FTA-TV Ads that piss you off (3)

The airline ad with Nicole Kidman

Looks like she's flying in a private jet and saying how great the airline is. As if anything they show in that ad is how 99.9% of people get to fly

EAD you over rated Botox cow

Lmfao at the maccas ad saying "OMG HOW AWESOME IT IS TO DRINK A CUP OF COFFEE IN YOUR OWN CAR OMG OMG"

Are you ****ing serious?

It's what makes it Ozzie mate - FFS is there a company that is more emblematic of everything bad about the US than Macca's. * off with your faux Aussie patriotism

Oh yeah that's a different ad, lol'd at that one as well.

50% of the franchise profits go back to America but its Aussie because it occasionally has beetroot on their s**t burgers and we invented the McCafe - GAGF Maccas Fair Dinkum

I just realised the other day, I haven't had Maccas in a long long time. Have absolutely no desire for it whatsoever. (still have other takeaways tho)

So its 50% aussie then?

If you have ever read one of their franchise agreements you will know it is an exercise in Imperialism and indentured slavery. If you have got a CBD franchise it is worth millions but an outer suburban one is fraught with risk - particularly when, as soon as you make a go of it, You Beaut Aussie Maccas can set another one up next door.

On topic is it your contention that the particular advert we are talking about is accurate - the calculus being Beetroot + McCafe = Aussie

If you have ever read one of their franchise agreements you will know it is an exercise in Imperialism and indentured slavery. If you have got a CBD franchise it is worth millions but an outer suburban one is fraught with risk - particularly when, as soon as you make a go of it, You Beaut Aussie Maccas can set another one up next door.

On topic is it your contention that the particular advert we are talking about is accurate - the calculus being Beetroot + McCafe = Aussie
Would 51% make it aussie?
Not sure what the franchise agreements, apart from where the profits go, have to do with whether its aussie or not

Don't be a smart arse - McDonald's claiming to be Aussie is the worst sort of cynical advertising. It is so cynical the ad is a bomb..but keep up the Socratic method and test everything

Do you know what a franchise is - you pay a fee to use the livery and marketing of the franchisor who, in return gets a cut and to control parts of your business. In McDonald's case head office can control virtually anything. There have been a series of cases in Australia where they have been found to engage in coercive conduct. If the home of the business is from where it is controlled - its sort of a little bit unarguable that Aussie Maccas US offshoot has that in spades

It doesn't piss me off, in fact I'd watch it on a loop all day if I didn't think it was pathetic. It doesn't really have anything to do with this thread but I don't think it's worthy of another thread.... but that little blonde in the Woolworths cheaper cheaper across the freezer ad I want to hunt down and.... talk to her.

Best muted: