Brexit - The UK referendum on leaving the EU - Reneging, reshmeging!

Wolfgang Schauble, German finance minister, implored the British people to vote yes to Europe in this year's referendum. "It would be a disaster otherwise," he said.
Mr Schauble has warned in the past that if the EU is unable to stop one of its more prosperous members from walking out in frustration, hard-headed investors in Asia, the US, and around the world, will take it as evidence that the EU is in terminal decline.

What an incentive to vote to leave.

They are going. The 2-3 million people about to arrive in Europe will guarantee that.

Cameron is shitting himself, talking about the Calais jungle coming to Folkestone was ridiculous. The leave campaigns need to stop fighting and get Boris on board. May looks like being pathetic and toeing the line to save her job.

Any chance Cameron wants to have it in June before the summer kicks off and the immigrant numbers pick up again?

Cameron is shitting himself, talking about the Calais jungle coming to Folkestone was ridiculous. The leave campaigns need to stop fighting and get Boris on board. May looks like being pathetic and toeing the line to save her job.

Any chance Cameron wants to have it in June before the summer kicks off and the immigrant numbers pick up again?

I suspect that was the plan but I also suspect events are about to overtake him.

Most of the western world's population is ageing rapidly and birth rates in decline.
Any boosts or increases to birth rates are from Middle Eastern/African/West Asian immigrants who breed like rabbits.

Interesting times ahead for Europe

There's reasons why right wing nationalism is on the rise in Europe.
If what's happening in Cologne, Sweden, and even in Russia and other parts of Europe...those nationalist parties wont be minority or opposition but they'll be forming majority governments.

If that happens, I'd rather be in hell with Satan as my tour guide giving me a sample of everything hell has to offer, then be a muslim immigrant(legal or illegal) in Europe.

They'll half arse.

Yep, bit hard to say to the Brits, we know you really want to end free movement but we wont let you, then suspend Schengen.

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2016-01-18/countdown-end-eu-officials-say-europe-going-down-drain

"We have until March, the summer maybe, for a European solution. Then Schengen goes down the drain."

Make no mistake, were Germany to stop accepting refugees, a dangerous chain of events would unfold just as warmer weather makes the journey more appealing for refugees. Arrivals have not slowed during the winter months, a senior conservative German lawmaker said. "You can only imagine what happens when the weather improves." If Germany's open-door slams shut in the spring, millions of asylum seekers would be stuck along the Balkan route where bottlenecks led to border clashes between Hungarian riot police and migrants last year.

The cataclysm is coming. There's already half a million on the way out of Aleppo.

It's going to be an amazing spring and summer for the Fourth Reich.

Election year in France and Germany too.

That's gunna be pretty.

John Kerry now intervening against Brexit - yeah that'll work.

Yep, just like this will. Nothing the Poms love more than reminding the Germans they beat them twice at their own game (well maybe reminding the French of the same thing, whilst they did stuff all/collaborated)

http://www.breitbart.com/london/201...tens-trade-war-as-consequence-for-any-brexit/

A trade war would follow any British exit from the European Union (EU), a senior ally of German Chancellor Angela Merkel has warned, sparking a diplomatic brawl between the two countries as UK Prime Minister David Cameron prepares to enter the final round of negotiations on the matter.

The Poms and their delusion that they "won" World War II is one of the great spectacles of human society.

Having a spent a year in Brussels hanging out with many EU types, I can confirm the French and ze Germans would be very happy for the Brits to leave.

The Poms and their delusion that they "won" World War II is one of the great spectacles of human society.

Yep, they once again had to save the French from the Germans.

Plus ca change.

Having a spent a year in Brussels hanging out with many EU types, I can confirm the French and ze Germans would be very happy for the Brits to leave.

Brussels isn't the power base though, its a home for second rate pollies who cant get a decent seat at home. The German socialist balatron in charge there hates the English but he isnt going to tell Merkel what to do he just wants to keep his nose firmly in the trough.

Most in the CDU want the English to leave because A) they will have to stump up most of the net contribution and b) the French will then in conjunction with Southern Europe turn the EU into a protectionist bloc and go back the bad old days of the milk lake and the butter mountain.

Yep, they once again had to save the French from the Germans.

Plus ca change.

Brussels isn't the power base though, its a home for second rate pollies who cant get a decent seat at home. The German socialist balatron in charge there hates the English but he isnt going to tell Merkel what to do he just wants to keep his nose firmly in the trough.

