Rumour Johnathan Patton, Seen at the Whitten oval.

Pick 18-24 LOL.
Aside from being one of Horse's faves he recently bought a house with the money from the 5 year deal he signed 2 years ago.
In which city? ;)

Pick 18-24 LOL.
Aside from being one of Horse's faves he recently bought a house with the money from the 5 year deal he signed 2 years ago.

That seals it.. No-one, in the history of the universe has ever bought and then sold, a house... Or even bought an investment property....

Case closed...

Yeah, yeah, never trust what a player says, they always say all the right things for PR's sake etc. etc. etc. why is it, though, that we can't sometimes take a person at his or her word?

But I reckon Patton is staying.

Malcolm Conn - Daily Telegraph, for what it's worth.

SORRY Victorian AFL clubs, Jon Patton hates the Melbourne weather.

Patton, 21, is the latest GWS star to shun speculation that he will be poached by a southern club but made it clear after another sunny training day that he is now a Sydney boy.

“It (Sydney) is a good place to live and when I go down to Melbourne it’s pretty cold, so I don’t know about that,” said Patton, who still has 16 months of his contract to run.

The young gun forward claimed suggestions that cash-strapped Western Bulldogs were planning to offer him $900,00 a year, had “gone in one ear and out the other’’.

Earlier in the season it was fellow goalkicking star Jeremy Cameron who was surprised to read one morning that he could be leaving the Giants, a claim Cameron quickly denied.

631987-763f1b1e-2385-11e4-9066-0beb7f687196.jpg

Jonathan Patton is hot property in Victoria. Picture: Jono Searle.

Patton’s love of the NSW capital is not limited to sunny days but he will be reminded of the weather again this Sunday when the Giants play Melbourne at the MCG in a battle to avoid the wooden spoon.

“A lot of guys down in Melbourne are in that bubble of AFL. Here you can really get away from it,” Patton said.

“The weather is really good, I’ve barely had a winter. I’m down at the beach most days off. It’s a good place mate.”

Not only does Patton feel an affinity with Sydney, he is grateful to GWS for the way they have looked after him through serious knee problems during his initial two seasons after he was the first Giant ever drafted.

“It’s something that I can always look back on and be proud of, to be the first pick of the first (GWS) draft,” Patton said.

“I’m grateful that the Giants put their trust in me, drafted me and believed in me, especially since when I first got here they sent me over to Sweden (for specialised knee surgery).

“I not sure if I would have had that if I was at another club.

“I definitely feel like I need to give back, especially after the first two years with what I went through and how patient they were with me.

“They never rushed me with anything and they always listened to me, listened to my body and didn’t pressure me to do more than what I was capable of at the time.

“You always keep those things in mind. They’ve treated me amazingly at the club.”

Patton is part of a talented young core of future champions who have been given opportunities beyond their years at the start-up club, with an increasing number of his 21-year-old mates already notching 50 games.

“Coming into this season I was thinking I have only played 10 games in my first two seasons but I’ve got a good friend at another club who has only played three and he’s been healthy the whole time.

“You have to put in that perspective. We’re lucky enough to play each week if we’re not injured but at a Hawthorn or a Geelong you’re up against 25 to 30-year-olds.”

Yeah, yeah, never trust what a player says, they always say all the right things for PR's sake etc. etc. etc. whyisit, though, that we can't sometimes take a person at his or her word?

But I reckon Patton is staying.

SORRY Victorian AFL clubs, Jon Patton hates the Melbourne weather.

Patton, 21, is the latest GWS star to shun speculation that he will be poached by a southern club but made it clear after another sunny training day that he is now a Sydney boy.

“It (Sydney) is a good place to live and when I go down to Melbourne it’s pretty cold, so I don’t know about that,” said Patton, who still has 16 months of his contract to run.

The young gun forward claimed suggestions that cash-strapped Western Bulldogs were planning to offer him $900,00 a year, had “gone in one ear and out the other’’.

Earlier in the season it was fellow goalkicking star Jeremy Cameron who was surprised to read one morning that he could be leaving the Giants, a claim Cameron quickly denied.

631987-763f1b1e-2385-11e4-9066-0beb7f687196.jpg

Jonathan Patton is hot property in Victoria. Picture: Jono Searle.

Patton’s love of the NSW capital is not limited to sunny days but he will be reminded of the weather again this Sunday when the Giants play Melbourne at the MCG in a battle to avoid the wooden spoon.

“A lot of guys down in Melbourne are in that bubble of AFL. Here you can really get away from it,” Patton said.

“The weather is really good, I’ve barely had a winter. I’m down at the beach most days off. It’s a good place mate.”

Not only does Patton feel an affinity with Sydney, he is grateful to GWS for the way they have looked after him through serious knee problems during his initial two seasons after he was the first Giant ever drafted.

