Social Off Topic Thread - House of Dastardly Crax

That would've taken a little bit of the crowd away from the shops, wouldn't it?

Eh dunno, but getting there thru/near Moonee ponds would have been horrendous. Actually got caught up in it accidently one year. Was going to the library in Moonee Ponds- ALL parking was gone, the only thing that saved me was the actual Library car park!! It has Permit signs posted outside it, but its not permit on the weekends. NFI why people didnt park there, so I got lucky.

Do you ever go to the Melbourne Cup, Shell?

Nah. Been to a couple Oaks late 90s/early 2000s. Havent been again since, is such a wank. And expensive.

Eh dunno, but getting there thru/near Moonee ponds would have been horrendous. Actually got caught up in it accidently one year. Was going to the library in Moonee Ponds- ALL parking was gone, the only thing that saved me was the actual Library car park!! It has Permit signs posted outside it, but its not permit on the weekends. NFI why people didnt park there, so I got lucky.

Nah. Been to a couple Oaks late 90s/early 2000s. Havent been again since, is such a wank. And expensive.

Lucky you with the parking! I love it when I jag a spot at our busy shopping centres- I prefer to go really early at opening or skip those centres altogether. Sometimes it's unavoidable and I've just got to go there at peak times, though that's rare now that the kids are older. :(

The MC is a bit too prissy for me. I used to go to the Kalgoorlie Cup straight from work- i.e. khaki shirt (or even just a singlet), shorts and steel caps. I never once felt out of place. ;) Can't see myself wanting to fuss over getting cleaned up for the Melb Cup. The best thing about the MC used to be the public holiday in Vic. :)

Well , I am now completely dicombomulated:confused: The sounds of onomatopoeic words are drilling , and whirring inside my head and ending with great thumps .. Perhaps I am also noncompos mentis ?
and on a complete change of topic..... what makes a good friend? Was asked the question in a conference yesterday . Oh well I am estimating without any conformation whatsoever, that I am the only one awake again and chatting away to myself at this time . Don't know why I can't sleep past 5 am

funny-Family-Feud-woman-awkward-question.jpg

Well , I am now completely dicombomulated:confused: The sounds of onomatopoeic words are drilling , and whirring inside my head and ending with great thumps .. Perhaps I am also noncompos mentis ?
and on a complete change of topic..... what makes a good friend? Was asked the question in a conference yesterday . Oh well I am estimating without any conformation whatsoever, that I am the only one awake again and chatting away to myself at this time . Don't know why I can't sleep past 5 am
Not supporting Hawthorn is a good start. I've got three Hawthorn supporting mates and you guessed it, they're all flog! Every single one of them. When football isn't the topic they're great, but when engaging in any football related banter, it's like being mates with bosk, hodgepodge and tazhawk.

Eh I dont care who supports who. Have great friends of all shapes, sizes and football teams.

If they attempt to "rub it in" aka footy, just laugh and make a joke. It shows you aren't affected by their words (even if you are) just bag Geelong worse back at them (even if you dont mean it), they'll get sick of it and disappointed they didnt wind you up.

I reckon that works pretty well.

Not supporting Hawthorn is a good start. I've got three Hawthorn supporting mates and you guessed it, they're all flog! Every single one of them. When football isn't the topic they're great, but when engaging in any football related banter, it's like being mates with bosk, hodgepodge and tazhawk.
See, I just couldn't be friends with Hawks, Fockers or WCE fans. I was invited to the Freo game at KP this season in a corporate box, but Freo fans were going to, so I declined! I don't like many humans at the best of times, so I sure ain't going to socialise with Hawks, Fockers or WCE fans! Hell, even some of our Geelong supporters are absolute flogs :rolleyes:

People are just such immature dicks tho. I got over the whole "bagging people out over footy" years ago.

Except the AP at work who barracks for St Kilda. Always give it to him good over Saints -and him back to me with Geelong-, he is the exception to the rule.
I guess you probably feel like you've been beating up on some poor little kid in recent years, though, Shell?
I've got two friends who support the Saints. These days I just feel sorry for them. :(

My best friend is a Hawthorn supporter, Liverpool supporter and lives in Adelaide.

The 3 stages of hell :D

Hahaha!!!
I can't be-leaf how attractive-looking your fronds are, Kitty. I'm green with envy and can't wait to meet them!
Tell me- how do you greet each other? Do you hug? Give each other a wave? Or touch palms?
I'm very fernd of my fronds, but I don't always have the stamenna to socialise. If they're root, I can take them or leave them!

My best friend is a Hawthorn supporter, Liverpool supporter and lives in Adelaide.

The 3 stages of hell :D
Oi! SAdelaide isn't such a bad place... If you know which bits to avoid! :)

Having only a mild interest in Soccer (yes I know it's "Association Football"), I've heard about the Liverpool/Everton rivalry as something pretty full on. A bit like the SA/WA derbies, but with more violence from opposition fans.

As for Hawthorn, well... we share common ground in that regard!

Gotta love it when you get a call from a friend on a lovely Sunday afternoon and they ask: "Do you want to come around for a BBQ?" and the answer is always yes. It did take me nearly an hour to get there (Springvale) but it was worth it.

Beers, burgers, sausages and I helped him with his coilover suspension.:)