2015 Potential Draftee and Trade Watch

Shutgun is all yours , as noted in that thread. Certainly have read the name before but he was different to the mental image I had of him.

The question I guess is where players like him go , who could be a Gregson for us.
Tahana, from memory, was "lightly built" so it'll be good to see him 12 months on.

I have the games recorded, just need to find the time to sit down and watch them.

Did he play across half back or mainly in the midfield?

Tahana, from memory, was "lightly built" so it'll be good to see him 12 months on.

I have the games recorded, just need to find the time to sit down and watch them.

Did he play across half back or mainly in the midfield?

To me a bit of both , not what id call light really but certainly not built for AFL , ready to go etc.

Overall this year its more a kick here or a tackle there... a slice (i think they called it) ..a glimpse into what may be. Next years group may be a good I think.

To me a bit of both , not what id call light really but certainly not built for AFL , ready to go etc.

Overall this year its more a kick here or a tackle there... a slice (i think they called it) ..a glimpse into what may be. Next years group may be a good I think.
The WA side looks to have a raft of good players who are under-age so they'll be one to watch next year I think.

For Tas.. the kid Lovell is just a stat accumulator , another lazy 35 or so... but he kick 3 goals as well... and what I really liked was when the game had to be won , he was key to the result. Not the smooth , usual looking footballer of this era.. more and 80's or 90's player and is a footballer before all else.
He is more than just a stat accumulator. He was very damaging today. He can do it all. Take contested marks, break away from packs, he uses the ball really well, pretty good long kick, can kick on both feet when needed. He always looks like he has time and doesn't just give the first option he sees. He even had an important moment where he didn't get a stat, he just cut off a NT inside fifty and spoiled it over the line in the last quarter to prevent a shot at goal when Tassie were still two goals behind or so. I am a big fan :rainbow:

Perhaps I shouldn't have "just" in that sense. It was not meant as a put down or a limiting comment , more to emphasise that in workman like manor he just build his tally. He reminds me more of a Paul Haselby , Adrian Fletcher type of player. He looks not not silky , not the slick looking modern footballer but more a guy who is willing to be blue collar yet he is more than that, he seems to be wanting it , when the game is on the line.. always a good sign of a good player imo.
Not impressed with his kicking , yet again , one setshot he kicked from outside 50. Be worth noting where he goes.

Will be interesting come draft time. My preferences:

For me:
First round: Best available, likely to be a midfielder would love a partington, parish, curnow. Not sold on Collins. Would also be happy to offer this pick up for Witts or Lycett. Both could carry our ruck division for the next 10 years.
Second Round: Should get a good mid with this pick. one of dunkley, O’Kearney, Clark, Snelling, Gresham, Milera could slide.
Third Round: Tahana is likely to play a lot of games - likely in the backpocket. Lovell could be a good pick as well
Fourth: Would love aguis to slide. This guy is capable of kicking a bag on his day. Bad championships where he was played out of position some of his games in the SAFL include a couple of games: 17 touches, 6 marks, 3 inside 50s, 5 goals, 3 behinds. He might not make it, but I think is worth the risk late
Rookie: High production midfielders, would love to grab a combe late draft or rookie. Other options Rioli, Markov

It's important to draft midfielder who are capable of getting more than 15 touches a game

Vic Country 11.6 (72) def SA 9.5 (61)

A disappointing result if you're an ex Croweater like myself but, based on this one game, I'd suggest a fair bit of the first round will come from these two sides.

Weitering looks like a very, very good bet and, despite lowering his colours somewhat, Francis is the other standout key backman. Hard to see either of them sliding so I doubt we'll get a chance at them even allowing for our current position.

For the winners...

Already mentioned Weitering but Schache would have gotten a lot of attention after this match (although his previous games were just as impressive by all accounts so it isn't like some cat got out of the bag in this game). Beautiful kicking action and he is something of a dead-eye. He plays a lot like his Dad too. He was helped by some fairly ordinary defensive efforts by SA and he got a couple of cheapies but he looks like the kind of key forward you'd build your forward line around.

His partner in crime was Ben Ainsworth who kicked 3 but clubs will have to wait until 2016 for him.

