Gold Coast footy slang, colloquialisms and personalities

Tigers stuck on an infinite loop, Someone want to give him a kick like a jukebox?
was actually a quote from some geelong supporters the day we beat them at metricon. funny s**t, they were real good about it. that's why aussies don't separate fans. we respect our passions....so far.

Unfortunately some of our supporters say it seriously, Browny was bad for it too. >_>

we had a mob of about 15-20 Geelong blokes behind us. I got the impression from their age and dress they may have known GAJ pretty well. They took the piss out of GAJ at every opportunity, especially when close to us, but in the nicest way. I was half expecting a wave from him towards them, but GAJ is a pro,.....still I think there was some sort of relationship there...

Geelong flogs are the new Collingwood flogs.
Found that out first hand this year... Cringe. Personally never had anything bad to say about Collingwood fans from my own personal experience at games I've been to - compared with other clubs anyway. Geelong fans though - wow.

Whereas Geelong isn't a place you go to at all. Its a place you end up in.
SJlO8v2.jpg

I would run the risk in to Geelong any day of the week.

They have the best souvlakis (Kadinia Cafe) and best Pizzas (Pizzas with attitude) in Australia

Both edacious delights make the constant stabbings worth it!
if only they would hold the stabbings the 'edaciousness' of the food sounds, tttttaaaaasssttyyyyyyy.......

It's the off season so I figured it would be fun to conduct a Gold Coast quiz. It will be a combination of Gold Coast footy related questions and questions about the city to test your knowledge. Now obviously you could cheat by looking these up or reading someone else's answers below but I think it would be fun to try it for real. Let's see how much you know about the city/Suns and perhaps someone else could come up with a part 2 quiz.
  1. Who is Meatballs?
  2. What happens when a Suns player kicks a goal at Metricon?
  3. Who holds the games record for the Suns?
  4. What is located under the big screen at Metricon?
  5. Who is TARGETMAN?
  6. What is the Sharks?
  7. Who is Princey?
  8. What is Cooly Rocks?
  9. What would I see if I was standing at the top of Burleigh Hill?
  10. What is the G?
  11. What is Broady?
  12. What is Twinnies?
  13. What is Cavill?
  14. What is Snapper?
  15. What is Tweed Breed?
  16. What is Draculas?
  17. Why would I go to the peak of Mount Warning early in the day?
  18. What is Hedges?
  19. What is Justin Lane?
  20. What is Magic Mountain?

1????
2 trumpeter plays
3 gaz
4 me and crust pizza
5 me
6 southport afl side/club
7 scott price
8 car show at coolangatta
9 burliegh point, surf,
10 where the hawks win every grand final for the last four years
11 Broadbeach
12 twin towns rsl
13 cavill mall
14 snapper rocks
15 tweed local surfer. born n bread. (thats me too)
16 a victorian caberet restuarant that moved to the gc in the 80s. origanally on te peters
17 the first place the sun hits in australia. daily i believe
18 over valued land owned by yuppies
19 shops in burley
20 an old cheap and nasty theme park originally situated on miami hill next to 'Hi miami High'

thats without google

1????
2 trumpeter plays
3 gaz
4 me and crust pizza
5 me
6 southport afl side/club
7 scott price
8 car show at coolangatta
9 burliegh point, surf,
10 where the hawks win every grand final for the last four years
11 Broadbeach
12 twin towns rsl
13 cavill mall
14 snapper rocks
15 tweed local surfer. born n bread. (thats me too)
16 a victorian caberet restuarant that moved to the gc in the 80s. origanally on te peters
17 the first place the sun hits in australia. daily i believe
18 over valued land owned by yuppies
19 shops in burley
20 an old cheap and nasty theme park originally situated on miami hill next to 'Hi miami High'

thats without google
Well done :thumbsu: You didn't score 100% but it's obviously you're a local.

