Free Agency must be changed.

Free agents shouldn't be allowed to go to top 4 clubs

Gotta love the whinging and complaining coming from Brisbane supporters.
You have an academy that only 4 teams in the comp can have.
And you kids want out of that place.
Something tells me there are bigger problems than FA at Brisbane.
Might do well to clean up your own house before blaming everyone else.

The problem is there's too much incentive for the lower clubs to lose their established players.

A high pick is far more enticing than a players who's not likely to be at their peak when the club plans on contending again.

I think if the formula was changed a little things could look a little better. For example if lost free agents only got a pick at the end of the round you might see the lower clubs trying harder to keep their free agents... Or even picks after the top 10?

James Frawley or pick 3? It's not even a choice is it? Pick 19 (or pick 11) starts to make it a bit more of a decision

Exactly......there was a rumour going around that Carlton were prepared to let Kruezer go via FA in the belief they would get a tier 1 compo. Apparently the AFL clarified this and when it was recognised they Ernest getting pick 2 they re-signed him......

Go figure

I am not against players having more freedom than they used to. But as of now that freedom is killing equality and the basic goal of upward mobility. Hawthorn's 3peat is one of the symptoms.

Free Agency needs to be limited to teams outside the top 4. Players like James Frawley need to contribute to teams on the way up, not teams already at the top. A lot of questions were asked about how in the era of drafts and salary caps, a team can be so dominant. Well free agency is more powerful than the cap and the draft combined.

Draft picks usually take years to influence teams. And the cap can actually work against parity when contenders only need to pay 400k for a player that costs bottom teams 700k.

So Free Agency is the number 1 factor now. I don't care if the AFL has to increase the cap by 10% to get the players to agree to it, it would be worth it. They'd still have freedom, 14 out of 18 teams is freedom.

Free Agency could become a weapon for more competitiveness if designed properly, but right now it is only contributing to less competitiveness.

Never thought I'd see the day when a Carlton fan would complain about a free market footy economy.

John Elliott bitched and moaned about the draft and salary cap for 20 years and constantly whined about how "AFL socialism" was killing the game.

Free Agency would've been at the top of Elliott's wish list.

Agreed there

If compensation has to be given out if a player has activated a certain pay rate, it should be given out by the buyers similar to trade circumstances, this would stop draft compromisations such as the AFL giving out compensation which effects draft order every year, thus decreasing the value of later picks for other clubs.

Clubs having less compensation assets to play with would limit the same strong clubs (hem hem Geelong hem hem) from raiding the same weaker sides to top up their lists. It would force them to trade or go into the draft themselves.

You know Chucky from Child's Play movies? He will come for you tonight if you even suggest such truths as what you did. Inevitable :cry::cry:

I think Hawthorn winning the 4-peat (even 3-peat) is equivalent to Chucky coming in the night for Geelong fans.

Sweet dreams :)

If FA compo is going to exist then it needs to stop being tied to ladder position.

The reason players keep going to top sides (they don't, but I digress...) is that poor sides are so well compensated. Pick 3 for Frawley vs pick 19 for Franklin, I mean FFS. If Frawley was going to net pick 19 in return (much closer to his value than pick 3) then Melbourne would've tried to keep him. Even guys like Higgins, Dal Santo etc. going from rebuilding clubs netted decent picks because they were tied to ladder position.

Bands should be start of 1st round, mid 1st round, start of 2nd round, mid 2nd round, start of 3rd round.

Sorry but top 4 clubs shouldn't be allowed to sign free agents is such a load of hogwash.

The Salary Cap/Equalization means ensures that we will never become a lop sided comp like the English Premier League.

It is not trading because the clubs themselves are not dealing with each other. It is AFL deciding what is part of player movement transaction of compensation.

Compensation needs to go full stop. The issue here is that there are a lot of people having a sook because players get tired of playing for their club and then move elsewhere, then no one wants to go to their club as free agents. This is generally because the club in question sucks ass.

Unfortunately there are always going to be clubs that are more attractive to FA's than others. The clubs that perhaps aren't so attractive need to find other ways to make it work.

When a club going through a prolonged period of success, like hawthorn, has enough cap space to attract quality free agents, it's a sure indication that the salary cap is failing as a means of equalisation.
That's just good contract management.

Unfortunately there are always going to be clubs that are more attractive to FA's than others. The clubs that perhaps aren't so attractive need to find other ways to make it work.

Like cap space.......an advantage that clubs with inferior talent should have, but don't because of 95% TPP floor.

Nothing wrong with the concept of compo. By the time a club has lost a player, it normally too late to reverse the net FA loss. The issue with AFL compo is how it is awarded within rounds and manipulating the draft.......clubs shouldn't be bumped down the order within a round when they have had no involvement in an FA transaction. End of rounds is the way to go so compo pick #1 is selection #19.

That's just good contract management.

If top sides can limit their players salary by offering them non-financial benefits (location, environment, success etc), then good luck to them. They are working within the rules and maximizing their opportunities for success.

I agree that Hawthorn has done extremely well with their list management, but that's not my point. When the top side of recent years has space in the salary cap, it shows that the salary cap is not very effective as a means of equalisation. The purpose of the salary cap is to limit the top sides from attracting too much of the top talent.

If top sides can limit their players salary by offering them non-financial benefits (location, environment, success etc), then good luck to them. They are working within the rules and maximizing their opportunities for success.