I only saw Darcy Parish briefly last year but he seems a lot more "inside" than I remember him. Not sure if that is simply another 12 months on and maturing a bit more but he was doing his share of stoppage work and was doing it quite well. I doubt this would be a game he'd be overly happy with but it is quite clear he can play. If we keep our first rounder he might well be in the frame for us and he'd be a more than useful addition.

Another esteemed member of this thread already claimed Mathieson and if you want a "clearance specialist" then this kid is the one you'll probably go for. Played exactly the same in this game as he did in the Champs last year and has that happy knack of getting first hands on the ball in the contest and getting it out by foot or hand. He doesn't stop running either. At times can look untidy but I feel that tends to go hand-in-hand with being a classical inside midfielder. He might very well be another who is around our first pick and it would be tough to pass him up considering our problems with contested ball and clearances.

One guy who really made an impression on me was Harry McKay (and not just because he is listed at 200cm). He appeared to me to be stationed at CHF and he is a good mover for his size. Has some quick hands too judging by the handball he got off to Simpkin in the last which resulted in a goal. Obviously needs to fill out some more but at his size you have to think he can ruck. Hard to pick where he might go due to only seeing him for the first time in this game (and the commentators seemed to be suggesting he was behind Skinner, who is McKay's teammate at Gippsland). Hopefully he'll appear in the other games I've recorded so I can get a better feel for what he can do.

A few of the guys have already mentioned Collins and I have to admit to being a little underwhelmed by him in this game. I thought he was beaten by his man for most of the game but, to be fair, he did take a couple of really timely marks late in the game. I think the posters who raised his name are right in that he can play, I probably just saw him on a day when he lowered his colours. The FOX team were talking him up though so clearly his earlier games have been very good.

Mennen started well in the backline and looks a neat player. I noticed him less and less as the game wore on but what he did do he did with a minimum of fuss.

Another favourite of mine, Darcy Tucker, didn't seem to do much but still managed 15 touches. There is a part of me that hope he drifts but I can't see him drifting down to our second pick. The guy is too good not to be snapped up in the first round. Nyuon did well in the ruck (and is still very raw) while Holmes showed a bit despite getting little of it.

For the losers...

Partington was the SA player who had bolted early with some very good early games. He probably didn't have as much impact as he has had in other games but he did look like SA's version of Mathieson. He is a contested ball player but has, I think, good vision. I really liked the 15 metre, inboard handball from close to the boundary to a teammate who should have kicked the goal. A lot to work with.

The guy who, I thought, had the better of Collins was Matthew Allen. Good on the lead and appears to have strong hands and is a good kick. He might be a little one dimensional but he does the lead-mark-kick fairly well. Kicked 3 goals.

The South Australian half backs, Tahana and Bonner, were good. I actually like Bonner's game better but he made a few skill errors which, I hope, was uncharacteristic. When Bonner has time he looks an accomplished kick and his left foot hit-up of Redman on the lead in the last quarter was evidence that he might very well have some hurt factor with his kicking. In more good news, Bonner is good with both feet.

The captain Snelling had a stack of it and worked all game. Another one that'll have questions over him because of his size (177cm) but that didn't stop him laying a game high 12 tackles. Half of his possessions were contested as well so he isn't afraid to go in and get the ball. I thought he played a good captain's game.

An interesting one was Luke Surman. Nothing flashy but clunked a few good marks, a couple of them being contested, and at 196cm (or thereabouts) he is the kind of player that might be a later pick for the key defensive position. Not a great shot at goal though. Another one I'd like to see more of.

Milera and Haysman both had small cameos but didn't set the world on fire.

Nice job Piv.

Collins had one very good game. Think R1 is a tad early but its that sort of draft. Someone maybe a few will escalate from what they do after the Champs and what they do at the Combine. Have you seen much of Skinner , I have not but , but he may be the sort( injured bargain again) that we pickup. I don't see us needing an immediate KPB...and was rated top 20 at some stage.

McKay similar thoughts. Lot of upside. There was a very raw ruck playing for SA I think , very had to judge the talls at this age imo...cause if they are talented they play elsewhere like Wright last year. McKay showing mobility at CHF impresses me.

I could easily have mentioned Bonner...falls into the KK , Thurlow type for mine

WA 11.6 (72) def Victoria Metro 7.12 (54)

The return bout between these two sides and for most of the game it was close until WA got a run on in the final quarter. Different from the game played earlier in the day between Country and SA (where a lot of the top end talent this year seems to be) in that the skill level wasn't as crisp and the two sides weren't as direct (both of them looked much better when they stopping chipping it around sideways and attacked).

