Forgotten Shield players from the 90's

and his brother Micah was in the Vic squad [not sure if he played a one-dayer for Vics,but did play BBL for Renegades] about a year or two ago but he went back and played footy for the Geelong Falcons last year
Woops,should be Meryick not Micah.
Micah is the 4th brother.They're like the fricking Daddos.

I remember seeing Liam Buchanan do really well in a game at the Junction oval on channel 9 and then was barely heard of again. Brother of Amon form the Swans.

His last appearance saw him get run out in an ING game against Tassie at the Junction by Brett Geeves (1st change behind Damien Wright and Adam Griffith) from a direct hit from deep mid wicket, resulting in Simon O'Donnell slagging him mercilessly from the com box sitting next to Bill.

What ever happened to that number 3 from SA's last shield winning era?

Ant the gritty opener, noble?

Chris Simpson

Yes he's not 90's but the story is funny which is what matters.

Was at the Shield final at the MCG. Bugger all crowd as you'd expect. Victoria were batting and dominating. And some old bloke in the crowd was just relentless on Simpson.

"Have a bowl Simpson you coward"
"Do something Simpson"
"Why are you hiding Simpson"
"What are you saving yourself for Simpson? You're not that bloody good"

Finally in the third session, Simpson brings himself on to bowl.

"WHAT ARE YOU BOWLING FOR SIMPSON? YOU'RE A BLOODY DUD. GET A REAL BOWLER ON"

Chris Simpson

Was at the Shield final at the MCG. Bugger all crowd as you'd expect. Victoria were batting and dominating. And some old bloke in the crowd was just relentless on Simpson.

"Do something Simpson"

For some reason despite there being bugger all crowd some of the best comments you here in the crowd seem to come at domestic cricket.

I at a one dayer about 6 years ago some Victorian fans relentlessely calling Luke Pommerbasch Plumberscrack all evening it was gold.

For some reason despite there being bugger all crowd some of the best comments you here in the crowd seem to come at domestic cricket.

I at a one dayer about 6 years ago some Victorian fans relentlessely calling Luke Pommerbasch Plumberscrack all evening it was gold.

Adam Goodes does not like this.

It was a truly shocking day for Australia cricket when Chris Simpon was made captain of Queensland.

The national team was just starting to slide a little bit after that 06/07 Ashes, and although we were still a couple of years from the 10/11 Ashes disaster, it was obvious that the golden generation was coming to an end. When the captaincy of the most successful state side of the last 10 or so years was given to a bloke averaging in the 20's with the bat and 50+ with the ball, there was a massive WTF moment.

Joe the camera man. He became an influential Test personality in the late 1990s. Did he represent anybody prior to this?

What would be your states "No Test XI" from the 1990's?

NSW:
Rodney Davison
Steve Small
Matthew Phelps (started late 90's)
Shane Lee
Travor Bayliss
Brad McNamara
Phil Emery (played one test, but can't find another keeper?)
Anthony Stuart
Phil Alley
Wayne Holdsworth
David Freedman

Qld's bowling would be very strong - Joe Dawes, Greg Rowell, Dirk Tazelaar, Paul Jackson for mine. And close to being able to select Adam Dale (2 tests), Scott Muller (2 tests - despite Warne's jibe was pretty handy), Ashley Noffke (started 2000) and James Hopes (started 2001).

Chris Simpson must have turned a great sausage.

Batted at 8 in shield cricket, and was a 3rd choice spinner.

To his credit, he was a very good limited overs player - but he was skipper of a shield side he had no business being in!

Ben Cutting is the same now, his bowling has gone so far downhill in the last 3 seasons that he is almost a batting all-rounder than bats at 8!

The backwards progress of Cutting is most disappointing. Haven't really watched him much in the longer form lately so no idea what's gone wrong, but it's a been a drop off of epic proportions.

He has a very upright action when he was picked in the squad for the Gabba test a few years back. Was a walking back injury.

Injury happened, rebuilt his action and has never been the same since.

Shouldn't even be playing redball cricket, he is a rubbish bowler now.

Chris Simpson must have turned a great sausage.
To his credit, he was a very good limited overs player - but he was skipper of a shield side he had no business being in!

NickMaxwell-620cna1.jpg

Richard Chee Quee was great. Nuggety little batsman who used to hit it hard or get out - one of those players who was always fun to watch when you were a kid, always anticipated his innings. Sadly wasn't a great performer, usually only got a match when the Waugh brothers were off on Australian duty.
Nuggets yes - but he was not little. Had a very rickety back lift and set up. Was Captain at Randwick when I was there, was at a selection meeting where we sent a guy who was in cavernous form from the 1sts to 3rds in one season. Next year back to Penrith he started in the Mercantile Mutual a Cup for NSW - Kevin Geyer was his name - one of the cleanest hitters I have seen would have been a sensation in T20.

Two ex Shield bowlers stood out during my briefing Grade career, PHIL Alley and Andrew Jones, both left arm and both very good bowlers.

Chris Simpson

"Do something Simpson"

I had a mate that met him at a bar in Brisbane during one of the test matches a few years ago (against Sri Lanka I think). He starting giving Simpson a light hearted serve saying he was the worst player to play for QLD. Simpson apparently agreed with everything he said and agreed that he shouldn't be in the team, let alone captain. Seemed like a pretty good bloke.

The backwards progress of Cutting is most disappointing. Haven't really watched him much in the longer form lately so no idea what's gone wrong, but it's a been a drop off of epic proportions.

Ben Cutting just does nothing. He doesn't swing the ball whatsoever. He isn't that quick. A decent state cricketer that is destined to stay that way.