Obstructive Sleep Apnea

So I have moderate to severe sleep apnea.

Anyone else had the same issue?

I may need CPAP or an operation possibly also.

Thanks in advance!

My partner, a nurse, suffers from severe asthma and sleep apnea. She's had a CPAP machine for at least two years now.

Any questions we'll both be more than happy to help.

Would definitely do the test. A prominent games journalist from a site I follow closely died a couple of years ago from not using his CPAP I believe. Was only 34.

Had a cpap for about 6 months. I hated it with a passion. I lost 22 kgs and it relieved my issues. Loosing the weight was tough work, but worth it not to wear a mask on a hot summers night!

my future father in law has this, he has the machine everywhere...

I don't quite understand it but my missus reckons I sound like I may need to get checked or whatever, I snore and at times she said it sounds like I am struggling to breath while asleep...
I have no idea obviously

My partner, a nurse, suffers from severe asthma and sleep apnea. She's had a CPAP machine for at least two years now.

Any questions we'll both be more than happy to help.

Looking for any suggestions/advice please

From what I've researched, I assume I have central sleep apnea.

I have episodes of it occurring here and there every so often, not frequently (unless there has been times that I haven't even realised).

I'll stop breathing in my sleep, and my brain will turn on and become awake, yet I still can't actually open my mouth and start breathing immediately.

So I'm literally lying there, seemingly sleeping, whilst my brain and myself try urgently to 'properly' wake up so I can start breathing again. Nearly the equivalent of a coma kind of feeling I suspect. It's genuinely awful

I've actually had it for a long time, can remember it happening from as early as 8-9 years old.

I only discovered that it was an actual condition a few years ago, but still haven't seen a doctor about it.

I'm guessing you'll suggest to see one etc but any other advice/tips would be greatly appreciated, including if you reckon it's central sleep apnea etc.

Cheers

Also worth mentioning that I'm not overweight, although I probably was when younger, so not sure if it stems from that. Any other ways to fix it would be much appreciated

Its a thing.

See your GP and get a referral to sleep clinic. Mention that you suspect central. It may affect where the GP sends you.

You will be wired up with magnificent machines and they will learn a lot about your sleep.

There are special machines that treat central sleep apnea (Bi level). Basic OSA can be treated by CPAP because your normal breathing just continues with the higher constant pressure. the only job of the CPAP is to hold your throat / windpipe open enough to prevent a seal. With Central, that wont help. The Bi Level machine has different pressure for exhaling and inhaling. There is also ASV, which can deliver a breath if you haven't taken one in a while.

Choose a mask that you think you can work with. You may have to persevere for weeks before you can sleep comfortably with it.

By the way, weight contributes to OSA, not so much Central. The weight just gives you more around the neck area to collapse in and obstruct.

There are also complex types of the disorder that are a mix of central and OSA. let the pro's worry about diagnosign you and finding the right machine.

Its a thing.

See your GP and get a referral to sleep clinic. Mention that you suspect central. It may affect where the GP sends you.

You will be wired up with magnificent machines and they will learn a lot about your sleep.

There are special machines that treat central sleep apnea (Bi level). Basic OSA can be treated by CPAP because your normal breathing just continues with the higher constant pressure. the only job of the CPAP is to hold your throat / windpipe open enough to prevent a seal. With Central, that wont help. The Bi Level machine has different pressure for exhaling and inhaling. There is also ASV, which can deliver a breath if you haven't taken one in a while.

Choose a mask that you think you can work with. You may have to persevere for weeks before you can sleep comfortably with it.

By the way, weight contributes to OSA, not so much Central. The weight just gives you more around the neck area to collapse in and obstruct.

There are also complex types of the disorder that are a mix of central and OSA. let the pro's worry about diagnosign you and finding the right machine.

Cheers, I take it you've had your own experiences with sleep apnea in general?

At the risk of sounding ignorant, are there any treatments that don't involve the use/need for a machine for breathing assistance? I guess I just find the whole concept of that a little daunting and uncomfortable.

Will book in to see my GP this week.

Cheers, I take it you've had your own experiences with sleep apnea in general?

At the risk of sounding ignorant, are there any treatments that don't involve the use/need for a machine for breathing assistance? I guess I just find the whole concept of that a little daunting and uncomfortable.

Will book in to see my GP this week.

There are basically two:
- surgery. It is rapidly losing out to cpap / related machines. It is usually regarded as painful, often temporary relief and really unnecessary.
- MRD. Mandibular Repositioning device. This is like a top and bottom mouthguard that you have fitted over your teeth. It pushes forward (repostions) the lower jaw (mandible) with the hope of creating that little bit of gap in the throat and preventing a sealing obstruction. Positives are it is a small easy thing you can fit in your pocket and slip into your mouth as you go to bed. Negatives are it tends to only be effective for lower end OSA. For central it is a pretty irrelevant therapy because the problem with central is the impulse to breathe, not the obstruction.

