Redbacks No More - SACA spuds are back

Really?

2010/11
159 & 16, 50 & 35, 13 & 9, 40 & 2, 100 & 86*, 23 & 12, 86, 12, 29 & 43*, and the final 44 & 47* for a total of 806 @ 53.7 - highest run-scorer for the competition that season (won the Shield)

2011/12
11 & 50, 5 & 9, 37, 40 & 36, 10, 44 & 25*, 67, 13, didn't play in the final, for a total of 347 @ 31.5

2012/13
84 & 44, 104, 56 & 24, 0 & 2, 4 & 13, 42, 36 & 92, 1 & 1, 25 & 63, 81 & 50, and the final 58 and 4 for a total of 784 @ 39.2 - second highest run scorer for competition that season, behind team mate Ricky Ponting (won the Shield)

2013/14
74 & 11, 2 & 8, 26 & 2, 31 & 81, 8 & 4, 71 & 48, 7 & 20, 55 & 19, 110, for a total of 577 @ 33.9

That's 2,514 runs at an average of 39.9 - surely yes you'd think he could do better. Over four seasons, he hit 4 centuries and 16 fifties. He should have converted more. But to say, "Because Tasmania had enough talented players ahead of him that he could just coast around, swinging his fat arms in the middle order, while others did the hard yards." is a fail. The two seasons he did the hard yards - first and second in the runs scored in the competition - they won the Shield.

Those numbers do nothing but prove my point - he swang the bat in the middle order while the rest of the team shouldered the pressure. He never could hack the pressure, which is why he's always been bad for the Redbacks where with his talent he was expected to be the main man.

So, he's topped the run scorers for Tassie, they win the Shield... Right. He must have really been coasting, letting everyone else do the hard yards. Who on Tassie's team did more than him, sorry?

Those backwards-thinking Taswegians, running around, winning the Shield, when they should have been coaching Cosgrove to do more hard yards from #5 by presumably... Hitting even more runs?

Yep someone is missing the point. There was no pressure on him down there, here he is the prodigal son returning to save us.

Put simply he can't hack it. He scored plenty of runs because he knew he had a very talented lineup before and after him who would do the same.

Done by an innings and 1 run. Trav Head gets yet another start but can't crack the ton. Another week another disaster with a glimmer of hope in Smiths 2nd innings and Lehmann Jnrs debut

The point is flying well over your head.

He batted at 5 for Tasmania - for us he would have been batting at 3

For two seasons, and then he opened for two seasons. But yes, we should slag him off because he played to his strengths, and won more Shields in four years than our team has in 30.

Maybe you should be asking why we attracted back such a player. Or is Cosgrove the reason we haven't won a Shield since 1995?

The point is flying well over your head.

He batted at 5 for Tasmania - for us he would have been batting at 3

Yep someone is missing the point. There was no pressure on him down there, here he is the prodigal son returning to save us.

Put simply he can't hack it. He scored plenty of runs because he knew he had a very talented lineup before and after him who would do the same.

I can see it now. I bet this is exactly as it went.

SACA guy #1: Now that we've got rid of Klinger for no reason, we need another anchor for the innings while our young guys come on.

SACA guy #2: Hmmm... are there any old guys playing in Victoria that are being pushed out of the Bushrangers?

SACA guy #1: No, I don't think so.

SACA guy #2: The Blues?

SACA guy #1: Not at the moment.

SACA guy #2: How about...

SACA guy #1: You know, Cosgrove might be up for a shift home.

SACA guy #2: That bloke that coasts along all the time? Played for us five seasons ago?

SACA guy #1: Yeah, him. He could really bedrock our side.

SACA guy #2: Didn't we try and fail to get him to do that before he left?

SACA guy #1: Yeah, but he's played really well down in Tassie. Hit heaps of runs.

SACA guy #2: What was he doing down there?

SACA guy #1: Just wailing his fat arms at whatever he liked, talented line up around him so he didn't have to worry.

SACA guy #2: So, you want to get a guy who failed here, who went away and played his natural game we didn't like, and bring him back, to play the role we want which he hasn't shown he can do either here or in Tassie?

SACA guy #1: Exactly.

SACA guy #2: That's so crazy it just might work.

SACA guy #1: Darn tootin'. And if it doesn't work, nothing ever changes at the SACA, so we're fine.

Andrew Sincock: Anyone for baguettes?

Since 1995-1996

placings.PNG

Sheffield Shield (Team, Wins, Lasts)

Queensland - 6, 1
New South Wales - 4, 5
Victoria - 3, 2
Tasmania - 3, 2
Western Australia - 2, 0
South Australia - 1, 10 (now includes 2014/15 season)

Ford Ranger Cup (Team, Wins, Lasts)

Queensland - 6, 2
New South Wales - 4, 4
Western Australia - 4, 2
Victoria - 2, 3
Tasmania - 3, 3
South Australia - 1, 5

KFC & Big Bash T20 (Team, Wins, Lasts) [a little different since there's two Melbourne and two Sydney teams]

Victoria - 4, 1
Western Australia - 2, 0
New South Wales - 2, 4
South Australia - 1, 1
Queensland - 1, 1
Tasmania - 0, 3

Grand Totals (from 20 Shields, 20 ODI and 10 T20 comps = 50 competitions)
Queensland - 13, 4
New South Wales - 10, 13
Victoria - 9, 6
Western Australia - 8, 2
Tasmania - 6, 8
South Australia - 3, 16

The problem isn't Cosgrove hasn't fulfilled his potential. It's that we expect him to be the saviour, when we've stunk for 20 years and done nothing about it.

I wonder if Boof is wondering - in between coaching the Australian team to probable World Cup victory, even though he wasn't good enough to coach South Australia according to the SACA - whether he should encourage his son to change states?

Looks like another debutant or two in the last Shield game.

Either Nick Benton or Cameron Valente will play in Brisbane. Or both if they don't play a spinner.

Personally don't reckon Valente is quick enough. I guess people said that about Sayers though.

Benton has got some height and pace. Swings them too.

Saw a bit of vision, looks lively. Well done lad.

Looks like we will have a 300 run lead going into the last two sessions today.

Would be great if the Bulls had a Redback like crumble.

Wicket on the second ball!
Will we do our traditional "win the last game of the season when there's nothing to play for to instil hope for next season, when we will also suck" fightback and win?

Or will it peter out into a draw?
What I don't understand is why we are always so s**t in the first innings before batting well in the second?

and why the hell does Cricinfo call us SOA - we're SA, you don't call WA, WOA!

Edit: they're WAust, just in case anyone was confused :rolleyes:

They have South Africa as SA. They really should be RSA, and that's that.