Grand final location

BIRDBRAIN

Aug 12, 2013
I think tradition whilst great, shouldn't supercede progress.

In years to come say 2020, if each capital city has a stadium with capcity over 60,000 I think the GF should be rotating exactly the same as the NFL.

Exactly the same as NFL haha

And people are going on like the nfl shares the superbowl around. My arse.

They heavily prefer to hold it in the south and west. 10 in miami, 7 in LA (the nfl are salivating at having stadium/s in LA again), 10 New Orleans, 4 in Tampa, etc etc.

There has been 1 superbowl in NY. The head office of the NFL is in NY. 2 in Detroit, 1 in Indy, 1 in Minnesota. And all of those were met with massive trepidation.

Left to its own devices and with available stadia, the superbowl the NFL would rotate between LA, Miami and NO.

Furn2

Sep 27, 2012
Once they have the stadiums it should absolutely be shared, and you dont need 100k.60k + is fine, By that logic if Perth built a 101k seater they should have it every year.

crownie

Jul 31, 2005
Tbh, if wc play freo in the gf in melb more of their supporters will get to see the game than if it was held at subi.

And people are going on like the nfl shares the superbowl around. My arse.

They heavily prefer to hold it in the south and west. 10 in miami, 7 in LA (the nfl are salivating at having stadium/s in LA again), 10 New Orleans, 4 in Tampa, etc etc.

There has been 1 superbowl in NY. The head office of the NFL is in NY. 2 in Detroit, 1 in Indy, 1 in Minnesota. And all of those were met with massive trepidation.

Left to its own devices and with available stadia, the superbowl the NFL would rotate between LA, Miami and NO.

weather conditions play are hugh factor in where the Super Bowl gets held, some stadiums will never ever host it.

estibador

purple haze
Mar 2, 2007
Liverpool, Cowboys, Packers, Scorchers
Yes the game itself is doable but it's all the other stuff, functions, packages, members, sponsors etc. A lot of tickets are pre sold, you can't just tell people the week before that you now have to book some flights and sit in a crap seat.

Why not? That's what the rest of us have to deal with. Last minute flights at ridiculously inflated prices.

It's quite funny hearing Victorian fans defending the rights of those poor downtrodden corporates. * them. You all want the game to be for 'the people' until that means people from outside your state.

Smashwood

Apr 19, 2014
THE GREATEST TEAM OF ALL
WE ARE GEELONG
Hypothetically WCE and Freo participate in the GF. I'm sure all those players wouldn't want it any other way than to run out to the roar of 100,000 spectators. This is a topic when you're not having a topic.

Doubt the biggest bogan from SA wouldn't want it moved either (but then again).

scalesofjustice

Mar 6, 2015
The grand final is mainly full of corporate f***ers who wouldn't know Buddy Franklin from Mark Zanotti.

It's a bona fide neutral crowd

This.

ive been to a few Grand Fnals and the atmosphere is always disappointing cos 1/3rd of the crowd are corporrate flogs that the AFL gave free tickets to and who support neither team

it is an utter disgrace

What other ground holds 100k people?

That's your answer

Screen Shot 2015-08-05 at 16.20.51.png

Screen Shot 2015-08-05 at 16.32.18.png

Mar 7, 2009
On the Buses
Melbourne Stars
Even when Vic teams play in the GF they're only allocated a limited number of tickets, not nearly enough for every member to attend. The AFL make their money on their corporate packages which they sell for over a grand each. The prelim has become the peoples final, and having a Prelim in your home state will be the ultimate experience for most footy fans. Even the Vic ones.

If the AFL ever agreed to host a GF at the new Perth Stadium of 70,000, I'd expect ticket allocation to Club Members would be reduced so they can still sell the same amount of corporate packages. They're greedy bastards.

Sep 11, 2008
Why not? That's what the rest of us have to deal with. Last minute flights at ridiculously inflated prices.

