MVP 2015 Lions Club Champion - Merrett-Murray Medal

I understand that. But surely you don't think that should be accounted for in the votes. The b+f has to be about what a player is producing right now not about their potential, otherwise I'd give Harris Andrews the b+f by a country mile. Paparone got 120 votes and the winners only got 130 and that just doesn't seem right to me. But each to their own all good.

I didn't say it was. Your argument is more about our game plan and the the role Paps was asked to do....Not sure that equates to it not being vote worthy..

Is this a piss take?

Weighted to those not injured and played every game? So you're saying it sucks that the injured players and ones not getting a game aren't getting votes? Wow.

Paps is a good footballer. A forward/wing player changing to the role of running defender/sweeper and doing it extremely well. I don't understand the Paps bashing from our supporters.

How dare you not name names and group all of 'our supporters' together! ;)

Is this a piss take?

Weighted to those not injured and played every game? So you're saying it sucks that the injured players and ones not getting a game aren't getting votes? Wow.

Paps is a good footballer. A forward/wing player changing to the role of running defender/sweeper and doing it extremely well. I don't understand the Paps bashing from our supporters.
No, as I mentioned earlier any system will naturally favour players who play every game. But there was something about our system having an even greater emphasis on games played from memory, though I can't find the article I'm thinking of.

WTF?

I never replied to you nor saw a post about this by you.

Also, if someone says something stupid I will post in disagreement.

Really?...It's a forum, you know where folk come to express their ideas and views on a particular issue and points exchanged.
Pretty sure the tit-for-tat arguments were pretty obnoxious. At the risk of starting one myself I will leave that there.
WTF?

I never replied to you nor saw a post about this by you.

Also, if someone says something stupid I will post in disagreement.
I know that, I was just pointing out the opposite side of the argument.

Yeah, saw that, and thought at the time that BT is just a complete waste of space. His opinions are always so Vic-centric oriented.

I bet that if the same thing happened with a Victorian team we would have heard all about how wonderful and inclusive it was!

Anyway, my thoughts are that it happened, so deal with it. Congrats to all four Lions - all well-deserved.

Who gives a flying frankfurter what BT thinks about our our voting system?

In fact who gives a furkel about anything that BT has to say?

Go Package ya-self BT, ya flog.

Any one else who thinks that ties (2-way, 3 way or any other way) shoudn't be allowed needs to come up with their own thesis on how they can be avoided.

It is what it it is (where have I heard that before?) so just deal with it.

Well done to the 4 lads:thumbsu:

Congrats to all four winners !!!! It's my opinion, that all players are deserving of the award.

It's the way voting systems work, the more you play, the more you can score.

For arguments sake, Beams 130 from 16 games would put him on top. Followed by Martin from 20 games, Robinson 21 and Zorko 22
But that's not to lessen what each individual has achieved....

2 days later and we have been given nothing, no interviews, no videos, nothing. This is very sloppy PR by the club who should have been talking this event up.

I think they embargo this stuff for a few days so that the people who pay 190 dollars a ticket get some timed exclusivity.

I'm okay with that.

I'm a 3 game member and think its crazy that I'm not considered a real member (crazy, assumptive and offensive). I'm not a full season member because my wife will divorce me if I go to every game. Yes, yes, I'm whipped... whatever. I also have NO friends that are even into sport, so I go to games solo.

I am a rabid fan of the Lions. I foam at the mouth. I support the club in other ways than just going to the games, but I go to more than 3 just pay GA. I buy more merch. I go to war on social media to support my club. I am developing a blog. I tell everyone I can about how amazing this club is.

I didn't grow up supporting footy. I'm the second member of my extended family to even get into the game. I talk to members and fans alike from walks of life. This club, its players and its members are great.

Treating each other like s**t for elevating your own elitist views hurts the club. Take a look inside before looking elsewhere for reasons.

We need to to be one club. I will go to bat for pretty much all of you, so why dismiss me......

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I am not sure exactly how to reply. I certainly don't want to dismiss you and I support about 95% of what you wrote.

Welcome to the board and I hope to hear more from you.

Just observations from the night.

The voting system is ok (IMO) but took me half the night's votes to work out how they were falling/being read out. Like a blackjack casino dealer, just throwing out cards so quick that no-one could follow anything but the totals. A bit slower would've built some anticipation for non mathemagicians.

Pikey's life member speech was good. His video tribute was bloody good - quick but got your blood pumping. He said after playing for a few clubs, he was especially proud to have found the club that he considers home (or where he belongs - words to that effect).

Stef specifically went out of his way to thank the Melbourne based members, thanking them for being so loyal & being there at post-game loss functions. He looked & sounded legitimately appreciative so big props for those that put in that effort.

Jed's speech was awkward. He spoke well & from the heart, got a deserved toast, but geez, no one felt comfortable.

Swann said the things you'd expect. A+ preseason, much to do, the injury stats that crippled us, but look at the positives - membership up; record crowd attendance in Rnd 1; First ever Academy player with a Rising Star Nom; onwards & upwards type thing.

Leppa focussed on the retirees. Sticks, Goose & Stakes. The video tribute for each was good, save that McGuane's went on forever - capped off with "yep, that was every kick I ever had as a Lion I reckon" from McGuane. Lots of Vossy love from Goose & Stakes.

Decent chow. The mango chilli desert plate was brutal. I like my hot sauce (Cholula sauce with everything for me) but with ice cream? Not so much.

Other than the tie itself which was pretty much the climax, Beama's speech was probably the highlight of the night, given he pretty much addressed the elephant in the room - it's the one being quoted on the website so no need to report it here - went down really well.

That and Robbo getting up for 3 medals (Player's player; most competitive player & 1/4 of a Merrett Murray) also got pops from the crowd - massive fan favourite.

A few round these parts scrub up alright. Nice duds and all.

All in all it felt like a real positive night & the boys were all stoked to head off to Hong Kong.