Mega Thread Get Stuffed McGuire The Swans Bigfooty Podcast (All Eddie angst, rants go in here)

What really strikes me about the Academy scenario, is why should other teams care if we only pick NSW Academy players in every draft? More from the current pool for everyone else surely?

At least give Sydney the ability to trade draft picks from other clubs in return for Academy players or something. Incentivise us to go through the 10 year hassle of training these kids at least? But no. Make a special rule preventing us from having a father son & an Academy player in the same year instead - just as it is about to coincidentally happen. :rolleyes:

Just being expected to spend millions on behalf of the code for potentially no benefit seems crazy?

Club recruiter from a team other than Sydney, "So tell us about yourself".

Dunkley, "I'm a holocaust denier with a poor work ethic and a predilection for age innapropriate pornography. Oh and I think (insert name of said recruiter's club) are a bunch of ******s. :p

Oh well. We probably shouldn't get too worked up. All of this was decided in the New York a year ago. Que sera sera.

Are you sure? i dont remember hearing anything about the Academy system bidding process changing, feel this latest appease was "rushed" in to stop the sooking from the fat one.

I'm just filling in the blanks. Everything so far has come under the guise of the Equalisation Working Party. Everyone knew COLa was on the agenda last July. We knew that when they got on their plane. But the cynic in me thinks all these attacks on interstate equalisation steps are cut from the same cloth.

The hand over to Gil was planned ages ago. He is Eddie's puppet.

I've a feeling that the changes made, if any, will be minor and won't affect us nearly as much as we are expecting.

I guess if the talent in NSW stagnates and we only find 1 player a year (our full allotment under these proposed changes) until the plug is pulled you may be right.

But think of it like this: we'll have rattled the tin to the tune of $5M over that 5 year period for 5 players. We'd be spending more money training AFL ready players than the American Military spends on its soldiers. That's a pretty staggering commitment.

But lets say over the next 5 years we unearth 10 AFL worthy players. We'll still have 5 players, but now the other clubs will be getting the same amount of players as us (which effectively cost our sponsors and friends $1M a head) for free.

Seems like a great arrangement.

I guess if the talent in NSW stagnates and we only find 1 player a year (our full allotment under these proposed changes) until the plug is pulled you may be right.

But think of it like this: we'll have rattled the tin to the tune of $5M over that 5 year period for 5 players. We'd be spending more money training AFL ready players than the American Military spends on its soldiers. That's a pretty staggering commitment.

But lets say over the next 5 years we unearth 10 AFL worthy players. We'll still have 5 players, but now the other clubs will be getting the same amount of players as us (which effectively cost our sponsors and friends $1M a head) for free.

Seems like a great arrangement.

I'm not fully aware of how exactly the academies are funded, I read about 5-6 different ways on here daily, I assume it's co-funded by the AFL and the respective clubs.

If we're benefiting less under the new rules, surely the club simply invests less money into it?

We're not a charity, if the AFL want other clubs to benefit from these systems then they can foot majority the bill.

If nothing else comes from all this at least we know Pridham has got a bit of c*nt in him, he's not going to politely bend over and let Clive at it.

I'm not fully aware of how exactly the academies are funded, I read about 5-6 different ways on here daily, I assume it's co-funded by the AFL and the respective clubs.

If we're benefiting less under the new rules, surely the club simply invests less money into it?

We're not a charity, if the AFL want other clubs to benefit from these systems then they can foot majority the bill.

If nothing else comes from all this at least we know Pridham has got a bit of c*nt in him, he's not going to politely bend over and let Clive at it.

Newbold says the AFL puts in $250k
We know QBE puts in $450k this year.

That's $700k accounted for.

The Club says the Academy costs "over" a million dollar per year to run. And that this funding mainly comes from Sponsors and private donations through the foundation.

I work on the basis that is the Academy was successful and grew its costs would only increase? By why would we bother?

Newbold says the AFL puts in $250k
We know QBE puts in $450k this year.

That's $700k accounted for.

The Club says the Academy costs "over" a million dollar per year to run.