1. prestia?
2. toot toot toot toot toot toot
3. harbrow?
4. TARGETMAN
5. made a sign for the hawks vs suns game at metricon, stuck around and made a suns one i think haha
6. footy club in southport
7. scott prince
8. festival in coolangatta, not sure what about
9. shitloads. pretty much most of the coast looking north. good views.
10. the light rail
11. broadbeach
12. twin towns?
13. i lost a shoe there once
14. snapper rocks, decent beach
15. no clue haha
16. weird spooky restaurant where i went for my 12th birthday party hahaha
17. i see lots of people do it, can't remember why.
18. hedges ave, heaps of big houses along there, just south of broady. i know a couple suns players live just to the south of it too. :p
19. no idea
20. no idea

can probably guess from these answers i've lived in the northern parts of the goldy my entire life haha.

1. prestia?
2. toot toot toot toot toot toot
3. harbrow?
4. TARGETMAN
5. made a sign for the hawks vs suns game at metricon, stuck around and made a suns one i think haha
6. footy club in southport
7. scott prince
8. festival in coolangatta, not sure what about
9. shitloads. pretty much most of the coast looking north. good views.
10. the light rail
11. broadbeach
12. twin towns?
13. i lost a shoe there once
14. snapper rocks, decent beach
15. no clue haha
16. weird spooky restaurant where i went for my 12th birthday party hahaha
17. i see lots of people do it, can't remember why.
18. hedges ave, heaps of big houses along there, just south of broady. i know a couple suns players live just to the south of it too. :p
19. no idea
20. no idea

can probably guess from these answers i've lived in the northern parts of the goldy my entire life haha.
Good effort for a guy from the northern suburbs. Upon reflection I have noticed my GC quiz was fairly south centric. Care to come up with a GC quiz of your own that is more north centric?

This thread seems like as good as any for me to dump all the songs I have written about the Gold Coast, to be sung at games by either me or the cheer squad. My two completed songs will be in a later post, because I want to share with you guys the project that has consumed my Australia Day.

Does anyone know the Fire Emblem theme? It's a latin opera-orchestral piece for the Fire Emblem series. The original song is here:

My aim is to make a Gold Coast song out of this. It has not been an easy process. I've spent the last several hours working on it. Even though it will be sung in English, the syllables and such need to match perfectly or it will sound off. This is made harder by the fact that the choir is bad at pronouncing latin, and mumbles through a lot of words. This means that a line could appear to have 10 syllables, but realistically has 8 syllables because a two of the words were reduced to single-syllable mumbles. For example, ad ahmast reduced to adst.

It is not finished, I am making progress. The latin lyrics are in blue and the lyrics I would be singing are in black. If you sing along with some very specific pronunciation and timing that is hard to relay over text, it matches up quite well.

Fi-ire Em-blem [4]

viii-a si-ne fiii-ne [6]

Faaa-ci-le eunt sooo-ciii [6]

Goo-ooold Coo-ast [4]

Taaall and proud and feaar-some [6]

Sooo-verr-reign and reee-gal [6]

Un-um um-braaa la-di-ni-hi-li vitam [10]

[ad anhmast] adst aat-que per asss-traaa [6]

Veee-ra has-tam vi-a ve-nit [8]

u-re-nit niii-hu-heee [6]

This red-gold faa-bric uu-niii-tes me and you

It’s saaa-cred and haaall-ooowed

Line 3 – create later, lyrics are nearly unworkable

Line 4 – create later, lyrics are nearly unworkable

Di-him duooo di-em di-ni-hiiim [8]

Be-ne tu eee-di-pa-wa-gaaa [8]

Nuu-uu son-ct-uuum cor so-cii ini-uri-aaam [10]

Gaaa-llant and li-on hear-ted kin [8]

Join us foooor a flag ass-aaaault [7.5]

A mai-den prem-iii-ership and further hooonoooour [10]

REPEAT CHORUS

Goo-ooold Coo-ast [4]

Taaall and proud and feaar-some [6]

Sooo-verr-reign and reee-gal [6]

15 SECONDS OF INSTRUMENTALS

Un-um tre-ni ni-him looo-rem

di-hi-si nii-himmm

Bis-nu hu-va-as piii-luuum

Que diem saaa-eveee

I plan to make this stanza ^ about how the the city is divided.