2012 Membership Tally - Part2

Note how North have more juniour members than we "should" as compared to adult memberships. This is the Carey generation coming through. Good for us long term.

While I agree it's a good figure for North, I'm not so sure about attributing it to Carey.

He left North at the end of 2001, 9 years before these figures.

Anyone under 18 in 2010 would have been under 9 when he left, and thus for only the very oldest would have been old enough to develop a team affinity.

I suspect the more likely cause is that they're the kids of the fans gained during the 70's. (which also explains why Richmond's figures are higher than the recent lack of success would suggest).

Is that a record for Port at this date? Good figure :thumbsu:

322 up from last year,

Club is aiming for 40k this year. Last few days has increased a heap, should hopefully see more numbers come through if there is a good showing on the weekend by the lads.

Note how North have more juniour members than we "should" as compared to adult memberships. This is the Carey generation coming through. Good for us long term.

Using that logic the tiny 5% difference in Crows and Power junior memberships is the Tredrea generation coming through

MaddAdam

10k Posts Bay 13: Vintage Bay Podcaster North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor
Jun 8, 2011
In the not so distant future
While I agree it's a good figure for North, I'm not so sure about attributing it to Carey.

Anyone under 18 in 2010 would have been under 9 when he left, and thus for only the very oldest would have been old enough to develop a team affinity.

I suspect the more likely cause is that they're the kids of the fans gained during the 70's. (which also explains why Richmond's figures are higher than the recent lack of success would suggest).

Imagine you were say 7 in 1998 when we were the best team in the league. Then the next year we win a flag, 1999.

It is only now that you'd be getting the financial and social independence to afford a membership and be able to get to games (no study/work on weekend for uni types).

There's loads of posters on the North board who fit this demographic. We did in fact win lots of support, especially among kids, in the 90s glory run. Its only coming full "online" now though, last year or two, this year and onwards.

thegreig

Aug 12, 2010
Eastern Suburbs, Melbourne
Melbourne Stars BBL
Imagine you were say 7 in 1998 when we were the best team in the league. Then the next year we win a flag, 1999.

It is only now that you'd be getting the financial and social independence to afford a membership and be able to get to games (no study/work on weekend for uni types).

There's loads of posters on the North board who fit this demographic. We did in fact win lots of support, especially among kids, in the 90s glory run. Its only coming full "online" now though, last year or two, this year and onwards.

I was 8 in 1998 and the only club that had children switching teams was Brisbane. Every time a discussion comes up about footy from our ealry days Essondons almost perfect season and Brisbane winning three in a row always comes up, infact all through primary and high school the only teams North Melbourne had more fans than out of the vic clubs was Western Bulldogs and Geelong (where I was in the eastern suburbs anyway)

im not saying this to have a go at your theory or your club either mate just letting you know how things were, could have been a completely different story for the school down the road :thumbsu:

GarnerSmash

They tried to make me go to rehab
10k Posts Ex-Moderator North Melbourne - 2015 Daw & MacMillan Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2014 Daw, Black, Gibson Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor
Jun 2, 2009
322 up from last year,

Club is aiming for 40k this year. Last few days has increased a heap, should hopefully see more numbers come through if there is a good showing on the weekend by the lads.
Yeah, noticed that. Great result so far for Port. Hopefully your club gets to the 40K mark. Would be an awesome result considering your 2011.

Honeyboy Wilson

Nov 26, 2008
Port Adelaide

If you were 7 in 1998, then that would make you 19 in 2010, and not eligible for a kids' membership. Or am I just reading this whole thing wrong?

MaddAdam

10k Posts Bay 13: Vintage Bay Podcaster North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor
Jun 8, 2011
If you were 7 in 1998, then that would make you 19 in 2010, and not eligible for a kids' membership. Or am I just reading this whole thing wrong?

No, I'm saying these kids are now becoming full members. And other who were younger are the ones with the juniour memberships.

And it is this scenario that has continued the growth of the hawks contrary to all the baloney posted on this and previous threads on membership - success in the 80's has since seen those young ones start to purchase full adult memberships now and again with our venture into Tassie and a flag in 08 helped by the Cyril and Buddy phenomen, has seen a massive increase once again in junior memberships and this hopefully will in turn see this increase memberships again in 10-15years.

