because they don't have any commercials.
Same Old's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2001, 21:27   #5
Michael23
BigFooty Member

Yeah the sunday review is excellent on sunday...Clinton Grabarse or whateva his name is quite good as a prensentor and a commentator..He reminds me of Huddo....I cant take Dermie seriously in whateva he says because he said Adelaide and Wce would make the top 8...His dribble is so boring...Maybe him and Dan could get together...Sam was an excellent commentator on 3aw...On MMM he is just used to argue with Dermie and look like an idiot....
Michael23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2001, 22:17   #6
SpecialBruce
Red Card

Lions
MMM mainly.
SpecialBruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2001, 22:23   #7
WCE2000
BigFooty Member

i listen to the games through the AFL web-site.

If there's a choice between 3AW and abc.net.au i'll go for the abc - mainly because you can use real player for abc which sounds better, and you can't for 3AW.

I sometimes listen to 630am in Sydney on the weekends.
WCE2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2001, 22:44   #8
Mr Ripper
Natural Amphitheatre
This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Brisbane
Fitzroy FC
Red face

For pre and post game, I tend to flick between LO and AW depending on the topic of convo.

Must admit that, this season moreso than ever before, Rex's antics are driving me away from AW. Who is this gravel-voiced Peter Beaton character he wants to impersonate every 5 minutes? Drives me up the proverbial.

I reckon Rohan Connolly's great value on the tranny. Love his cynical wit. Tony Shaw oughtta stick to commenting on what's happening ON the field, and not off it; particularly when it comes to AFL membership. Helps if you have a smidgen of knowledge on a topic before you go shooting off at the gob for all to hear.

As for Aunty ABC, I enjoy listening to Stan Alves; his sincerity and passion for football come across loud and clear. Tim's a good caller, but his Carlton bias is seemingly becoming more and more pronounced as each season passes. Not a fan of Dwayne, although his puns tickle the funny bone from time to time. And what's with his Governor Frontbottom laugh?

I rarely venture onto the FM band for footy. BT's a goose, Dermie's a know-it-all, Sam is Sam, and I wouldn't trust Ed as far as I could throw one of his chins.
Old 15 May 2001, 23:15   #9
JUBJUB
BigFooty Ghod

Fords and Marcos Ambrose
MMM is best when its Quarters & BT calling the game.
I like Tim & Dwayne on the ABC
Rex gives me the ********s & Clintons good.
Old 16 May 2001, 10:32   #10
dees01
BigFooty Senior Member

3AW wins easily. I can't stand Eddie's call of the game. I think Rex is great as well as Robert Walls and Garry Lyon. ABC is OK but can be very boring.
dees01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2001, 11:23   #11
coxon
BigFooty Senior Member

oh.. i've only listened to am630 (here in syd).. sure am pissed when my team isnt the one getting the call... hehe

havent tried the afl.com.au or the 3aw website...
will do so this weekend...
coxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2001, 12:26   #12
Blues2001
BigFooty Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
[b]

As for Aunty ABC, I enjoy listening to Stan Alves; his sincerity and passion for football come across loud and clear. Tim's a good caller, but his Carlton bias is seemingly becoming more and more pronounced as each season passes. B]
I disagree. Any Carlton bias that he shows on radio is almost always tongue in cheek.

I think LO are the best by a street - and I think Rex is the worst caller in football. I don't find him 'entertaining' at all.
Blues2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2001, 12:55   #13
Captain Sensible
BigFooty Legend

Footscray
I like to know whats going on on the field so I listen to ABC, Rex is a complete ******** as are most of the on-air 'talent' at 3aw-both in football and during the week. Why would anybody listen to self serving and self-opinionated windbags like Price and Mitchell is beyond me. Although it does explain a lot about FitzroyJamesDio and his opinions if thats what he spends his time doing.
Old 16 May 2001, 13:03   #14
TigerTank
BigFooty Member

KC Chiefs, National Party
3LO is easily the best for any non-Carlton game.

But for pre-game entertainment you can't go past the 'Coodabeens' on 3AW. Rex Hunt can be tiresome though.

I rate Dermott reasonably highly for his knowledge of the game but McGuire is dreadful.
Old 16 May 2001, 13:19   #15
kristin5
BigFooty Member

Denver Broncos
I like Tim Lane on 3LO and Peter Daicos on 3AW. I don't like MMM much - they carry on about nothing relating to the game and it drives me crazy the way BT always says "MMM 'rocks' football" and they all laugh like they've never heard him say it like that before (and it's not even funny).
kristin5 is offline   Reply With Quote

-->