News PAFC & CHINA - The Celestial Frontier

Team China's AFL journey

Many moons ago I would say to my mates Port has to become a global sporting brand. My mates thought I was crazy and said no chance. But this is a great step with a huge potential. The PAFC and its fans have to understand that proper engagement with China and Asia is about the long run. The Asian mentality is thinking about the next generation, not just the next season.

I reckon its why Melbourne FC have stuffed up their Shanghai venture. Our man in Hong Kong will make sure we are in there for the long haul.

Many moons ago I would say to my mates Port has to become a global sporting brand. My mates thought I was crazy and said no chance. But this is a great step with a huge potential. The PAFC and its fans have to understand that proper engagement with China and Asia is about the long run. The Asian mentality is thinking about the next generation, not just the next season.

I reckon its why Melbourne FC have stuffed up their Shanghai venture. Our man in Hong Kong will make sure we are in there for the long haul.

The video posted by REH was produced by ABC International / Pinstripe Media (Kochie's company) at Club expense (offloaded to sponsors). It was shown on Australia Network immediately before Channel 7's live grand final pre-match transmission started at 1:00 pm last Saturday. This means the video was carried across the ABC's entire Asia-Pacific footprint. It was also shown in areas of China, especially on Shanghai TV.

I sat in the cavernous Sports Hall of the Hong Kong Football Club watching it and wondering where this 5+ minutes of film is going to take us next.

Team China had just showered and changed into their ISC polos with the Power logo and the China flag, having played an impressive match against the Hong Kong Dragons outside on the Main Pitch. I'd not seen the Chinese lads play as a team in the flesh before. Neither had Russell Ebert or Matthew Richardson. Seeing is believing in what could be possible. In fact, anything is possible.

Team China's 'international' match was the subject of an article that appeared on Sunday in the South China Morning Post written by Sam Agars - grandson of Merv Agars who played with Fos Williams in the West Adelaide premiership side of 1947. Truth, as always, is stranger than fiction.

Here's the link to the article:

http://www.scmp.com/sport/china/art...ow-their-afl-spirit-playing-hong-kong-dragons

Edit: REH, gentleman that he is, refuses to take credit for originally posting the video as I have claimed, and has shifted the blame to SuperEgz to whom I extend apologies and thanks in equal measure.

The video posted by REH was produced by ABC International / Pinstripe Media (Kochie's company) at Club expense (offloaded to sponsors). It was shown on Australia Network immediately before Channel 7's live grand final pre-match transmission started at 1:00 pm last Saturday. This means the video was carried across the ABC's entire Asia-Pacific footprint. It was also shown in areas of China, especially on Shanghai TV.

I sat in the cavernous Sports Hall of the Hong Kong Football Club watching it and wondering where this 5+ minutes of film is going to take us next.

Team China had just showered and changed into their ISC polos with the Power logo and the China flag, having played an impressive match against the Hong Kong Dragons outside on the Main Pitch. I'd not seen the Chinese lads play as a team in the flesh before. Neither had Russell Ebert or Matthew Richardson. Seeing is believing in what could be possible. In fact, anything is possible.

Team China's 'international' match was the subject of an article that appeared on Sunday in the South China Morning Post written by Sam Agars - grandson of Merv Agars who played with Fos Williams in the West Adelaide premiership side of 1947. Truth, as always, is stranger than fiction.

http://www.scmp.com/sport/china/art...ow-their-afl-spirit-playing-hong-kong-dragons

SuperEgz originally posted the video.

Fantastic that Australia Network carried it and showed it to many millions. I did suggest to KT and Richo that the club get a video of the Sydney game and splice in the Team China players as they Marched from the Mall, playing coach whowas interviewed before the game and the players walking around the ground at half time, and get Cantonese/Madarin speakers to call the game and give each player a DVD so they could show their parents and friends what they did on their excellent footy adventure in Australia. But this was on another level altogether.

Herewith, for any doubting tossers, from the 26 April 1947 SA FOOTBALL BUDGET (I was 87 days old) :

1947 Footy Budget low res.JPG

Port are working on playing in China... that's our next move......
Why bloody China ? , maybe for a couple of shekel's sponsership but that would be it . Even in good old OZ east Asians dont play it, not even 2nd or 3rd generation here , in the past didn't matter , Pole ,English , Checz , German , Italian , didn't matter by the second somtimes first generation born here the kids took up footy ,not going to happen with this crowd though.

Are you a real person?

its about business mate

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/arc...au-china-in-2015/story-fncagcd8-1226923154251

The Power is considering two venues on the casino-driven Chinese island of Macau for a pre-season game that will put Port ahead of two AFL rivals — in particular Greater Western Sydney — in finding a new source of corporate money outside the increasingly crowded Australian market.

