Andyt30

Aug 15, 2005
Wendouree
Miami Dolphins, Heathcote Saints
Hey all i saqw on shepparton online MFL Appeal against Rumbalara has been dismissed so Rumbalara will be playing mfl in 2006 :)
Rumbalara will begin its search for a full-time coach immediately after it was all but confirmed yesterday the club would play in Murray Football League next year.

Rumbalara's switch to the MFL now appears a fait accompli after the move was again endorsed by the game's governing body.

The Victorian Country Football League has rejected MFL's second appeal against Rumbalara's clearance application, effectively green-lighting the transfer. It (Rumbalara's move) looks done and dusted," Murray league general manager Wayne Burrows said.

"We're waiting for official notification from the VCFL, but we've been told the appeal was dismissed.

"The decision will still have to be ratified by our clubs at an upcoming meeting, but at this stage it looks like Rumbalara will be in next year."

Rumbalara president Paul Briggs said he had also been told the appeal was rejected.

Briggs said he was pleased the VCFL had stuck by its guns and placed Rumbalara into a major league.

"We're really pleased with our inclusion into the MFL," Briggs said.

"It (the decision) still has to go before the (MFL) clubs, but it looks like the formalities are almost over."

Briggs said the club would immediately start looking for a full-time coach to replace Alan Thorpe, who announced he was stepping down from the post.

"Alan used to commute from Melbourne twice a week for training and decided with us going into a higher league, he wouldn't have the time to go around again," he said.

"We've said previously that we'd like to get a fulltime coach on board and now we know where we're playing, we can look to fill that position."

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Kilmore, Broadford, Yea, Calder
That news item was posted already - word has it Adrian Hickmott was appointed coach of Rumba today.

Andyt30

Aug 15, 2005
Wendouree
well i didn't see it :p so did it incase it wasn't i;ve seen people do similar on other forums

Andyt30

Aug 15, 2005
Wendouree
isn;t it easier to start new thread for the news to make it easier for people to find ? makes hell of a lot of scence to me :D

bmwofoz

Sep 22, 2005
Right side of the Yarra
Is that Adrian Hickmott who played for Carlton and Geelong, if so, it will be interesting to see how he goes as a Coach.

I just hope that Rumbalara don't become the whipping boys of the MFL, but good luck to them.

Andyt30

Aug 15, 2005
Wendouree
yep and hes a good bloke too he's very nice i meet him a few times last time when he was back at his old home town of Horsham when he took Horsham for a training run
i'm sure he can make Rumbalara a force :) it will give them new sides and more of a
future then what central Goulburn was, i'm sure rumbalara should win some games. it willl take time for other clubs to now how rumbalara playes they got a bit of travelling. some clubs not far from each other eg, Cobram, Mulwala. tocumwal, finley Barooga all same area close enough like cobram & Barooga ,
i worked out 5 clubs that Tongala plays are 100+ thats one way, Finley,Tocumwal,Mulwala,BArooga & Cobram & Deni rumba be about the same
Rumba play deni twice,congupna, Tocumqal. tongala, mulwala
rumbva should be competitive against Tongala, Congupna, barooga, nathalia
most of them give em more of a challange :D same with Tongala hope they do well too no more bottom they be better of then in the Goulburn Valley. I Think Rumba would have struggled with the bigger clubs of the Goulburn valley. with alot of shepparton clubs .

cheers

Flat Track Bully

Feb 17, 2005
Nowhere near you
Manangatang 3rds
Andyt30 said:
yep and hes a good bloke too he's very nice i meet him a few times last time when he was back at his old home town of Horsham when he took Horsham for a training run
i'm sure he can make Rumbalara a force :) it will give them new sides and more of a
future then what central Goulburn was, i'm sure rumbalara should win some games. it willl take time for other clubs to now how rumbalara playes they got a bit of travelling. some clubs not far from each other eg, Cobram, Mulwala. tocumwal, finley Barooga all same area close enough like cobram & Barooga ,
i worked out 5 clubs that Tongala plays are 100+ thats one way, Finley,Tocumwal,Mulwala,BArooga & Cobram & Deni rumba be about the same
Rumba play deni twice,congupna, Tocumqal. tongala, mulwala
rumbva should be competitive against Tongala, Congupna, barooga, nathalia
most of them give em more of a challange :D same with Tongala hope they do well too no more bottom they be better of then in the Goulburn Valley. I Think Rumba would have struggled with the bigger clubs of the Goulburn valley. with alot of shepparton clubs .

cheers

OK...Rumbalara are based in Shepparton's north, about 50 odd kays from Tongala.

