Have we raised the white flag when it comes to Port Power?

Mike Smyth

10k Posts
Oct 8, 2012
Yes, you did suggest it. You inferred that a neutral country were somehow an aggressor by killing a million Armenians that resulted in Britain, France and Australia invading them in some kind of retaliation.

You further go on to say that Turkey were not innocent in the whole thing by using subsequent events (that mostly occurred after every Allied soldiers were taking it easy in Egypt) to back up a falsehood reason for being there in the first place.
BS... I never said we "invaded"turkey because of the attrociated commited against the Armrnisns.

Tex200

10k Posts Podcaster
Dec 24, 2008
Exactly, none of which had any bearing on why ANZACS were in Gallipoli. There was no actual Armenian genocide until after all the Allies got there, to suggest anything else (not that you did) is wrong.
I think though that's like trying to disassociate the holocaust from ww2.

Interesting debate though

Mike Smyth

10k Posts
Oct 8, 2012
The Allies were aggressive invaders. They had something we wanted and more importantly needed. It had to be aggressive they were one of the more skilled defenders going round 1) built on centuries of wars with competing empires and 2) how Gallipoli turned out - a dismal failure - it proved to be correct.
Do you reckon if they didn't side with the Germans they would have been invaded? Although given their history with Russia they were probably never going to join the Allies.

beartoo

Jul 27, 2004
Moana Heights Adelaide
Really ?
Seriously mate you're making a fool of yourself ... Again.

If you insist on bringing politics to this board, go away and read some history.

Silly boy

I don't want to get caught up in this as it isn't the right place for this debate, but I feel a need to comment. As a returned serviceman I usually march on Anzac Day and I attend ceremonies and functions on occasions. It is a day of remembrance for servicemen across the country and I don't know why footy comes into the equation. As it used to be, the SANFL game on Anzac Day attracted a lot of ex-service people--I don't think a Power game will have the same appeal to most. Also on the day there used to be a lunch at AO for returned blokes that had played SANFL. A lot of WW2 blokes used to attend that lunch. I have been to a couple and it was great to meet some of the living legends of our great competition, and it was a good thing indeed that they were honoured in this way.
The history of warfare is a twisted history indeed. Churchill ordered the bombardment of the outer forts of the Dardanelles Strait four days before Britain declared war on Turkey--Turkey's equivalent to Pearl Harbour. The botched naval campaign is worth a read. Three battleships lost and a host of ships of all sizes sunk and damaged. Two thousand British and French sailors lost their lives.
Frankly I don't know why Australia was involved in this crazy war; but Anzac Day has a far deeper meaning than just the defeat at Gallipoli.

Oct 1, 2003
Adelaide, Australia
NFC AUFC MUFC Socceroos
Actually their lives were sacrificed for various empires and their interests, not our country - bar WWII perhaps.

Point still remains it should be a day of remembrance and reflection, not about football matches.

aneale

Aug 31, 2008
Do you reckon if they didn't side with the Germans they would have been invaded? Although given their history with Russia they were probably never going to join the Allies.
That was only to do with Russia. The Turks were not even of the opinion that Britain would get involved and made alliances based on that presumption. Their plan was to stay neutral but for the Russian problem.

Depends how you look at it. The Russians had captured huge parcels of their land, and with it came their people. The Ottomans were neutral leading into the war. Russia declared war on them due to how Europe was panning out as they were the only obvious supply route. Unsurpringly, given they had come out on the wrong side of this sort of aggression from the Russians before they also declared war, and took a side.

They pretty much took the step of expelling all Russians from their land. Extreme, but hey we locked up Japanese and Germans too, there are just levels of extreme behaviour. The genocide started the day before Allied forces landed at Gallipoli. That shows amazing, almost Jedi like, foresight on the Allies behalf given the lead in time it took for any troops to land there.

If the Allies were successful in capturing Turkey they would have gifted Turkey to Czar Nicholas and the Russian empire. The real prize for the British and French was the middle east - especially Palestine, so they hood winked the Arabs into fighting with them against the Ottomans with the promise of independence after the war - which never happened. A lot of the s**t in the middle east today can be traced back to WWI and the lines on the map the British and French drew up in 1919.

