At the bar with Spitta2Azza & Marksup (Phillyroo #482)

I nominate royals if he even lurks around here anymore.
36339861.jpg

Thanks for the positive feedback folks. We won't keep you waiting for the next instalment. Here 'tis...

(If you'd be so kind Spitta2Azza, please update the thread title.)

Part 2: The Current Regime, & more than you really want to know about us. (2010 - )

Kimbo: So much for the (early) 00's. It's a lot more fun to focus on the current period, under Brad Scott (and post 2007 when JB came in). What strikes you most when you think about the club, off field and on field, since that time? What do you most enjoy and appreciate about this current period?

TOD: Good question. And one that’s difficult to give a succinct answer to. Off-field we seem to be doing okay. Ticking the right boxes without setting the world on fire. But as we all know, there’s some well-documented reasons for that (Etihad deal, small supporter base, etc). I’m not overly disheartened by the collapse of the Ballarat venture. It had potential, but also had its limitations, as well as some very large hurdles to clear. As for our other satellite venture, I’m okay with Tassie as it is. I’m thankful for the injection of cash, but very much from the Zondor school of thought on the subject. I appreciate that it’s a delicate balancing act, but pissing off the club’s Melbourne base is suicide. (I also don't subscribe to the notion that the Melbourne market is tapped-out.) Not wringing my hands or donning any tin-foil hats at this stage, but being mindful of 2007, I wouldn’t like to see Tassie increase by any more than another game.

Kimbo: Yeah, I’m in the same boat (the Spirit of Tasmania?!). It’s a good thing as it stands – up to one more game – AND as a supporter base we need to be vigilant. “Alert, but not alarmed.” The issue is what the AFL plans with Tassie, longer term. (It doesn't matter what Tassie want.) If it is 8 games per year, from us and the Hawks, that’s good. If they want them to have their own side, that’s the time to be to be on the case. If it stays what it is, I really like it. For once we’re doing it right, and I reckon our experience with the Huddle, for example, helps too.

Anyway mate, go on…

TOD: Re the head cheeses, Funky Carl obviously has a much lower profile than Euge. As long as they’re not out there saying stupid s**t, I tend to like my footy club CEO’s to be getting their head in the media a little more, but I’m not exactly losing any sleep over Carl’s more under-the-radar approach. As for our beloved Chairman, I’d have no problem seeing JB move on soon. I’ve enjoyed his work, but at the same time have been disappointed by a few things over the journey. I’m particularly put off by the board stacking shenanigans. Either way he’s had a good run. Generally speaking, I’ve never understood this whole ‘intense loyalty to administrators’ thing. People calling other supporters traitors because they have the temerity to criticise a club leader. (Especially one who led the charge in ’07.) I pledge my allegiance to the club, not the individuals who run it. (See *essendon.) To me, an administrator is (almost) only as good as their last decision. It’s unfortunate, but it’s their lot.

Kimbo: Tell me about it! Tell one CEO they’re pedestrian and that it might be worth a few people turning up to an AGM and nekminnit, ‘Shut up and buy a membership!’ ;) Actually, despite the jest, it’s yet another sign of the signs of change. One reason for “Make it happen Euge” as BF folklore was that on the few occasions Eugene posted here, it was proactive, informative and respectful. I think, overall, the club’s not just made the right moves strategically (investing in the footy department first, new facilities, new turf, The Huddle) but the media guys engage with the supporter base.

What about on-field?

TOD: Obviously it’s a good time to be alive and barracking for North. I firmly believe we’re in the 'window’ zone, and that s**t is exciting. We have a decent-sized group of genuine top-liners (Wellsy, Dal, Boomer, Goldy, Swallow, Cunners, and at a pinch, Drew), a bunch of immensely capable players in support, and some very promising kids (as well as a few proven performers at other clubs) coming through to add a little spark. Nice age spread, and the talent is there. In the words of the country’s greatest ever Prime Minister, "It’s time!"

