Delisted #14: Slammin' Sam Lonergan - Has announced his retirement

Reckon a club like GC or Melbourne or Carlton could do with a Lonergan type. I think there'll be a few clubs interested in him and a second round pick would be about right.

If we are interested in Caddy and the club thinks that he can become a really good player for us than Sam might be just the one to go.

3rd round would be a win imo, anything higher should be snaffled immediately.

It's all subjective. If we cop major injuries to key midfielders (won't name any for fear of generating some sort of jinx/hoodoo) in the back half of the season then my call to trade Lonergan doesn't look so wise.

Having said that, my call to trade him is based on his age and to give the opportunity to someone waiting in the wings who will have another preseason under their belt by 2013 who may become best 22, something I doubt Sam will do at this stage of his career and at this stage of our list development.

Seems like nonsense to me. We've got no shortage of kids who are yet to get a senior gig at the moment, we've got the likes of Spike, Fletcher and Hille who are bearing down on retirement (Spike and Fletcher moreso of course). Lonergan serves a purpose if and when needs be - there's absolutely no good reason to throw him out on his arse for the purposes of "list development".

We've played our best football this year when Lonergan has been playing well. Coincidence? I think not.

I can't believe how many people just don't notice the work he does around the ground. "He didn't get 20 possessions! Delist him!" Unbelievable.

He has set up countless goals from his clearances this year. Behind Jobe, he's the best clearance winner we have. (not to mention his tackling and pressure around the ground)

Sure - if he could get his average touches up to the mid 20's, he'd be an excellent player. As it is, he's still an extremely handy player to have in the side.

In these days of contested footy, defensive pressure, and stoppages, I can not believe people are even thinking of trading a guy like Lonergan.

Oh, and lol @ the post above saying that Browne and Lee coming back means we don't need Lonergan anymore.... yeah, great thinking. Let's trade a guy who has proven he CAN play excellent football at AFL level because we've got 2 guys who haven't even proven themselves at VFL level waiting in the wings. Great thinking. :thumbsu: :rolleyes:
He's been below par in 4 of the last 5 weeks. That puts him on the chopping block at selection this week.
The fact he's had similarly bad (droppable) spells every year he's been here means that, yep, for a 25-26yo guy they will happily take the punt there's something better out there.

We can all see what he does well when he does it, we all know what he adds when he's playing well, but he isn't.

Seems like nonsense to me. We've got no shortage of kids who are yet to get a senior gig at the moment, we've got the likes of Spike, Fletcher and Hille who are bearing down on retirement (Spike and Fletcher moreso of course). Lonergan serves a purpose if and when needs be - there's absolutely no good reason to throw him out on his arse for the purposes of "list development".

How does Lonergan cover for the departure of Hille or Fletcher? Spike.... well he's behind Lonergan anyway imo.

And who's to say someone else wouldn't grab their chance and perform a better role for the team than Lonergan if presented with the opportunity, someone that isn't so 1 dimensional? Not to mention the freeing up of cap space we can use to keep anyone deemed best 22 who could otherwise go elsewhere.

I've said my piece and won't comment any further, I've beat this drum for a couple of days. It's an opinion and depending on who you talk to it is right or wrong.

And who's to say someone else wouldn't grab their chance and perform a better role for the team than Lonergan if presented with the opportunity, someone that isn't so 1 dimensional? Not to mention the freeing up of cap space we can use to keep anyone deemed best 22 who could otherwise go elsewhere.

Who's to say that they would? But then I'm more of a "bird in the hand" kind of person.

As for cap space, I'm not sure how much damage we'd do with the $2.50 we're giving Sammy at the moment. He can't be getting paid more than he's worth, surely.

If there's a kid that we've got who would do what Lonergan does better, there's the VFL for them to prove it in, and ample opportunity to demand selection. Just shoving them into the senior side and twiddling our thumbs until they do something is a terrific way to lose games. It sounds dangerously like the "youth policy" lunacy that has hamstrung a few clubs.

Prismall is far better than Lonergan, cleaner and better skills and was starting to play good football when he did his knee...hopefully he can get his hammy right and push Lonergan out of the 22.

Haha, don't know where to start with this post. Different players, Prismall had average awareness and decision making skills before injury (for an outside player), Lonergan quite advanced in his specialisation (inside midfielder), yadda yadda. Say no more.

Not sure if your reply was any better pal?

Clearly you weren't watching games late last year closely enough, Prismall was starting to earn his own football and would actually dish the ball out by hand or deliver it to someone in a better position... Prismall always played his best when used inside and out (Junior football, Geelong and Bendigo). Would much prefer that than Lonergan snapping it over his shoulder, 30m forward where the loose man would cover up or kick it straight to opposition. Yes he gets clearances but are they to advantage...majority aren't! If you think Lonergan is "quite advanced", you are clearly delusional my friend!

Sam is simply a depth player, he has absolutely no trade value and if we are to get Caddy in trade week I can't see Sam ever cracking into our best 22. I probably wouldn't trade him as we are short on inside midfielders at the moment.
If we were able to find a trade for him then I'd probably take it, however I wouldn't delist.
Obviously the club knows his limitation, otherwise he'd be secured with a 2 year deal.
He will probably be offered another one year deal for now.

Very interested to see how Carlton react to him today and how we respond. They are goin to try and bully us so we need to push back and not lay down like they did early on.

Carlton cant bully anyone they are too soft, and I will be wrapped if they get stuck into Lonergan because it will mean everyone else can just go about their business as normal.

Very interested to see how Carlton react to him today and how we respond. They are goin to try and bully us so we need to push back and not lay down like they did early on.
HAHAHA THATS FUNNY MATE, CARLTON BULLY US!! They couldnt beat up on egg whites, been evident for a while now....

Carlton and Marc Murphy had 3 1/2 quarters to get even...all talk from the softies at Visy Park!