Tex200

10k Posts Podcaster
Dec 24, 2008
I don't want to get caught up in this as it isn't the right place for this debate, but I feel a need to comment. As a returned serviceman I usually march on Anzac Day and I attend ceremonies and functions on occasions. It is a day of remembrance for servicemen across the country and I don't know why footy comes into the equation. As it used to be, the SANFL game on Anzac Day attracted a lot of ex-service people--I don't think a Power game will have the same appeal to most. Also on the day there used to be a lunch at AO for returned blokes that had played SANFL. A lot of WW2 blokes used to attend that lunch. I have been to a couple and it was great to meet some of the living legends of our great competition, and it was a good thing indeed that they were honoured in this way.
The history of warfare is a twisted history indeed. Churchill ordered the bombardment of the outer forts of the Dardanelles Strait four days before Britain declared war on Turkey--Turkey's equivalent to Pearl Harbour. The botched naval campaign is worth a read. Three battleships lost and a host of ships of all sizes sunk and damaged. Two thousand British and French sailors lost their lives.
Frankly I don't know why Australia was involved in this crazy war; but Anzac Day has a far deeper meaning than just the defeat at Gallipoli.
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts. I've been over the ANZAC commercialisation for a whole but the loss of the SANFL game is the last straw

aneale

Aug 31, 2008
If the Allies were successful in capturing Turkey they would have gifted Turkey to Czar Nicholas and the Russian empire. The real prize for the British and French was the middle east - especially Palestine, so they hood winked the Arabs into fighting with them against the Ottomans with the promise of independence after the war - which never happened. A lot of the s**t in the middle east today can be traced back to WWI and the lines on the map the British and French drew up in 1919.
Spot on. The 20th century never stopped Britain and France from having "Crusade" complex. WWI gave them the perfect foil.

Powerage

Absurd Caricature
Aug 14, 2014
Port Adelaide
Lots of manufactured draws and positive press for a few years yet.
Really - ask any impartial AFL follower who had an easier draw this year...

At the same time we have took numerous hits from the AFL administration that makes no sense
Please don't tell me you were referring to Tippettgate, are you really? If so, you got what you deserved. Some would argue you got more than you deserved (although balanced out given you had to bear the brunt of Bailey's ban for another club's indiscretions).

Dec 29, 2000
I don't think they could have done too much more TBH. It was huge because we'd just had a huge win and the crowd was deafening, more of that and it will look better and better.

The 19th Man is an excellent concept (just ask Seattle Seahawks) however not yet properly executed. Just keep mentioning it at all times and it will be ingrained with media and then execute on gameday. Get loud people that is what it is all about, get loud.

little graham

10k Posts
Sep 18, 2013
The 19th Man is an excellent concept (just ask Seattle Seahawks) however not yet properly executed. Just keep mentioning it at all times and it will be ingrained with media and then execute on gameday. Get loud people that is what it is all about, get loud.

Footy park use to be rather loud in the 90's when it mattered, as result of the football we played and the affection to the characters that once graced this once great game. We all collectedly sighed in awe at some of A Jarmans ball gets and disposal brilliance. We use to have players like Modra who deliberately played a style of football in appreciation of us.

These days they're all robots, especially after the Eddy betts of our club retire. We can get loud, it will be easier to get loud because we're suppose to, if we lower our collective IQ.

Mike Smyth

10k Posts
Oct 8, 2012
Isn't it interesting when going off topic dramatically improves a thread.
Go back to when people starting questioning Craig, Trigg etc and you will see alot of comments from the masses similar to the type that you regularly post.

Mike Smyth

10k Posts
Oct 8, 2012
Spot on. The 20th century never stopped Britain and France from having "Crusade" complex. WWI gave them the perfect foil.
Alright you got me time to reluctantly raise the white flag. Fascinating reading though.

Go back to when people starting questioning Craig, Trigg etc and you will see alot of comments from the masses similar to the type that you regularly post.
Funny, yet incisive?

Mike Smyth

10k Posts
Oct 8, 2012
Funny, yet incisive?
Ever noticed how for you and your everything is awesome crew attack and getting personal is normally your first action when you disagree? You're supposed to be better than the pessimists (realists) but are you really?

Please share anything personal I've posted in this thread.

"dramatically improves the thread" translation: don't agree with the thread subject, thread is crap.
Actually, the discussion that evolved was very interesting.
And thinking a thread is crap is not personal.

Powerage

Absurd Caricature
Aug 14, 2014
Port Adelaide
I've only been to one Port AO game, but that was clearly enough to expose the myth that Port game-day entertainment is so much better than the Crows. The match day activity at the Port game was outstandingly the worst pre-match entertainment of any that I've seen - groups of people did a partial lap of the oval carrying flags of different countries. wow wee!! It was like a primary school sports-day stroll-by, amateurish and boring, and yet Crows are supposed to be getting blown away in the game day entertainment stakes.

What a crock of s**t!
So the myth was exposed on your sample size of...one. Bravo (sarcastic clapping)