Rumour Andrew Crowell's comments to non-Captains club members

Sep 16, 2005
GO YOU CROW BOYS
Apparently on twitter on the weekend there were comments that Andrew Crowell was giving non-Captain's club members some feedback that they were too loud at the game on Saturday night?

Anyone heard more about this? Guy at work saw some comments on twitter but wasn't sure what triggered them.
(apparently may have been the old crow crap boys mentioning it)

Anyone?

Managed to track it down - check out @zilmy on twitter from saturday night.

Anyone at the function where Crowell made any comments? Really like to appreciate what was actually said and in what context.

I wish Crowell and his female sidekick would go the way of a Malaysia Airlines flight and disappear.

My part of the ground was dead silent for most of the game and I tried in vain to get cheers going to the point where I have lost my voice. I saw the Richmond cheer squad going bananas the whole game and I look over to the Crows soft**** Group and there was nary a sign of noise or movement. Pack of softcocks, this club needs some viagra.

If you can't get it up, don't turn up.

People sit with their rugs and their sandwiches and their thermos like it is a night at the theater, the amount of times I have been verbally abused and told that they would get security to turf me out it ridiculous, all for cheering. No swearing, no abuse, just cheering.

Got a few other loud people in my bay, but people get quite real quick when things aren't going our way. Might have to look at getting some different seats next year, want to be near other loud people :D

I wish Crowell and his female sidekick would go the way of a Malaysia Airlines flight and disappear.

My part of the ground was dead silent for most of the game and I tried in vain to get cheers going to the point where I have lost my voice. I saw the Richmond cheer squad going bananas the whole game and I look over to the Crows soft**** Group and there was nary a sign of noise or movement. Pack of softcocks, this club needs some viagra.

If you can't get it up, don't turn up.
his female sidekick is welcome to sit next to me ;)

The entire "match day experience" has just about convinced me to stop going.

Between:

- Crowell and his mate yelling into my ear every break
- 19th man lets make some noise after every goal
- The OTR 3/4 time lunacy
- The Aussie Ripper Roast Man of the Moment telling us Neville Jetta is tearing us to shreds
- The ground announcer constantly talking during the game - "just confirming that a quarter and a half ago, Grigg came on for Mackay, who went off on a stretcher, which I missed because I was telling you all the results from other games during the day for no apparent reason over and above filling silence"

It grates at the best of times, but when we're getting pumped by Richmond... SHUTUP SHUTUP SHUTUP!!!

Between:

- The Aussie Ripper Roast Man of the Moment telling us Neville Jetta is tearing us to shreds
- The ground announcer constantly talking during the game - "just confirming that a quarter and a half ago, Grigg came on for Mackay, who went off on a stretcher, which I missed because I was telling you all the results from other games during the day for no apparent reason over and above filling silence"

It grates at the best of times, but when we're getting pumped by Richmond... SHUTUP SHUTUP SHUTUP!!!

Its Wayne Phillips - verbal you know what. At least the sub is no longer sponsored by Carlton Draught. So sillly.

I'll add to this with an anecdote.

I usually sit in bay 304 of Edwin Smith, second row upstairs. Members, very quiet. Polite applause kinda area.

For the third quarter, I went and stood In the ground level of the Riverbank Stand with a mate. It was very loud with a bunch of people cheering and yelling things out... (Except for the CSG.)

Not sure where the Non-captains Club area is? But if it's in the members and Crowell says they're making too much noise, then it's a WTF moment.

I do wonder about Wayne Phillips though - what's the relevance of his in this day and age?

And the Ripper Roast, OTR etc stuff shits me as well - the RRoast one is the worst, you can tell it has to happen a certain number of times per game, because if we're playing like s**t, it'll still pop up.. "Man of the Moment - Matt Wright, with 3 disposals."

Between:

What's funny is that they think the match day experience in that way is what is getting these crowds in..
It's the stadium itself being brilliant in so many ways, footy finally being located in the city and that it's all new for people being a small part too..

They've even got the AFL/MCG convinced enough that it's the match day stuff like that, that they are sending people over to analyse the match day experience here for ideas to improve match day at the MCG to try and attract bigger crowds..