Right now cpap (and related models) are the main treatment. Positives are that it is drug free, surgery free and effective. Everythign else about it is just a matter of getting used to.

But talk to your GP about all the options. In this day and age in Australia (and australia is the world leader in this field of study - both machine and MRD) you are unlikely to be sent for surgery. but then, i don't know your situation specifics.... there may be details. let the GP work it out.

Before going to GP consider googling the "epworth sleepiness scale" and answering those questions.

Thanks basashi

Please listen to this info, Sammymoite . This information is better than I could have provided. Very good info. We are easily world leaders in this medical field. There's a lot of extremely skilled specialists out there that you'll have no problem in finding one that is right for you.

In regards to potentially sleeping with a mask. It will annoy you at first as I know that it did my ex. Once you adjust to the sound and find a mask suitably comfortable to sleep you'll have no worries. It's just that first initial adjustment period that causes issues. If you're a snorer then your partner, if you have one, will appreciate how much that alone is improved with the mask.

I can tell you that my ex and a couple of other friends who use one all say that even though they felt fine when they were awake previous to using the CPAP machine they all noticed significant improvement to their overall well being once adjusted. My ex claimed that it was night and day, and it showed watching her.

Good luck!

There are basically two:
- surgery. It is rapidly losing out to cpap / related machines. It is usually regarded as painful, often temporary relief and really unnecessary.
- MRD. Mandibular Repositioning device. This is like a top and bottom mouthguard that you have fitted over your teeth. It pushes forward (repostions) the lower jaw (mandible) with the hope of creating that little bit of gap in the throat and preventing a sealing obstruction. Positives are it is a small easy thing you can fit in your pocket and slip into your mouth as you go to bed. Negatives are it tends to only be effective for lower end OSA. For central it is a pretty irrelevant therapy because the problem with central is the impulse to breathe, not the obstruction.

Right now cpap (and related models) are the main treatment. Positives are that it is drug free, surgery free and effective. Everythign else about it is just a matter of getting used to.

But talk to your GP about all the options. In this day and age in Australia (and australia is the world leader in this field of study - both machine and MRD) you are unlikely to be sent for surgery. but then, i don't know your situation specifics.... there may be details. let the GP work it out.

Before going to GP consider googling the "epworth sleepiness scale" and answering those questions.

Thanks once again mate.

Personally that MRD option does sound ideal, but as you said maybe it won't suit my own situation, I'll suss it all out anyway.

I guess I really wasn't for the machine option, even though it seems the best option. I'm meant to be going travelling soon, so worrying about having/not having things like that is something that would stress me out I suppose. Not sure what I'd do in those scenarios

Thanks basashi

Please listen to this info, Sammymoite . This information is better than I could have provided. Very good info. We are easily world leaders in this medical field. There's a lot of extremely skilled specialists out there that you'll have no problem in finding one that is right for you.

In regards to potentially sleeping with a mask. It will annoy you at first as I know that it did my ex. Once you adjust to the sound and find a mask suitably comfortable to sleep you'll have no worries. It's just that first initial adjustment period that causes issues. If you're a snorer then your partner, if you have one, will appreciate how much that alone is improved with the mask.

I can tell you that my ex and a couple of other friends who use one all say that even though they felt fine when they were awake previous to using the CPAP machine they all noticed significant improvement to their overall well being once adjusted. My ex claimed that it was night and day, and it showed watching her.

Good luck!

Thanks for replying, yeah I'll be sure to look at all the options when I see my GP. CPAP does seem like the most popular of treatments.

I guess the Carrie Fisher news kind of made me want to get on the front foot with it! Been putting it off for a long time..

Definitely keep coming to bigfooty for medical advice

Waaay better than seeing a doctor

Note the multiple "see your GP" comments!

Someone talked about mask noise. I just want to point out the people's experiences are (while valid) based on the machine mask setup at the time they got their kit.

Modern machines are as quiet as office aircon. Masks have an exhale noise but in general, the newer the mask, the quieter.

Someone talked about mask noise. I just want to point out the people's experiences are (while valid) based on the machine mask setup at the time they got their kit.

This. I definitely noticed it with my partner at first. It's a foreign noise in a very familiar environment. Everyone that isn't deaf is going to notice the difference and probably exacerbate it at first. But it's not as though it's like a 747 taking off or even having a television on low volume in the room. By memory I'd totally forgotten about it by the end of the first week.

Thanks once again mate.

Personally that MRD option does sound ideal, but as you said maybe it won't suit my own situation, I'll suss it all out anyway.

I guess I really wasn't for the machine option, even though it seems the best option. I'm meant to be going travelling soon, so worrying about having/not having things like that is something that would stress me out I suppose. Not sure what I'd do in those scenarios
I have a MRD. Works a treat. No more snoring and waking up without air. It was hard to get used to in the first week but now I am totally used to it. It did cost over $2000 but was worth it.