Football Park - Discussion

There are multiple multi-storey car parks in walking distance of Adelaide. A 3000 space multi-storey car park at Adelaide Oval would've been overkill.
Depends on what you call walking distance , and I don't believe it would be overkill , they'd make zillions ! , and make it seven days a week , ever tried parking at the chiuldrens hospital ?.

Anyone that went to the Adelaide Oval yesterday would not be posting this crap in this forum.

I went and it was one of the best footy experiences I have ever had. it was it was up there with the 98 Grand Final.

The facilities are amazing, the seats high up are so close to the action compared to FP. There is not a bad seat in the stadium!

The Public Transport was great, I caught the train and was home in an hour just as quick as last year.

When you go to a game at Adelaide Oval you will realise that the new stadium cannot be compared to FP in any way.

As an initial thought, it would be nice if Footy Park was retained as a venue so that both sides would have separate home grounds. West Lakes being somewhat near Port Adelaide/Alberton for the Power's home ground while Adelaide Oval is in the heart of Adelaide itself for the Crows' home ground.

However, the idea starts to falls apart, before you even go into the main logistics/practicalities, when you have the Crows still having their administration base at West Lakes while Port Adelaide FC has an historical attachment to Adelaide Oval.

Very positive reception/feedback from media and fans about the "new" ground and looked really slick on telley, Great decision to keep the scoreboard end with the trees, looks fantatsic... been to Adelaide before, but never for the footy... an AFL game at the ground seems to be a must now for any visitor.

Golly , you don't get it do you , fck public transport , not interested in it , im not a Uni student , unemployed , or pt parasite that needs subsidies to travel , im on about replacing that that WAS easly available before with something of about same standard !

Depends on what you call walking distance , and I don't believe it would be overkill , they'd make zillions ! , and make it seven days a week , ever tried parking at the chiuldrens hospital ?.

Anywhere North of Victoria Square is easy walking distance. A car park at AO was never necessary

I live at Salisbury so it was only ever a 20 minute drive to footy park, yesterday at the oval catching the train was easier and just as quick.

It was the first time in about 250 Crows games I have been to that I hadn't gone in a car to a game. You do not need lots of carparks, At least 30000 would have caught public transport last night, that says it all.

Golly , you don't get it do you , fck public transport , not interested in it , im not a Uni student , unemployed , or pt parasite that needs subsidies to travel , im on about replacing that that WAS easly available before with something of about same standard !

There's only one person here who doesn't seem to be getting it.

Personel freedom to go when one wants to go at whatever time suits that person is what its about , not having to or being forced to use socialised transport is what its about , and that is what makes most of the western world so good and of course being able to earn the means to do so . Locking out freedom of options or choice is my main beef , I expect to pay a price for my choice , but I will not accept not having a choice . We as car owners have aright to use roads we helped pay for , over and above those that are subsidized by us , let the people decide , make public transport patrons pay the full fair costs , just like the motorist , don't block of roads just so buss's can get an advantage , no priority lanes ,etc.,etc., then we will see what the citizens really want to choose .

If they don't need subsidies , then use the money saved to lower our rego fee's , if you choose a job in the city then stiff sh#t, I wouldn't just for the reason you just mentioned , if I cant get to the job by PRIVATE transport , then I wont take it on , the choice is every individuals , but I shouldn't have to subsidize your choice.

Personel freedom to go when one wants to go at whatever time suits that person is what its about , not having to or being forced to use socialised transport is what its about , and that is what makes most of the western world so good and of course being able to earn the means to do so . Locking out freedom of options or choice is my main beef , I expect to pay a price for my choice , but I will not accept not having a choice . We as car owners have aright to use roads we helped pay for , over and above those that are subsidized by us , let the people decide , make public transport patrons pay the full fair costs , just like the motorist , don't block of roads just so buss's can get an advantage , no priority lanes ,etc.,etc., then we will see what the citizens really want to choose .

You do realise that there's plenty of parking options for Adelaide Oval - and many nearby car parks are offering subsided car parking rates that are cheaper than what you were being slugged at Adelaide Oval. No one is forcing anyone to use public transport. People have the choice to drive. People have the choice to take public transport. No one is taking motorist's rights away. Perhaps you need to calm down and stop with your selfish, self-centred attitudes.

