Official Team Thread Geelong Wolves - WHERE THE STARS COME TO PLAY

werewolf_legend_banner_by_cassidyxedward4ever-d4tlmkr.jpg

A special week this week for former Premiership Captain peterss who this will break the clubs all time games record of 214, passing club Goal Kicking Legend winty.

peterss is a Member of The Wall of Fame, a 100 Club Member, a Club Best & Fairest Winner and a Frankston Rover Award Winner.

Careers stats up to the start of S19 are as follows.

H0 - 3, K - 1822, M - 392, H - 1532, T - 641, FF - 337, FA - 257, G - 191, B - 131, DT - 13116, Exie - 15517

Congratulations peterss from all The Wolf pack

Nawww schucks!

Thanks Skip!

Been a fantastic ride and journey with this club and am starting to get hungry for it again after thinking my tired old body couldnt cut it against the youngsters but I think im going ok and bring it on! Theres life in this old wolf yet!

record-breaker.jpg

Round 11, S19 against the Dragons will be a significant day for the Geelong Wolves as it will mark the occasion when a new Games Record will be achieved. As mentioned earlier peterss will play his 215 game breaking the previous record of 214 held by winty. Its a terrific achievement and one we will recognise on game day with a banner from Bucketss.

I caught up with the former skipper and asked him a few questions in the lead up to his record breaking day.

peterss how does it feel breaking winty's record of 214 games to become the clubs all time games record holder?
It certainly is a special moment for myself. To be honest it feels like only yesterday that I made the switch from the Wonders across to the Gumbies (Now Wolves). Here's hoping the boys can carry on the momentum from last week and get the 4 points. Thats more important to me then breaking the record. Team success over Individual accolades.

Tell us about how you got into the SFA and to the then Geelong Gumbies?
I was browsing the forums many many years ago and coming across the SFA. At the time I had no idea about what was involved but decided to put my name out there and see if a club would be interested in signing a then young whipper snapper. The Wonders decided to take the punt on me and ive never looked back.

Tell us about some of the more interesting characters you have played with and against?
Rojo Jnr was certainly a very interesting team mate when I got him involved and asked him to join the side I was playing for. He was a quality player who dominated but had attitude and cockyness off the field which then resulted in him getting a perma bam from the SFA.

Okeydoke was always a very interesting opponent. He always tried to pay out on the Gumbies and myself being captain as he believed I was the wrong man for the Job and that we were all a bunch of inactive flogs. To his credit though he never over stepped the line and was all about banter which is a great part of football and he has been a quality player on the field to. Hes always the first player I look for on the field when I play against his team so I can give him some banter and get into his head, and im always the first to shake his hand at the end and have a beer in the rooms with him.

What are some of your career highlights?
Obviously the one that stands out the most was captaining the Gumbies to their first ever SFA premiership, it was even more special knowing that had bought alot of the players to the club to add some youth and hunger to to share it with them was extra special.

Every win I've had has also been special as its great being part of a team and working together to bring success and winning brings that culture to the side.

How many more seasons have you left in you?
To be honest in not to sure. For a while I thought this season might be my last hurrah but over the past few weeks I've started getting my hunger and passion for the game back. Its going to be a case of sitting down at seasons end and deciding how my body and mind is feeling and making a decision then

All time favourite team mate?
Very tough Question......I'd probably have to say Bucketss. He was with me at the Wonders and came over to the Gumbies with me and we have always enjoyed each others company over the years and he also played a big part behind the scenes with me when I was captain for our awards nights and what not.

All time favourite opposite player?
It would have to be ljp. Hes a quality player and me and him have some great battles over the years. Ive respected him for a long time and I think he respects me aswell as a player which always makes for a good hard fought battle when we play on each other.

Now as a player who played under the Gumbie mascot for much of your career what did you think of the name change?
I think its been a great rebranding. It was talked about under my leadership but it never came to fruition and now under ABH's reign he has gone ahead with it but did it the right way by taking it to the playing group so we could decide as a team and I feel the entire group is enjoying their footy playing under the Wolves brand

Name 1 player you wish came back to Geelong to play?
StFly. Quite simple really.....he was a legend. He was my co captain for a reason and his way with words to get into the opposition heads in the lead up to every game was simply superb. He left for personal family reasons which is understandeable but he hasnt ruled out a return to the SFA one day so who knows....He may be part of the wolfpack to.

If you could recruit a current player from the other 11 teams who would it be and why?
Very good question! I'd have to say Eagleoz for a return to the club we all know he loves! Hes a quality bloke and a true gentleman. Loved him as a teammate and he a true professional.

Any inspiring message you want to provide for an up and coming SFA player?
Always believe in your ability and strive to be the best both on and off the field. Train hard and play harder and always treat your opposition and opponents with mutual respect but banter wisely to try get into their head without going overboard and looking like an idiot.