Most in the CDU want the English to leave because A) they will have to stump up most of the net contribution and b) the French will then in conjunction with Southern Europe turn the EU into a protectionist bloc and go back the bad old days of the milk lake and the butter mountain.

The Brits didn't save anyone in WW2. Barely got out with there pants on. Understandable mind you after exhausting themselves in the previous war. The Yanks and Soviets did the heavy lifting and took the spoils.

Question for the panel. Does much of the UK-Euro split, Brexit, whatever matter if the TTIP is signed? I'm sure there are a number of things that the UK won't be part of but considering the EC move was all about free trade and economics and the British were always ambivalent about the continental peace aspect, does it matter as much? Or more, do the British parliament feel like there's less to lose by leaving if the TTIP goes through?

Huge issues regardless of TTIP.

What happens to people like my ex, French citizen, been living in the UK for last twelve years. Does she lose the automatic right to work? What about property she owns? Does she become the kind of effectively second class citizen - extra charges for the NHS etc - that non EU residents now face?

What about the millions of Brits retired in Spain and France?

I was watching Newsnight and some guy said they won't be let in the EU trade bloc without freedom of movement which it seems to me is what a lot of people will actually be voting about.

The Brits didn't save anyone in WW2.

Malta, much of North Africa (Yanks there but very late on), Burma etc

Question for the panel. Does much of the UK-Euro split, Brexit, whatever matter if the TTIP is signed? I'm sure there are a number of things that the UK won't be part of but considering the EC move was all about free trade and economics and the British were always ambivalent about the continental peace aspect, does it matter as much? Or more, do the British parliament feel like there's less to lose by leaving if the TTIP goes through?

TTIP has barely got a mention over here. There has been the odd silly claim that the UK couldn't sign its own trade agreements outside of the EU (response quickly comes, well Australia can why cant we).

As MaddAdam has suggested above, this will become more and more about the masses flooding in to Europe. Come end of March I suspect the flood will start again.

NB The EU was never about free trade (the poms were suckered when they entered) ie common agricultural policy.

Latest polls have leave closing the gap quite a bit (or leading, the polls vary quite a bit)

What about the millions of Brits retired in Spain and France?

Red herring I reckon. Heaps of Brits retired in Australia. They can easily sign bilateral agreements re health and welfare if they want to. Not sure if they still do but I think Brit pensioners could still receive Brit pension in oz.

Pessimistic do you know?

What happens to people like my ex, French citizen, been living in the UK for last twelve years. Does she lose the automatic right to work? What about property she owns? Does she become the kind of effectively second class citizen - extra charges for the NHS etc - that non EU residents now face??

Second class citizens - like Australians? I can think of two very good reasons why we should be treated better in the UK than the French, Germans and Italians.

What are these two reasons? (And no your racism won't be accepted as one.)

The world wars, not to mention the commonwealth. Australia used to have trade preference (and a different queue at Heathrow) but that was scrapped on entering the EU at the insistence of the French (such gratitude towards Australia and our war dead).

Lol, racism, just cant raise yourself above the efforts of a first year Arts student. In any event, you think Germans are a different race? Anglo Saxon. Hint is in the name.

Figbooty, one SJW fail after another.

The world wars, not to mention the commonwealth. Australia used to have trade preference (and a different queue at Heathrow) but that was scrapped on entering the EU at the insistence of the French (such gratitude towards Australia and our war dead).

Lol, racism, just cant raise yourself above the efforts of a first year Arts student. In any event, you think Germans are a different race? Anglo Saxon. Hint is in the name.

Figbooty, one SJW fail after another.

The Commonwealth? So you'd be happy with millions of Africans rocking up in your street unannounced? Calling bullshit on that.

Being able to live in Britain whenever I want would be nifty but a war generations ago doesn't seem like a decent reason for me to have more rights than Britain's closest neighbours.

P.S. You are a racist.

The Commonwealth? So you'd be happy with millions of Africans rocking up in your street unannounced? Calling bullshit on that..

What has free movement of people got to do with free trade? Australia has a free trade agreement with China, are we letting them all move to Australia? No of course not.

Being able to live in Britain whenever I want would be nifty but a war generations ago doesn't seem like a decent reason for me to have more rights than Britain's closest neighbours...

I mentioned trade preference not automatic right of abode, you are confusing issues.

P.S. You are a racist.

You are just another clueless SJW who simply can't understand the concept of libertarianism and thus have to stoop to the clichéd and pathetic accusation of racism. Its the calling card of the idiot left.