2014 non Freo games

If we draw we're almost certainly 5th too - unless we can pull off something like a 15 goal win against Bris.
No. Freo beat Brisbane and the club is a game clear of Port. A draw against Port leaves them a game clear.

Bloody hell. I just worked out that if we beat port and finish fourth, and lose the really tough trip to Sydney, we would have to play Port again twice in 3 weeks :(

Yeah - I reckon that is why next Saturday is the must win for Port. If we can't beat Freo without Fyfe and Barlow we won't be able to when they are back.

Bloody hell. I just worked out that if we beat port and finish fourth, and lose the really tough trip to Sydney, we would have to play Port again twice in 3 weeks :(
That would be fairly taxing on Port though:
Freo away
Derby(maybe?) at Home
Freo away

How about lets give 100% honest effort against Brisbane and then do the same against Port. We just beat Hawks without our leading goalscorer and our best defender*. Port just played a great game against a team that has packed it in for the year. Port have some confidence now and feel like they're on the front foot. Lets smack the Lions with 100% effort from our boys and remind Port that we're in great form too.

Yeah we probably shouldn't tank the Brissy game because then we're relying on beating Port. And obviously we will - but if we don't, then we're not in the 4!!

Currently, Freo (2 games to go) & Port (1 game) are tied with 56 points. For those getting confused we can:

Win v Bris Win v Port = Freo 4th (64points v 56)
Win v Bris Lose v Port = Freo & Port fight for 4th on percentage (60 points v 60)
Win v Bris Draw v Port = Freo 4th (62 points v 58)
Lose v Bris Win v Port = Freo 4th (60 points v 56)
Lose v Bris Lose v Port = Freo out of the 4 (56 points v 60)
Lose v Bris Draw v Port = Freo 5th (58 points v 58 but we can't catch on percentage)
Draw v Bris Win v Port = Freo 4th (62 points v 56)
Draw v Bris Lose v Port = Freo 5th(58 points v 60)
Draw v Bris Draw v Port = Freo 4th (60 points v 58)

If North win their next 2 games, and we lose our next 2 we can finish as low as 6th.

Yeah we probably shouldn't tank the Brissy game because then we're relying on beating Port. And obviously we will - but if we don't, then we're not in the 4!!

For those getting confused we can:

Win v Bris Win v Port = Freo 4th (64points v 60)
Win v Bris Lose v Port = Freo & Port fight for 4th on percentage (60 points v 60)
Lose v Bris Win v Port = Freo & Port fight for 4th on percentage (60 points v 60)
Lose v Bris Lose v Port = Freo 5th (56 points v 60)
Lose v Bris Draw v Port = Freo 5th (58 points v 58 but we can't catch on percentage)
Draw v Bris Win v Port = Freo 4th (62 points v 60)
Draw v Bris Lose v Port = Freo 5th (58 points v 60)
edited for clarity :)

Port coming good at the right end of the season, a bit like us they lost some that they should have won and are now paying the price for it. Pity that it has to be either us or Port to get a top 4 berth, would have loved it if the top 4 had three interstaters in there.

What if we defeat Brisbane 120-30 then Port defeat us 100-90 We still make the 4.

For me there is the little issue about us having our 2 best mids on the sidelines, and our best KPD there too. For both matches.

Percentage is all but irrelevant. We need to win both matches to be in the top 4, even though it is theoretically possible do it in other ways.

Port coming good at the right end of the season, a bit like us they lost some that they should have won and are now paying the price for it. Pity that it has to be either us or Port to get a top 4 berth, would have loved it if the top 4 had three interstaters in there.

Great call. Both sides are better than the Cats who have scraped through winning close games which tends to camouflage their real quality which is better illustrated by their percentage which is well down.

That would be fairly taxing on Port though:
Freo away
Derby(maybe?) at Home
Freo away

How about lets give 100% honest effort against Brisbane and then do the same against Port. We just beat Hawks without our leading goalscorer and our best defender*. Port just played a great game against a team that has packed it in for the year. Port have some confidence now and feel like they're on the front foot. Lets smack the Lions with 100% effort from our boys and remind Port that we're in great form too.

yeah lets go for both wins even though we just need to beat Port put the onus on them next week, Brisbane will be buoyed with Ash McGrath retiring.Let's just hope it won't be a repeat of a month ago

For those getting confused we can:

Win v Bris Win v Port = Freo 4th (64points v 60)
Lose v Bris Win v Port = Freo & Port fight for 4th on percentage (60 points v 60)
Lose v Bris Lose v Port = Freo out of the 4 (56 points v 60)
Lose v Bris Draw v Port = Freo out of the 4 (58 points v 58 but we can't catch on percentage)
Draw v Bris Win v Port = Freo 4th (62 points v 60)
Draw v Bris Lose v Port = Freo out of the 4 (58 points v 60)

If we lose v Bris and win v Port we'll be on 60, but port will still be on 56

No. Freo beat Brisbane and the club is a game clear of Port. A draw against Port leaves them a game clear.

How so? We beat brissy we go to 60 pts,port is on 56 right now.Next week if we had a draw with port,we go to 62,port 58.
So by that, a win against brissy is not irrelevant.

Oh yeah, sorry :oops:. Calculator was a bit :drunk: at the time.

Guys, just relax, and take a deep breath. We've got this, 4th spot will be ours after next weekend. Did nobody watch us last weekend against the reigning premiers?? Granted weve lost two of our three big mids, BUT we get back our leading goal scorer, the final round will be on our own turf and the boys will be primed. Ross has them peaking at just the right time, with a very healthy competition for spots in the team come finals time. They've got this. Have the faith.

Let's stop considering the various scenarios over where we finish for a moment and all say a big "thanks for ******* nothing Carlton, you useless bunch of campaigners". Yes they had injuries, but to go from the kind of footy they played against us, to that...absolutely spineless.

Bring on Brissie and Port.

Let's stop considering the various scenarios over where we finish for a moment and all say a big "thanks for ******* nothing Carlton, you useless bunch of campaigners". Yes they had injuries, but to go from the kind of footy they played against us, to that...absolutely spineless.

Bring on Brissie and Port.
As nice as it would have been for Carlton to do us a favour, at least now we will find out whether we are good enough for top 4 or not based on our own ability, not that of other teams.