I really just appreciate being a contender again. A team that other clubs dislike playing. I’ve missed that. The 00’s sucked so royally. I guess one of the main things that I have enjoyed most since Bon came on board is witnessing the purposeful development of the team. And now, the real sense of his vision coming to fruition. While it is something he has often been criticised for, it appears Brad’s stubbornness with getting games into a few “chosen” players, and forcing certain structures, seems to be starting to reap some meaningful rewards. At the same time, he hasn’t been too rigid in his game plan vision. He’s made tweaks and adjustments as he’s gone, having faith in the talent he has before him to adjust accordingly. Kudos for that. I just wish his pressers weren’t such snore-fests.

So, what’s your perception of how we’re travelling? What about the current list is exciting you at the moment? Is talk of ‘windows’ reasonable or pie-in-the-sky dreaming?

Kimbo: Well, while nothing is guaranteed, I reckon we’ve done pretty damned well at positioning ourselves for ‘sustained success’. (Get with it TOD, ‘premiership windows’ are so yesterday.) But seriously, I think we’re on about two things with ‘sustained success’…

The first is recapturing and expanding our supporter and membership base. That’s where Brad’s a pretty good ambassador I reckon, despite copping it for being expressive in the box or boring in the pressers (he can’t win with some). The whole ‘elite athlete’ and ‘no dickheads’ stuff is part of it; building a culture that is respected on and off the field

The second is giving ourselves a shot at an elusive premiership. They’re not easy to win and you need to be in the top four (top two really) to have a shot, so if we can ‘sustain success’ it means we’re a greater chance. That investment in the footy department includes Steve Saunders and Joyce/Brewis too I reckon, to ensure we make the most of what we have, and who we get. Good recruitment, good development, good sports science. It’s that or the Melbourne approach. Or worse, the * approach.

Yes, we’ve got some good players and, as you say, a good age spread, but it’s the development of the team and the thinking and planning behind it I like. Sure, I absolutely love the likes of LT (h8ers gonna h8), Jack, Atley, Black, Brown and the emergence of Turner but good teams are more than the sum of their parts. What some have called stubbornness I call persistence of vision. I wouldn’t mind betting this is what Brad sold in his interview. A vision that went beyond the game plan for the following year. A vision for team development, culture, succession planning, growth of the football department etc. A bigger picture. We can’t control what other teams do, or how good they’ll be, but I think we’ve done well in ‘controlling the controllables’ - positioning ourselves as best as we can and I’m looking forward to the ride over the next few years (and beyond). I just want to see us recruit the next pacy, skilled (star quality) midfielder to replace Boomer and Wellsy.

TOD: Good answer. It sounds like we’re on the same page on a fair chunk of the above. Which worries me a little. You’re such a sensible, pragmatic type, and I’m so not. Hmmm. Maybe I’m getting old or something.

Kimbo: Sensible and pragmatic?! Well, there’s a first time for everything I guess. Clearly all the work I’ve put into my façade has paid off. Yeah, but getting old etc. :sternlook

So mate, let’s wrap up this epic. Other than the magical 'lost '90s' tell us a bit more about TOD outside BF and the NMFC? What do you do, who do you love, what are you passionate about etc?

TOD: Well, as a few folks around here would already know, I’m a certified music obsessive. And that’s also how I earn a buck – I on-sell music online. I don’t really want to go into detail about it beyond that because I work an incredibly small niche and, financially, I’m all about flying under radars. (Suitably obtuse answer!) Let’s just say that my income is secondary to Mrs. TOD’s role as chief bread-winner of the household. It’s just a practical way for me to put years of accumulated music knowledge to good use (I know what obscure stuff sells well on-line, from old indie/alternative gems to newer hipster fare), while contributing to the family finances at the same time. I work from home, so fortunately it’s also allowed me to do the whole ‘Mr.Mom’ thing while TOD Jr has been growing up.

Kimbo: Sounds like you’ve got it all sussed TOD! Work you enjoy, a wife who supports that to happen, a kid who shares your name.

TOD: Ha, very good. Yes, TOD Jr, of course, being another passion of mine. (Ummm, does that sound wrong?) Good kid, and I enjoy hanging out with him. Handy basketballer, talented skateboarder, and very decent footballer. (Lining up for the Hurstbridge U13’s this season after moving on from the completely shithouse, basket-case of a club, Diamond Creek.) Just started high school. Spends too much time on his iPad. Barracks for North as a kid.

