Opinion Mick Malthouse

What is the next move on Mick?

• Sack him immediately; replacement coach to see out the year.

Votes: 192 48.9%
  • Let him coach out the year then show him the door.

Votes: 70 17.8%
  • Sign him now to give coaches and players some direction.

Votes: 81 20.6%
  • Not sure yet... still too angry to think clearly.

Votes: 50 12.7%

Just a few things Shandog, I never said McLean was a failure, just that many have used his recruitment for a first rounder as an example of poor list management by Ratts. I certainly don't think he should get another contract though.

Just because they knew Daisy wouldn't be right this year does not make it acceptable in my eyes, it almost makes it even more of an unnecessary risk to take.

The crystal ball argument applies to ratts as well, can't have it both ways.

I'm with you on most of that mate. I think the team built by Ratten had its deficiencies, but was angled towards the game style he wanted to play. In that regard, it was somwhat successful. There were a couple of years there that we were a competitive finals team, but ultimately the club decided it was the wrong direction. Hence the appointment of a proven premiership coach and change of a significant number of players, whether we can see why (Laidler, Duigan etc) or not.

The only thing I disagree with you about is bringing Daisy in. The club sought MANY specialist opinions on his injury and made an informed decision. Who are we to question whether it was correct just yet? As I said, the first year was always a write-off and all about preparation for 2015. The fact he has played so much this year (and started showing some good form in the latter half of the season) is a big bonus. A fit, in-touch Thomas next year will improve our midfield and run-and-spread significantly. That's what the club is banking on and since he hasn't broken down on the ankle this year when it was probably most at risk, it looks like it may well pay off.

I just watched mick's presser from yesterday, which I don't often do. I think he was very reasonable, made some excellent points about the lack of research behind some of the questions posed to him, and provided some good insights into the team.

I agree he was reasonable - but it was his way of moving away from crankiness that was purely a waste of time and energy over the last months.

The question is - why does Mick take it on himself to 'educate' the journos. What he probably doesn't 'get' is that these journalists are paid to get a story or literally create inches of print for newspapers or a few bites for video, they want a grab of positive energy with a smile that is ALL they want

- he could get by much better if he gave up on the coaching or expectations of journos and just had two or three pat answers after each game - a positive, a could be improved, a compulsory congrats to other team, and a little bit of cake to a chosen favoured journo for the day...

Simple really - his job in after game questions is to minimise aggro provide a positive but humble and cuddly face and move on.

I agree he was reasonable - but it was his way of moving away from crankiness that was purely a waste of time and energy over the last months.

The question is - why does Mick take it on himself to 'educate' the journos. What he probably doesn't 'get' is that these journalists are paid to get a story or literally create inches of print for newspapers or a few bites for video, they want a grab of positive energy with a smile that is ALL they want

- he could get by much better if he gave up on the coaching or expectations of journos and just had two or three pat answers after each game - a positive, a could be improved, a compulsory congrats to other team, and a little bit of cake to a chosen favoured journo for the day...

Simple really - his job in after game questions is to minimise aggro provide a positive but humble and cuddly face and move on.
You do realise the journos aren't there hoping to get the usual fluffy cliches' (particularly Mark Stevens)? Their editors want a headline. They're hoping for a Malcolm Blight type outburst about a player, or to catch them out criticising the umpires or some sort of out there prediction e.g. Ratts predicting Top 4 for the club. At least Malthouse hasn't openly threatened to belt a journo, something which was apparently considered less objectionable than Malthouse refusing to dignify Stevens' statements, not questions, with a response.

If journos aren't going to ask rational questions, they don't deserve rational answers. They are looking for the coaches to do their job for them.

You do realise the journos aren't there hoping to get the usual fluffy cliches' (particularly Mark Stevens)? Their editors want a headline. They're hoping for a Malcolm Blight type outburst about a player, or to catch them out criticising the umpires or some sort of out there prediction e.g. Ratts predicting Top 4 for the club. At least Malthouse hasn't openly threatened to belt a journo, something which was apparently considered less objectionable than Malthouse refusing to dignify Stevens' statements, not questions, with a response.

