List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Watch Thread

Would be good for our NEAFL side, definitely. Would be handy as a tagger later on in the season when 3/4 of our 1sts are out injured too. He's a Gold Coast boy born and bred. If he doesn't get picked up anywhere else where he can get a regular run at AFL level, then we should definitely pick him up

Something in that article about Broughton going onto the rookie list on his normal wage, too? Not sure how that works. Thought he would have been good enough for the senior list. :S

Oh well. I'm sure they know what they're doing.
now i've heard it all. this offseason is messing with our heads i think.

raines could be handy i guess. similar to mcqualter. i sometimes forget we had him for a year haha.

Something in that article about Broughton going onto the rookie list on his normal wage, too? Not sure how that works. Thought he would have been good enough for the senior list. :S

Broughton is younger then ablett isn't he.....?
Maybe it's something about how much there contract is.. And Abletts is to high?
Says something about not having any veterans they can list him as a nominated rookie..
So.. That opens up a extra spot in the seniors..?
So maybe we're upgrading Boston..? Or taking 4 picks in the draft?

Very strange.

The Suns will also attempt to redraft defender Greg Broughton through the rookie draft. Because the Suns have no veterans listed players, they can list Broughton as a nominated rookie which means he retains his pay rate and is eligible to play senior footy.
This would mean Josh Hall wouldn't be getting an upgrade then, wouldn't it?

G. Ablett dislikes this

Seriously though, wouldn't hurt to have a specialist tagger on the list. Stick him on Prestia, Swallow, etc during pre-season to teach them how to cope with a tag.

Not a bad point really. Would be good just for that reason and our NEAFL team.

If he gets the same pay and is eligible to play seniors, does it matter what list he's technically on?

That's bullshit anyway. There is no ******* way that he could earn the amount he does now on the rookie list. He hasn't even been delisted either so how is this going to happen? That whole paragraph made no sense.

If he gets the same pay and is eligible to play seniors, does it matter what list he's technically on?
I don't understand why they'd drop a best 22 player to the rookie list when there are other options, but you're right nonetheless.

Would be good for our NEAFL side, definitely. Would be handy as a tagger later on in the season when 3/4 of our 1sts are out injured too. He's a Gold Coast boy born and bred. If he doesn't get picked up anywhere else where he can get a regular run at AFL level, then we should definitely pick him up

Yes Raines would be handy for our ressies and maybe even get a odd game at senior level but I think he could end up at a Aspley, Redlands or even Southport.in the NEAFL.

Raines is a Southport boy and would add another local to the list. He also happens to be the son of Geoff Raines who happened to be playing for Brisbane in he Bad News Bears day. Not only would Andrew be the first Gold Coaster to "come home" but he would also be a part of the first father-son combination to have both played home games at Carrara.

Am I right in saying we have 4 spots left on our primary list , If Broughton goes back to Rookie , that leaves us 5 spots , 3 for draft and 2 maybe for PSD ?

The Suns will also attempt to redraft defender Greg Broughton through the rookie draft. Because the Suns have no veterans listed players, they can list Broughton as a nominated rookie which means he retains his pay rate and is eligible to play senior footy.

That's cheeky if true

now i've heard it all. this offseason is messing with our heads i think.

raines could be handy i guess. similar to mcqualter. i sometimes forget we had him for a year haha.
Raines is much better than McQualter. Raines is an underrated and unfairly maligned player. Professional, hard as nails and has better skills / game awareness than what he is credited with. McQualter was a scrub.

I reckon you might use him to negate whichever opposition player is trying to get to Gaz.
If so, Gazza will get 40-50 every week. Raines is still one of the best stoppers in the game.

Brissy's got a midfield that doesn't need him (Rockliff, Redden, Hanley, Zorko, Beams, Beams, Christensen etc + kids).
Leppa didn't use him because they need to further develop these guys in the key roles.
He'll be a ripper for the development of your young mids and he'll also take a bit of slack off them, let alone Gaz himself.

I think his recruitment is along similar lines to that of Malceski (defence) to offer depth and further experience / knowledge to a particular area of the ground (midfield).

actually yeah probably unfair to compare him with mcqualter haha. i sort of meant it that he might spend the majority of the time in the neafl, as there's plenty of competition in our midfield. having said that, a new coach with a defensive mindset might want a tagger in the starting 21.