“It’s something that I can always look back on and be proud of, to be the first pick of the first (GWS) draft,” Patton said.

“I’m grateful that the Giants put their trust in me, drafted me and believed in me, especially since when I first got here they sent me over to Sweden (for specialised knee surgery).

“I not sure if I would have had that if I was at another club.

“I definitely feel like I need to give back, especially after the first two years with what I went through and how patient they were with me.

“They never rushed me with anything and they always listened to me, listened to my body and didn’t pressure me to do more than what I was capable of at the time.

“You always keep those things in mind. They’ve treated me amazingly at the club.”

Patton is part of a talented young core of future champions who have been given opportunities beyond their years at the start-up club, with an increasing number of his 21-year-old mates already notching 50 games.

“Coming into this season I was thinking I have only played 10 games in my first two seasons but I’ve got a good friend at another club who has only played three and he’s been healthy the whole time.

“You have to put in that perspective. We’re lucky enough to play each week if we’re not injured but at a Hawthorn or a Geelong you’re up against 25 to 30-year-olds.”

interesting, as I heard he said it 'went in one ear and straight to the hip pocket'....

Crazy stuff....

In which city? ;)
That seals it.. No-one, in the history of the universe has ever bought and then sold, a house... Or even bought an investment property....

Case closed...
You don't think he can sell a house?

Ever heard of a coach trading one of his favourite players?:rolleyes:
Ever heard of a club signing a kid on a long term deal and trading them less than half way through said deal?:confused:
Ever heard of a club trading a KP player who has had years of development, that is already a premiership player, for an unknown quantity in the draft?o_O

High draft picks are over rated, just ask Carlton and Melbourne.

Ever heard of a coach trading one of his favourite players?:rolleyes:
Ever heard of a club signing a kid on a long term deal and trading them less than half way through said deal?:confused:
Ever heard of a club trading a KP player who has had years of development, that is already a premiership player, for an unknown quantity in the draft?o_O

High draft picks are over rated, just ask Carlton and Melbourne.

I don't think you answered my question.

Probably got offered the same at the Giants. 7 years ive heard. So why leave?

Speaking generally, it wouldnt surprise me at all if GWS ended up offering long contracts with escalator clauses ie Patton gets 7 years at 400k, but that gets bumped up if he achieves agreed goals.

Probably got offered the same at the Giants. 7 years ive heard. So why leave?
And thats the plan, if you have to match that offer to keep Patton. We'll throw it at Cameron, you'll have to match that too. and then Boyd. Can you really afford to tie up 3mil in the cap on 3 forwards? Not to mention teams will throw big offers at your midfielders too. No doubt a lot of them would be happy and will sign on but the GWS supporters going around speaking like theres absolutely no chance you lose anyone, are ridiculous. Its inevitable, GWS just have to make sure they get well compensated and keep most of the ones they want to keep.

FWIW we've heard from some very good sources that a deal was very close to going through last year for pick 4 + Wood, very very glad it didnt.

Also for the guys saying why cant we just believe Pattons article, this was just 3 months before Ward ****ed off to GWS, 3 months!!

A LIFELONG affinity with Melbourne's western suburbs and a close family connection are likely to ensure Callan Ward rejects Greater Western Sydney and commits to a long-term future with the Western Bulldogs.

Despite his manager Paul Connors suggesting last week the 21-year-old might have to sacrifice up to $2 million to remain loyal to his club, Ward confirmed this week he wanted to secure a deal with the Bulldogs.

"I've loved the club ever since I started here," Ward said. "I was born in the western suburbs and I want to stay here.

"I see no reason to move. I just want to work out a deal with the Dogs and hopefully move on."

Ward said ideally he would have a new deal sorted out "sooner rather than later", but was not concerned about talk regarding his future.

"I try not to think about it too much, but it is hard to take it off my mind completely," he said. "I get a lot of texts and questions from my friends. They are all supportive. They know I am just concentrating on my football at the moment.

"The facilities (at the Western Bulldogs) are as good as they are anywhere in the competition.

"There is not really much more that you would want in a football club."

Although he was an Essendon fan as a kid, Ward is as close to a home-bred Dog as you can get.

He grew up in Spotswood, spent some time living in Yarraville and played for the Western Jets in the under-18s before being drafted by the Bulldogs as pick No.19 in the 2007 national draft. Just over 12 months ago he bought a house in Altona North and said he planned to stay in the area.

"I just can't ask for much more," Ward said. "I got to stay close to my family and friends, and to play for the Bulldogs."

His sisters - twin Aysha, Mickayla, 24, and Kiandra, 26 - and parents, Greg and Kerri, also live in the western suburbs.

