Longwthebreeze

Sep 17, 2014
Chelsea
After living in Melbourne for 3 years, some of my best ever footy experiences have been away games. Lecca kicking 12, Nic Nat taking that hanger and us beating Juddy for the first time and rolling the high flying Dogs as 10/1 outsiders etc etc.... Some of those proud moments involved waving goodbye to the oppositions early leavers, the WC chant echoing in the last quarter and meeting the players afterwards in a jumping function room with a few frothys!! Our supporters always seemed to be so spread out in the crowd, we never got the chance to "own" an end of the stadium.
It got me thinking about and wanting my club to be innovative to their members/ supporters and showing the nation what a powerhouse of a club we are.
How about:

- Picking an away game a year and the club promoting it as "Invasion Day", "Western Tour" or any other multitude of play on words.
- Partnering with our many sponsors to make it affordable- Virgin airways, Crown, other hotels etc
- At destination, having support from other sponsors- Puma store sales, CUB, Coke, West Cape Howe wines @ Crown Casino/ pub function (free beer?!) etc.
- Making a weekend of it by having cheap/free entry to Flemington/ Caulfield races, Music/ Comedy festivals etc. Shopping promos for the girls??
-Im sure medium sized clubs would get behind it with a few extra tickets sold - North, Tigers, Gold Coast weekender??
- Promote it to our supporters in country WA and other cities and the thousands of others who cant get a ticket to Subi games.

** With our knowledgeable and well travelled readers, Id like to know:
1- If this would be popular and maybe catch on as a marquee calender date?
2- What else works around the world - Baseball, NFL, Soccer etc?
3- What other innovations would we want to see? Game day, website technology, international, or whatever!! (I reckon we should get a sticker on Daniel Ricciardos helmet for example)

Think outside the box and give it your best!!

After living in Melbourne for 3 years, some of my best ever footy experiences have been away games. Lecca kicking 12, Nic Nat taking that hanger and us beating Juddy for the first time and rolling the high flying Dogs as 10/1 outsiders etc etc.... Some of those proud moments involved waving goodbye to the oppositions early leavers, the WC chant echoing in the last quarter and meeting the players afterwards in a jumping function room with a few frothys!! Our supporters always seemed to be so spread out in the crowd, we never got the chance to "own" an end of the stadium.
It got me thinking about and wanting my club to be innovative to their members/ supporters and showing the nation what a powerhouse of a club we are.
How about:

- Picking an away game a year and the club promoting it as "Invasion Day", "Western Tour" or any other multitude of play on words.
- Partnering with our many sponsors to make it affordable- Virgin airways, Crown, other hotels etc
- At destination, having support from other sponsors- Puma store sales, CUB, Coke, West Cape Howe wines @ Crown Casino/ pub function (free beer?!) etc.
- Making a weekend of it by having cheap/free entry to Flemington/ Caulfield races, Music/ Comedy festivals etc. Shopping promos for the girls??
-Im sure medium sized clubs would get behind it with a few extra tickets sold - North, Tigers, Gold Coast weekender??
- Promote it to our supporters in country WA and other cities and the thousands of others who cant get a ticket to Subi games.

3- What other innovations would we want to see? Game day, website technology, international, or whatever!! (I reckon we should get a sticker on Daniel Ricciardos helmet for example)

Terrific idea, you should email the club.
Ask for Trevor Nisbett to read your email, there generally pretty good about stuff like that.

Terrific idea, you should email the club.
Ask for Trevor Nisbett to read your email, there generally pretty good about stuff like that.
Thanks, Ive put a few of these ideas forward in the last few member surveys but hoping more ideas gain traction and grow WINGS!!

How about:

Would jump on this for sure!

I'd say it would be highly successful. The number of fans that go to Melbourne for a game is pretty high.

Love this idea.

If we're away to North this year it has to be that game :D

Love this idea.

If we're away to North this year it has to be that game :D
Yep north , bullies or saints would be a good idea get a sellout for one of the struggling clubs that need the ticket sales and is usually a small crowd . I even think the afl would get behind it and help allocate seats for our supporters together and maybe even get a prime time slot for the game like Saturday night . It could almost become a tradition or rivalry between the two teams .

Just don't make it against collingwood as I can see eddy wanting to get his filthy hands on the idea

Good idea. Should be the Collingwood game over there every year. Might help the boys to get a win over there against them.

Yep north , bullies or saints would be a good idea get a sellout for one of the struggling clubs that need the ticket sales and is usually a small crowd . I even think the afl would get behind it and help allocate seats for our supporters together and maybe even get a prime time slot for the game like Saturday night . It could almost become a tradition or rivalry between the two teams .

Having said that, we'll probably be scheduled to play the Roos in Hobart in mid-July :(

Great idea, the last 2 years I've been over for a game, with a few mates moving over there the last few years, and I loved it. Will do it again next season. I reckon the idea would really work and could see it being a real success.

1. Might need to start small and build it up. Why not start here on BigFooty? Choose a date that lots of eagles fans normally fly over to watch in the first place - Anzac Day we always play away, we normally play one Friday Night game in Melbourne a year, or the away game to Collingwood or Essendon normally gets people to fly over.

Choose a game once the fixture is released. Start a thread - if there is interest i'm sure Mods would sticky a "2015 Eagles Invade The G" expresion of interest thread. Watch for cheap flights and get people over. This board has had a good responce with the Return The Wings... Invade the G could be our next goal before we try for World Domination.

fox-620x317.jpg

Thats the Dallas Cowboys home stadium in Round 1 of the NFL season. 49ers fans took over the place (the red fans for those with NFI). It was beautiful to watch. If we ever did anything like that over in Melbourne it would bring a tear to my eye.

Perth Glory Shed did something very much like this - http://www.gloryshed.com.au/tourofduty

Limitation would be flights. We would never get massive numbers at a game to totally take it over like that. But a decent number of people up for it would really be noticed.

Would anyone be willing to get dressed up in an eagles version of these? Were a huge hit at the game posing for photos and even getting our picture taken for an article

Imagine if we could get 100+ of us in them. The cost is about $40 each. Could even get one of the design gurus on the board to come up with a design

I got these Richmond ones made in a mates factory in china for a mate of mine who flew over for the dreamtime game and is a huge Richmond supporter

image.jpg image.jpg

As a WA expat I will gladly assist with Invasion Day.

It would have to be pitched/marketed really well though. Could be extremely lame if in the wrong hands

Would anyone be willing to get dressed up in an eagles version of these? Were a huge hit at the game posing for photos and even getting our picture taken for an article

Imagine if we could get 100+ of us in them. The cost is about $40 each. Could even get one of the design gurus on the board to come up with a design

I got these Richmond ones made in a mates factory in china for a mate of mine who flew over for the dreamtime game and is a huge Richmond supporter

View attachment 89687 View attachment 89686
I think the government is trying to ban that kind of thing.

Great idea

Eagles fans are usually awesome in away games, in number and noise.

Need a bit of that enthusiasm at our home games

Awesome idea! How many do we usually get to games against Collingwood at the G? Would be great to get big numbers to a game like that.