Apart from the name change what are the main differences within the club from your earlier years
To be honest I dont see much difference. Its a side who all want to play together to achieve the ultimate succes which is an SFA premiership. We slowly built a dynasty under the Gumbies and we will do it again under the Wolves banner

Thanks for your time pete and best of luck for the weekends game

Rock_On_Wallpaper___Plain_by_thegirlyoucantstand.png

Many in here are new to the club so its time to have another Music Tribute.

Rules - are pretty simple when picking your "Best" in the category, you name the Band and the Album list the songs from the Album and then pick a youtube clip from that album of a song or songs you think is your fav.

******Once an album has been selected that album can be chosen again but not by the same person for another category******

Categories -
1/ Best Live Album - complete

2/ Best Album
3/ Best Australian Album
4/ Best Male Solo Album
5/ Best Band
6/ Best Rock/Metal Album
7/ Best pre 70's Album
8/ Best 70's Album
9/ Best 80's Album
10/ Best 90's Album
11/ Best 00's Album
12/ Best 10's Album
13/ Best Soundtrack Album
14/ Best Female Solo Album
15/ Best Front Person
16/ Best Live Concert You Have Been To
17/ What Are You Listening to NOW (if I press play on your ipod what Album or Song would I hear)

Once you have made your selection you just tag the next player.

Put your name down if your interested and I will put an order together. I will go first to show what we are looking for

(looking at between 10-15)

We have first in best dressed - Here is the order -
ABH
manboob
Willo_
swannies
SM
Hatchy1992
yyou
Cooksen
DREAM TEAM BUFF
TurtleMaster

ABH, manboob & swannies have done their Best Album.

Willo_ followed by SM and Hatchy1992

Wolves at Work

Kicks
Rank Total Average Player
16: 104 10.4 SPANNA65 (WOL)
38: 90 9.0 HATCHY1992 (WOL)
41: 90 9.0 WILLO_ (WOL)
43: 88 8.8 SM (WOL)
46: 88 8.8 YYOU (WOL)
86: 72 7.2 TURTLEMAST (WOL)
87: 71 8.9 TN25 (WOL)
88: 71 7.1 COOKSEN (WOL)
105: 65 6.5 A BIT HIGH (WOL)
113: 63 6.3 DREAM TEAM (WOL)
125: 61 6.1 MANBOOB (WOL)
153: 53 5.3 TAYL0R (WOL)
155: 53 5.3 JEREMIAS (WOL)
183: 45 4.5 FIZZLER (WOL)
188: 44 5.5 BUCKETSS (WOL)
189: 44 4.4 GRIMLOCK (WOL)
192: 42 4.2 HAWTHORN U (WOL)
209: 37 4.6 SWANNIES (WOL)
216: 36 4.0 TYPECLUB (WOL)
225: 32 3.2 PETERSS (WOL)
242: 21 4.2 APOLLO_CRE (WOL)
253: 12 6.0 MR GOR (WOL)

HANDBALLS
5: 110 11.0 SM (WOL)
22: 98 9.8 YYOU (WOL)
40: 89 8.9 HATCHY1992 (WOL)
54: 84 8.4 WILLO_ (WOL)
59: 82 10.3 TN25 (WOL)
65: 81 8.1 COOKSEN (WOL)
79: 73 7.3 A BIT HIGH (WOL)
80: 73 7.3 SPANNA65 (WOL)
94: 68 6.8 TURTLEMAST (WOL)
131: 56 5.6 FIZZLER (WOL)
138: 53 5.3 TAYL0R (WOL)
141: 52 5.2 JEREMIAS (WOL)
146: 50 5.0 HAWTHORN U (WOL)
160: 47 4.7 MANBOOB (WOL)
178: 39 4.9 BUCKETSS (WOL)
193: 33 4.1 SWANNIES (WOL)
208: 25 5.0 APOLLO_CRE (WOL)
210: 24 2.4 GRIMLOCK (WOL)
211: 23 2.6 TYPECLUB (WOL)
231: 15 1.5 PETERSS (WOL)
245: 10 5.0 MR GOR (WOL)
261: 3 0.3 DREAM TEAM (WOL)

Marks
15: 48 4.8 A BIT HIGH (WOL)
29: 45 4.5 TURTLEMAST (WOL)
30: 45 4.5 COOKSEN (WOL)
64: 38 3.8 YYOU (WOL)
75: 36 3.6 MANBOOB (WOL)
80: 35 4.4 TN25 (WOL)
89: 33 3.3 JEREMIAS (WOL)
93: 31 3.1 FIZZLER (WOL)
113: 27 2.7 TAYL0R (WOL)
114: 27 2.7 WILLO_ (WOL)
130: 24 2.4 HAWTHORN U (WOL)
154: 16 1.8 TYPECLUB (WOL)
157: 15 1.9 BUCKETSS (WOL)
174: 12 1.2 DREAM TEAM (WOL)
175: 12 1.2 PETERSS (WOL)
178: 12 1.2 SPANNA65 (WOL)
192: 9 0.9 GRIMLOCK (WOL)
219: 5 1.0 APOLLO_CRE (WOL)
220: 5 0.6 SWANNIES (WOL)
229: 4 2.0 MR GOR (WOL)
250: 1 0.1 HATCHY1992 (WOL)

