Let's talk Rugby

Remove this Banner Ad

If Ken is really "in pursuit of mastery" he could do worse then study sides that have got close. New Zealand's rugby union side is pretty damn good at rugby. I've been getting into rugby with the World Cup and all and although I'm no expert at all I think there's a lot to learn from the All Blacks.

The Guardian had an interview with retiring star Dan Carter that I found quite a good read.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/bl...re-will-always-be-bright-in-new-zealand-rugby

This excerpt reminded me of the story of Ken and the toilet roll...

Humility, as Carter sees it, is the key to what has made the All Blacks such an unstoppable machine of sporting excellence. “After every Test match we play, no one leaves until the changing room is spotless, just like it was when we walked in,” he explains, by way of example. “You see guys who’ve played over 100 Test matches taking 10 minutes at the end of a bruising game to pick up rubbish. Little things like that make a huge difference.”

New Zealand Rugby benefits most from the fact no-one else on the planet takes it as seriously as they do.

In England, Scotland, France, Australia, Argentina and South Africa the sport is subordinate to other codes and therefore suffers from significant talent drain. In New Zealand it's a religion.

So while it's obvious the All-Blacks run a tight ship, they've never gotten close to facing the likes of England or Australia's fullest potential.

New Zealand Rugby benefits most from the fact no-one else on the planet takes it as seriously as they do.

In England, Scotland, France, Australia, Argentina and South Africa the sport is subordinate to other codes and therefore suffers from significant talent drain. In New Zealand it's a religion.

So while it's obvious the All-Blacks run a tight ship, they've never gotten close to facing the likes of England or Australia's fullest potential.