Kimbo: Well, as BF parenting priorities go, “generational recruitment” is right up there. My own son – let’s call him Kimbo Jr – is an TV sports reporter in Melbourne (AFL and sports nirvana) and he too is a North supporter and it is a blessing to be able to share the passion. Some BFers might remember him as the North supporting Aussie bob sleigh team member who caught up with the team in Utah. I actually contacted Heath, wondering if there might be a chance of him meeting the team (it was his birthday), but it didn't work out. Nekminnit, Kimbo Jr bumps into Firrito at a local cafe and segment happened anyway.

Anyway, sorry to interject. Please go on, tell us more about your passions…

TOD: Well, there’s also writing. But then I’m a tad reluctant to call it a “passion” of mine because, truth is, I frequently loathe it. I just find the process to be such hard work. But I’m occasionally okay at it, and to that end I’m just about to finish my second book on the Thomastown Sharps (and other Melbourne sharpie gangs) from the 70’s. This time around I was actually paid (or “commissioned” if I want to sound like a knob) to write the book, which was a nice turn of events. Helped pay for my wedding to Mrs. TOD in Bali this year.

Which is a convenient segue-way to another big passion of mine – Indonesia. I have been there around 30-odd times now, I can speak ‘Bahasa’, and have traveled the length and breadth of the country a few times over. And I (still) can’t get enough of it. Although these days, with a young-ish kid in the mix and pressing work/life commitments and what not, travel over there has been honed down to an annual vacation in Bali. Which I’ve been to so many times now it’s become like a second home.

Kimbo: Wow, I’ve never been especially attracted to Bali and hence, never been despite living due south, so that’s really interesting to hear. If you venture to the sleazy commercial side of things, can you bring me back a “I’ve been to Bali too” T-shirt (or sell me an obscure Redgum record?) I’m into irony.

TOD: I think a lot of Australians have a pretty skewed impression of Bali. And that includes the ones that have actually been there. The idiot media doesn't help either, obviously. Suffice to say that the chaos and commercialism of Kuta is just one small piece of a much larger puzzle. Haven’t really got the time to extrapolate here and I'm conscious of not wanting to come across as some kind of pretentious toss-bag, but it’s a complex and beguiling and endlessly fascinating place once you get the opportunity to delve a little deeper and start to peel away a few layers.

Much like my lovely wife (!!), who of course is another passion of mine. And apart from the other more (for want of a better term) run-of-the-mill pleasures of life (good TV, crap TV, back massages, choc-orange...anything), my other passion is getting the crap tattooed out of me. Both arms tallied, I think I’m up to about 60-odd now. Seriously running out of room.

Kimbo: Well, now that Azza’s gone, you’ll have to develop a particular interest in Fishy’s career. Or start following the Pies or Lions.

TOD: Yeah, nah. Sleeve work is so passé. I’d rather just forgive the Fish for his faux pas, and stick with North.

So anyway, as the clock ticks over into time-on in the Last, and I’m on a stealing questions roll....backatcha. What are your other interests outside North and footy? What do you do to eke out a living? Have you found a new beloved to while away the days with? How is life in Denmark? (For those playing at home, I mean the WA town where Kimbo resides rather than the Scandinavian country.)

Kimbo: Yes, Denmark is actually just a small hamlet, and a good place to be… or not to be. What was the question?

Ah yes, life beyond NMFC. Geez, that’s tough! I’ve noticed that as I’ve got older I’ve gone back to the passions of my youth and I’ve become narrower in my focus. I used to watch lots of different sports; tennis, cricket, rugby league. Now, they bore me shitless. It’s pretty much AFL only, and barely a passing interest in other teams. (I confess to sneaking a peak at how Liverpool are travelling; also a childhood fancy.) And, as an interstate Roos supporter, it’s probably why I spend too much time on BF.

I’m a management consultant and leadership coach, working with senior executives and corporate work groups, particularly in the public sector and some not-for-profit sector. So, I facilitate workshops and provide one-on-one coaching. Since moving to Denmark I travel to Perth every few weeks to facilitate workshops and face-to-face appointments, but I also coach via Skype from home which works remarkably well.

