Preview AFL Round 1 - Hawthorn v Geelong, MCG, Monday April 6 3.20PM

North aernt much good - i cant believe a team that got totally demolished by 80 points in a PF - are being so hyped up on the back of signing a 32 year old - and Higgins who looks like hes lost a yard

As for Geelongs chances - i read some where that Birchall ( injured) could miss this game that would help our cause - however i give the Cats virtually zero chance - maybe 5-6% chance at best - rain would help our cause - biggest problem playing current Hawthorn side - is overcoming their possession game - getting the ball off them when theve got it - they can start it from deep in defence - those 4 or 5 little kicks-passes - and its the same players - Hodge - Burgoyne - Mitchell - Birchall when hes fit - how do you stop that - very difficult - Fremantle ( who are a pretty good side ) found that out in an early game last year - they just could not get the ball back off them - and got annihilated
Like most of us, you are probably still judging Hawthorn on the strength of their last game, which was stunning. Like Geelong 2007 GF. You're only as good as your last game BUT it was 6 months ago now. I also agree about their strengths, that perfect possession game, via Mitchell/Hodge etc. Geelong et al will just have to devise a new way to overcome them, otherwise 3peat.
We do pose some worries for them though- just depends on how long we can concentrate enough to pressure them, and how fit we are, and whether we convert all our opportunities, and on last year's form, whether we can play above ourselves long enough to get the 4 points.
No doubting they are a superior team before the first siren, but things do change.

And on NM, they are really deep in the MF, and with Tarrant and Tippett both back, and a fit Waite, they are as likely to go deep in September as we are. Iffy players Waite= Clark.

North aernt much good - i cant believe a team that got totally demolished by 80 points in a PF - are being so hyped up on the back of signing a 32 year old - and Higgins who looks like hes lost a yard

As for Geelongs chances - i read some where that Birchall ( injured) could miss this game that would help our cause - however i give the Cats virtually zero chance - maybe 5-6% chance at best - rain would help our cause - biggest problem playing current Hawthorn side - is overcoming their possession game - getting the ball off them when theve got it - they can start it from deep in defence - those 4 or 5 little kicks-passes - and its the same players - Hodge - Burgoyne - Mitchell - Birchall when hes fit - how do you stop that - very difficult - Fremantle ( who are a pretty good side ) found that out in an early game last year - they just could not get the ball back off them - and got annihilated
Yep we will find out. Think one can't put too much stock in Norf's thumping in 2014 finals-long time ago.
Hawks are very very good but again 2014 long time ago. They are gettable -Port had them in the Prelim for example-just didn't have the knowhow of what finals required.(went the long way in last 5 mins, didn't push ball forward at all costs). I think our team is better placed now-Stevie, Motlop fit, Clark giving us options in forward line/ruck-something we have battled with for couple of years now. Look fitter. Middle looks bit stronger. Gives us a chance. But if we get beaten, then we keep at it and get them next match. Am certainly not buying into 'hand them the cup' already thinking that some on main board have!

Play and lose?.... We can't play out of form players for the sake of an old game plan, you got to evolve and develop other patterns..... My two bobs.

Man , you not only read between the lines , you read between what was between the lines.

Im not saying play to lose or play players out of form etc. Right now we have lost the aura we once had. Not so long a go , we were the paragon team , the benchmark..the team others referenced when saying who they have to beat. We are now just flotsam and jetsam , we are muck in the mire...very few consider us realistic threat.. And to be frank..why would they?

1 final win from the last 6 games , continual fade outs , last time out thrashed and flicked aside long by eventual Premier..... winning is only a part of what we need to do. We won this game last year , 12 months ago , but really its was fools gold beating them with Chenny on Hawk. We need to show we are more than someone that is good for a burst ,we need to show them that we are in it to the death.

How do we do that? It will not be done in one game but we have an opportunity in the for 6-8 games due to the quality of opposition.It will not be winning on the back of 30 year olds alone but it will need strong impressive efforts from all players in their 20's. It will not be thru a contrivance of denial , somehow invoking a Lyon like game style that is foreign to our dna but it will be done with exciting scoring which will creates concerns of a different type in opposition. It will not be done purely relying on those who have done it before , it will require some fresh names to bring a fresh look to the Hoops.

At the moment I think we are still a little short of what we need to be , thru the youngs being still short of where we need them to be , and us being thin in the quality midfielder of the age mid 20's. We will be better in 12 months for a lot of reasons... but this slide in to the abyss of the insignificant must stop. We must stand up in a big game and show that no matter the result in R1 , that we have reacquired our essence and by R23 we will be a serious contender.

After reading a bunch of the Hawks thread over there, they are well into themselves. And B2B they should be I guess.

