Unofficial Preview Interstater's Survival Guide to Adelaide - [Finals Edition]

Ahhh fantastic, the lion seems the go-er. Write up is much appreciated mate. Although 50c wings... good lord i could do some damage.
They are amazing man, it's always the place I go before every game if that says anything.

Have to make sure you get there 2 hours before though, as they can take a bit of time to come out sometimes. But man, yeah, that's where I would say to go.

The Lion isn't a bad second option though.

another quaint pub on the way to the oval is the British, and then there is the Cathedral, you will not have any lack of watering holes

They are amazing man, it's always the place I go before every game if that says anything.

Have to make sure you get there 2 hours before though, as they can take a bit of time to come out sometimes. But man, yeah, that's where I would say to go.

The Lion isn't a bad second option though.
Sounds like a plan. Great work mate cheers, Were coming up on sat so will definately give them both a look in. The aftermath of the poor hotel dunny after 50c wings will be something to fear. Lol.

another quaint pub on the way to the oval is the British, and then there is the Cathedral, you will not have any lack of watering holes

I was gonna throw in the British also. Very old historic pub, heaps chilled. Love drinking in the fireplace room. Had an excellent Paella there recently as well as good steaks.

View attachment 77212
To the Right of the Screen: Hackney Hotel - Good bar, but out of the way if you're only around for a day or two.
Black Circle: Lord Melbourne Hotel - simple bar, but fairly cheap beers and a good place for a casual brew.
Red Circle: Butterfingers - Adelaides best pies, delish desserts and stuff like that.
Orange Circle: The Lion Hotel - Really good pub food, especially in the restaraunt. Good choice of beers as well. Goes alright on a weekend night also. Generally some pretty bangin' girls there. A little upperclass though sometimes (North Adelaide is a bit poshy in some places). Nice bar though.
Blue Circle: The Curious Squire - my choice of bars. 50 cent wings two hours before the game as well, and $5 pints of James Squire beers. Wicked outdoor area aswell. Get there early though for a table.
Purple Circle: Burgerstronomy - one of the better burger places in Adelaide. Their BBQ Bacon Chicken Burger is amazing. It's like KFC on crack.
Pink Circle: Queens Head Hotel - good place for a brew on the way to the oval if you decide to stop past the Curious Squire. As you can see, its a minute walk to the oval from there.

Quality reply.

I CANT BELIEVE YOU'RE NOT LETTING US WEAR OUR GUERNSEYS
TROY CHAPLIN AMIRITE
MATT WHITE > YOUR LIST

Hope that helps bring things back to normal for you mate

couple of tiger mates say they are heading to Caos Bar before the game. Looks a bit wanky on their FB site.
Adelaidians? I am warming to the Austral and then the white marquee.
I had actually never heard of it until you just mentioned it.

Going off of the two 'friends' who like it from my page, it doesn't give me hope that it's a good venue for people like us. Looks pretty average.

Austral and White Marquee are good choices imo, but yeah, Caos could be good if you want to be a hipster and a get a butter chicken wrap for some reason

I had actually never heard of it until you just mentioned it.

Going off of the two 'friends' who like it from my page, it doesn't give me hope that it's a good venue for people like us. Looks pretty average.

Austral and White Marquee are good choices imo, but yeah, Caos could be good if you want to be a hipster and a get a butter chicken wrap for some reason
Eating is cheating mate. Liquid lunch for me.

haha I am concerned for what I may find in this thread about insulting us Adelaidians, but I won't look, and instead will try and offer as much advice as I can.

Where to Stay:

The great thing about Adelaide Oval, is how accessible it is in comparison to AAMI Stadium. It's an easy walk from basically anywhere in the city, a tram from Glenelg, a Train from anywhere in Adelaide, or a Bus.

All Public Transport is free with a Ticket to the Game.

If I was coming to the game, I would look to stay at one of:

Glenelg ($15-20 Cab from the Airport) (Beach, Babes, Pubs, Good Food etc)
Stay: The Grand Hotel
Transport: You can get one tram from Glenelg to the City, its about a 20-30 minute Tram. Get an early one, they will be packed. Glenelg is the first stop though so you should be able to get a seat.
Eat: Pure on Jetty Road is delish. It's a Coffee Shop, but also does Sliders, Boutique Food, Boutique Beers and a good selection of wines. Rated in the Top 50 Cafes around the world. There are also a heap of places along Jetty Road, so you will have plenty of choices.
Pubs: Jetty Bar if you just want a casual beer, the seats along Jetty Road are good if you can get there early. The Dublin is also alright, but may be closed for renovations at the moment.

North Adelaide ($20-25 Cab from the Airport) (10 Minute walk to the Oval, Best Pubs, Best Food)
Stay: There are a bunch of apartments around North Adelaide, so that is what I would be looking at
Transport: Walk to either the City, or the Oval. It's not far at all. There is a bus that runs along Prospect Road/O'Connell St if you stay near there, and another that runs down Melbourne Street if you stay there. My preference would be to stay nearer Prospect Road/O'Connell St.
Eat: Melbourne St - The Lion Hotel for a Pub, Butterfingers for a casual lunch/coffee.
O'Connell St - Heaps of places, honestly, go for a walk. But The Curious Squire is our James Squires pub, and they do a great American BBQ and amazing wings and ribs. There is also a street-asian style place near by which is wicked, and cheap. Can't remember its name - but hard to miss.
Pubs: As above, either the Curious Squire, or Lion Hotel would be my choices. Good pubs.

City: ($20-25 Cab from the Airport)
Stay: So many choices, so really, just pick within your budget. Near North Terrace is probably advisable.
Transport: Walk if you are near the oval, or the Tram runs straight down King William St near the oval.
Eat: So many places. Street ADL on Rundle St is really good, Jack Rubys is also really good on King William if you like your burgers. The Strathmore is good and close to the oval, they also do a StoneGrill if that kind of thing is your biz.
Pubs: Hindley St after the game if you like getting sloshed, Rundle St is your better choice if you're more keen for a slightly quieter one away from the oval a little (less dickheads), or the Casino will be packed and is a quick walk away.

If you get the chance, check out the Barrosa Valley if you are down here for the weekend, it's an hour or so drive away. Some of the worlds best wineries and food.

Anything I can help with, let me know.
444 Prospect Road????

What about the Dog & Duck for pregame for a while? Austrel and Union are closed Sundays.

Went to the union for $6 pizzas last night. Quality.

Recon Rundle st or North Adelaide pre-game. Only guessing but North adelaide (and the pubs closer no north tce) will probably be more of a footy crowd than the Austrel, Exeter, Stag etc on Rundle St.

I CANT BELIEVE YOU'RE NOT LETTING US WEAR OUR GUERNSEYS
TROY CHAPLIN AMIRITE
MATT WHITE > YOUR LIST

Hope that helps bring things back to normal for you mate
Nope. I still like you.

Assuming the white marquee has big screens to watch the game that would be the place to go, able to hear the roar of the crowd, particularly special for you guys if the Tigers are up.

Otherwise I usually go to the Rosemont Sports Bar on Hindley Street to watch games, plenty of screens and space to enjoy the game. Upstairs at the casino also has big screens. Both are within easy walking distance to Adelaide Oval so if Richmond win you can wander over to join the celebrations!

Bay 122 around from Port Cheer Squad
Staying at The Hotel Metropoliatan. Anyone locally know anything about that?

I've never stayed there so i can't tell you about the accommodation side of things but it's a very cool old pub and i reckon would be a good place to stay. A short walk through the famous Cental Market and/or on to Gouger street for a large array of Asian cuisine and fine dining. Not a bad place to be on a Satdy night either.