TOD: Sounds cool. Sounds very ‘Kimbo’.

Kimbo: 'To thine own self be true' I guess TOD. Actually, it’s pretty enjoyable when you get to work with motivated people who are keen to develop themselves. I was fortunate to find my profession and ‘tribe’ early on and I still find it fascinating after nearly 30 years. (Mostly.) People and organisations are complex creatures and I continue to enjoy reading about the subject, always with the eye to ‘How can I use this knowledge?’. I love the challenge of making complex information simple and attractive, of continuously improving how I do what I do, and above all learning how organisations can support individual leadership, and vice versa. It can also be bloody frustrating to see decades (centuries?) old problems reoccurring time after time. But then, I guess that’s what keeps me in work, eh? I’ve been self employed for 18 years now, with a home office.

My other main passion is the natural environment. It’s a key reason I live amongst karri trees on an acre, on the outskirts of town. Temperate Australian rainforest is ‘my country’, to borrow an Indigenous expression. It used to be south coast NSW, now here. I am a passionate conservationist, and I love native, endemic birds and plants. WA’s whole south-west area is one of the most bio-diverse areas in the world. Mrs Kimbo and I built a 7-star mud brick home here; local products, PV cells etc. (if only my mortgage was as sustainable!). Other than limiting our energy footprint, it’s been a priority for me to create a native garden around the house to attract the birds. It’s been such a delight to see species by species visiting. I enjoy the ‘art’ of creating the garden and the actual time getting the hands dirty with planting, pruning… even weeding! Very grounding. I also join Mrs Kimbo in some swimming and snorkeling at Green's Pool, a local landmark. And indulging some of the local chardonnay at dusk isn’t bad either.

TOD: Wow. Great stuff. Very commendable. I'm glad that there’s people out there like you that are....well, making up for the shortcomings of wasteful, PV cell-less, non-mud-brick-home-living consumers like myself. (Nah, I try. Sometimes.) Seriously though, it sounds like you’ve managed to make a beautiful part of the country your own. Good for you.

Kimbo: Thanks mate. In more recent years I’ve begun to incorporate my passion for our environment, and my concern with its destruction, with my work, supporting clients to explore the development of ‘sustainability mindsets and cultures’. There’s no point having great leadership, great organisations if we trash our planet in the process. I suppose I’m fairly ‘philosophical’. I enjoy reflecting on, and discussing, patterns and links between social and natural systems and am influenced by a range of paradigms (deep ecology-taoism-indigenous spirituality-transcendentalism-systems thinking). In a good conversation I’ll link it back to the footy! An incongruous mix for some.

TOD: By “incongruous” I assume you mean “grating”. Just kidding.

Kimbo: Yeah, thanks for that. I'm stuck in the middle on this one. Suffice it to say that everything is connected, and footy is a spiritual experience. :)

TOD: Well, you certainly have a knack for raising the collective IQ of a thread by a few points. (Which is a big plus in my books.) But please, continue...

Kimbo: As long as that's not a euphemism for 'pretentious tossbag', thanks. :sternlook

Okay, so continuing - and in conclusion - I’m pretty fortunate that my other great passion, Mrs Kimbo, shares some of my key passions. Originally Polish (she migrated here as a kid), she has been an avid Roos fan for many years now after a journey that started as scorn for ‘egg ball’ (Aussie Rules), to saying “Actually, I can see the skill”, to sharing a loud and jubilant hug when we won the EF. She even commented, in watching a couple of the recent Asian Cup matches that footy had spoiled soccer for her; ‘it’s too boring’. She gets more nervous watching our games than I do. Back to nature, our love of wildlife also extends to our adopted son, Canine Kimbo, (a Parson Russell terrier) who is another joy. As my wife would say, the only downside to a dog is that they live short lives. We've lost three 'family members' in recent years.

TOD: Ah, yes, the beloved pooch. A beautiful, black Lab in my case. Also had an adorable aged terrier ‘thing’ up until a few months ago. (Sad face.)

And, yep, I can also lay claim to having turned the missus. Not like George did to Susan, but from a pre-existing Go Dees affiliation over to North. Granted, not a particularly hard task.

Kimbo: She should be thanking you profusely every day from a fate worse than death, frankly.

