Jed Adcock and Brisbane Lions Part Ways

Dec 1, 2013
Brisbane Lions
Footy people don't make excuses for injuries because they need to play to the media spin. The reality is injuries are the primary reason we have had such a horrible year. Yes we have had some big ins from trading but we have had a fraction of that class out on the field at any one time.
If Hawthorn copped an injury run like ours this year (Or like the Suns, or the pies last year) their year would be completely shot. A lot of luck involved when building dynasties.
Maybe Hawthorn wasn't the best 1 to compare as they had a big injury list last year and were still very good.

Sep 8, 2004
Brisbane Lions
Everyone else has to play with injuries, it is no excuse imo
Here is what I would argue was our best 22 at the start of the year (and games missed out of 20).

FB: Gardiner (12), Merrett (12), Harwood (17)
HB: Adcock (1), Clarke (2), Rich (1)
C: Hanley (11), D Beams (4), Zorko (0)
HF: Taylor (0), Staker (14), Robinson (1)
FF: Green (6), Freeman (16), McStay (2)
R: Martin (2), Rockliff (6*), Redden (3)
I: Christensen (0), C Beams (12), Mayes (8), Paparone (0)
EMG: Bewick (6), Leuenberger (6), Aish (9)

McGuane (17), Close (19), Maguire (18), West (18)

*Whilst Rockliff only missed 6 games, three games he played ended with broken ribs (twice) and a concussion (in the opening minute).

We have been massacred by injuries.

We've been without talls all year; and all our backup talls also succumbed.

Add Christensen coming off no preseason (and a serious back injury); Rich coming off an ACL; Hanley and Rockliff missing the same half of the season - we have not taken a trick.

Injuries not an excuse? Get a grip.

AFLQLD

Jul 15, 2012
Brisbane Lions
There are other teams?
Schraderbrau, don't take this the wrong way mate because you are always quite respectful and reasonable, even if you have opinions different from most on our board. So you are welcome.

But, you spend a lot of time here and, I am curious...is everything OK for you at home on the Collingwood board? It's just that you seem to be here at all hours. I feel like we should put out another place setting at dinner for you most days lately.

As I said, you are welcome, so come back any time while you deliver your opinions sensibly and thoughtfully. But don't the folks back home wonder where you are? Or do you just enjoy our company more?

Oct 20, 2012
Brisbane Lions
Everyone else has to play with injuries, it is no excuse imo
if you take a look at ours you would know how bad it was

you had next to no injuries and still had a bloody rubbish season so maybe look into your own backyard rather than ours.

you need to let go of 2002 and 2003 and of dayne beams and just leave

mods im all for our own supporters breaking down our clubs issues, but honestly sick of seeing uninformed opposition flogs coming in here for a cheapshot at our club

Schache It Off

Sep 20, 2008
Brisbane Lions
Taylor Swift
if you take a look at ours you would know how bad it was

you had next to no injuries and still had a bloody rubbish season so maybe look into your own backyard rather than ours.

you need to let go of 2002 and 2003 and of dayne beams and just leave

mods im all for our own supporters breaking down our clubs issues, but honestly sick of seeing uninformed opposition flogs coming in here for a cheapshot at our club
I think Schraderbrau is trolling subtly. Used the steak knives comment before also, clear reference to Crisp and Beams....Don't get why he is on our board, did he get banned on every single one bar us?

Sherrinator

Dec 1, 2004
SEQLD
Brisbane Lions
BBFFC, Southport AFC
Schraderbrau is simply trying to bring balance to the board. A bit like what the liberals are trying to do to the ABC.

Expect the forum to be privatised after next election.

Last of the Roys

Sep 5, 2007
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy Football Club
For the hell of it (and because I find our history interesting) I looked up how many times a Lions/Bears/Fitzroy captain had to finish their VFL/AFL career at another VFL/AFL club. The overall answer is that (including Adcock, assuming he is picked up) - it has happened to 11 out of the 54 captains over the history of our combined clubs.

Here are the details:

