Official Club Stuff Official Hawthorn Club Account on Big Footy

HFC Official

I see that the family gold 11-game membership cost has jumped to $943, which according to my mathematics is an 11% increase on the cost in 2014 for a family gold membership.

Why is the club increasing the cost of a family gold membership by so much? This appears to me to be gouging members.

Hi Dixie Flatline,

The Family Gold home game membership has increased by $45 from $898 to $943 for 2015, which is an increase of around 5% from the 2014 price. Priority One memberships are in very high demand with a waiting list in place for members to upgrade of join this category for 2015. Every year since 2008 all Priority One memberships have sold out by early November and as such a waiting list was implemented. The price increase has also been implemented across the other Priority One membership categories as well.

If you'd like to provide the Membership department with any additional feedback, feel free to email your thoughts through to membership@hawthornfc.com.au

Thanks,
HFC Official

I had my gripe in another thread about the increase to interstate memberships - I don't even get to see a game

Hi CouchPotato,

If you have any specific questions you'd like to ask us in this thread about Interstate membership, feel free to let us know.

Thanks,
HFC Official

Hi CouchPotato,

If you have any specific questions you'd like to ask us in this thread about Interstate membership, feel free to let us know.

Thanks,
HFC Official

Nothing - the stadium situation is the problem in WA not the hawks. Just wasn't happy that there was an increase when tbh at the end of the day we don't really get that much value for the buck - people in QLD haven't had a game in years. I treat it as a donation to help the club as I do for my nephews junior membership but the reality is that it could end up not being worthwhile if they continue to rise.

Sounds like there needs to be another category of Interstate membership for those states that the club never plays in. For me at least I get the pleasure of driving 5 hours to Sydneys wonderful ANZ stadium once a year...

I believe there is a no frills interstate membership, but will need to look it up to see what it offers

Hi Dixie Flatline,

The Family Gold home game membership has increased by $45 from $898 to $943 for 2015, which is an increase of around 5% from the 2014 price. Priority One memberships are in very high demand with a waiting list in place for members to upgrade of join this category for 2015. Every year since 2008 all Priority One memberships have sold out by early November and as such a waiting list was implemented. The price increase has also been implemented across the other Priority One membership categories as well.

If you'd like to provide the Membership department with any additional feedback, feel free to email your thoughts through to membership@hawthornfc.com.au

Thanks,
HFC Official

Thanks HFC Official.

So due to increased demand for the priority one memberships, you're jacking up the price. Will there be any additional benefits for loyal members who continue to support the club for the extra amount being paid?

Thanks HFC Official.

So due to increased demand for the priority one memberships, you're jacking up the price. Will there be any additional benefits for loyal members who continue to support the club for the extra amount being paid?
Yes this is a good question.

Doesn't seem fair that those who were quick and efficient and got the P1 memberships before they were sold out are getting financially penalised so the lazier, self-entitled member who want to be rewarded straight away for their laziness can take advantage of the quick, efficient members who are on a tight budget, but still want to support the team in the big games.

I have to agree with this. Add to this the fact that my gold membership no longer grants me access to the Medalist Bar (?) behind my reserved seats (must now be reserved for Kennedy Club members - and is now always mostly empty) which made the $ worth it - and I'm starting to question the value.

Don't get me wrong, the flags are great and I love this club - but when we are no longer contending (god forbid), Im not sure I could justify continuing with the gold option. Just my $0.02.

It seems that the price has gone up due to the fact that the club is going through a really successful period so the supply and demand principle is being used. Does this mean the cost of these P1 memberships will decrease IF we do a Geelong and start to drop off and slide down the ladder as the bandwagoners will not longer want to pay for memberships therefore making the demand less?

05d.jpg

It's a legit question based on why the prices went up. Hawthorn, like every other club, has bandwagon supporters.

I don't see the Hawks reducing the membership costs any time soon.

Of course they won't.

I just ask because it's a weak excuse to raise the cost. If they expect us to believe that's the reason, we should expect the cost to come down as the demand lessens, but the clubs knows that they can put the price up to whatever they want and people will still fork out the money regardless of the value. As a result, the price will continue to rise yet nothing being added on to the package.

Yeah, because everyone on the waiting list is a bandwagoner/lazy... as opposed to those of us who, you know, weren't financially independant the last time gold memberships were available.

If you don't want to pay the extra, then please feel free to vacate your membership for someone who does.

Otherwise we'll end up with the same thing as the ALF/MCC memberships where you need to sign up in utero to get a chance of snaring a gold while a bunch of octogenerians continue to pay $30 a year for season tickets.

Yeah, because everyone on the waiting list is a bandwagoner/lazy... as opposed to those of us who, you know, weren't financially independant the last time gold memberships were available.

If you don't want to pay the extra, then please feel free to vacate your membership for someone who does.