TOD: Anyway, I suppose we should leave it about there. I’d be surprised if anyone’s still reading at this point. Guess they’ll just have to wait for the mini-series.

Kimbo: Yeah, I'm sure we lost a few of the tl;dr crew, but that's fine; I enjoyed the dialogue mate and glad we did this, even if it did take nearly a month from conception to finalisation.

TOD: On a final note, thanks to your good self, Kimbo. Some fantastic answers there. And on the flipside of the coin, I have appreciated the insightful questions, too. Bonus points for the patience you’ve shown

Kimbo: Likewise TOD, thanks for the show of faith, and it's been great to have gotten to know you better, and I hope the Board feels the same way.

Ahhhhh brilliant boys. I'm sure I wasn't the only one immersed in the convo like I was eavesdropping in a pub. Well done!

One great thing about the mighty NMFC is that it draws people together from all walks of life........

Travis-Barker1.jpg
2605-700x880.jpg

.........with a common love, and a subsequently fascinating story to tell.

Ahhhhh brilliant boys. I'm sure I wasn't the only one immersed in the convo like I was eavesdropping in a pub. Well done!

One great thing about the mighty NMFC is that it draws people together from all walks of life........

Travis-Barker1.jpg

.........with a common love, and a subsequently fascinating story to tell.

I'm not sure that TOD would be thrilled to be represented by the dude from Blink 182.

Brilliant stuff by you two most "esteemed gentleman". I reckon that a fair part can be put down to the fact that there has been a few "good women" in their lives. Well I know there has been in the case of TOD, given his ma-in-law is the true First Lady of football and I suspect she would have had a very good influence on Mrs. TOD.

I'm not sure that TOD would be thrilled to be represented by the dude from Blink 182.

Pretty sure there's a few Blink fans around these parts, so I'll just be diplomatic and shoot you a wry smile. :wry smiley face

(Plus the dude is also in The Transplants and they're okay, so I'll cut him a little slack.)

Weird kind of vague likeness going on there though. Even managed to get the Kimbo pic spot on, too.

Brilliant stuff by you two most "esteemed gentleman". I reckon that a fair part can be put down to the fact that there has been a few "good women" in their lives. Well I know there has been in the case of TOD, given his ma-in-law is the true First Lady of football and I suspect she would have had a very good influence on Mrs. TOD.

Just like the saying goes...

"Behind every lazy, irresponsible, dysfunctional man-child, stands a great woman."

Well, one at least Horace. It just took me a while to find her. ;)

Back to nature, our love of wildlife also extends to our adopted son, Canine Kimbo, (a Parson Russell terrier) who is another joy.
Sorry Kimbo, but in my sleep-deprived state when I read this I genuinely thought you had taken your eco and fauna passion to the point where you named your progeny 'Canine.' It took me a good 2 minutes of staring at it before I even realised what context that was in.

Seriously though, this was a fantastic and fascinating read, I think many congratulations have to go to you and The Other Dean for your candidness and willingness to share stories on your experiences. I'm a great believer in the notion that every single person, regardless of their history, heritage, career, lifestyle etc has a complex, interesting story to tell and this conversation between you two has only reinforced that.

One of the main appeals of this thread for me is that I can read about people's experiences and opinions on North on and off-field situation in a time before I could comprehend what was happening or before I was born. The 70's sound like they were a fantastic time to be a North fan.

Sorry Kimbo, but in my sleep-deprived state when I read this I genuinely thought you had taken your eco and fauna passion to the point where you named your progeny 'Canine.' It took me a good 2 minutes of staring at it before I even realised what context that was in.
Well, I did promise it could cure insomnia... ;)

Seriously though, this was a fantastic and fascinating read, I think many congratulations have to go to you and The Other Dean for your candidness and willingness to share stories on your experiences. I'm a great believer in the notion that every single person, regardless of their history, heritage, career, lifestyle etc has a complex, interesting story to tell and this conversation between you two has only reinforced that.

One of the main appeals of this thread for me is that I can read about people's experiences and opinions on North on and off-field situation in a time before I could comprehend what was happening or before I was born. The 70's sound like they were a fantastic time to be a North fan.
Seriously though, you're welcome. It was fun to do, and made all the more enjoyable by the fact that our stories have been welcomed.