Tackles
6: 56 5.6 SM (WOL)
11: 50 5.0 SPANNA65 (WOL)
32: 27 2.7 HATCHY1992 (WOL)
33: 26 2.6 WILLO_ (WOL)
44: 21 2.1 COOKSEN (WOL)
70: 13 1.3 TAYL0R (WOL)
79: 12 1.5 SWANNIES (WOL)
101: 11 1.4 TN25 (WOL)
102: 11 1.1 YYOU (WOL)
117: 10 1.0 MANBOOB (WOL)
153: 8 0.8 TURTLEMAST (WOL)
162: 7 0.7 A BIT HIGH (WOL)
163: 7 0.7 FIZZLER (WOL)
181: 6 0.6 DREAM TEAM (WOL)
182: 6 0.8 BUCKETSS (WOL)
184: 6 0.6 GRIMLOCK (WOL)
201: 5 0.5 HAWTHORN U (WOL)
211: 4 0.8 APOLLO_CRE (WOL)
227: 3 0.3 TYPECLUB (WOL)
251: 1 0.1 PETERSS (WOL)
252: 1 0.1 JEREMIAS (WOL)

Goals
5: 38 3.8 DREAM TEAM (WOL)
41: 10 1.0 PETERSS (WOL)
58: 9 0.9 GRIMLOCK (WOL)
64: 9 0.9 SPANNA65 (WOL)
67: 9 0.9 COOKSEN (WOL)
74: 8 0.8 HATCHY1992 (WOL)
95: 7 0.8 TYPECLUB (WOL)
103: 7 0.7 TURTLEMAST (WOL)
104: 7 0.7 WILLO_ (WOL)
117: 6 0.8 BUCKETSS (WOL)
118: 6 0.6 SM (WOL)
144: 5 0.6 TN25 (WOL)
145: 5 0.5 MANBOOB (WOL)
161: 4 0.4 HAWTHORN U (WOL)
191: 3 0.3 YYOU (WOL)
199: 2 0.4 APOLLO_CRE (WOL)
218: 1 0.1 FIZZLER (WOL)
219: 1 0.1 SWANNIES (WOL)

DT Points
Rank Total Average Player Team
15: 766 76.6 SPANNA65 (WOL)
18: 752 75.2 SM (WOL)
37: 693 69.3 HATCHY1992 (WOL)
52: 633 63.3 WILLO_ (WOL)
62: 618 61.8 COOKSEN (WOL)
63: 616 61.6 YYOU (WOL)
82: 547 54.7 TURTLEMAST (WOL)
86: 541 67.6 TN25 (WOL)
102: 497 49.7 A BIT HIGH (WOL)
107: 489 48.9 DREAM TEAM (WOL)
154: 408 40.8 MANBOOB (WOL)
167: 369 36.9 TAYL0R (WOL)
168: 363 36.3 FIZZLER (WOL)
172: 352 35.2 JEREMIAS (WOL)
186: 323 32.3 HAWTHORN U (WOL)
192: 314 39.3 BUCKETSS (WOL)
205: 286 28.6 GRIMLOCK (WOL)
215: 261 29.0 TYPECLUB (WOL)
218: 255 31.9 SWANNIES (WOL)
228: 227 22.7 PETERSS (WOL)
242: 156 31.2 APOLLO_CRE (WOL)
259: 62 31.0 MR GOR (WOL)

Rock_On_Wallpaper___Plain_by_thegirlyoucantstand.png

Many in here are new to the club so its time to have another Music Tribute.

Rules - are pretty simple when picking your "Best" in the category, you name the Band and the Album list the songs from the Album and then pick a youtube clip from that album of a song or songs you think is your fav.

******Once an album has been selected that album can be chosen again but not by the same person for another category******

Categories -
1/ Best Live Album - complete

2/ Best Album
3/ Best Australian Album
4/ Best Male Solo Album
5/ Best Band
6/ Best Rock/Metal Album
7/ Best pre 70's Album
8/ Best 70's Album
9/ Best 80's Album
10/ Best 90's Album
11/ Best 00's Album
12/ Best 10's Album
13/ Best Soundtrack Album
14/ Best Female Solo Album
15/ Best Front Person
16/ Best Live Concert You Have Been To
17/ What Are You Listening to NOW (if I press play on your ipod what Album or Song would I hear)

Once you have made your selection you just tag the next player.

Put your name down if your interested and I will put an order together. I will go first to show what we are looking for

(looking at between 10-15)

We have first in best dressed - Here is the order -
ABH
manboob
Willo_
swannies
SM
Hatchy1992
yyou
Cooksen
DREAM TEAM BUFF
TurtleMaster

ABH, manboob & swannies have done their Best Album.

Willo_ followed by SM and Hatchy1992
I genuinely have no idea and in the sake of not holding things up ill pass