To get onto that 2010 junior list, they would have needed to be 5 in 1998, and I'm suggesting that few kids that age would have picked (and stuck with) a team due to anything other than family/peer pressure.

Not saying there aren't such cases, indeed, I'm sure they did exist, I'm merely suggesting that the 'second generation' is probably a bigger factor.

Yeah, would think most of the 7+ year old kids who jumped aboard anywhere between the early to late 90s would be above the concession age by now.

It probably has more to do with our beefed up marketing in recent years, not that it is ahead of anyone else but our previous admin did a deplorable job in terms of promoting growth, but not having two brass razoos to rub together probably didn't help.

MaddAdam

Jun 8, 2011
LOL, I read the comment about the 'Carey Generation' as a swipe that the had literally fathered a new generation of Kangaroos supporters :p.

He probably has.

Hornberger

Jun 20, 2011
Gold Coast
As of 23/2
Code:
Club                Members
Collingwood          53,000 
West Coast           50,000
Hawthorn             48,558
Adelaide             41,637
Essendon             39,858
Richmond             35,743
Carlton              33,783
Geelong              30,891
Port Adelaide        27,242
St Kilda             25,724
Melbourne            24,874
North Melbourne      22,982
Western Bulldogs     21,664
Sydney               20,219
Brisbane             14,426
Gold Coast            9,554
GWS                   5,521
Fremantle               N/A

Prudster

Aug 30, 2010
Yep, these are the figures from 2010;

Junior (Kids) Members;

Hawthorn - 14,924
Collingwood - 10,033
Carlton - 9,592
Richmond - 8,769
St Kilda - 8,408
Essendon - 8,128
Geelong - 7,780
North Melbourne - 6,829
Western Bulldogs - 6,576
Melbourne - 5,711
Adelaide - 5,372
Sydney Swans - 5,337
Port Adelaide - 5,058
Fremantle - 4,806
Brisbane Lions - 4,789
West Coast Eagles - 4,381

Thanks for that mate.

As i said, the figures have probably changed, and, given Collingwood's success, they are probably winning now, or have caught up. Pretty exciting for the club though, and will hopefully lead to another spike in junior memberships in about 20-30 years, especially if we are towards the top of the ladder at that time.

damuzzdu

Sep 29, 2007
Hotel California
Arsenal FC
As of 23/2
Code:
Club                Members
Collingwood          53,000 
West Coast           50,000
Hawthorn             48,558
Adelaide             41,637
Essendon             39,858
Richmond             35,743
Carlton              33,783
Geelong              30,891
Port Adelaide        27,242
St Kilda             25,724
Melbourne            24,874
North Melbourne      22,982
Western Bulldogs     21,664
Sydney               20,219
Brisbane             14,426
Gold Coast            9,554
GWS                   5,521
Fremantle               N/A
Gary Pert said last Saturday Collingwood had just past 55,000

KillaKanga

Feb 9, 2011
If I'm online I'm at work!
Boston CelticsRedSoxBruins
Looking at 'like' teams for North with memberships from yesterday's table compared to this time last year (25/2)

St Kilda 25724 (2012) - 31281 (2011) = 5557 less members
Melbourne 24874 (12) - 25643 (11) = 769 less members
WBulldogs 21664 (12) - 22503 (11) = 839 less members
Nth Melb 22983 (12) - 18645 (11) = 4337 MORE members

Hopefully some on-field success can see even more improvement.

MaddAdam

Jun 8, 2011
Looking at 'like' teams for North with memberships from yesterday's table compared to this time last year (25/2)

St Kilda 25724 (2012) - 31281 (2011) = 5557 less members
Melbourne 24874 (12) - 25643 (11) = 769 less members
WBulldogs 21664 (12) - 22503 (11) = 839 less members
Nth Melb 22983 (12) - 18645 (11) = 4337 MORE members

Hopefully some on-field success can see even more improvement.

I think the lesson from this is that teams have to strive to maintain members they gain when up.