Food/Supplements Paleo Diet

You can see when somebody is fat. Don't be stupid.

The show isn't too bad. Many of the principles are good. Not factory farming animals, using organic farming techniques. Cooking from scratch.

Should have called it low-carb cooking or something like that. "I quit sugar" would have millions of viewers :p
This.

Would actually love some of that roast chook they had from a proper farm, I refuse to eat the s**t they sell at the supermarket anymore. The sussex I'm trying to breed are supposed to be decent eating, might have to look at giving any extra roosters to this old bloke I know to slaughter them for us.

http://www.iflscience.com/health-an...sumption-and-increased-cancer-risk-identified

Red meat hey? Last time I ate some lamb I felt weird for a few days. Could have been something else in it though, it was a shop curry.

Perhaps the healthy fats are more the key to being paleo and not the protein rich meats. On the paleo way they try to emphasise eating the offal.

(Trying to keep an open mind)

By the way guys make sure you watch paleo way while it is still on the commercialised tv streaming service.

https://au.tv.yahoo.com/plus7/the-paleo-way/episodes/

Was disappointed, took until nearly the end of the second episode for activated almonds to appear :D

Seriously though, it's a good show. Seems to be pretty low on the preachy-ness, and Evans doesn't seem like too much of a w**ker (just comes across as a bit of a NTTAWWT more than anything else TBH). Lots of nice food ideas.

He doesn't seem gay when he's busy flirting with that naturopath every second ep - the air is thick with sexual tension.

His Fiancee is very, very hot, so hot i wish i had his gayness.
978168-58477776.jpg

The Bulletproof convo strayed well into paleo, so I'll summarise it here:

God only knows what you're doing to yourself following the paleo fad: it has not been studied. Ever.

None of the grandiose claims have been properly tested. The idea itself comes from the 1960's.

It is cobbled together from a number of cherry-picked studies, many of which have too few subjects to be meaningful. Every time you expand the studies to a statistically viable number of subjects with proper controls, paleo and other fad diets go away.

Huge claims are being made and money spent hand over fist on associated flim-flam based on... no scientific evidence whatsoever, and claims about human evolution that are demonstrably wrong.

The most support for paleo comes from people selling paleo-related fluff like cookbooks etc.

The core problem is the idea that humans (and their bacterial passengers) have not evolved in 50,000 years.

I can't tell you how utterly bad this idea is.

This is akin to Young Earth Creationism. It's that bad. Maybe worse. Maybe as bad as breatharianism, but probably not because at least with paleo you eat food.

Along with this, the idea that grains and legumes as a food source are less than 10,000 years old. This claim has evidence against it, but none in its favour.

It also assumes that the diet of Paleolithic humans was homogeneous. Evidence shows this is not true. Hunter-gatherers had varied diets depending on their local environment and food availability. Some ate mostly fish (and still do), others ate red meat, vegetables and grains but no fish. Almost all of these vegetables would be completely different today than they were tens of thousands of years ago. Many no longer exist, many new strains of vegetables have been bred.

Going paleo? I hope you don't eat corn. It didn't exist as a big juicy vegetable in the paleolithic. Back then it was basically grass, baby! GRASS!

We have evolved to consume dairy if we want, with a few exceptions. We can process lactose fine in moderation.

(Like too much sucrose, too much lactose at a time can cause some to go undigested and ferment in the gut causing pain and bloating.)

The wild hairy man, lean and agile and impossibly fit, with a healthy heart that can pump forever, is a myth. It has been harnessed by marketers to sell stuff.

the logic behind the Paleo diet fails in several ways: by making apotheosis of one particular slice of our evolutionary history; by insisting that we are biologically identical to stone age humans; and by denying the benefits of some of our more modern methods of eating.

Scientific fact* as it stands today overwhelmingly supports the following (condensed into a paragraph):

A lower-calorie, balanced diet (fruit, veggies, meat, nuts, dairy, legumes, fungi, bourbon and coke etc) with exercise (and possibly meditation) shits all over anything else, to use evo's terminology, for general health and weight loss. Eat a little bit of everything, but not too much of anything, specially sugar. Exercise regularly. Manage emotional stress.​

Anything else is snake oil until proven otherwise in properly controlled scientific studies, no matter what your brother's sister's cousin reckons cured his pleurisy, allowed him to win an Ironman event, and beat seven chess grand-masters a day later.

You could be shortening your life as easily as you could be lengthening it.

But you already know all of this, and maybe even agree with some of it. Meh.

* The current state of knowledge as determined via the scientific method.

The Bulletproof convo strayed well into paleo, so I'll summarise it here:

God only knows what you're doing to yourself following the paleo fad: it has not been studied. Ever.

None of the grandiose claims have been properly tested. The idea itself comes from the 1960's.

It is cobbled together from a number of cherry-picked studies, many of which have too few subjects to be meaningful. Every time you expand the studies to a statistically viable number of subjects with proper controls, paleo and other fad diets go away.