The Power business lunch in Hong Kong — that returned a profit — not only opened connections to some of China’s business leaders but reaffirmed Port’s interest in taking a pre-season game to South-East Asia.

The sponsors of the game are very keen. Now we have to wait on the AFL to weigh up which venue is best for the game.

“On the sponsorship this game offers, we’re ready to go.”

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/arc...au-china-in-2015/story-fncagcd8-1226923154251

relevant thread

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threa...ng-in-hong-kong-16-17-may-2014.1061591/page-4

A _MG_7557.jpg B 1. China vs. Finland 16 August 2014 (1024x683).jpg C _MG_7433 (2).jpg D _MG_7433 (1).jpg E_MG_7439.jpg G _MG_7363.jpg _F MG_7056.jpg I _MG_7433 (3).jpg H _MG_7189.jpg

Photos taken in Hong Kong and at Ballarat by ISAAC LAWRENCE and HOWARD ZHANG HAO.

Thats what i said , sponsership thats about it . Previously was involved as a coach , selector etc., in local, intrastate and interstate junior comps, have a few mates employed in so called multiculteral programs run by the local state league . In Melbourne and Adelaide you may find one or two playing , a fair few Kiwi's and lads of Mid-East origin and a heap of Sudanese which is terrific , but so far as actually playing , Vietnamese , Chinese ,Malay's , nar not many and probably never will . Basketball , maybe Soccer but they are not really interested playing the heavy contact sports such as Rugby/Footy , even in Cricket there's many boys of South Asian origin , but hardly any South East Asians unfortunatley.

There is a significant need to sit you down and talk economics, business opportunities and the net work of the PAFC :D

LR REH & others It should be noted there are a number of returned service personnel listed in our side. ;)

Hope you are well LR :)

There is a significant need to sit you down and talk economics, business opportunities and the net work of the PAFC :D

LR REH & others It should be noted there are a number of returned service personnel listed in our side. ;)

I understand about the mulla , said it twice . If your looking for players ? , aint gonna happen is what i said and explained.

As well as can be expected fireboy - and thanks for asking - considering that one of those aforementioned 'returned service personnel' has been in town this week and is giving off no hint of leaving until he finds a certain lady he met during R&R here in 1970. As he seems to be making no allowance for the effect of 44 years on the female form, my guess is I'll have to start charging rent.

I understand about the mulla , said it twice . If your looking for players ? , aint gonna happen is what i said and explained.

Reading this as 'looking for players' to actually play for Port as part of this venture is the rough equivalent of expecting French chauffeurs through our partnership with Renault.

Cripes.

If your looking for players ? , aint gonna happen

'Looking for (Chinese) players' - meaning an international recruit from China for the PAFC list - is well down the order of priorities. In fact, it's bottom.

If we score even one out of China within five years, that will be a bonus.

To declare that it 'ain't gonna happen' - meaning never, and that's a helluva long time - is as unnecessary as it is pessimistic.
But that's only my personal opinion, and what the hell do I know.

How do you know people from Asian origin are never going to get into Australian Football? do you have the ability to look at everything that has ever happened and will ever happen in the space time continuum? because unless you do you simply can't make such a statement. The future is unknown and if the sport is marketed well who knows what will happen.

85937_2cf700694ffc0fa9ef2af932a1cc5f97.jpg

GET EM WAZZA!

How do you know people from Asian origin are never going to get into Australian Football? do you have the ability to look at everything that has ever happened and will ever happen in the space time continuum? because unless you do you simply can't make such a statement. The future is unknown and if the sport is marketed well who knows what will happen.
In the last 40 or so years , since Asian imigration really got going , theres been heaps of these kids born here that one would have expected to join the Aussie rules playing ranks , but alas hasn't and won't happen unfortunatley . The soccer mob rave on about the growth in their sport localy , the major growth in that sport is a massive influx of girls paticipating , and a lot can be explained as , well ... a change in demographics .

Peter Bell (adopted Korean) went okay.

And who could remember Sudjai Cook.

And Danny Seow and prob a few more , but really an extremely small percentage , i just hope the money spent on these ventures are'nt wasted.

i think, clearly, you're fixated on your tangent ... pushing the barrow of "lack of asians playing football" ... that you've ignored whats been said by other posters in this thread

ie note - NO ONE in this thread has said this was our primary objective

i think, clearly, you're fixated on your tangent ... pushing the barrow of "lack of asians playing football" ... that you've ignored whats been said by other posters in this thread

ie note - NO ONE in this thread has said this was our primary objective
I thought that was one of the objectives ? , and what fixation are you on about , its a crying shame they dont play the great game , but reaqlly no skin of my nose.