Well what do you call shutting off KW street and Memy drive and Pennington terrace except for taxis and busses ? level playing field ? , bs .

Memorial Drive is closed to assist pedestrian access to the Riverbank bridge. No cars, no taxis, no busses use Memorial Drive.

As for King William and Pennington Tce, there are numerous other roads cars can use to exit the City.

I'm glad we have a government and SMA whose views aren't this narrow minded, and have provided proper transport options that covers everything.

Assuming you are coming from the North due to the roads mentioned:

Payneham, Magill & Hackney Rd,
Frome Rd, Park Tce/Port Road,
Jeffcott St, Montefiore Rd.

I'm sure traffic would be a nightmare but I am sure it would be no worse than around AAMI on matchday.

War Memorial Drive: Only a moron would leave that open for football. They used to shut it for cricket when they were only getting 25k! If that was open, just imagine the complete and utter cluster**** you would have of 45k (I'd guess 5k would go north bound????) people trying to converge in a southerly direction heading across the Foobridge and Adelaide Bridge. Cars wouldn't be able to move or it'd be a nightmare and outright dangerous for pedestrians. If the people and cars used logic however, they're then backing up into the plaza and you can't move making things worth.

King William ROAD (Street is through the city, Road is through this area): Have you been through this area on a weekday around knockoff time at work? I've tried to drive this at 4pm on a Friday and it's chaos, it'd take 10-15 minutes to go from AO to North Terrace. The extra traffic filtering out of everywhere at once creates so much congestion it moves Adelaide into Sydney like gridlock. And with all the busses lining up in that area, you need the space for them all. Leave it open, busses have to park elsewhere, creating more problems (ie. more parking restrictions on game day) as they need extra room for the busses (as they can't double park).

Pennington Terrace: I take it this is the taxi spot? If it is, please tell me of another suitable location to place it? The closest I can think of is the tiny taxi ranks in Adelaide (King William Street, Frome Road, Grenfell Street) but that'll become hell if we throw MORE congestion into that area with taxis as they're fighting with all the private cars that need to get out of the sufficient car parking in this area. In other words, there is no where else to put the taxis (Well, maybe Monteforie Road, but that makes it even worse for traffic congestion....).

Anyone who would actually drive to Adelaide Oval, if they live in the metropolitan area, is a moron.

The biggest issue on the day, was, that more people wanted to use public transport than originally anticipated.

My brother and his young family drove to Wayville, caught the tram to the end. Loved it. Not uni students, by the way. I caught the bus. I'm employed, too.

Adelaide Oval is easier; there are 1000 more options to get to the footy than before. The whingers will see it eventually.

No worries, numbnut -

I like the personal freedom of my bicycle, personally.

Have fun in traffic jams
I knew it , a lefty greeny type , bloody pushbike that option was around in 1914 aswell , use it if that's what you want , the vast majority don't , you are in the oddball 15% that don't or cant use a vehicle

The biggest issue on the day, was, that more people wanted to use public transport than originally anticipated.

My brother and his young family drove to Wayville, caught the tram to the end. Loved it. Not uni students, by the way. I caught the bus. I'm employed, too.

Adelaide Oval is easier; there are 1000 more options to get to the footy than before. The whingers will see it eventually.
Bullshit , they were practicaly forced to use public transport , very little to do with freedom of choice when the marketplace is skewered in one direction by those that order it so. I bet my boots on it that all those so called dignitaries and special guests came by private transport/chauffeured , good enough for them , then make it possible for everyman.

Bullshit they were forced. I could have chosen to drive and park at a number of CBD car parks that were no further away from the oval than the random back streets of Seaton at which I used to park when footy was at AAMI. But the bus was easier. So is the tram. So is the train. For a lot of people. Stop making excuses for feeling left behind. Few people agree with you because your views and your habits live in the 70s like the old stadium did.

Don't get shirty because I choose to use a more efficient vehicle to get myself around the city -

I'll be sure to wave to you next time I undertake you while you're sitting at the lights

--

You're a joke, Port4556
That's fair enough , I shouldn't have tried taking the piss , all I really wanted to say was that everybody uses the transport option that they prefer or should be able to use the option they prefer , without one being subsidized by the other or given preferential treatment , isn't that fair enough ?