For Western Australia...

This side might be tough to toss next year as they have some genuine talent at under age level (Petrevski-Seton, Waterman, Powell-Pepper and Goddard to name 4) and they were much better in Geelong than they were on their home deck in Perth.

Once again over-aged cricket convert Clint Hinchliffe found plenty of the ball. This game saw him make a few more errors (his dropped mark from a WA kick-in was a howler) but I kept telling myself that he probably didn't take footy too seriously so there might be some improvement in him. He had 18 disposals and seems to find himself in the right place. He is a tricky one to judge because he is a year older but so far he has found the ball and played 2 reasonably solid Championship games which is all he can really do.

I really liked Josh Schoenfeld's game. He just constantly runs between the 50s and is always an option because of his willingness to work hard and try and find space. He is a neat player and has some good footy nous. Enjoyed him getting front and square (love using that line :D) of a one-on-one marking contest, sharking the ball off the spoil, running away from his man to slot a goal. He isn't top end but he has some ability and he looks to be a kid who is prepared to work hard.

Callum Ah Chee didn't have a great game against Metro in WA but he clearly showed why he is highly regarded in this match. He doesn't need too many touches to hurt the opposition and he is a terrific mark. If he doesn't mark it he'll cause problems when the ball is on the ground so he'll get his man one way or the other. Uses the ball well both by hand and foot and picks the right option quickly (the handball when on his knees which set up a WA goal showed how dangerous he'll be with ball in hand).

A player who started slowly (partly due to a hand injury I think) but had a terrific second half and really good last quarter was Rogers off half back. Mopped up, sweeping across the back half line and had a couple of eye-catching moments. Looks a bit more "AFL Ready" in the body compared to a few of his WA teammates as well.

Greg Clark isn't flashy but does a lot of grunt work inside packs. As I mentioned in the earlier review he is one of the new breed of midfielders in that he is 190+. Had 4 or 5 clearances and kept WA in touch early on when Metro looked the more likely of the two sides.

Stewart was fairly unobtrusive but, like Balic from Metro, he looks like he could become a very tidy player while Glass-McCasker might be a guy to consider with a later selection for key defensive duties.

For Victoria Metro...

They'd be disappointed losing this one and they haven't had a great Championships but there is still some talent within the ranks.

O'Kearney would have gotten sick of the sight of the footy, he had it in his hands that often. Where ever the footy was you'd probably have found him somewhere in the vicinity. Clever player who quite clearly knows how to find it, he has good skills (although, at least in this game, his kicking looks to lack some penetration) and I think he'll be safely inside the first round (even on this single viewing).

As good as O'Kearney was, I preferred Jade Gresham. Gresham seems to carry the ball a bit more than O'Kearney (although that is a risky comment to make considering it is only 1 game) and appears to want to hit the scoreboard more. There is something more "sexy" about Gresham as well, as evidenced by his goal just before half time. Tapped the ball to himself and then burnt off his chaser to kick the goal at top clip. His smother in the last quarter also displayed a willingness to do the little things as well. The issue with Gresham is going to be that age old one though...he is sub 180cm.

Need a forward who can take a grab? Callum Moore might be able to do the job. Took some good marks and a couple of nice contested ones. He's 193cm but has a good leap so will play taller. Only problem is his kicking is hit-and-miss. The commentators highlighted that his ball drop needs work but that can probably be fixed up once at a club (I remember the same commentators questioning Cameron McCarthy's kicking and he seems to be fine these days). Moore is a year older than a number of his teammates but he looked promising in this match.

Ben Crocker is a mid sized forward who is athletic and also likes to jump at the ball. Might need to do a bit more than that in senior company but he did have some moments during the game.

Firns was again solid enough down back as was his Oakleigh teammate, Harry Thompson. Neither he (or Firns) are, at least right now, big ball winners (and they may never be) but they stick to their job.

As mentioned, Balic looks like he'll be a very good player but he was quiet in this match. Clarke, Batty and Parsons are others who will, I believe, come under consideration on draft night.