11053889_896990650321876_6260378506551023320_n.jpg

Fantastic write up Kimbo and The Other Dean. It's great to get an insight into a couple of this board's more cerebral and entertaining posters.

I hope that Kimbo patented the "coaching by Skype" thing as it seems to have really taken off these days.

Fantastic write up Kimbo and The Other Dean. It's great to get an insight into a couple of this board's more cerebral and entertaining posters.

I hope that Kimbo patented the "coaching by Skype" thing as it seems to have really taken off these days.
Cheers see see.

As for the patent, no way. I'm no luddite, but I'm merely one of the 'early majority' when it comes to technology and in some cases, like this one, 'late majority'. Certainly not an 'early adopter'.

And when it comes to the VCR (err, Playstation) and all those wires, I let Mrs Kimbo handle that. ;)

Back in action for a bit of Wednesday night reading. This interview took a while, mainly cause of me, but it was a pleasure to find out some really interesting history of the one and Only Forwards (see what I did there ;)). Enjoy!

Only Forwards

MU: Where did your love for the North Melbourne football club start and why?

OF: I might split this into a couple of parts.

North runs in my family. In my mind before I knew what football was I knew that I followed North. North has been in my families blood for more than 100 years. I was named after my both of my Grandfathers, My Pa who I share my first name with died when I was very young, along with his name I also got his connection to the footy club.

The family connection stems from some point between 1871 and 1881, my Great Great Grand parents (my grandparents to my Pa mentioned above) immigrated from Aberdeenshire in Scotland to Hotham.

There are a few family stories about connections to the club. That part of my family were butchers so I have heard stories of connections that way. There is also a story about my Pa being the little kid (mascot) who would run out before the team at Arden st, this would have been in the early teens 1910-1916. Also a story of him turning down an offer to "come down to Collingwood" because it wasn't North, its likely that would have been late 20s or 30s.
I am sure there are elements of truth to those things but I take them with a grain of salt.

The affiliation with North started there, however whilst my family largely counts itself as North very few ever really attended. despite my efforts to make them.

The first game I ever attended was against the * and I actually recall what the banner said.
The bombers aren't flying, they're just gliding
Work hard North and give them a hiding

This was a once off with a friend from school but I loved it. That was probably around 1990 as a 10 year old.

By the time I turned 13 I actually found some fellow North supporters who went regularly. In 1994 they joined the cheersquad and so did I. Shortly after that I stopped going with them and just started going on my own.

There is no question at all that I have passed my passion to my son.

MU: Wow your history with North would arguably go back further than anyone! Let's hope the generations keep being passed on.

You say you started going on your own now. Describe the difference between being in the cheer squad and how do you attend the footy these days? How would you describe your days at the footy with your child and explain how you can see the passion instilled in him? Also is there any specific trips to the footy that stand out to you?

OF: When I put the family history thing in a paragraph like that it seems as if I knew that all along, I didn't, I knew my Pa loved North his father loved North and my family was a North family. Its only in the last couple of years I have learned the stuff about when they immigrated and where to, but it is definitely a family thing.

In the 90's in the cheersquad being an impressionable teen, there was nothing like Friday nights at the G. Watching Duck go nuts, never ever thinking we were ever out of a game, or that there were teams to fear. We could always win and normally did and if we didn't we still had the best player so the other teams were s**t anyway.

I, like a few posters before me have mentioned lucked into the point at which I really started following the club. There was something intangible about North in the 90s for me. I have many times tried to explain to my son how expectation hung in the air. How we could dominate a game. How Duck could turn a game. How exciting it was to just be there to watch it unfold.

The closest thing I have felt to it recently (and it was no where near as strong) was the air of expectation around Maj when defences have no idea how to combat him while playing deep forward. There is just something unpredictable that just makes you want to watch. There is a palpable tension at the ground.

From watching the footy in my teens, I recall a few times, like my second ever match was a awful, we were beaten by Fitzroy by a point and it rained. I remember listening to the 94 prelim on the radio because the tv was on delay and I had to know, and I remember I was devastated and thinking we just would never get to a grand final.