Here we go! Read from the bottom up for a commentary on what occured during the function and while the game was on from both Crowell and the CC members. Allefgib

View attachment 74403
View attachment 74402
View attachment 74401

If it was at a function, and he was trying to get people at the back to be quiet so the people in the front could hear an interview or whatever, I'm on his side. Years ago I managed to go to an aftermatch function, and the genuine fans like me couldn't hear anything because all the "Freddy Freeloaders" were at the bar at the back. They couldn't have cared less about footy stuff, just there for the drinks.

If it was during the game, though, I would have more sympathy for the chastised, unless they were obnoxious (as people sometimes are when they've had a bit to drink, and don't realise how oafish they are).

If it was at a function, and he was trying to get people at the back to be quiet so the people in the front could hear an interview or whatever, I'm on his side. Years ago I managed to go to an aftermatch function, and the genuine fans like me couldn't hear anything because all the "Freddy Freeloaders" were at the bar at the back. They couldn't have cared less about footy stuff, just there for the drinks.

If it was during the game, though, I would have more sympathy for the chastised, unless they were obnoxious (as people sometimes are when they've had a bit to drink, and don't realise how oafish they are).

I was at the after match function and people up the back were asked to be quiet during the interviews with Rory, VB and Campo. I was on the side near the bar at the front and I could not hear the interview much at all because of the noise. He was asked to ask people to quieten down by people at the front who also couldn't hear.

Between:

I had to laugh at that Saturday night.

They did it and up popped Charlie Cameron, now I really like charlie but he had played a Barry Crocker up to thst point and fumbled it not 30 seconds before hand.

It's a lucky dip who gets selected.

If this was at the after match function - nothing to see.

If he was bagging those for making noise during or in reference to the making of noise in the match, he ius a dead set flog.

I was at the after match function and people up the back were asked to be quiet during the interviews with Rory, VB and Campo. I was on the side near the bar at the front and I could not hear the interview much at all because of the noise. He was asked to ask people to quieten down by people at the front who also couldn't hear.
I too was there, up the back and Crowell was an embarrassment.

5 or 6 times he said how the rude people at the back were talking during the interviews.

As someone said earlier, the people at the back were at the bar. They were there for different reasons, catching up with mates for a couple of post game drinks, rather than there to listen intently to post game interviews (especially conducted by Crowell who doesn't exactly conduct the most interesting interview).

It is interesting you say that the people at the front couldn't hear. As someone surrounded by the "rude" people at the back, I could hear the interview clearly, which made his obsession with being rude himself weird.

If this is the issue then maybe the club need to look at

1- the speakers, if the people at the front can't hear over the people at the back, while the people at the back can hear then theres something wrong with the speaker set up in the room!

2- they way they set up the room, maybe close off the dividers between the bar and the other space?

I read it was because there are a lot of speakers at the back of the room, very few if any at the front? so people at the back can enjoy themselves and listen to the speeches if they want. If thats the case the solution isn't having ago at the people at the back, its organising more speakers at the front.

I also understand that room after matches is one of the few places in the stadium the club makes any money from bar sales? not sure if correct but if so I don't think the club would be that worried about people enjoying themselves.

I've been a few times and could hear things loud and clear in the middle of the room on the left but did hear him tell the back to be quiet each time.

Can confirm.

Nothing has changed IMO. Same old fuddy duddys too preoccupied with their radio or footy record to use their voices and cheer for our club. CSG looks greater than it ever has and kudos to them but a leopard doesn't change it's spots - they're still the quietest cheersquad in the AFL which is hugely disappointing. Not sure what's happened to the Pride.

There are quite a few who are trying to change the atmosphere at games - some even sitting in the CSG. But, just like the club we support, too much is left to too few. Too many sit on their hands and carry the 'someone else will do it' mentality. And now we've got comments from someone who can influence a change and they go in the complete opposite direction of what our club needs? *in hell.

The club needs to do something about it. This shits been going on for far too long it's become beyond embarrassing.

Believe it or not, those who watch the game in silence are valid game attenders. You pay the price of the ticket, you can cheer or sit in silence.

To state that people must cheer or be loud or active at the game is just ignorant.