Based on the couple of games I've watched so far I'd totally agree with that "glimpse" comment. Parsons is a great example of that.
Have you seen much of Skinner , I have not but , but he may be the sort( injured bargain again) that we pickup. I don't see us needing an immediate KPB...and was rated top 20 at some stage.
Not seen Skinner either but I thought someone else in this thread made mention of him (unless I'm getting my Skinners mixed up) earlier in the year.

Based on the couple of games I've watched so far I'd totally agree with that "glimpse" comment. Parsons is a great example of that.
Not seen Skinner either but I thought someone else in this thread made mention of him (unless I'm getting my Skinners mixed up) earlier in the year.

May have talked earlier about him being a Wells type being injured etc. But was rated earlier than I think he will go now. Where he go's who knows
Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 4.13.53 pm.png

Turbocat, I know he has been out of action for a while but we should seriously consider our own version of the Fine Cotton affair and replace Vardy with Skinner if that picture is anything to go by.

Tasmania 11.7 (73) def Northern Territory 9.6 (60)

I find the Division 2 games a bit harder to judge now that they don't play against the Division 1 sides. I always found if a kid played well against a Div. 1 side that formed a decent bassline.

Anyway, enough ranting...this was a fun game to watch. The NT boys were much better than last year's side and were back to playing like I remember NT sides playing like, run and gun, quick and skilled while Tassie were more contested and hit packs harder.

For Tasmania...

Can't really fault Kieran Lovell who picked up a lot of the ball and kicked 3 goals. He used the ball really well and, despite his size, did manage to take a "hanger" in the first half. I think the piece of play I liked the most (and sums him up nicely) happened in the second quarter when he came through the middle of the ground, hit up a man on the lead in the forward 50 and then kept running into the Tasmania forward line, found space and was rewarded for his running. He finished his work off with a goal. Hard to see him not getting drafted and looks like he'd hold his own against players in Division 1.

The two Mitchells, Rainbird and Hibberd (who also both happen to be overaged) both put in good games. Rainbird, in the one game I saw last year, looked pretty good so it was a bit of a surprise that he didn't find his way onto a list. He appears to like to tackle and gets around the ground. His disposal, in this match, wasn't that great and perhaps that was what held him back last year but he did enough for me to suggest he is worth considering later in the draft (especially if it is on the shallow side). Hibberd reminded me a little of Thurlow. Rebounded out of defence a lot, had the ball regularly and didn't really make too many mistakes. Not quite tall enough for a key defensive post and probably too tall (191cm) for the small forwards which makes him a 'tweener but it is easy enough to see him playing as a tall mid.

Nick Dodge had some eye-catching moments as a forward flanker and had a good patch early in the game. In one contest he was 1-on-1 with his man, brought the ball to ground and then collected and fired off a handball to Lovell for a goal and then moments later read the flight of the ball better than his man, took the mark after getting in the better position and then slotted the ball through the goals from 45 out. Kicked 2 and looks like he could develop into a handy half forward.

Hayden was another who got his hands on the ball a bit but I can't say I really noticed him too much (something of a concern considering a lot of his ball was on the outside).

For Northern Territory...

Their players don't pick up heaps of touches but they do have guys who pop up during games and make you sit up.

Daniel Rioli is much like his cousin Cyril. Started a little quiet, exploded in the second and then went quiet again. Like Cyril he appears to have the ability to impact a game with minimum touches. Kicked 2 and laid 5 tackles and does some things that can get you just a little bit excited (I sound like a Hawks supporter...:().

This kid spent time in the ruck but there is no way known he can do it at AFL level. Still, I really liked Michael Tilmouth-Turner's game. He had a presence in this match and for a bigger guy he displayed some good skills and some quick thinking. I loved his handball into the ground which bounced up perfectly to a teammate when he cleared one contest. Wasn't fussed about laying tackles and I wonder if he shed some weight (which sounds unkind) what sort of player he might become. He is probably a late pick/rookie selection at best but I did like him.

I must admit, this guy looked much bigger than his listed 187cm and he is raw but as Sudanese players go Patrick Taban looked to know his way around the footy field in a way Majak Daw can only wish about right now. He did a couple of things that I reckon could see him develop into a useful enough player in a few years time. Again, doubt he'll get drafted but you just never know when a club is going to take a flyer in the rookie draft.

Turner, Barry and Long all popped up during the match (Turner's second quarter was really good when he snagged a couple of goals) while Davin Ferreira has already tasted senior footy with Norwood in SA.

