Prediction Club Official Membership Target for 2016 is 65,000.. Could we EVER make 70,000?

Is 70,000 possible in 2016?

• Yes we Ken.

• No, you're dreaming.

Results are only viewable after voting.

AdsGoNads

Mar 21, 2014
SA Great
Port Adelaide
Brøndby IF, Adelaide City FC
Could we? o_O

To think we were worried about reaching 40,000 in 2013 + then 50,000 seemed like an incredible dream!

60,000 is a show of strength - but is this the ceiling?

Can greater heights be reached?

Can the membership worm continue to climb?

HOW - WHO - WHY?

Anything is possible when #weareportadelaide

Target will be 65k in 2016, and we'll get it. Closing in on a bit of a functional limit re stadium size however.

I will stick these 2 posts from the 60k thread in here its will be easier to find in future

From December 23 2014 - page 48
The progression Hawthorn have made
31.0k 2007 make finals after 5 seasons no finals (2001) finish 5th---> 2008 win flag 41.4k 33% increase ---> 2009 premiership hang over finish 9th 52.5K 27% increase --->2010 finish 7th 53.9k --->2011 got to PF should have won it 56.2k --->2012 made GF 60.8k ---> 2013 63.3k Flag back to back GF --->2014 68.6k ----> 2015 Back to Back 75k??????? so far 70,311 as of today

Port's progression so far and maybe over next 3 years or so
41.1k 2013 make finals after 5 seasons no finals (2007) finish 5th--->2014 55k.7 33% increase make a PF ---> 62k 10% increase in 2015 make a GF and/or win ---> 70k Flag in 2016 and back to back GF ---> 75k in 2017 make top 4 again. Flags and GF's arent guaranteed but as Papa G said "the next 5 years is our opportunity to entrench ourselves in the Haves column..."

Edit insert the graphic I inserted on page 17
We are following the Hawthorn 6 year lag model but at the moment we are ahead of them from a similar starting point. Both clubs went 5 years with no finals, then consecutive finals before a down year. What we now need, is to follow the Hawks sustained success path.

197488_8e92cfad47715cbcbd8652143ecb7118.png

From December 23 2014 - page 53
53,500 capacity @ AO
- 3,000 the AFL want kept for general sales
- 1,500 Stadium Club members
- 2,000 other corporates with no port membership attached
- 8,000 AOSMA members which will be counted in our 2015 total
======
39,000 seats and standing memberships available for 11 game memberships
-34,000 sell 11 gamers
======
5,000 seats available to be sold as 3 gamers if sold 5,000 for games 1,3,5, + 5,000 for games 2,4,6 + 5,000 for games 7,8,9 and 5,000 for 10 and 11 = 20,000

Potential total
34,000 11 games
8,000 AOSMA members
20,000 3 gamers
3,000 Vic members
3,000 other states
2,000 country members 5 games
1,000 International
1,000 digital
2,000 club only
1,000 Magpies only
======
+ institute a WCE type wait list.

24 February page 113
My guestimate of how our numbers are made up given historical data and info I got last week when the total was around 53.5K. Prior to AO we gave our 5K-6K kids members 11 game general admin access as we never filled Footy Park. I reckon now we probably have 3K kids with 11/3 game access and 4k with no access.

33.0 11 gamers
8.2 AOSMA footy members
====
41.2 all 11 games

3.3 3 gamers
2.0 Interstate
1.0 Vic
1.0 Country
===
7.3 limited access

1.0 Club only + International
1.1 Magpies only
4.0 Kids/juniors/babies only no game day access
0.2 Pet crows
====
6.3 no access

30 March 2015 - page 154
In round numbers our 8,000 or so non access members in 2013 and 2014 and I guess the same in 2015 is made up of approximately

Football Club only –3,200
Junior (non-access only) –2,000 ie without game access and we have game access kids counted in the AFL total
Baby – 500
Digital + International 300
Magpies with non AFL Access – 2,300

I will stick these 2 posts from the 60k thread in here its will be easier to find in future

From December 23 2014
The progression Hawthorn have made
31.0k 2007 make finals after 5 seasons no finals (2001) finish 5th---> 2008 win flag 41.4k 33% increase ---> 2009 premiership hang over finish 9th 52.5K 27% increase --->2010 finish 7th 53.9k --->2011 got to PF should have won it 56.2k --->2012 made GF 60.8k ---> 2013 63.3k Flag back to back GF --->2014 68.6k ----> 2015 Back to Back 75k??????? so far 70,311 as of today

Port's progression so far and maybe over next 3 years or so
41.1k 2013 make finals after 5 seasons no finals (2007) finish 5th--->2014 55k.7 33% increase make a PF ---> 62k 10% increase in 2015 make a GF and/or win ---> 70k Flag in 2016 and back to back GF ---> 75k in 2017 make top 4 again. Flags and GF's arent guaranteed but as Papa G said "the next 5 years is our opportunity to entrench ourselves in the Haves column..."