Huge claims are being made and money spent hand over fist on associated flim-flam based on... no scientific evidence whatsoever, and claims about human evolution that are demonstrably wrong.

The most support for paleo comes from people selling paleo-related fluff like cookbooks etc.

The core problem is the idea that humans (and their bacterial passengers) have not evolved in 50,000 years.

I can't tell you how utterly bad this idea is.

This is akin to Young Earth Creationism. It's that bad. Maybe worse. Maybe as bad as breatharianism, but probably not because at least with paleo you eat food.

Along with this, the idea that grains and legumes as a food source are less than 10,000 years old. This claim has evidence against it, but none in its favour.

It also assumes that the diet of Paleolithic humans was homogeneous. Evidence shows this is not true. Hunter-gatherers had varied diets depending on their local environment and food availability. Some ate mostly fish (and still do), others ate red meat, vegetables and grains but no fish. Almost all of these vegetables would be completely different today than they were tens of thousands of years ago. Many no longer exist, many new strains of vegetables have been bred.

Going paleo? I hope you don't eat corn. It didn't exist as a big juicy vegetable in the paleolithic. Back then it was basically grass, baby! GRASS!

We have evolved to consume dairy if we want, with a few exceptions. We can process lactose fine in moderation.

(Like too much sucrose, too much lactose at a time can cause some to go undigested and ferment in the gut causing pain and bloating.)

The wild hairy man, lean and agile and impossibly fit, with a healthy heart that can pump forever, is a myth. It has been harnessed by marketers to sell stuff.

Scientific fact* as it stands today overwhelmingly supports the following (condensed into a paragraph):

A lower-calorie, balanced diet (fruit, veggies, meat, nuts, dairy, legumes, fungi, bourbon and coke etc) with exercise (and possibly meditation) shits all over anything else, to use evo's terminology, for general health and weight loss. Eat a little bit of everything, but not too much of anything, specially sugar. Exercise regularly. Manage emotional stress.​

Anything else is snake oil until proven otherwise in properly controlled scientific studies, no matter what your brother's sister's cousin reckons cured his pleurisy, allowed him to win an Ironman event, and beat seven chess grand-masters a day later.

You could be shortening your life as easily as you could be lengthening it.

But you already know all of this, and maybe even agree with some of it. Meh.

* The current state of knowledge as determined via the scientific method.

What if you don't care about the science behind it, but just prefer to eat this way and how your body feels when cutting out sugar, dairy, grains, etc.?

I agree about reducing sugar - but dairy and grains? Why? Is it the dairy and grains or is it something else? Are you losing certain nutrients without the dairy and grains? Are you doing damage with more red meat?

This is a fantastic blog article and sums up my thoughts exactly on the current way Paleo is described and marketed (and that includes Pete's marketing, who is mentioned but not by name)

http://re-evolutionary.com/2014/12/23/reevolution-of-thought/
And I see Pete Evans' site is still spruiking the current (and debunked) health fad, coconut water.

Why, when (like your post) his only objective is to troll. Why dont you go hold his hand and take him to the vegan thread, I think you will both be happy there.

I believe you need to look up what a troll is Bazzar. Seriously.

You are flogging a bloody long dead horse with the same comment over and over and over and over and over again.

I agree about reducing sugar - but dairy and grains? Why? Is it the dairy and grains or is it something else? Are you losing certain nutrients without the dairy and grains? Are you doing damage with more red meat?

With me, it's more about just eating what I want to eat, and what makes me feel good. I'm not really concerned with the science of it or the "rules" per se. Probably more inclined to take the piss out of that side of it more than anything else.

I used to do a big milky cereal breakfast almost religiously for years, but tastes change. Now it just makes me feel gluggy and overfull. I've never been heaps into toast or sandwiches, and I've always drank coffee and tea black, and I haven't really had cheese or pasta all that often in recent years either. Outside of that, there's not really a whole lot of situations where I'd be actively avoiding dairy or wheat anyway. I've never really "craved" dairy or wheat, and I don't consider them "treats" or "cheat foods".

I weep for our national IQ. :(

Always good to trim other people's sentences and quote them out of context...

With me, it's more about just eating what I want to eat, and what makes me feel good. I'm not really concerned with the science of it or the "rules" per se. Probably more inclined to take the piss out of that side of it more than anything else.

I used to do a big milky cereal breakfast almost religiously for years, but tastes change. Now it just makes me feel gluggy and overfull. I've never been heaps into toast or sandwiches, and I've always drank coffee and tea black. Outside of that, there's not really a whole lot of situations where I'd be actively avoiding dairy or wheat anyway. I've never really "craved" dairy or wheat, and I don't consider them "treats" or "cheat foods".
Fair enough.

Always good to trim other people's sentences and quote them out of context...
Where those not in the show? I wasn't attacking the people who mentioned them, just sad that this crap is paraded around.

Himalayan salt is a con. It has insignificant amounts of many trace elements, many of which are actually harmful in larger quantities.