If journos aren't going to ask rational questions, they don't deserve rational answers. They are looking for the coaches to do their job for them.

I am not 'criticizing' Malthouse for being old school and expecting journos to have some professionalism in what they do and how they go about their business...

I am merely suggesting that Malthouse has better things to do - than become some kind of red rag to a bull story every week - about how he treats journalists and the media 'badly'...

We all know what journalists are - they wont change.

Management better hope Daisy has a fantastic 2015, because they didn't want to match the Crows' offer to retain Betts, yet 51 goals is twice the output from Daisy in 2014.

Or what?

Money talks and bullshit walks.Citing 'family' is just a more acceptable explanation for choosing to leave a club as opposed to 'more money'

We had Betts for ummm like ages, and where did his 40-50 goals a year get us? That the Crows thought he was worth $500K and we didn't is a needs based judgement call. The Crows loaded up with Betts and Podsiadly to compliment Walker, hoping to make a tilt deep into September. Money well spent was it?

We rolled the dice on Thomas who was a risk based on his ankle. He got through the year which is a relief, although his output wasn't fantastic. That said, even though he missed the last two games, hobbled through round 20 and took a while to get some fitness, Thomas ranked 4th for disposals, 2nd for marks and 7th for tackles.

My opinion, not fact based, is that a fit and firing Thomas is way more valuable than a fit and firing Betts.

also completely different scenario, kreuz was contracted and got injured , so thats just football, we deliberately went after a FA and paid way way way overs knowing what was going to be in first , second year back from injury. Do you get what i'm saying. Would you go and buy a car with dents and scratches dodgy gearbox but will get a service soon, for a brand new car of same type? no is that what you whispered, well that what carlton did.

Better analogy:

Carlton bought blue chip real estate after conducting due diligence and determined that it would take a while to conduct a suitable renovation.

Or what?
My opinion, not fact based, is that a fit and firing Thomas is way more valuable than a fit and firing Betts.

If he's back to his absolute best I'd agree.

Betts was a star for us though, and he's very underrated. It was disappointing to lose him that's why the Thomas recruitment MUST work out for us. Would be all too painful if it didn't.

If he's back to his absolute best I'd agree.

Betts was a star for us though, and he's very underrated. It was disappointing to lose him that's why the Thomas recruitment MUST work out for us. Would be all too painful if it didn't.

Never felt disappointed to lose Betts but would have been disappointed should have we lost Yarran, Henderson or Menzel.

Betts may have had a better year than Thomas but I'd take Thomas over Betts every day of the week. Anyway, it's done.

Had have Garlett had his focus on the job we wouldn't even be ruing Betts. Unfortunately though that has come back to bite a little......Pity.

I'm in this camp.

Couldn't rive a rat's arse how many bruhahas MM has with the journos.

His job, in my eyes, is improving our club ON FIELD….get that right and the rest will follow.

And I'll concede that there is a shiteload of off field stuff that goes along with on field improvement, but I fail to see how the coach giving bullshit answers to inane questions qualifies in this regard.

Micks got us playing competitive football against top eight t sides, imagine how we would go if we didn't have 8 starters out and a record number of pre season surgery !!

I look at the list and fair dinkum it's hard to spot a player who hasn't missed a significant chunk of footy since the end of last season

In the meantime we add four good players last year and hopefully the same this year and it appears the plan to is to keep Judd, Carrazzo, McLean another year at least so I can see the list running a lot deeper come the start of next year notwithstanding the likely loss of Waite and maybe Casboukt the latter though which is arguably offset by the arrival of Watson as a fwd

I'm happy enough with Mick. I was a Ratten supporter and thought he got shafted at the end of 2012, but life moves on. Saturday's effort with a B team like we had tells me Mick is lifting our bottom end which is where we've consistently fallen over. A preseason into the likes of Cripps, Graham, and Byrne, some smart recruiting, and hardening of resolve is what I want for next year. I don't see why we can't get it from Mick.

I just watched mick's presser from yesterday, which I don't often do. I think he was very reasonable, made some excellent points about the lack of research behind some of the questions posed to him, and provided some good insights into the team.

Mick then goes on to call Tom Bell...... Peter Bell:oops::D