Roast Coaching discussion thread

Roos and his team have got the list trending towards competitive, contested ball winners with their player selection, game plan and ethos/culture. Weed out the turnover merchants and find out those who can't win their own ball. Then attack.

"Scoreboard comes last" - Mark Neeld ;)
Didn't Roos say "we don't pay attention to the scoreboard" in 2014 or something like that

I'd prefer this duo on the list with Hogan:
clarke-dawe-250x157.jpg
Lol, gold.

If Goodwin recruits Milkshakes Melksham, then I have absolutely no qualms in declaring him a worse coach than Mark Neeld.

Gillies.

Barrett just said on the Footy Show that McCartney is in the mix for the Essendon job. Would be a big loss for our club if he was successful

Really hoping essendon take Goodwin back instead, that way Milkshakes will stay at the scum, 'Good stuff' Goodwin will leave our club and BMac can stay at the Dees and continue his excellent development of our young guys.

Honest to god, this trade period is shaping up as being neeld-esque. **** off melksham you ****, we don't want you. And Goodwin is already on thin ice with this captain's pick , and he hasn't even coached yet.

If we lose BMac to the scum or Carlton then this club is well and truly and utterly, utterly f'd in the A

I really don't understand the logic behind people shitting on Goodwin at this point.

I know Melksham would make for a mediocre pickup. But last I looked Roos was still at the helm. Our recruiting has been great the past two years, have some faith.

I really don't understand the logic behind people shitting on Goodwin at this point.

I know Melksham would make for a mediocre pickup. But last I looked Roos was still at the helm. Our recruiting has been great the past two years, have some faith.
Goodwin is the direct link who has been spruiking Melksham after having worked with him at the smug, hence the shitting on the bloke.

I reckon Roos would need to rate any player who might come into the club. Also think the 400kpy 4 year deal is rubbish, about as likely to get that as Howe is to getting 600k.

We've still got weeks to go before anything actually happens. Besides no one at our club or from Melkshams camp has come out talking about this trade.

4 year 400k is what the manager would be demanding and making sure that it's publicly seen that its a legitimate option. That will never happen and if it was agreed on already then Melksham would have announced his desire to come to Melbourne publicly and we would have announced our interest in him.

If the club has said anything about it to the media then this is our disposable trade that we're using to point the media in a specific direction so we can organise more important trades in peace.

Brendan McCartney a serious candidate for the Dons job according to Barrett.

Why the hell would they hire McCartney? What a disappointing acquisition that would be for Essendon supporters. Yes he did some good things at the Dogs but they could never really get going until Beveridge came in.

I reckon Roos would need to rate any player who might come into the club. Also think the 400kpy 4 year deal is rubbish, about as likely to get that as Howe is to getting 600k.

We've still got weeks to go before anything actually happens. Besides no one at our club or from Melkshams camp has come out talking about this trade.

4 year 400k is what the manager would be demanding and making sure that it's publicly seen that its a legitimate option. That will never happen and if it was agreed on already then Melksham would have announced his desire to come to Melbourne publicly and we would have announced our interest in him.

If the club has said anything about it to the media then this is our disposable trade that we're using to point the media in a specific direction so we can organise more important trades in peace.
Highly doubt the club is doing some smoke and mirrors s**t just to get a mythical 'Roos trade' through. Multiple sources all coming out with the same story, yes half of the trade period rumours are made up by one muppet on the terps then ball gargled by the rest of the media, but the same sort of s**t was coming out about H as well last year. Roos isn't some omnipotent talent evaluating coaching being, the guy let Lewis Roberts Thomsonseses get a game for half a decade franks sake.

s**t trucks like Melksham do not get you any closer to winning a premiership, and if it's Goodwin pulling the strings then he's heading into the Crazy Vossy territory at a RAPID pace. Let alone $400k for 4 years.

Highly doubt the club is doing some smoke and mirrors s**t just to get a mythical 'Roos trade' through. Multiple sources all coming out with the same story, yes half of the trade period rumours are made up by one muppet on the terps then ball gargled by the rest of the media, but the same sort of s**t was coming out about H as well last year. Roos isn't some omnipotent talent evaluating coaching being, the guy let Lewis Roberts Thomsonseses get a game for half a decade franks sake.

s**t trucks like Melksham do not get you any closer to winning a premiership, and if it's Goodwin pulling the strings then he's heading into the Crazy Vossy territory at a RAPID pace. Let alone $400k for 4 years.

Sydney supporters say LRT was the norm smith medalist in 2012 just saying

That post makes no sense
Roos didnt bring them to club nor have they performed in the most important game of any mans career
What doesn't make sense? The bloke was one of the worst players on their roster for over a decade, plays one good game so it's all worth it?

Roos didn't draft LRT either. Roos continues to select and play Jones/Bail, we obviously haven't made a grand final when they've both been on the list so I'm not sure we can delist them till we make it and find out if they both play their best games in finals :drunk:

Throw enough dice you'll hit a Yahtzee mate.

What doesn't make sense? The bloke was one of the worst players on their roster for over a decade, plays one good game so it's all worth it?

Roos didn't draft LRT either. Roos continues to select and play Jones/Bail, we obviously haven't made a grand final when they've both been on the list so I'm not sure we can delist them till we make it and find out if they both play their best games in finals :drunk:

Throw enough dice you'll hit a Yahtzee mate.

LRT was a valuable utility in a side who made finals year after year after year and was a finals specialist
He continues to select them because unfortunately this year they were still in the best 22 options available at times during a 22 round season, as the list improves they wont play

LRT was a valuable utility in a side who made finals year after year after year and was a finals specialist
He continues to select them because unfortunately this year they were still in the best 22 options available at times during a 22 round season, as the list improves they wont play
Finals specialist? Pull the other one. He was fairly s**t outside of one GF where he played outside of his skin, the other one he was reasonably good. Was basically a passenger during the rest of the finals. Fell into the team due to injuries.

Was and always will be Troy Luff II.