"My family has been so supportive of me over the years," Ward said.

"My parents split up when I was about 14 and, for about two years, I was kind of swapping between their homes every four days.

"At one stage they were living about 200m from each other, so it wasn't too bad. Mum comes to every game, and my sisters come a fair bit. Dad has taught me a lot about footy over the years."

So yes, Patton saying that s**t might be truly how he feels, but it definitely does not mean there is no chance of anything happening.

And thats the plan, if you have to match that offer to keep Patton. We'll throw it at Cameron, you'll have to match that too. and then Boyd. Can you really afford to tie up 3mil in the cap on 3 forwards? Not to mention teams will throw big offers at your midfielders too. No doubt a lot of them would be happy and will sign on but the GWS supporters going around speaking like theres absolutely no chance you lose anyone, are ridiculous. Its inevitable, GWS just have to make sure they get well compensated and keep most of the ones they want to keep.

FWIW we've heard from some very good sources that a deal was very close to going through last year for pick 4 + Wood, very very glad it didnt.
No one has said we wont lose anyone. Calm down

Also for the guys saying why cant we just believe Pattons article, this was just 3 months before Ward ****** off to GWS, 3 months!!

A LIFELONG affinity with Melbourne's western suburbs and a close family connection are likely to ensure Callan Ward rejects Greater Western Sydney and commits to a long-term future with the Western Bulldogs.

Despite his manager Paul Connors suggesting last week the 21-year-old might have to sacrifice up to $2 million to remain loyal to his club, Ward confirmed this week he wanted to secure a deal with the Bulldogs.

"I've loved the club ever since I started here," Ward said. "I was born in the western suburbs and I want to stay here.

"I see no reason to move. I just want to work out a deal with the Dogs and hopefully move on."

Ward said ideally he would have a new deal sorted out "sooner rather than later", but was not concerned about talk regarding his future.

"I try not to think about it too much, but it is hard to take it off my mind completely," he said. "I get a lot of texts and questions from my friends. They are all supportive. They know I am just concentrating on my football at the moment.

"The facilities (at the Western Bulldogs) are as good as they are anywhere in the competition.

"There is not really much more that you would want in a football club."

Although he was an Essendon fan as a kid, Ward is as close to a home-bred Dog as you can get.

He grew up in Spotswood, spent some time living in Yarraville and played for the Western Jets in the under-18s before being drafted by the Bulldogs as pick No.19 in the 2007 national draft. Just over 12 months ago he bought a house in Altona North and said he planned to stay in the area.

"I just can't ask for much more," Ward said. "I got to stay close to my family and friends, and to play for the Bulldogs."

His sisters - twin Aysha, Mickayla, 24, and Kiandra, 26 - and parents, Greg and Kerri, also live in the western suburbs.

"My family has been so supportive of me over the years," Ward said.

"My parents split up when I was about 14 and, for about two years, I was kind of swapping between their homes every four days.

"At one stage they were living about 200m from each other, so it wasn't too bad. Mum comes to every game, and my sisters come a fair bit. Dad has taught me a lot about footy over the years."

So yes, Patton saying that s**t might be truly how he feels, but it definitely does not mean there is no chance of anything happening.
Manager saying he would lose 2 mil should of been a giveaway.
We will lose players. No doubt. But am yet to see anywhere where Patton or his manager have even hinted it.

Lol every single thread about any GWS player, multiple gws supporters come running in crying "hes not going anywhere". every one

Pretty easy to say when the 4 threads are jezza, patton, shiel and boyd.
4 stars, 3 of which are hopefully the basis for our club going forward. If we started threads on the top 3 stars at the dogs my guess is the same would happen with doggie supporters
Plus if you read the comments. Its just asking for more info on these "rumours" that have been heard from fathers sisters cousins.

Yeah, yeah, never trust what a player says, they always say all the right things for PR's sake etc. etc. etc. why is it, though, that we can't sometimes take a person at his or her word?

I don't reckon you'll lose Patton. You'll pay overs IMO if needed, but I don't see Patton demanding overs either.

But as for taking players at their word - classic example, relevant to expansion clubs http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-new...could-be-a-demon-for-life-20110304-1bh2z.html

"I've got absolutely nothing to hide, and I thought I should come out and say something.

"I love the club, I love my teammates and I want to be part of the future going ahead at the Melbourne footy club.

"I'd love to end my career a one-club player, and I anticipate that will be the case."

Like Hall, Akermanis or Crameri?

I guess big fish like Luke Delaney, Shane Savage or Trent Dennis-Lane don't come up every day

yeh remind me the list of clubs lining up to get hall or akermanis? crameria is hardly a player of note either.

players you mentioned are hardly players of note either. but they did have other clubs chasing them. even TDL