For the Lions, if we assume Adcock gets picked up by another club, it will be the second time out of the 9 captains we have had (doesn't include acting captains obviously, but does include co-captains - remember our captains have been Lynch, Voss, Black / Power / Lappin / Johnson / Brown, Adcock, Rockliff):
  1. Luke Power - co-captain in 2007-08, was forced to play the last year of his career at GWS in 2012 when we indicated he was no longer certain of being top 22 (like Jed).
  2. Jed Adcock - co-captain 2013, sole captain 2014 - ??? (I think it is almost certain that he will be picked up by another club to play out his career)
Brisbane Bears - surprisingly to me only ever had two captains (I thought there would have been more from the early years) - Mark Mickan and Roger Merrett (of course) - the former left for another club:
  1. Mark Mickan - captain 1987-1990 - went to Adelaide to play from 1991 onwards. I am not certain, but I assume this was his choice, like a number of SA players who went home when Adelaide joined the AFL.
Fitzroy - had 43 captains / co-captains from 1897 to 1996 in terms of our 100 seasons in the VFL/AFL. 8 of those captains played out their careers at other VFL/AFL clubs.
  1. Jim Sharp - captain 1908-1910, went to Collingwood in 1911
  2. Billy Adams - captain in 1926, went to Melbourne in 1931
  3. Colin Niven - captain in 1930-31, went to Melbourne in 1933
  4. Jack Cashman - was apparently captain coach for all of 2 games in 1934 before resigning as he thought the Club's committee were against him, he then got a clearance to play for Carlton
  5. John Murphy - captain 1973-1977 - apparently the Club didn't take kindly to him commenting publicly about players we needed to offload (although there was probably more to it than that - Fitzroy was of course getting towards the end of our longest run without a finals appearance, and Murphy was pretty much vindicated a couple of years later when the Club went out and got some better players from other teams). Because of the dispute he was forced to go to South Melbourne in 1978.
  6. Matt Rendall - captain 1985-87, retired at the end of 1991 but was convinced to play one more year by the Brisbane Bears in 1992.
  7. Richard Osborne - captain in 1991 - I thinked he got annoyed when the captaincy was taken off him and given back to Roos after just one year. He decided to go to Sydney in 1993.
  8. Paul Roos - captain 1988-90 and 1992-94 - jumped ship to Sydney at the end of 1994 when the writing of Fitzroy's demise was well and truly on the wall. I still remember as a teenager the day Roosy quit was devastating - I tore the number 1 of the back of my jumper and cut it into pieces. It was clearest signal that Fitzroy was dying. I remember calling him 'Traitor' when Sydney played the Roys in Melbourne in 1995. But after a few years I had forgiven him - he was Fitzroy's last Messiah, but even he couldn't save us - no doubt what he did was clearly in the best interest of himself and his family. Fitzroy - for the players at least - was a shocking environment to be around at the end.
Four other Fitzroy captains went to play at WAFL / SANFL clubs. Hadyn Bunton Senior of course - he was captain in 1932 and 1936-37, winning 3 Brownlows (and I think just missing a fourth) before heading to Subiaco in 1938 and winning 3 Sandover medals to be without doubt (IMHO) the greatest footballer of all time. Not sure exactly why he left Fitzroy - probably better money / security and lack of success - Fitzroy was struggling big time during Bunton's period at the Club. Apparently Bunton played a few games for Fitzroy in 1942, and then actually played a season at Port Adelaide in 1945.

Kevin Murray was the Roys captain between 1963-64 before becoming captain-coach at East Perth in 1965-66, then coming back to captain Fitzroy from 1967-74 (the last stint included winning his Brownlow in 1969). Again not exactly sure why he left Fitzroy for a period, but it was probably similar to Bunton - Fitzroy were in the worst position in the Club's history at the time.

The other two were Ron Alexander - captain 1979-80, who went home to East Fremantle in 1982; and Jack Sexton who was captain in 1932-33 and went home to play for Norwood in 1935.

ColdWarWarrior

Jun 28, 2015
Brisbane Lions
After todays effort you can see why they are partings ways. 4 touches when he has everything to play for including impressing potential new employers.

Last of the Roys

Sep 5, 2007
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy Football Club
After todays effort you can see why they are partings ways. 4 touches when he has everything to play for including impressing potential new employers.

I admit that Jed has been below par this year, and was again on the weekend. However, we are asking him to play a specialised role in the forward line every week - basically as defending forward. He hasn't been his usually aggressive self all year - but you have admit it is a huge change to what he has been asked to do in previous years.

Also it must incredibly hard / frustrating to play on the Lions forward line this year. Against the Hawks we had just 39 entries I think despite winning the clearances and contested possessions. In the modern game defenders already get a lot more of the ball than forwards, but that is just taken up a notch in our team with the slow movement in the back line compounding the problems.

I would have preferred if we kept Jed in the role he played last year, which he was pretty good at. Obviously we have made a decision to go down a different path.

By the way it also must be pretty difficult playing in a side where the coach / Club has said they don't see a role for you next year. Despite what he may or may not have to play for, that has to knock your confidence big time regardless of your age.

ColdWarWarrior

Jun 28, 2015
Brisbane Lions
Im reading rumours Jed has been approached by Gold Coast. Could be a good fit given his experience and he still has a few years in him.

Not sure I get that, they've got Malceski and Kolodjashnij as their rebounding defenders with a few others who could slot in there that I'd expect to be ahead of Adcock.

In saying that, I believe Jed has just gotten his kid into a good school up here, so it's entirely possible he doesn't want to move interstate and the Suns are happy to give him a shot.