That said, lets punch them in the throat. Play the 3 big Forwards. In reality, is Mruda really gonna to add that much stopping them for running it out? I don't know.

Lets just roll the dice and get them on their weakest point.

Give it to them with both barrels and let them adjust to us.

Go Catters

After having a bo peep, I understand why a couple of the very few sensible, respectful posters there find it necessary to come here to logically and sensibly discuss things footy between the Cats and Hawks.

It seems the supreme beings who rule over there have deemed it compulsory for any Cats supporter wishing to engage in conversation with them to first concede that all things Hawthorn are irrefutably superior, whether or not facts and statistics might suggest otherwise.

Suggesting otherwise will invoke their wrath and an eloquent invitation to masturbation. Do as I say, not as I do........sets a great example and tone for their board.

Grandfather always reminded me to 'be humble in victory, gracious in defeat'.

Sadly, that is lost on the masses over there, and explains why so few ingratiate themselves with other footy fans.

If Murdoch dropped for Walker:

-Hawkins held by Lake for 1 goal or even goalless.
-Clark held by Gibson but still kicks a couple on him.
-No one can match it with Walker & he kicks 10 winning the game :D

If Murdoch dropped for Walker:

-Hawkins held by Lake for 1 goal or even goalless.
-Clark held by Gibson but still kicks a couple on him.
-No one can match it with Walker & he kicks 10 winning the game :D
I'm of the belief that we should forget about a three pronged tall attack up forward, it'll play into their hands a little. They have Frawley, Lake, Stratton and Gibson to take care of that.

We need to play the 2 big guys plus a few crumbing and pacy types who apply pressure.

Isolate Clark or Hawkins deep against Frawley and have Lang and Gregson or similar at his feet. We need to prevent their swift ball movement from defence and pressure will play a part in this. We can't afford to be top heavy up forward... It'll play into the hands of their game plan. Frawley dropped his bundle one NAB match when he made a few errors and was soundly beaten by White, and could do so again.

Make Gibson accountable by playing a smaller type on him and move him around, away from our dangerous talls.

I'm not convinced. If big forwards was the key to stopping them then I reckon Sydney would be premiers.

I was watching a bit of the GF recall at the gym the other morning. It seemed like every time the Hawks had the ball on their half back the player could look up and see another Hawks running into space to kick to. They just ran really hard and lost their opponent. It really looked like the game plan that we have been trying to implement over the past 2 years. Win the ball and then have players up forward running hard into open space. The amount of times they were able to take 4-5 kicks from their back half into their forward 50 was insane, each time a kick to a player that was in space and could take the uncontested mark. The uncontested possession stats for the game was 300-163 in the Hawks favour.

This is why I reckon we're putting players like Blicavs and Smedts in the backline this year, to specifically counter this strategy. You need blokes who can run all day and with a big tank who can go with the Hawks half forwards so that they're not running out into space like that all day. Pressure their backs and half backs with players like Murdoch and Lang into having to kick to contests, get the ball to ground and then try to rush it through the corridor either to Hawkins/Clark or rely on our speedy forwards to beat their defenders back towards goal.

Firstly, sorry u had to watch that again.
Second, we have to try something. We might get canned. But at least we tried to exploit something they have not been great at.

Go Catters

I'm of the belief that we should forget about a three pronged tall attack up forward, it'll play into their hands a little. They have Frawley, Lake, Stratton and Gibson to take care of that.

We need to play the 2 big guys plus a few crumbing and pacy types who apply pressure.

Isolate Clark or Hawkins deep against Frawley and have Lang and Gregson or similar at his feet. We need to prevent their swift ball movement from defence and pressure will play a part in this. We can't afford to be top heavy up forward... It'll play into the hands of their game plan. Frawley dropped his bundle one NAB match when he made a few errors and was soundly beaten by White, and could do so again.

Make Gibson accountable by playing a smaller type on him and move him around, away from our dangerous talls.

Yeah I don't expect us to have the 3 tall forwards.
Agree with what you are saying except the last bit.
Podsiadly used to make Gibson more accountable so Hawkins could get off the leash or at least be 1-on-1 at times.
With the inclusion of Frawley who will play on Clark, and considering Gregson or Lang are only playing their 1st or 2nd AFL game, I expect Gibson to not be too worried about Lang/Gregson & still peel off & help Lake/Frawley, so what Gregson/Lang will need to do is kick a couple of goals so Gibson is more worried about running off them.
And they will a\bring added pressure like you said :)

Yeah I don't expect us to have the 3 tall forwards.
Agree with what you are saying except the last bit.
Podsiadly used to make Gibson more accountable so Hawkins could get off the leash or at least be 1-on-1 at times.
With the inclusion of Frawley who will play on Clark, and considering Gregson or Lang are only playing their 1st or 2nd AFL game, I expect Gibson to not be too worried about Lang/Gregson & still peel off & help Lake/Frawley, so what Gregson/Lang will need to do is kick a couple of goals so Gibson is more worried about running off them.
And they will a\bring added pressure like you said :)
Yea agree with that, and that's what I was implying... Lang or Gregson kicking a few goals... particularly Lang who's shown he can find the goals, albeit in limited games.

5-6% a bit low. Look you're right it's hard, but all you need to do is be disciplined, man them up, or set up a compact short zone to force them to kick long, then you have to hope you can win the ball and move it with speed forward to stop them being able to set up behind the ball again. Basically that's what Port did in last years Prelim and what we've done with success against them in recent times all be it for only a half or so.

catempire , id agree Lang is a mid playing in the FP slot. Its the way we tend to do it. Some other clubs/sides prefer specialist FP's. If they develop to a Ballyntine or that level then one probably feels we have it wrong , but its mindset I suppose. There were a couple we went in the draft last year , just before our pick , Lonie and Daniel..I wonder if we would have considered them? I suspect not

So imo Lang although not a FP could play there. get some game before moving up ground. I would also be tempted to put Smedts there but for some reason the MC dont like that.

This

Just watching a replay of the Carlton game, first half, loving Lang's tackling and pressure.
That's why I want him stationed in the forward half.

Don't be afraid to have an unpopular opinion mate. There's nothing wrong with that. Speaking for myself only, I just don't like it when somebody goes on a personal crusade to denegrate a player whom they don't like, for whatever reason. But by all means, call it as you see it! :)

Better stick away from this place then. Especially recently.

There's an important difference too. If you think a particular player isn't up to it, that's fine, but when you state as fact that someone is rubbish, I'd like to see evidence. I.e. poor performances in big games, the team losing more when that player is in, those sorts of things. But it's a forlorn hope, footy is one of the last great bastions of pure unsullied tribalism, and if a particular player fails to become a superstar, some fans - rather ridiculously - take it very personally.

I'd also love to see Blicavs run the ruckmen from Hawthorn or Port or Sydney off their feet, en route to 20 plus possessions in a winning Grand Final team. I don't think it'll happen, but I'd love to be wrong. Conversely, when he has known deficiencies in ruckwork, and the match committee consistently overlook them, and it consistently hurts us in big games, there's nothing wrong with pointing that out.

I think North would have to be on that list too. No doubt we still send a few shivers up Hawks fans spines, you don't lose 10 or 11 or whatever games in a row against a team and not fear them deeply in your soul....If Hawks fans have souls.

Maybe, but ultimately it doesn't matter about the Hawthorn fans, the fact is the Hawthorn players don't fear Geelong. And right now they have no need to either, until we can give them a reason to.

And on NM, they are really deep in the MF, and with Tarrant and Tippett both back, and a fit Waite, they are as likely to go deep in September as we are. Iffy players Waite= Clark.

On that I agree. Not quite in the way others would though.

It's an interesting comparison to make between Waite for North and Clark for us this season. Both have been frustrating players at many times through their careers. I'm still not convinced on either, although Clark has been encouraging. And I'd rather have Clark than Waite. Clark for all his ills (at times), is still only 27, and doesn't turn 28 until after the season ends. If fit, he's got plenty of footy left. Waite is already 32, and hasn't played more than 16 games in any one season since 2008. He's also equally liable to get injured or suspended at any given point.

There's an important difference too. If you think a particular player isn't up to it, that's fine, but when you state as fact that someone is rubbish, I'd like to see evidence. I.e. poor performances in big games, the team losing more when that player is in, those sorts of things. But it's a forlorn hope, footy is one of the last great bastions of pure unsullied tribalism, and if a particular player fails to become a superstar, some fans - rather ridiculously - take it very personally.

I'd also love to see Blicavs run the ruckmen from Hawthorn or Port or Sydney off their feet, en route to 20 plus possessions in a winning Grand Final team. I don't think it'll happen, but I'd love to be wrong. Conversely, when he has known deficiencies in ruckwork, and the match committee consistently overlook them, and it consistently hurts us in big games, there's nothing wrong with pointing that out.
Perfectly said mate. :thumbsu:

Maybe, but ultimately it doesn't matter about the Hawthorn fans, the fact is the Hawthorn players don't fear Geelong. And right now they have no need to either, until we can give them a reason to.
Yeah agree. Though my statement was made in reference to the arrogance of Hawks fans on their corresponding club thread.

I don't think the match committee overlook them, P. I feel it's more that a) we've had no better options offering his flexibility at times and b) they've been using him over other possible options with a view to the long term picture and have been prepared to take the hit, regardless of short term failure.
18-4 and 17-5 while playing Blicavs- could we have done better without him?