How often do you use these Australian words?

Engimal

10k Posts North Melbourne - 2018 Luke Davies-Uniacke and Paul Ahern Player Sponsor Pantskyle Minecraft Shiny Penny Ruby
Apr 27, 2010
Tasmania
Since going to university in the city, it's occurred to me how much of the Australian slang that I've grown up with in a rural community isn't used among the masses. Very rarely are you greeted with a 'G'day'. Practically no one seems to try and get my attention with an 'Oi'. Before I attended school in the city, I figured that these words were common everywhere, but it appears not.

I figure BigFooty has a fairly widespread usage across Australia, so I want to know:

1. Where are you from?

2. How often do you use/hear the following words or phrases?

- G'day
- Oi
- Cobber
- Bloody oath
- Bloody hell
- Bloke
- Mate
- No worries
- Ta

Since going to university in the city, it's occurred to me how much of the Australian slang that I've grown up with in a rural community isn't used among the masses. Very rarely are you greeted with a 'G'day'. Practically no one seems to try and get my attention with an 'Oi'. Before I attended school in the city, I figured that these words were common everywhere, but it appears not.

I figure BigFooty has a fairly widespread usage across Australia, so I want to know:

1. Where are you from?

- G'day
- Oi
- Cobber
- Bloody oath
- Bloody hell
- Bloke
- Mate
- No worries
- Ta

I use all of those except cobber and bloody oath, although I'll occasionally use *en oath.

In Sydney's east

1. Where are you from?

Malaysia (since 1987)

- G'day - Every time
- Oi - Never
- Cobber - Never
- Bloody oath - Never
- Bloody hell - Sometimes
- Bloke - Rarely
- Mate - Every time
- No worries - Sometimes
- Ta - Rarely

1. Where are you from?

Born in Melbourne, family moved around a lot, but spent most of my childhood in the country (Western Victoria).

- G'day - often
- Oi - sometimes
- Cobber - only when taking the piss
- Bloody oath - never
- Bloody hell - occasionally
- Bloke - occasionally
- Mate - often
- No worries - often
- Ta - often

1. Where are you from?

- G'day
- Oi
- Cobber
- Bloody oath
- Bloody hell
- Bloke
- Mate
- No worries
- Ta

Perth. All of them except Cobber in common usage. Bloody is often replaced with the F-word.

1. Where are you from?

- G'day - regularly
- Oi - regularly
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - never
- Bloody hell - regularly
- Bloke - regularly
- Mate - regularly
- No worries - regularly
- Ta - regularly
I'd say all those I answered "regularly" to were moreso because I use them rather than because others do, except mate which is pretty ubiquitous.

It's surprising to see how little 'Bloody oath' is used. I thought it was more widely used that what it appears to be here.

1. Where are you from?

- G'day
- Oi
- Cobber
- Bloody oath
- Bloody hell
- Bloke
- Mate
- No worries
- Ta

1: Sydney

2:
hear:
all the time = bloke, mate, no worries, ta. Oi
at least once a week = bloody/******* hell, bloody/******* oath
once a month or so at the pub- G'day

cobber i only hear when used to take the piss out of Australian slang.

Say:
All the time: Mate, bloke, no worries, Oi
occasionally: Bloody/******* hell
seldom: Bloody/******* oath
all most never: cobber, G'day, ta

1. Where are you from?
Straya

- G'day - rarely
- Oi - rarely
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - occasionally
- Bloody hell - occasionally
- Bloke - sometimes
- Mate - rarely
- No worries - sometimes
- Ta - occasionally

Some interesting stuff here.

For the record:

- G'day: Every day
- Oi: Commonly
- Cobber: Very rarely (but someone called me it today, which sparked this thread :p )
- Bloody oath: Commonly
- Bloody hell: Every day
- Bloke: Every day
- Mate: Every day
- No worries: Every day
- Ta: Commonly

1. Where are you from? Adelaide

- G'day (never)
- Oi (never)
- Cobber (ugh - never)
- Bloody oath (rarely)
- Bloody hell (often)
- Bloke (never)
- Mate (rarely, often without meaning to)
- No worries (too much for my liking, I say more as a reflex)
- Ta (often)

1. Where are you from?

- G'day
- Oi
- Cobber
- Bloody oath
- Bloody hell
- Bloke
- Mate
- No worries
- Ta

Perth. All of them except Cobber in common usage. Bloody is often replaced with the F-word.

This is the correct answer. Although I do say cobber ironically quite a bit.

From SA

How often do you use the following terms?

- misso
- fingerbash
- durry
- cooked
- sheila
- rum bum

1. Where are you from? Central Victoria currently Frankston

I use all of them a lot except for cobber.

How often do you use the following terms?

- misso
- fingerbash
- durry
- cooked
- sheila
- rum bum

Every day, often in the one sentence. ;)

i use 'yo' instead of 'oi', 'for *'s sake' instead of 'bloody hell' and 'too easy' instead of 'no worries'.

someone said 'no wokkas' to me one day and ruined 'no worries' for me.

'ta' was the only phase i had to consciously be aware of when i was in the states last. in my experience, most yanks tend to mistake it for something akin to a tourette's involuntary vocalisation.

1. Where are you from?

- G'day
- Oi
- Cobber
- Bloody oath
- Bloody hell
- Bloke
- Mate
- No worries
- Ta

From Geelong but currently living in WA.

G'day - all the time

Oi - only to yell at the kids and get their attention, I've never used it in the sense of Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi.

Cobber - haven't used since I was ordering lollies at the milk bar in the 70s. Also known as Mates. They were either 1c or 2c each while the other lollies were 1/2c or 1c respectively.

Bloody Oath - rarely, tend to use My Oath more.

Bloody Hell - not often. It's about as course as I'll go in front of my kids.

Bloke - Often

Mate - All the time

No Worries - All the time

Ta - not that often, prefer thanks or thankyou.

1. Where are you from? Country Victoria

- G'day (sometimes)
- Oi (never)
- Cobber (never use or hear)
- Bloody oath (rarely)
- Bloody hell (rarely)
- Bloke (sometimes)
- Mate (frequently)
- No worries (frequently)
- Ta (never, though my parents use it a lot)

1. Where are you from?
Western Sydney via Canberra & Melbourne

- G'day - daily
- Oi - regularly
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - never
- Bloody hell - regularly
- Bloke - regularly
- Mate - daily
- No worries - daily
- Ta rarely