I work on the basis that is the Academy was successful and grew its costs would only increase? By why would we bother?

Sweet, then let's play hardball.

We politely ask our partners QBE to slice their contribution down to match the AFL at 250k and we cap all direct funding from the club at 150K a year, they (AFL) can sort out the rest themselfs.

Gill has been quoted today in saying he's all for the academies, he wants them and thinks they're great for the growth of the game in QLD/NSW, let's see just HOW much he wants them:D.

There is absolutely zero point to us running and funding this thing if we aren't the primary beneficiaries.

We're not going to pay through the arse to run a ******* NSW footy clinic for every *er throughout the land to come and draft players from.

Sweet, then let's play hardball.

We politely ask our partners QBE to slice their contribution down to match the AFL at 250k and we cap all direct funding from the club at 150K a year, they (AFL) can sort out the rest themselfs.

Gill has been quoted today in saying he's all for the academies, he wants them and thinks they're great for the growth of the game in QLD/NSW, let's see just HOW much he wants them:D.

There is absolutely zero point to us running and funding this thing if we aren't the primary beneficiaries.

We're not going to pay through the arse to run a ******* NSW footy clinic for every goose throughout the land to come and draft players from.
Yep my point precisely.

i was bored so from 2006-2013 the payments to clubs ladder is as follows (*gws and gold coast i worked out their average per year and just multiplied by the total years so it was fair)

Western Bulldogs $84,643,387
GWS* $80,332,492
Nth Melbourne $78929942
COLLINGWOOD $77,558,009
St Kilda $76,231,343
Melbourne $75,998,391
Carlton $75,795,285
Essendon $73,981,014
Richmond $72,792,253
Gold Coast * $71,977,432
Geelong $71,842,605
SYDNEY $ 71,632,100
Port Adelaide $69,934,808
Hawthorn $69,492,768
Brisbane $65,860,064
Adelaide $62,873,887
Fremantle $62,580,140
West Coast $62,568,792

wow look at how the big victorian clubs especially the big 4 vic clubs prop us interstate clubs up!!!!!!!!!!!!

get rid of COLA the afl is funding the swans and propping us up

Have to say Collingwood getting so much funding is no surprise. Personally I'm not fused what other clubs get. But when we are told by the footy world we are on life support, and being given support other clubs don't receive, I find figures like these very annoying. We simply don't deserve the tag. Especially when it seems Bulldogs, North and Pies fans lead the charge against us right now in that regard and have received a combined total of $26 million more than us since 2006.

But seriously, why is Brisbane 4th last on that list? And why did it get $12M less than Collingwood? Oh yeah...right. :rolleyes:

I say cut and run.

If they want the benefits of our work, they can fund it and do it themselves. It wouldn't last too long

I think we should persist with the academies, funding an all. Stooping to the gutter politics of McGuire and co doesn't do the club any favours. Our club has built a reputation on its integrity it is no point throwing all that away because McGuire is such a complete F*#K.
We should still develop all the kids, we just need to make sure that if more than one good one comes up in any year that one of them is a no show for the u18's.

Is there any other league in the world that lets two of the presidents have a massive say in rule changes etc?

I always felt superman and batman controlled the justice league

I've a feeling that the changes made, if any, will be minor and won't affect us nearly as much as we are expecting.

Agree with this, think all it is going to do is affect what compensation we get from free agency, that or perhaps maybe take an future second round selection.

At a time like this (just like post 2012 GF, post Tippett & post Buddy) the best thing to do is go and watch the 2005 GF. Where's our superstar line up there? Where has all the apparent "AFL support" and money we supposedly had gone? Has it gone to "poaching superstars"? I think not. Likewise with 2012. Did we win a premiership using some "mercenary superstar, only there for the money"? Nope. Rejects from other clubs and home grown talent we'd invested in when no-one else would have even thought of it.

We lead the competition in terms of being the one team that lives on the edge and pushes the boundaries (in a non-Essendon way of course). We often start the new trends (e.g. International rookies, stoppage gamestyle, recruiting on need not overall 'skill' etc).

