Gardening

So I was spraying my herbs in the dark last night - thinking it was a garlic and chilli spray for the aphids

I go outside to water them today and half of them look toast - had a look at the bottle and i'd sprayed them with roundup that i'd bought to control the grass at the front

Is there any way to save them?

#rip

Probably too late but water them. Cut the damaged foliage right back. Herbs are sensitive at the best of times let alone if you've inadvertently poisoned them. I'm not sure about consuming them to be honest even if you do save them. Trip to the nursery to replace them might be a better option. Smash the aphids in the meantime before you replant.

#getnewglasses

Probably too late but water them. Cut the damaged foliage right back. Herbs are sensitive at the best of times let alone if you've inadvertently poisoned them. I'm not sure about consuming them to be honest even if you do save them. Trip to the nursery to replace them might be a better option. Smash the aphids in the meantime before you replant.

#getnewglasses

The irony is I just got new glasses :p Thank you - I don't have high hopes for saving them. Luckily I only sprayed half my herbs and not the whole garden. Coriander, Rosemary, Parsley, Chives, and my chilli plants are still ok. Marjoram, Basil, Sage, Oregano are all toast

I tried washing them down but i'll see how it goes

yep :p #gardeningfail

The Melville veggie patch update.

Went to bunnings and grabbed another 250 litres of specialist veggie patch compost and threw that into my garden beds and dug it in. That's all up 510 litres of stuff I've added since starting. Expensive veggie patch for bugger all return so far. But that what you get with wa sand I suppose.

Also had some old coppers logs lying around that used to be a fence all notched at the ends for overlapping. So I've piled them up into a box and nailed them together so we now have a compost pile to start making our own. Thrown some lawn clippings and weed trimmings in with about four shovel loads of soil.

Also got a scraps bin in the kitchen for peelings, coffee grounds, egg shells etc. going to blitz them in the thermomix to turn everything into a slurry before adding to the compost. I've found things in the past like banana peels take months to break down. Blitzing will speed that process up dramatically.

You're crazy.

Take a trailer to the landscapers and load it up with organic soil. for something like $60-$70 a cubed metre. Should be 2 trailers/ute loads full.

Will be much better quality than just buying compost.

I prefer the direct compost method myself alongside having a dedicated compost pit. The worms that are actually in your garden need to be fed too or they will simply just live in the compost pit.

You're crazy.

Take a trailer to the landscapers and load it up with organic soil. for something like $60-$70 a cubed metre. Should be 2 trailers/ute loads full.

Will be much better quality than just buying compost.

I prefer the direct compost method myself alongside having a dedicated compost pit. The worms that are actually in your garden need to be fed too or they will simply just live in the compost pit.
I've done this previously and found it wasn't good long term as this stuff tends to be sand with chicken poo mixed in so after one growing season it is spent....and you have to build it up with heaps of compost.

We don't have access to 'real' soil in w.a. So they cheat.

I've got a compost heap going now so will be producing my own but had to start somewhere.

I've done this previously and found it wasn't good long term as this stuff tends to be sand with chicken poo mixed in so after one growing season it is spent....and you have to build it up with heaps of compost.

I've got a compost heap going now so will be producing my own but had to start somewhere.

That's just not on. If you're being ripped off go to another supplier.

Then again I'd say they're all doing it and you'd have to pay a mint for real soil.

You need your own mulcher if you really want to be able to do it. Massive amounts of tree waste left in big piles for years and years.

Go to the Swan Valley with your trailer. West Swan Rd: Eureka Composts.
Thank me later

Anyone have some tips for bringing back dead lawn ? Just bought a new house ( and yep, I shifted furniture on the 44 degree Monday) to find that the retic had been switched off between final inspection and settlement. Half has gone yellow and is clearly dead - the other patchy.. Is it worth persisting with watering or bite the bullet and rip it up ? Any methods / products to add to it ?
I'm pissed off at the agent - not what u need when dropping big $'s on a house

If it's yellow it's not dead.

Overnight watering helps. Don't water in the sunlight or it will evaporate before it soaks in and possibly burn the blades. Also a big waste of money.

Then when shoots come up give it a mow to spread the seeds around. No grass catcher. Will be a bit messy but you'll have to let the dead grass mulch back in.

Should be right soon enough. Grass roots are almost impossible to kill even if the blades have died off.

I've been watering a patch of grass that you would swear was dead and it has new growth all over it. Grass seems to sort of hibernate in lean times ready to spring forth once you give it some water.

Starting to see the fruits of our labour on the Corn front. Pulled back a small portion of the husk to reveal the corn and pinched one or two kernels to ensure they produce a milky liquid before cutting the husk off the plant (which is a sign it is ripe for the taking in case anyone wants to know).
Sliced the corn off one cob into a salad last night and ate it raw. Sweet as!
Tried some on the barbie wrapped in butter, salt and pepper too - that was naughty but heavenly.
If you're reading this Col, please opt for method 1.....
The beauty with corn is that I can avoid the dilemma of having too many at once. I clean them of the leaves and silks, then blanch the entire cob in boiling water, cool it in ice and then cut the kernels off the cob to freeze in resealable bags.
That process retains its sweetness (and means we can enjoy it for a long while rather than have to give loads of it away at once).

Corn on the Cob1.JPG

Growing stuff in summer is difficult. Australia is just too hot and too dry. I mean you can drench your plants in heaps of tap water if you like but it's not good for the soil as the more tap water the more chlorine.

If you have rainwater tanks with heaps of water by all means go hard.

Just harvest your seed, prepare the soil and wait for the weather to cool a bit.

Home grown corn is great but I don't really bother with it too much out here with it being so hot and dry as it needs a lot of water in the middle of summer.

Our favourite produce is summer based so we've toiled over the years to find what works best for us. Through trial & error, we've learnt to go with drip lines. Water efficient as it does not evaporate. Overhead watering is prone to disease and I was forever reapplying liquid fertiliser and Success bug spray to the leafage. Drip feeding means the fertiliser and spray stays on. We've got corn, tomatoes, cucumber, melons, herbs etc and all are lush without any watering of the leaves.

Mr Peabody im copying your recipe for my first picked cob. Got a bit impatient and could have left it to go more yellow but the kernals are full and shiny.
View attachment 103409

Perfection!! A full cob of corn too. Your ancestors would be impressed.

The recipes I use are below with the guy's accompanying photos (Chris Schlesinger-BBQ Recipes Techniques Tools). The Ash Roast in Coals (3rd Method) is what I suggested. Definitely wrap in double foil and spin them around every few minutes if they are sitting on top of the coals.

Let me know how it goes.

Corn on BBQ-Recipe1.jpg Corn on BBQ.jpg
Corn on BBQ(Latin-Recipe2).jpg Corn on BBQ(Latin).jpg