I agree that Hawthorn has done extremely well with their list management, but that's not my point. When the top side of recent years has space in the salary cap, it shows that the salary cap is not very effective as a means of equalisation. The purpose of the salary cap is to limit the top sides from attracting too much of the top talent.

you're ignoring the fact that players on a collective $1.5mil a year have walked from the Hawks through Free Agency.

Like cap space.......an advantage that clubs with inferior talent should have, but don't because of 95% TPP floor.

Nothing wrong with the concept of compo. By the time a club has lost a player, it normally too late to reverse the net FA loss. The issue with AFL compo is how it is awarded within rounds and manipulating the draft.......clubs shouldn't be bumped down the order within a round when they have had no involvement in an FA transaction. End of rounds is the way to go so compo pick #1 is selection #19.

That has to go too.

Thing is, when a side is challenging for finals & premierships etc, players are prepared to accept less.

The only free agent we have gotten is James Frawley, and we have lost several others including Suckling & Franklin who both played in flags the year they left. We have just shown that you don't have to pay overs to get in good talent. Carlton and Hawthorn are both paying 100% of the Cap. Who is managing their finances better you think??

It's good management from our club to ensure we can maintain our list as best we can, other clubs can also do this. Others just choose to pay stupid money to largely average players

Thing is, when a side is challenging for finals & premierships etc, players are prepared to accept less.

The only free agent we have gotten is James Frawley, and we have lost several others including Suckling & Franklin who both played in flags the year they left. We have just shown that you don't have to pay overs to get in good talent. Carlton and Hawthorn are both paying 100% of the Cap. Who is managing their finances better you think??

It's good management from our club to ensure we can maintain our list as best we can, other clubs can also do this. Others just choose to pay stupid money to largely average players

That's it. This sort of thing should even itself out over time, and I have found it in other sports with FA, that the clubs it doesn't even out for are usually very poorly run.

The Salary Cap was introduced so Clubs wouldn't send themselves broke spending Money they didn't have, not really meant for equalization although i guess they figured if everyone was paying about the same, that would create an even playing field.

The draft was more for the equalization, but we all know we haven't had a fair draft for years.

Better run clubs will always succeed whatever system you have in place.

Melbourne FA losses:
Brent Moloney, Jared Rivers, Col Sylvia, James Frawley

Melbourne FA gains:
Shannon Byrnes

Says a lot
We should not need to rely on free agency, we have had a lot of opportunity through the draft to set up our club. We drafted poorly and had a horrible culture in which the lowest of the lows was tanking. We have ourselves to blame. Byrnes and Rodan were horrible trades, horrible. They were never going to help our club. Sylvia and Moloney were ok players at best, Moloney gave plenty to Melbourne and I did like him, but seeing him go was not a bad thing. Sylvia was an absolute disaster, and Fremantle picked up a compete basket case. The bloke could play football, but the attitude was the worst and he was cancerous. The sooner he was out the better. Rivers had patchy form, and injury issues that just got worse. He isn't that old. Frawley was the only big loss I reckon, but he was disgruntled at Melbourne and I can't blame him.

I wouldn't blame free agency for Melbourne being average. And free agency should not be relied upon to bolster your standings, for established clubs it is a new concept. Your list, like that of Hawthorn & Geelong, should have been better established.

We should not need to rely on free agency, we have had a lot of opportunity through the draft to set up our club. We drafted poorly and had a horrible culture in which the lowest of the lows was tanking. We have ourselves to blame. Byrnes and Rodan were horrible trades, horrible. They were never going to help our club. Sylvia and Moloney were ok players at best, Moloney gave plenty to Melbourne and I did like him, but seeing him go was not a bad thing. Sylvia was an absolute disaster, and Fremantle picked up a compete basket case. The bloke could play football, but the attitude was the worst and he was cancerous. The sooner he was out the better. Rivers had patchy form, and injury issues that just got worse. He isn't that old. Frawley was the only big loss I reckon, but he was disgruntled at Melbourne and I can't blame him.

I wouldn't blame free agency for Melbourne being average. And free agency should not be relied upon to bolster your standings, for established clubs it is a new concept. Your list, like that of Hawthorn & Geelong, should have been better established.

Your FA compensation more than makes up for your losses.

When a club going through a prolonged period of success, like hawthorn, has enough cap space to attract quality free agents, it's a sure indication that the salary cap is failing as a means of equalisation.

You do realize that the only reason we could afford Frawley was because we lost Buddy?....You know....The number 1 forward in the comp!

And, further....That Frawley is on less than half of what Buddy would demand?

You people don't understand hawthorn are only good because of free agency and <insert my club here> suck balls due to an AFL conspiracy to keep hawthorn on top because their crucial to that developing football market in eastern Melbourne.

In all seriousness, Other clubs have got more out of free agency than hawthorn, my club got Daisy Thomas, we are just morons

You people don't understand hawthorn are only good because of free agency and <insert my club here> suck balls due to an AFL conspiracy to keep hawthorn on top because their crucial to that developing football market in eastern Melbourne.

In all seriousness, Other clubs have got more out of free agency than hawthorn, my club got Daisy Thomas, we are just morons
Clubs like ours have made horrendous decisions over the last decade which is why we are still trying to dig ourselves out of a hole with dirt continually being heaped on top of us.