Tasmania 11.7 (73) def Northern Territory 9.6 (60)

I find the Division 2 games a bit harder to judge now that they don't play against the Division 1 sides. I always found if a kid played well against a Div. 1 side that formed a decent bassline.

Anyway, enough ranting...this was a fun game to watch. The NT boys were much better than last year's side and were back to playing like I remember NT sides playing like, run and gun, quick and skilled while Tassie were more contested and hit packs harder.

For Tasmania...

Can't really fault Kieran Lovell who picked up a lot of the ball and kicked 3 goals. He used the ball really well and, despite his size, did manage to take a "hanger" in the first half. I think the piece of play I liked the most (and sums him up nicely) happened in the second quarter when he came through the middle of the ground, hit up a man on the lead in the forward 50 and then kept running into the Tasmania forward line, found space and was rewarded for his running. He finished his work off with a goal. Hard to see him not getting drafted and looks like he'd hold his own against players in Division 1.

The two Mitchells, Rainbird and Hibberd (who also both happen to be overaged) both put in good games. Rainbird, in the one game I saw last year, looked pretty good so it was a bit of a surprise that he didn't find his way onto a list. He appears to like to tackle and gets around the ground. His disposal, in this match, wasn't that great and perhaps that was what held him back last year but he did enough for me to suggest he is worth considering later in the draft (especially if it is on the shallow side). Hibberd reminded me a little of Thurlow. Rebounded out of defence a lot, had the ball regularly and didn't really make too many mistakes. Not quite tall enough for a key defensive post and probably too tall (191cm) for the small forwards which makes him a 'tweener but it is easy enough to see him playing as a tall mid.

Nick Dodge had some eye-catching moments as a forward flanker and had a good patch early in the game. In one contest he was 1-on-1 with his man, brought the ball to ground and then collected and fired off a handball to Lovell for a goal and then moments later read the flight of the ball better than his man, took the mark after getting in the better position and then slotted the ball through the goals from 45 out. Kicked 2 and looks like he could develop into a handy half forward.

Hayden was another who got his hands on the ball a bit but I can't say I really noticed him too much (something of a concern considering a lot of his ball was on the outside).

For Northern Territory...

Their players don't pick up heaps of touches but they do have guys who pop up during games and make you sit up.

Daniel Rioli is much like his cousin Cyril. Started a little quiet, exploded in the second and then went quiet again. Like Cyril he appears to have the ability to impact a game with minimum touches. Kicked 2 and laid 5 tackles and does some things that can get you just a little bit excited (I sound like a Hawks supporter...:().

This kid spent time in the ruck but there is no way known he can do it at AFL level. Still, I really liked Michael Tilmouth-Turner's game. He had a presence in this match and for a bigger guy he displayed some good skills and some quick thinking. I loved his handball into the ground which bounced up perfectly to a teammate when he cleared one contest. Wasn't fussed about laying tackles and I wonder if he shed some weight (which sounds unkind) what sort of player he might become. He is probably a late pick/rookie selection at best but I did like him.

I must admit, this guy looked much bigger than his listed 187cm and he is raw but as Sudanese players go Patrick Taban looked to know his way around the footy field in a way Majak Daw can only wish about right now. He did a couple of things that I reckon could see him develop into a useful enough player in a few years time. Again, doubt he'll get drafted but you just never know when a club is going to take a flyer in the rookie draft.

Turner, Barry and Long all popped up during the match (Turner's second quarter was really good when he snagged a couple of goals) while Davin Ferreira has already tasted senior footy with Norwood in SA.
Rainbow is a player who seems to me that is capable of a high level bit of play... is he capable of being a regular AFL player? I see him doing so bits of play that remind me of early Riewoldt..little bits of brilliance mixed with ordinary.
I think Hibbard will be the first Tas kid drafted.

Just on a totally obscure observation. What is it with Hypen surname. The female wanting to keep her Surname. So young Johnny gets a Huntingdon Jones handle... but then he links up with young Jane Smith Jones... Does the kid get .. Huntingdon Jones Smith Jones?.. At what point does it just get silly? Green Brown Scarlett White?

Well, as someone who's son has a hyphenated surname...

It simply came about due to his mum and I not being married.

But two people with hyphenated names having a kid could be funny.