At the 95 prelim the guy beside me threw a crushed up can at Greg Williams as he was being stretched around the boundary which caused the entire cheersquad to turn and look at me a 15 year old kid as opposed to the 30 something nuftie beside me, I sold him out so quick its not funny.

That same year in the final against Richmond after the game some twat threw and orange into the cheersquad where I was sitting and it hit me in the head.

I also recall one time out at Waverley throwing the ball back into the field after a goal was kicked and managing to hit the white broad rim hat off the goal umpires head. I was quite happy with myself when I did that.

As to how its different now we seem to be getting back to a point where I am starting to expect us to do well. However we are yet to hit a point where my desire for the team equals the reality of the output. We've had some very cracking wins though. Last years Finals were a massive step forward.

From around 2001 until some point in 2008 I had really drifted from footy. So my son has only seen since about then. His introduction to footy is very different to mine, so he has paid more dues than I ever had to.

He saw the 104 from the Saints, the 117 from Collingwood, honestly when I watched as a teen I have repressed any memory of us getting beaten so badly. His first years of watching North we were pretty consistently shite.

The win against the Saints in 2009 sticks in my mind, He was 6 and it was the first time he'd ever seen us beat a top team. He loved it, it'd be around this point we started singing the whole song as we walk out of the ground after a victory.

His passion has really really grown though. He will get up and start chants at our home games. He's 12 and he gets adults to follow in them. He dead set loves us.

After Drew kicked the second Frank the tank goal he turned to me with tears in his eyes, looks up at me and says, We're gonna win dad we're gonna win. It was his first finals win, and maybe because its so fresh but that moment for me is up there with watching Duck hold the cup aloft. For me to have someone who loves North as much as I do and be able to share us winning like that. There is truly nothing like it.

My boy is North and always will be.

PS for anyone wondering, he hates and I mean completely f***ing loathes the *scum.

MU: Some awesome memories there. Your son sounds like he has an incredible passion, and as a 21 year old I can only hope that in the future I get to do the same with a child of my own. I find the fact that you were hit with an orange reasonably funny also. I actually got hit in the head with a Mandarin when I came over from SA to see us play hawthorn. I had been taunting their supporters all game so I probably deserved it.

Anyway a couple of questions to come out of what you've said. How do you feel about our current team? You mentioned Maj giving you all that excitement. With our forward line options do you see him still in the mix? Also a lot of people have mentioned how they drifted away during those tough years, and many have said it was the threat of relocation that drew them back. Was it that for you also?

OF: We are heading in the right direction. Collectively as a group we are hitting a point near maturity.

What will be interesting to see is how much difference the belief that we can not only make finals but win them does to the group. I am pretty staunch in believing that we have the ability and that the majority of our issues have been above the shoulders. I will use Sam Wright as a metaphor for where I think we are at as a team. You go back to 2013 and on multiple occasions with the game on the line Wright is in a position to kick a goal and likely seal the game and we win. He missed (in multiple games) and this probably comes down to pressure because Sam Wright is a fairly solid kick of the footy and 100% can kick a goal from a slight angle 35-40 meters out on the run. That is where we were. So close to being consistent we could touch it but never quite getting to where we needed to be.
Where we are now? We are Wright keeping us in a final almost on his own for the first 2 quarters and with absolutely everything on the line and all the momentum against us he takes a an impressive intercept mark between a high quality former pick 1 and a soon to be stripped brownlow medalist.

He, Sam Wright, this kid that had melted in front of goals when we put him in positions to win us games strikes the match that sees just turn the tide. It takes maturity and class to be able to go for it and pull it off.

We are on the upswing of the ride but we need to take that maturity into every game. No more 7 goals to 1 quarters. For this year to be a success, for mine we need to finish in the top 4 after the home and away. That puts us in a qualifying final and a legit shot at a flag.

The excitement at the ground with Maj was from the unpredictablity of it. The anticipation that anything could happen and when the ball was near him you watch a little harder because you might just see the remarkable.

Right now I see Maj as only in the mix as a back up. He is gonna take time and loads of it and that is before you even consider the offield stuff.