If Eddie wants, he can try to rubbish our brand in the media. Hell he can try to do it in the middle of one of his clubs all time great servant's and ex-captain retirement press conference... What he can't do is change the fact our club has what he wants. Success in terms of on field results and a growth in off field results he didn't want to share with us. A great example of this is to compare each of our clubs' handling of the shift between Roos/Horse & Malthouse/Buckley.

Have all the members you want Ed, it can't buy you a strong culture and management structure often envied and copied.

Just like Malthouse's antics last weekend, Eddie is seriously tarnishing his clubs image in the way he's conducting himself. If I was a high level Collingwood member/sponsor/board member etc I'd be appalled at his conduct and self-centred antics. While on the other hand, I've been very happy with the way Prids has handled himself. Then again, he isn't on every second footy program known to man, with a huge influence over media like Eddie Everywhere does... But he's held firm and stated his case clearly and succinctly. Eddie has ranted and raved and looked like the bully who's not getting what he wants and will keep going until he does (or get's dropped from his position).

This weekend, as a club, we should stand proud. Wear your colours out, even if it's not for the footy itself. Going to the shops? Bit cold? Chuck on the Big red jacket that says F**k you Eddie. Want to head out to pick up some take away? Better slip on the VW emblazoned red & white polo and hit the fish'n'chipper for some delicious deep fried up yours Ed's. Most importantly, enjoy knowing Eddie is a tool and we support the best club in the land.

Cheer Cheer.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/race-for-the-flag-in-squiggly-lines.1022679/page-56

Didnt want to post it in that thread, but a hawks fan asked who would win theoreitically out of the hawks season peak v where the swans stand now

To cut a long story short, sydney slightly ahead but you have to factor in for a grand final the hawks home ground advantage

My question given all the equalisation crap is when is the grand final moving.

Lets say we finish outright first hawthorn finish fourth and we make the grand final, they have a distinct unfair advantage

Now i love the mcg for the grand final, but for the sake of equality should it not be at the scg if we are the top seed?

Contract for the MCG is untill 2037 either way it's never going to happen just another disadvantage of being a interstate side.

Probably something that wont happen in our lifetime.

Nah stuff that theres cola contracts, academy deals, this rort could be undone now if the afl wanted too

Like i said in another thread slowly by slowly removing all methods of equalization we have and solving none of our disadvantages.

Apparently 2 flags in 32 years is to much for some people to take :confused:
I think they're looking back at that Brisbane side and going, "is it happening again?". They're scared and want an excuse as to why their club isn't doing the same. They want it to be because of some unfair advantage like COLA or an academy. Whatever they can find they want it stopped now and hopefully they can stop a dynasty before it happens again...

The thing they should fear the most is that our club having slowly built it's foundations in the right way(s) over a decade or so ago. We formed the basis for this success years ago through (yes I'll say it yet again) our culture and our management. We have had a solid group of leaders at the club both on (Kirk, Kelly, Goodes, Macca, Bolton, Mickey O, Maxfield etc) as well as off the field (Roos, Colless, Pridham, Longmire) which has helped us build this club into a machine of sorts. We don't seem to have egos at the club, even Buddy looks to be less of a show pony this year (e.g. goal celebrations, doing some grunt work tackling etc) and we structure our club around faith in the players we need (more-so than just players we want based on perceived skill level). We will happily go into player recruitment with a plan an faith in our recruiters to again pick out the best player for our needs. Base it on work rate, integrity, personality and raw potential and mould them into what we want as opposed to picking that kid who had 40 possies a game last season playing against the other kids.

Anyway, I've gone off track again. Sorry. My point is simply there are some clubs/entities/people who can't believe we are where we are without some kind of manufactured advantage. Often I believe it's a way for them to more easily overlook their own weaknesses & inferiority in key areas such as management or recruiting and say "their club isn't crap, they would have been as good as the Swans but the Swans got an unfair advantage". They point to these "advantages" as the reason for our success but fail to see past the dribble to the true cause(s) of the success IMO.