From December 23 2014 - page 53
53,500 capacity @ AO
- 3,000 the AFL want kept for general sales
- 1,500 Stadium Club members
- 2,000 other corporates with no port membership attached
- 8,000 AOSMA members which will be counted in our 2015 total
======
39,000 seats and standing memberships available for 11 game memberships
-34,000 sell 11 gamers
======
5,000 seats available to be sold as 3 gamers if sold 5,000 for games 1,3,5, + 5,000 for games 2,4,6 + 5,000 for games 7,8,9 and 5,000 for 10 and 11 = 20,000

Potential total
34,000 11 games
8,000 AOSMA members
20,000 3 gamers
3,000 Vic members
3,000 other states
2,000 country members 5 games
1,000 International
1,000 digital
2,000 club only
1,000 Magpies only
======
+ institute a WCE type wait list.

So what you're saying is - the sky's the limit? (pending on wait list numbers)

No the sky isnt the limit, but clever marketing and sustained on field success says its possible.

I've got a lot of mates who are Port supporters but don't have a membership because of pricing. Anyone think we could see a change in that?

If you mean mates between 15 and 17.9 year old or fulltime students over 18 years old (see below for who qualifies) You can buy a concession general admin membership which gets you a seat in the general admin area or the hill for $150 a year or to pay by installments that's $15 a month over 10 months. I know its tough for young adults who study but $15 a month I think is manageable.

http://www.afl.com.au/tickets/junior-and-concession-policy
CONCESSION POLICY
  • A person must have the appropriate form of concession to purchase a concession ticket. They must present the relevant concession documentation at point of purchase and upon entry to the ground. A second form of identification (e.g. drivers licence, Medicare card, credit card) may be requested when purchasing or utilising a concession ticket to verify the concession entitlement.
  • Patrons holding one of the following cards are eligible to purchase a ticket at the concession rate;
  • Centrelink issued: Pensioner Concession Card (PCC)*
  • Department of Veterans’ Affairs card or Department of Veterans’ Affairs issued Pensioner Concession Card*
  • Full time secondary or tertiary student cards**
  • Centrelink issued: Health Care Card (HCC)*
* Note: Cardholders only (not their dependants listed on the card) are entitled to the concession price.
** Excluding International Student cards.
http://www.afl.com.au/tickets/junior-and-concession-policy

No. Pricings very competitive still, and we have a massive waitlist.

Yeah if anything prices will go up.

+1

$175 for 11 game GA ticket, that's a GA seat on the Eastern Stand with a great view for $15.90 a game.
or,
$100 for 3 games i.e. $33.30 a game. Still cheaper than buying 1-off GA tickets and you save on Ticketek's $5 print-at-home pdf rort.

If anything, the 11 game GA ticket can go up to $190-200 and it would still be great value for money.

Would love to see us sail past the Cows in 2016 - our membership model should allow it, the little brother is more restricted..

Innovation is the next step.

International memberships for our Chinese friends with a tailored digital package and relevant 'game developing' initiatives.

Improving our interstate memberships with continued development. Don't get me wrong my Vic 11 is outstanding value but you can always improve.

I'd say the other teams still ahead of us (except Adelaide), would have a good percentage of non-local members making up their total. As we reach capacity for in-ground numbers, this is a more pressing area to concentrate on.

I've been a Liverpool member for years, with no hope of going to a game. It is all a part of being involved and feeling included.

Lets try and get 40,000+ 11 game members. The rest will take care of itself.

not sure what that current figure is, was 30k when Koshy last released some figures in an interview.

60k is a very respectable number

What I would like to see more than further growth is consistency. by that, I mean our supporters translates into membership and crowds even during our on field down times.

but further growth is still welcome.

70k sounds bloody hard to achieve but it might be necessary to just stay middle of the pack.

Come 2018 when Burswood stadium is hosting games you would expect the following clubs to have at least 60,000 members, maybe all have 70,000
Collingwood, Hawthorn, Richmond, Adelaide, West Coast, Port, Freo, Essendon and probably Carlton. Sydney also are also cranking up their numbers, last year they had 40,000 for the first time, they are 45,000 this year pushing for 50,000 by August, so by 2018 they probably will have 60,000 and pushing towards 70,000.