He's 23 and if he can get beyond the off-field stuff behind him who knows, big blokes take time and god knows we have persisted with some shitbox players over the journey. Maj at 26 may have developed into a weapon that is incredibly hard to stop, he also may not have.

In a word, no. In 2007 my own life was far too comsuiming to be able to look too far beyond it let alone to footy that I had drifted from for half a decade.

By 2008 the chaos that was my life had sort of settled and I introduced my then Girlfriend (now wife) to footy. It is actually Collingwood I have to thank for getting back into footy.

Round 5 - 7 point win
Round 16 - 18 point win

I only went to 2 games that year and it was those 2. She was hooked my passion was rekindled. From 2009 onward we've barely missed a Melbourne based H&A game.

The Universe works in strange ways sometimes.

MU: How did you feel about last year? What were some of your favourite moments, you obviously mentioned the special moments with you and your son at the finals, but describe your own personal feelings and how they compare to back when we were a force in the 90's?

OF: Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on how you look at it) I was in the US and Mexico for the Port and Sydney wins last year.

The game against Freo was great, I had mates staying with me from interstate so old friends, Jack Daniels and a win over a bogey side. Made for a good night.

The win against Hawthorn was also superb and probably the best H&A victory I was at last year. really started to feel we can mix it with the big boys.

The team still has some issues though. The 3rd quarter against Richmond was superb but it was directly preceded by a horrid 7-1 quarter. I think it was after that game though heading back to the Victory room and having Tim Rogers standing on a table leading the room in renditions of our song. That was pretty special.

THe way that I view footy is pretty different to how I did in the 90s. Being able to look back at them as a whole the rise, the sustained finals, the flags. My views on the 90s are very rose coloured and romanticised.

Right now we have all appearances of being in an upward swing. It is great that we have drawn a line and said this is it, we are having a crack. We are not stuck in some sort of development loop. We are setting ourselves for a shot at a flag.

MU: The special moments of last year just seem to be building towards something.

Who are your current heroes that wear the North outfit and have you had any experiences with those players that have caused that to be the case? Also who do you think holds the key to North's success, obviously it takes the team as a hold, but breaking them down individually, who do you think the most important keys are?

OF: My current Heroes would have to be Boomer and Wellsy watching them do their thing is brilliant.

The key to North success is going to be the generation of players from Ziebell's year and below becoming mature footballers who put a consistent hard brand of footy on the park every week.

Cunners
Ziebs
Atley
McDonald
Wright
JMac

If these players with our senior blokes can form a core of week in week out players we'll go far.

I would really like to see a foward take the team by the reigns and put their stamp on it.

MU: So how about a little bit about yourself? What does life outside footy entail for Only Forwards? And do you see yourself drifting from the game again, or can we be safe in saying you are back fully entrenched in it now?

OF: Outside of footy only happens a little bit because I am involved at my son's footy. He missed most of last year through injury so I am looking forward to this year as I really see him coming along this year with a little added desire. So large parts of my free time are dedicated to either North or My Boys footy.

Building myself a bit of a career in a major coporate in Melbourne, slowly working my way to becoming a Program Manager. Infact I might just be hitting Kimbo up to have a chat about language and its use in that sorta setting.

I am also studying a little at the moment so that ties up some of my free time too.

I am completely fully entrenched now. So is my Wife and Son I can not see myself drifting away from footy again. The only reason I coould see us not going to games would be if we moved away from Melbourne and that is unlikely to occur in the next 5 years.

MU: So how does the little fella go then? Any chance we could see him pull on the blue and white in the future? Do we need Ziebs' Dad to give the club a heads up about him?

Cheers for the chat Only Forwards, it's been a pleasure!

OF: He goes alright, had a hand injury for much of last year which saw him miss all but 2 games. He broke a finger in his growth plate smothering a ball. I thought he might be a bit hesitant to get back into it but the practice game he played yesterday put those thoughts to bed. I especially like the intercept mark followed by a fend off.

He's probably on the smaller side so it'll be interesting over the next couple of years as he's due a growth spurt. Don't think he'll be troubling recruiters and I don't really care about that. As long as he enjoys getting out there with his mates.

No Worries Marksup.

MU: That's what it's all about mate. Must be a joy to just have him giving it a crack.

Thanks mate!