Otherwise we'll end up with the same thing as the ALF/MCC memberships where you need to sign up in utero to get a chance of snaring a gold while a bunch of octogenerians continue to pay $30 a year for season tickets.
If you weren't financially independent to pay $18/m for a membership, then it's no reason for the club to penalise people like me, who was a low-working uni student who signed up immediately and made the sacrifices to afford the monthly costs.

As for the bandwagoners, I didn't say everyone on the waiting list was/is. However, there is a large chunk or part-time supporters who want the bragging rights of being able to say "I was there" for the GF, but don't care about the club when they're not in contention. There are heaps of them. If the Hawks fall away, they will too and won't worry about memberships and their names will be taken off the waiting list.

It's a real weak reason to up the price because the club's membership department will be well aware of this. If the Hawks fall down, then people will move up the waiting list. There's no need to up the price to get people to stop their membership renewal. No team is ever in premiership contention 100% of the time.

If you weren't financially independent to pay $18/m for a membership, then it's no reason for the club to penalise people like me, who was a low-working uni student who signed up immediately and made the sacrifices to afford the monthly costs.

You're starting to sound a bit like Joe Hockey - $7 out of pocket to visit the GP is only one beer at the local. Not everyone can afford/justify $18 a month for a footy membership, and frankly, I find your comment highly offensive.

I am disabled enough to be given concessions by the uni and schools that I went to, but not disabled enough for Centrelink. This means that while I was a student I didn't get any Youth Allowance, Disability pension, and with my condition, I was barely keeping up with study, so in terms of part-time work to support myself, I could only do one three hour shift a week, which equated to about $50. Take away public transport costs, compulsory student union fees ( and books, etc), and loss of all student concessions for the period I had to cut my study to part time, and things are difficult. Then add on doctors/specialist appointments to boot. And my medication, some of which is unfortunately is not covered by the PBS, which costs more than $200 a month. So, my part time job isn't enough to pay for my medication alone.

I'm sure there's other out there that didn't have to go through this but still found $18 a month too expensive to justify for a "want" as opposed to higher priority "needs".

All this aside, I would think it unusual for membership prices to stay the same every year. Cost of living is continuously going up no matter what you look at. And, check out any other club's membership - we get it pretty cheap, plus we get the bonus of supporting such a great club.

You're starting to sound a bit like Joe Hockey - $7 out of pocket to visit the GP is only one beer at the local. Not everyone can afford/justify $18 a month for a footy membership, and frankly, I find your comment highly offensive.

I am disabled enough to be given concessions by the uni and schools that I went to, but not disabled enough for Centrelink. This means that while I was a student I didn't get any Youth Allowance, Disability pension, and with my condition, I was barely keeping up with study, so in terms of part-time work to support myself, I could only do one three hour shift a week, which equated to about $50. Take away public transport costs, compulsory student union fees ( and books, etc), and loss of all student concessions for the period I had to cut my study to part time, and things are difficult. Then add on doctors/specialist appointments to boot. And my medication, some of which is unfortunately is not covered by the PBS, which costs more than $200 a month. So, my part time job isn't enough to pay for my medication alone.

I'm sure there's other out there that didn't have to go through this but still found $18 a month too expensive to justify for a "want" as opposed to higher priority "needs".

All this aside, I would think it unusual for membership prices to stay the same every year. Cost of living is continuously going up no matter what you look at. And, check out any other club's membership - we get it pretty cheap, plus we get the bonus of supporting such a great club.
I've never got a cent from Centrelink yet I could afford it getting <50% of what those on pensions got. In fact I earned less than what you claim to have made. I also have medical expenses. I Didn't make excuses, I made sacrifices and now I'm being financially penalised for it.

It doesn't matter though, people will always make excuses for why they couldn't get this and that. Hard luck story here, woe is me there. It doesn't matter what your story is, the club will continue to raise the costs of memberships because there are people who are waiting to take over your membership. When it comes to membership, the Hawthorn Hawks is a business, not a club.

I wasn't financially independent because I was a teenager. Once I graduated, I bought a membership. You know what hey say about assumptions...
Exactly the same for me. I wasn't always a Kennedy member (or even a member at all), as my ability to pay increased, so did my membership level.

wow, that certain derailed this thread a bit.

Anyhow, Hi HFC Official,
Can you have a chat to HawksNest about maybe updating their online ordering system to send an email when an order has been filled/dispatched? Someone somewhere must be looking at the list of items in an order, gathering them, then marking it complete. The action of marking it complete should fire off an email.

That would help people like me - I've been waiting for 3 weeks now for my Grand Final loot, well beyond the 10-12 business days as advertised on HawksNest.

cheers!

Are we seriously arguing about a 5% increase in the price of a membership?

Inflation bites every year

The clubs costs go up annually - look at how the salary cap rises every year

One of the reasons out club is successful is that we have the revenue to ensure our footy department is one of the best paid in the competition

Before anyone complains about the cost of Kennedy club or gold membership, do google the cost of equivalent memberships at west coast, fremantle, collingwood, essendon & Adelaide crows

We get a pretty good deal in comparison with other strong clubs