Opposition Camp 2012: Other Games this Round...Now including FINALS

Discussion in 'Hawthorn' started by Messenger, Mar 24, 2012.

Put it out there
Thread Status:
Make Your Own Team And Play BigFooty Coach
  1. Offline

Messenger Super Moderator

Other teams:
    Minnesota Timberwolves

Well, Season 2012 begins tonight with a ritual sacrifice to appease the Gods (TV networks).

The Swans will be playing the roles of the Aztecs and the bunch of sallow youths and ne'er do wells in Orange and Charcoal will play the part of the Virgin.

I expect the beating heart to be on display by half time.

2. Offline

buddylebo23 BFSC Platinum

Other teams:
    Sacremento Kings

Port Adelaide will beat St Kilda IMO. They are in good form leading to Round 1. That will be the upset of the Round.
  3. Offline

jpzhawk Debutant

Other teams:

I'm still a hater of GWS and the Suns because i truely believe the AFL should have put more time and money into getting a team from Tassie in the comp. If it's going to be " AFL " then each state must be represented. So, in saying that, I hope the Swans absolutely smash them by 150 points, just as i hope every other team does. When GWS play the Suns, i will hope the weather is that crappy everytime that nobody turns up.
  4. Offline

Other teams:
    Minnesota Timberwolves

It will be interesting to see. My recollection is that the saints record at AAMI is pretty good of recent times.

Haven't seen Port yet.
  5. Offline

Hungry Hawk BFSC Gold

Other teams:

Tipping the first round appears a risky buisness. Rich v Carl and Ess v North are games I tossed over (no pun). I hope Rich and North prevail, eh eh eh ehhh!
  6. Offline

Other teams:
    Sacremento Kings

Anyone else here wanting Fremantle to win? :p
  7. Offline

Other teams:
    Sacremento Kings

They have been very good. Players like, Cornes, Pearce, Salopek have been playing good footy, all them looking like having solid years for PA. Pfeiffer, McCarthy and Brad Ebert all look like good pick ups for them.
  8. Offline

Hawks1994 Debutant

Other teams:
    Arsenal

The Giants not going that badly at the moment....... The young boys are playing with a bit of passion and purpose. I dont really like the Swans, so I am kind of rooting for the Giants. I always like to see underdogs win...
  9. Offline

go hawks!!! BFSC Gold

Other teams:
    Box Hill Hawks

Anyone impressed with number 32 from Sydney? Looks like he has taken it to another level. I can see young hill for the hawks impressing just as much in 2013
  10. Offline

savagelunchbox BFSC Gold

Other teams:

Is Brett Kirk immune from wearing a dress shirt and tie as well as black shoes because he has that Buddhist, 'holier than thou' persona about him?

Casual clothes covered by a suit jacket and pants doesn't look good. Neither does suit pants with Chuck Taylor shoes. :thumbsdown:
  11. Offline

grizzlym Admin

Other teams:
    Tumblin' Monkeys

Except on Chuck Norris.
  12. Offline

savagelunchbox BFSC Gold

Other teams:

Yeah but he's the exception to every rule.
  13. Offline

grizzlym Admin

Other teams:
    Tumblin' Monkeys

What an absolutely horrible game to start the year.

I get the flimsy symbolism, but as a game of footy... in Sydney...

Very ordinary.
  14. Offline

spikers BFSC Gold

Other teams:

Couldn't agree more. I only watched it on TV & I know it is round 1 but some of the skills on display were dreadful. If I was a Sydney fan I would be pretty disappointed with that effort. Let's hope the standard next week is much higher.
  15. Offline

Other teams:
    Minnesota Timberwolves

They fought hard but Lordy the Giants are in a world of strife this season. No idea how they think Folau, Patton or anyone trying to take a mark inside 50 is going to be productive playing that way.

And can we give up on ANZ Stadium as a venue? Glorified cow paddock.
  16. Offline

SodaPop Team Captain

Other teams:
    Liverpool, NYJets

Was Tim Mhor aka the bear aka homer, the dude we were chasing in trade week?
    He played well.
    That cameron kid is going to be a ripper as well. Hopefully we tap him up next year!
  17. Offline

Adelaide Hawk Premiership Player

Other teams:
    Norwood

We started the rot last season with Gold Coast and K-Hunt. Mediocre is the new flavour of the AFL.
  18. Offline

CouchPotato BFSC Platinum

Other teams:
    Royals

Being a bit prissy SLB - he was a guest commentator. Ling looked far worse in that hideous black jacket
  19. Offline

jpzhawk Debutant

Other teams:

Crap game, crap atmosphere, crap teams, crap, boring, crap, crap...zzzzzzzzz !!!!!
    The real season starts this week, carlton v's richmond is the curtain raiser to the big one...
    HAWTHORN V COLLINGWOOD " MCG " FRIDAY NIGHT 80,000 + ..
    NOW THATS FOOTBALL...THATS MELBOURNE...THATS ATMOSPHERE..THATS AWESOME !
  20. Offline

savagelunchbox BFSC Gold

Other teams:

I certainly hope that's all he was. I was watching it on mute with the radio commentary going so I wouldn't know if he was a once off guest or regular. Even still, I don't know why he couldn't dress like the other commentators. From a visual aspect, he looked as sloppy as hell.

Hodge, Riewoldt and Maxwell are all guest commentators on 7 and they wear suits and ties.

And Ling will always look bad with that head on the screen.
  21. Offline

savagelunchbox BFSC Gold

Other teams:

You're thinking of Geelong's Tom Gillies.
  22. Online

BuddyGlove He'll be back

Other teams:

I second that notion. Just wish I could freeze myself 'til next Thursday.

As far as tipping goes, I went with North Melbourne on a whim, and every bone in my body told me to tip Fremantle but I went with the crowd. They'll be very good this year. Reckon St. Kilda will do the dose on Port though.
  23. Offline

Taskmaster Team Captain

Other teams:

Agree with this one.

Cant wait for fri night, at last the footy is back! Its going to be massive! The other game I am looking forward to watching, is, Rich V Carl. Geez I hope the Tigs can knock off the pretenders.....

There might be a multi in that one, Tigs into the Hawks at the line.....?
  24. Offline

Other teams:
    Minnesota Timberwolves

Fremantle started well against the Cats.
  25. Offline

grizzlym Admin

Other teams:
    Tumblin' Monkeys

They have. There's more system and discipline about 'em already.
Thread Status: