An early look at the 2014 draft from a Hawthorn perspective

List Manager

May 21, 2014
Thought I'd start a thread relating more so to the 2014 NAB draft to separate it from the "Off Season Targets" thread we currently have on the board.

My first round Phantom Draft is as follows:

Pick #1 St. Kilda – Patrick McCartin (VIC – KPF)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 95kg, DOB: 19/04/1996
Recruited from: Geelong Falcons

Pick #2 Brisbane – Peter Wright (VIC – KPF/Ruck)
Height: 203cm, Weight: 102kg, DOB: 08/09/1996
Recruited from: Calder Cannons

Pick #3 Melbourne – Christian Petracca (VIC – Fwd/Mid)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 92kg, DOB: 04/01/1996
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges

Pick #4 GWS Giants – Angus Brayshaw (VIC – Mid)
Height: 187cm, Weight: 87kg, DOB: 09/01/1996
Recruited from: Sandringham Dragons

Pick #5 Carlton – Caleb Marchbank (VIC – KPD)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 12/07/1996
Recruited from: Murray Bushrangers

Pick #6 Western Bulldogs –Sam Durdin (SA – KPF/KPD)
Height: 197cm, Weight: 89kg, DOB: 06/06/1996
Recruited from: West Adelaide

Pick #7 Richmond - Lachlan Weller (QLD – Mid)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 71kg, DOB: 23/02/1996
Recruited from: Broadbeach

Pick #8 West Coast – Jarrod Pickett (WA – Mid)
Height: 179cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 18/08/1996
Recruited from: South Fremantle

Pick #9 Adelaide – Hugh Goddard (VIC – KPF/KPD)
Height: 196cm, Weight: 93kg, DOB: 24/08/1996
Recruited from: Geelong Falcons

Pick #10 Gold Coast – Jayden Laverde (VIC – Utility)
Height: 189cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 12/04/1996
Recruited from: Western Jets

Pick #11 Collingwood – Darcy Moore (VIC – KPF/KPD)
Height: 199cm, Weight: 93kg, DOB: 25/01/1996
Recruited from: Oakleigh Chargers

Pick #12 North Melbourne – Paul Ahern (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 77kg, DOB: 01/08/1996

Pick #13 Port Adelaide – Jake Lever (VIC –KPD picture below)
Height: 192cm, Weight: 84kg, DOB: 05/03/1996

Pick #14 Geelong – Jordan De Goey (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 187cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 15/03/1996
Recruited from: Oakleigh Chargers

Pick #15 Gold Coast activated compensation pick – Tom Lamb (VIC – Fwd/Mid)
Height: 192cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 19/10/1996
Recruited from: Dandenong Stingrays

Pick #16 Hawthorn – Liam Duggan (VIC – Def/Mid)
Height: 183cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 11/12/1996

Pick #17 Fremantle – Tyler Keitel (WA – KPF/KPD)
Height: 194cm, Weight: 86kg, DOB: 07/02/1996
Recruited from: East Perth

Pick #18 Sydney – Isaac Heeney (Sydney – Academy- NSW/ACT – Mid)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 05/05/1996
Recruited from: Cardiff

Pick #19 Essendon – Corey Ellis (compensation pick VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 185cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 09/10/1996

Pick #20 GWS Giants – Clem Smith (WA – Midfielder)
Height: 177cm, Weight: 74kg, DOB: 03/02/1996
Recruited from: Perth

Rioli magic

Jul 15, 2009
Think I'd be inclined to go mids at this stage. There is a lot of high end KP talent so potentially a few mids slip down the order a bit...De Goey, Weller, Blakey.

We also have the possibility of picking up Harry Dear, who is a massive unit, and we already have a sizeable list of developing KPP's, not sure we need to be adding another 2-3 of them.

List Manager

May 21, 2014
One midfielder to keep an eye on at this early stage is Billy Evans from the Bendigo Pioneers and Vic Country.
An inside mid with a bit of size about him at 189cm's is a clearance specialist with a strong tackling game. At this stage will possibly still be available in the second round due to the sheer volume and quality of Key position players at the top end of the draft.

I'll be attending the Vic Country v W.A game in a couple of weeks and will try to share some info soon after that.

Davo-27

Sep 9, 2006
Box Hill Hawks
Think I'd be inclined to go mids at this stage. There is a lot of high end KP talent so potentially a few mids slip down the order a bit...De Goey, Weller, Blakey.

We also have the possibility of picking up Harry Dear, who is a massive unit, and we already have a sizeable list of developing KPP's, not sure we need to be adding another 2-3 of them.

i agree take a mid, its safer and more likely to work out, we can poach or pick up a developed kp defender from other sources

seeing as theres 5 mid spots on the field and then flankers are basically rested mids nowadays (hodge/burgoyne/puopolo) ect, so that makes 9 mids in a team, then theres probably 2 mids on the bench for rotations, so when you think about it, theres approx 10-11 spots in a team for midfielders or the ilk, so its safer to use high picks on good midfield talent, just my opinion...

List Manager

May 21, 2014

Midfielders will be the priority but if one of the top end KPP's tipped to go in the top dozen slips to late first round and is still available at our pick don't be surprised if the club calls his name. A similar scenario played out with Tim O'Brien. He was expected to go with a pick in the teens but surprisingly slipped to us at 28 and was deemed too good to pass on with that pick.

One midfielders name that we'd be hoping fell through to our pick at this early stage would be Lachie Weller but I doubt he'd get past the Gold Coast Suns.

Keep in mind that any names and associated draft picks are nothing but speculation at this early stage. Things will become much clearer after the National championships.

List Manager

May 21, 2014
i agree take a mid, its safer and more likely to work out, we can poach or pick up a developed kp defender from other sources

seeing as theres 5 mid spots on the field and then flankers are basically rested mids nowadays (hodge/burgoyne/puopolo) ect, so that makes 9 mids in a team, then theres probably 2 mids on the bench for rotations, so when you think about it, theres approx 10-11 spots in a team for midfielders or the ilk, so its safer to use high picks on good midfield talent, just my opinion...
You don't pass on the quality of this years KPP's unless there is a mid that is considered a lock should they be available at your pick ie. Lachie Weller

All depends what we pick up in free agency too.

If we were to get Frawley then we might look at mids

Were we to say get Bryce Gibbs then we might be more inclined to a KPP

Feb 24, 2013
The GoldenBrown Heart of Victoria
Man Utd Green Bay Melb Storm
Thought I'd start a thread relating more so to the 2014 NAB draft to separate it from the "Off Season Targets" thread we currently have on the board.

There are 3 kids I have in mind at the moment with our first round selection starting with a defender by the name of Jake Lever from the Calder Cannons. Lever will miss the whole 2014 season after having undergone a knee reconstruction earlier in the year but is still very much high on many recruiters lists.
Can he last to the tail end of the first round and be available at the Hawks pick, I'm not sure at this stage (am inclined to think that our first round pick may be used to trade for an established midfielder from a rival club) but for arguments sake we'll stick with having a late pick in each round.

Enjoy -

Even if we were to draft a key position defender ( Assuming we don't have Frawley!), Then I'd definitely be going after Caleb Marchbank (Murray Bushrangers,193cm, 88kgs) before Lever....Easily!

As for midfielders, then Chris Petracca (Eastern Rangers, 186cm 92kgs) would be my number one Priority, but there's no chance he'll last beyond pick 10 IMO.

Jake Johansen from South Aust is a natural rover in the Brent Harvey mould ( Only 171cm).... But he has speed to burn & has been ripping teams to shreds from out of the middle....Precisely what we need!....And will likely still be available assuming we finish high & have our first pick at 18.

List Manager

May 21, 2014
Even if we were to draft a key position defender ( Assuming we don't have Frawley!), Then I'd definitely be going after Caleb Marchbank (Murray Bushrangers,193cm, 88kgs) before Lever....Easily!

As for midfielders, then Chris Petracca (Eastern Rangers, 186cm 92kgs) would be my number one Priority, but there's no chance he'll last beyond pick 10 IMO.

Jake Johansen from South Aust is a natural rover in the Brent Harvey mould ( Only 171cm).... But he has speed to burn & has been ripping teams to shreds from out of the middle....Precisely what we need!....And will likely still be available assuming we finish high & have our first pick at 18.
Marchbank is right in the mix also.

now that the drafts aren't compromised i reckon we might keep hold of them unless a trade is too good to refuse. (insert godfather quotes here)

And every other club is thinking the same thing... so our first pick might be worth more to someone else than it is to us

tige19

10k Posts
Feb 13, 2003
After the Garlett experiment I can't see the club attempting to pull another rabbit out of the hat with a guy who's coming off a serious knee injury.. Lever will likely be ok and a great player but I think this year we will be more conservative at the draft table.

Is there a Luke Dunstan type?

tige19

10k Posts
Feb 13, 2003
You don't pass on the quality of this years KPP's unless there is a mid that is considered a lock should they be available at your pick ie. Lachie Weller

Where will Weller go? He would be ideal, obviously not going to happen though.

How is Zach Jones going at Sydney? Have heard rumblings he'd like to come back to Melbourne! Seen this kid play a few times last year and I'd surprised if he didn't end up a lot better than his brother! Alot bows in his arrow.

deano the hawka

Sep 29, 2006
Exeter City, Tottenham, Utrecht
I'd love to see Weller at the club. He has been compared to Sam Mitchell at times, which is obviously a tough comparison to live up to, but an honour nonetheless. If we're looking for real hawthorn like players, check out this weeks episode of 'Eye Catchers' on afl.com.au. There's a guy called Harrison Wigg who could not be more of a hawthorn half backer. Obviously we don't need another half back right now, but his disposal looks to be excellent, both short and long. They've compared his kicking already to Matt Suckling, so I wouldn't mind seeing him at the club.

Jack Lonie, cousin of former hawk Nathan and his brother Ryan, also has big wraps following recent performances. He's short and skinny but he seems like he attacks the ball and gives it 100% much like Puopolo. They say he's more damaging in the forward line, so it would be an interesting pick.

But honestly, what position/what kind of player do you think the hawks really need the most?

Rowie6

Jan 28, 2007
East Hawthorn
West Ham United,Green Bay Packers.
One midfielder to keep an eye on at this early stage is Billy Evans from the Bendigo Pioneers and Vic Country.
An inside mid with a bit of size about him at 189cm's is a clearance specialist with a strong tackling game. At this stage will possibly still be available in the second round due to the sheer volume and quality of Key position players at the top end of the draft.

I'll be attending the Vic Country v W.A game in a couple of weeks and will try to share some info soon after that.
Whats his pace and agility like and are there any stand out midfielders with strong pace that we can target or may slip through to our picks.Cheers List Manager i enjoy these threads.

tige19

10k Posts
Feb 13, 2003
I'd love to see Weller at the club. He has been compared to Sam Mitchell at times, which is obviously a tough comparison to live up to, but an honour nonetheless. If we're looking for real hawthorn like players, check out this weeks episode of 'Eye Catchers' on afl.com.au. There's a guy called Harrison Wigg who could not be more of a hawthorn half backer. Obviously we don't need another half back right now, but his disposal looks to be excellent, both short and long. They've compared his kicking already to Matt Suckling, so I wouldn't mind seeing him at the club.

Jack Lonie, cousin of former hawk Nathan and his brother Ryan, also has big wraps following recent performances. He's short and skinny but he seems like he attacks the ball and gives it 100% much like Puopolo. They say he's more damaging in the forward line, so it would be an interesting pick.

But honestly, what position/what kind of player do you think the hawks really need the most?

Hope he doesn't attack the footy like the Lonies!

Coathanger

Dec 1, 2006
Cairns
NY Yankees,Virginia Cavaliers

I think it's inside mids for sure. We obviously hope that Langford,Hallahan & Woody are our future,but if we don't trade for an experienced classy mid then let's draft a Ollie Wines type.

Jan 17, 2008
Brisvegas
I think it's inside mids for sure. We obviously hope that Langford,Hallahan & Woody are our future,but if we don't trade for an experienced classy mid then let's draft a Ollie Wines type.
I think we want guys who can play inside and break away from the contest (or chase other guys breaking away from the contest). Tall would be good too. 188cm+ mid who is good below his knees and quick off the mark and agile and can take a mark above his head. Surely they are plentiful enough to snag one with our second rounder ;):p:D

hawker39

Oct 5, 2004
The hardest midfielders to get are the pacy inside ones. Obviously Dangerfield and Ablett are the prime examples and they would be in the Top 5-10 of AFL players. So getting that type in our likely draft position (around 15-20) is impossible - and that assumes this player type exists in the 2014 draft. So we need to look for a player that has most things we need. In my opinion that our first choice should be an inside midfielder with good hands, is dual sided, a little more height and adequate pace. someone like Hartlett of Port Adelaide or Rockliiff of Brisbane.

List Manager - please enlighten me.