It's quite funny hearing Victorian fans defending the rights of those poor downtrodden corporates. **** them. You all want the game to be for 'the people' until that means people from outside your state.
I think you must have misread my post. Which games have you bought tickets to months in advance and then got told the week before you have to fly across the country? Most of the presold packages are bought by normal footy fans, not 'corporates'.
And the tickets which do go to corporates are mainly sponsors. You can't just collect and spend money from sponsors for the year and then change the deal during the last week.

estibador

purple haze
Mar 2, 2007
Liverpool, Cowboys, Packers, Scorchers
I think you must have misread my post. Which games have you bought tickets to months in advance and then got told the week before you have to fly across the country? Most of the presold packages are bought by normal footy fans, not 'corporates'.
And the tickets which do go to corporates are mainly sponsors. You can't just collect and spend money from sponsors for the year and then change the deal during the last week.

So don't sell tickets months in advance.

The AFL can survive without a few extra million, they'll only give it to one of the new teams to poach your players anyway. The average fan should be more concerned about the fairness of the competition than the AFL's bottom line. And really, if they're being honest with themselves, they're just using justifications like yours because it suits them to keep the status quo.

There is a contract in place and you would have to pry the GF from the cold, dead grasp of the MCC.

AFL is more likely to do something stupid and extend the deal with the MCC than break it for the sake of footy fans interstate.

Jul 2, 2010
Not really.

You realise AFL membership is useless outside of Victoria, noone has it.
So knock out all MCC and AFL members, they currently take half seats at the MCG and you are left with plenty of seats for the normal fan.

You do realise that the membership entry to the Grand Final is decided by the AFL, not by your membership - and the AFL has 60,000 of its own members who will have to be factored in along with corporates, you cant just rule them out. In a 50-60,000 seat stadium you are likely to end up with the same or less tickets for the clubs than at the G, with none at all for the other clubs who rely on them for much needed revenues.

in addition, staging a grand final outside of Victoria when the MCC contract is up is likely going to cost someone money to stage - as a guide the NRL is currently paid 10 million to host their grand final in Sydney.

Jul 2, 2010
and the fact there is a contract to play it their for the new 20 or so years

Contract expires in 2042. The Victorian government will not allow finals, let alone the grand final to be bought out by the league, even with financial compensation. They said as much during the 2004 renegetiations - the Victorian Government considers the finals and grand final to be vital to Victorias tourism industry and image - and worth more than any compensation for financial loss could be.

Sep 30, 2011
Freo
Whoever is playing WC
GF stays at the G due to reasons said.

GF replay of a draw should go to the highest qualifier's home ground. This should be an advantage for finishing higher and the AFL has already cleaned up so it is bonus money. The replay gets organised in a week so it could be done easy!

Jul 2, 2010
Regardless, the AFL would not loose 1 cent downgrading to a smaller stadium. The footy fan on the other hand, they would be paying almost double for their seat.

Thats simply illogical. The MCC pay for the seats they use at the Grand Final. AFL members pay for theirs. Club members pay for theres. Corporates pay. Not only would the AFL lose money, but dropping 20,000 seats and consdierably less in corporates would cost the AFL millions to downgrade to any stadium below 80,000 or less.

GF stays at the G due to reasons said.

GF replay of a draw should go to the highest qualifier's home ground. This should be an advantage for finishing higher and the AFL has already cleaned up so it is bonus money. The replay gets organised in a week so it could be done easy!
Good idea

Given we already subsidise the AFL, probably not as big a stretch as you think.

Any GF subsidy would be completely separate and above that.

And we all subsidise the NSW & QLD teams, get over yourself.

NathanMX

Dec 6, 2014
Would think if it were a Dockers-Eagles grand final their members would have more chance of seeing the game live at the MCG then Subiaco simply because not as many could travel east to see it. If it were held in Perth good luck getting one of the few tickets after the corporates and "special" guests have been catered for. Every fan in Perth would want one of those few tickets. Hold it in Melbourne, 50,000 more seats, a few extra tickets combined with the number of fans who can fly over being a lot less and those lucky fans would be in with more of a shot to see their team salute on the big day.