Adrian Hickmott has spent the last two years coaching Shepparton in the GVL for two elimination final losses...underachieved in 2005, was on the mark in 2004.

Unless Nathalia (reigning premier) and Barooga (finalist) suffer mass exoduses, Rumba has more chance of being competitive against Congupna, Finley, Echuca United and Moama. Remember they were beaten grand finalists in the second weakest competition in the Goulburn Murray region.

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Flat Track Bully said:
Remember they were beaten grand finalists in the second weakest competition in the Goulburn Murray region.

And what a defeat it was, as a matter of fact they've lost their last 3 grannies. Drew last year's then lost the replay by a kick to Shepp East, and got over run by the Mighty Yea Tigers in 2005. Hopefully Hickmott can get em to stand up when the real pressure arrives from the quality MFL sides. Any news on whether Phil Guthrie will hang around - thought had the CGFL survived he woulda left but now he'd be a big chance to stay wouldn't he.

Flat Track Bully

Feb 17, 2005
Nowhere near you
Manangatang 3rds
Doona2 said:
And what a defeat it was, as a matter of fact they've lost their last 3 grannies. Drew last year's then lost the replay by a kick to Shepp East, and got over run by the Mighty Yea Tigers in 2005. Hopefully Hickmott can get em to stand up when the real pressure arrives from the quality MFL sides. Any news on whether Phil Guthrie will hang around - thought had the CGFL survived he woulda left but now he'd be a big chance to stay wouldn't he.

How did I know CN was going to reply to that point...your letter writing skills are exquisite...

With Phillip (don't call me phil) strongly involved in the ASHE program I would be very surprised if he didn't...

Andyt30

Aug 15, 2005
Wendouree
but stranger things can happen. i;ve seen bottorm sides beat top sides
have ya noticed Picola & District have made some changes to the draw not sure
if its the official draw or a Draft if its a draft its their 2nd draft, i printed it out yesterday and look today and some have changed except a few they bugged up
ex

Andyt30

Aug 15, 2005
Wendouree
i saw one error or 2 eg Mathoura v Waaia says being played at Katunga as if i don;t think so someone there made a bobo forgot to fix it so letd hope its only a draft they might goto the wrong town ;)

ALSO Where dose Dookie united play do they have their own ground out at dookie or do they Play in sheppartoN ? cheers

Flat Track Bully

Feb 17, 2005
Nowhere near you
Manangatang 3rds
Andyt30 said:
i saw one error or 2 eg Mathoura v Waaia says being played at Katunga as if i don;t think so someone there made a bobo forgot to fix it so letd hope its only a draft they might goto the wrong town ;)

ALSO Where dose Dookie united play do they have their own ground out at dookie or do they Play in sheppartoN ? cheers

Dookie United- a merger of Dookie and Dookie College- play at Dookie.

Picturesque little ground, that has a fantastic surface

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Andyt30 said:

Ripper ground up at Dookie, changerooms remind me of the old Rushy rooms of the 80's, but I think they're in the process of doing it all up.

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Flat Track Bully said:
How did I know CN was going to reply to that point...your letter writing skills are exquisite...With Phillip (don't call me phil) strongly involved in the ASHE program I would be very surprised if he didn't...

Can't remeber writing to you FTB, must have me mixed up with someone else. Was thinking today with Hickmott, PHILLIP Guthrie, Briggs, Higgins, Firebrace, Nunga Edwards and Thorpey (if he stays) Rumba might surprise a few. Will need some stronger defenders though.

Flat Track Bully

Feb 17, 2005
Nowhere near you
Manangatang 3rds
Doona2 said:
Can't remeber writing to you FTB, must have me mixed up with someone else. Was thinking today with Hickmott, PHILLIP Guthrie, Briggs, Higgins, Firebrace, Nunga Edwards and Thorpey (if he stays) Rumba might surprise a few. Will need some stronger defenders though.

I was talking about letters to newspapers, but that may have been your other (footballing) half...

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Flat Track Bully said:
I was talking about letters to newspapers, but that may have been your other (footballing) half...

