How often do you use these Australian words?

IschenkoUBeauty

Suspended
Apr 18, 2014
One of my favourite ones that used to get used on us as kids:

GET TO BUGGERY!!

And I'd ask - "where is buggery??"

:D

kfc1

Oct 27, 2010
11034205_1823431021038127_4738609670575858299_n.png

CLUBMEDhurst

Sep 23, 2008
Under the moonlight, the serious moonlight
Man City
1. Where are you from?

Melbin

2. How often do you use/hear the following words or phrases?

- G'day - often
- Oi - never
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - occasionally
- Bloody hell - occasionally
- Bloke - almost always (a distinction from the American "guy")
- Mate - occasionaly
- No worries - always
- Ta - often

Tend to use other Oz colloquialisms

Reckon (as oppposed to guess)
Durry
Buckley's
Dunny
Whaddaya think this is, Bush Week? (a fave of the ol' man's)
Bogan Dust - amphetamines

Then there's some slang which I believe (could be wrong) is very localised to Melb's Western Suburbs

Smidge - speed
Dan Milecki - ecstacy tablet (ecstasy eccy)
Yvonne Goolagong - Bong

Jan 13, 2001
Waiting at the door for the pub to reopen
Brisbane Lions
Man City
I figure BigFooty has a fairly widespread usage across Australia, so I want to know:

1. Where are you from?
Country Victoria as a kid, Melbourne as teenager

- G'day - regularly
- Oi - rarely, but have been known to use it when someone is doing something stupid
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - never
- Bloody hell - never
- Bloke - occasionally
- Mate - regularly
- No worries - all the time
- Ta - all the time.

Hoops

Jul 30, 2004
Forever in contention
Vixens
1. Where are you from?
Country Vic, now Melbourne

- G'day - almost always
- Oi - not sure, can't remeber having said it unless I caught someone doing something wrong
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - sometimes
- Bloody hell - regularly
- Bloke - regularly
- Mate - almost always
- No worries - almost always
- Ta - almost always[/QUOTE]

Engimal

10k Posts North Melbourne - 2018 Luke Davies-Uniacke and Paul Ahern Player Sponsor Pantskyle Minecraft Shiny Penny Ruby
Apr 27, 2010
Tasmania
Another one that has surprised me in this thread is use of the word 'oi'. I thought it was a lot more common than it appears to be in this thread.

SEN_Fan

Nov 2, 2014

- G'day - Everyday
- Oi - Everyday
- Cobber - Rarely
- Bloody oath -Rarely
- Bloody hell - Often
- Bloke - Everyday
- Mate - Everyday
- No worries - Everyday
- Ta - Often

placebo

May 27, 2007
Where am I from: Perth

- G'day - Never
- Oi - Never
- Cobber - Seriously? Never
- Bloody oath - Never
- Bloody hell - Rarely but sometimes.
- Bloke - Only ever in mocking/jesting tones.
- Mate - Sometimes
- No worries - Sometimes, but not a lot.
- Ta - Never

Ron The Bear

Up yer arse, AFL
30k Posts 10k Posts
Jul 4, 2006
1. Where are you from? Melbourne

G'day
- frequently
Oi - rarely
Cobber - never
Bloody oath - occasionally
Bloody hell - regularly
Bloke - frequently
Mate - frequently
No worries - frequently
Ta - frequently

kfc1

Oct 27, 2010
There is a place called Mount Buggery. Think its in SA?
Edit: actually there is two of them, both in NE Vic

May 30, 2006
Canberra
It's surprising to see how little 'Bloody oath' is used. I thought it was more widely used that what it appears to be here.
I think "bloody" has gone out of use a lot with the decreasing shock value of the f-bomb. Its more of an f-firecracker these days. Also with American cultural imperialism having totally replaced British imperialism. The last of the generations to use "bloody" in a widespread manner are now bloody old.

IschenkoUBeauty

Suspended
Apr 18, 2014
I think "bloody" has gone out of use a lot with the decreasing shock value of the f-bomb. Its more of an f-firecracker these days. Also with American cultural imperialism having totally replaced British imperialism. The last of the generations to use "bloody" in a widespread manner are now bloody old.
It's all about "seriouslllllllllyyyyyyy" and "and liiike, and like, and like, and like" these days.

Ashton Agar

10k Posts
Jul 20, 2013
Test Cricket
LIVERPOOL, Sydney FC, Nottm Forest
1. Where are you from?
Melbourne all my life

- G'day - Often
- Oi - Very often
- Cobber - Never
- Bloody oath - Rarely
- Bloody hell - Very often
- Bloke - Everyday
- Mate - Everyday
- No worries - Very often
- Ta - Never, I often say cheers

Sep 30, 2003
Bunvegas
WA, Australia
1. Where are you from?

Perth, currently residing in the WA Goldfields.

- G'day - use and hear all the time
- Oi - use and hear all the time
- Cobber - rarely hear cobber, mates occasionally use "cob".
- Bloody oath - use and hear all the time.
- Bloody hell - less than bloody oath, although still fairly common.
- Bloke - use and hear all the time.
- Mate - use and hear all the time
- No worries - use and hear all the time
- Ta - I use it all the time, but rarely seem to hear it.

"Have a gander" for "have a look" is one I seem to have picked up from my old man that almost no-one else seems to use. No idea where it comes from.

1. Where are you from? Melbourne

- G'day :thumbsu:
- Oi :thumbsdown:
- Cobber :thumbsdown:
- Bloody oath :thumbsu:
- Bloody hell (f'ing hell :thumbsu:)
- Bloke :thumbsdown:
- Mate :thumbsu:
- No worries :thumbsu:
- Ta :thumbsu:
I use "g'day mate" numerous times a day.

I travel a lot for work and find "cobber" is widely used in Tasmania.

Simple Jack

Jan 25, 2011
Webber, Ricciardo, NE Patriots
1. Where are you from?
Melbourne, lived OS for a bit but not in any other Aus city. And I absolutely hate the country so I'd probably be on the less used end but:

- G'day - sometimes.
- Oi - never.
- Cobber - never. Literally never heard anyone use this in a serious manner.
- Bloody oath - rarely.
- Bloody hell - occasionally.
- Bloke - sometimes.
- Mate - regularly.
- No worries - frequently.
- Ta - never.