Sorry mate me brains a bit fried, the young bloke has been screaming sometonight. Yeah that was me, have written 3-4 to Shepp News since August that never got a run. Spewing they printed that one when they did, it was a touch outdated after the decisions 3 days prior. Guess Im just passionate about footy in our local area

Harry

Feb 22, 2001
Doona2 said:
Ripper ground up at Dookie, changerooms remind me of the old Rushy rooms of the 80's, but I think they're in the process of doing it all up.
Yep, there's a lot of work happening there at the moment. New rooms, upgrade of the netball courts and relocation of the tennis courts from Mary Street to combine all sports facilities at the showgound.

Come up for the Dookie Show next Saturday and check out the progress.

Andyt30

Aug 15, 2005
Wendouree
this year i did a game at murchison i'm a goal umpire for the wimmera Umpires association and i rang Goulburn Valley umpires and they were quite happy for me to do a game as we had no games that weekend, i did murchison v Stanhope at Murchison very nice set up by the river reminds me of Dimboola near the wimmera river ;) gets cold there
most of the umpire rooms are small not many have enough room most made when it was just the one umpire system, thats one thing they forgot when they build or extend their building its the umpires room buggers , when we do games at Brim we have to use the secretary office too has a door into the Umpires room , Horsham city oval when horsham playes at home we use the big room when horsham united play their we use the other room. Horsham & Horsham United hate each other they don;t let united use their clubrooms qand canteen etc

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Flat Track Bully said:
How did I know CN was going to reply to that point...your letter writing skills are exquisite....

I did spend four years covering sport for the local papers and would love to get back into it FTB if you have any contacts!!!

Joe Mama

Apr 5, 2001
Everywhere you want to be
Brisbane Lions
Mernda, Murch/Toolamba, Man City
You're right, our (Murchison's) Umpires Room (including our changerooms & canteen) was built in 1960 when we had just one umpire and the boundary & goal umpiring was done by the competing clubs, and they're a bit cramped, but we're trying to get new one's built underneath our new Scoreboard/Timekeepers Box, which should be a bit better for you.

Andy, i'm glad you liked our ground, it's got a great surface, four top cricket pitches, plenty of room for parking and is one of the best grounds in the district.

But, back to our main point, Rumbalara won't be a whipping boy in the Murray League (especially now that they've got Adrian Hickmott on board, and few key recruits as well), but I couldn't see them playing in the Grand Final with the list they've got, at least in the first year, but they will surprise a lot of people i'll give you the tip.

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Wayde Petersen said:
But, back to our main point, Rumbalara won't be a whipping boy in the Murray League (especially now that they've got Adrian Hickmott on board, and few key recruits as well), but I couldn't see them playing in the Grand Final with the list they've got, at least in the first year, but they will surprise a lot of people i'll give you the tip.

The more I keep thinking about this one, the more Im leaning the same way as Wayde, the boys from Rumba just might catch a few MFL clubs off guard.

Andyt30

Aug 15, 2005
Wendouree
Just wondering dose Murray football league Play their grand final at the one ground eg central to all clubs ? or do they share it around depening who's playing ?

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Winmar rumours quashed

By Mark Brown

November 2 2005
Shepparton News

Rumbalara president Paul Briggs has scotched rumours his club has signed former St Kilda star Nicky Winmar.
"No, that's not the case," Briggs said yesterday.

"We spoke to Nicky about the possibility of coaching us when the position was open, but that's it. We haven't signed him to play."

The rumour mill has been working overtime in recent days with suggestions Winmar would don the Rumbalara jumper in 2006 and lead the club's assault on the Murray Football League.

Winmar is widely regarded as one of the best indigenous players to ever grace the football field, twice winning St Kilda's best and fairest count.

Briggs said the club would sit down with new coach and former Carlton hard-nut Adrian Hickmott this week to discuss its recruiting plan.

Briggs suggested the emphasis would lie with signing a specialist ruckman and key defenders.

"It looks like we will retain all our list from this year," he said.

"We probably need a couple of key defenders and a ruckman.

"Clinton Edwards (ruckman) played a couple of games with us this year, so whether we look at getting him across full-time. We'll just wait and see."

Rumbalara has finished runnerup in the past two seasons in the now defunct Central Goulburn Football League.