Port Adelaide 2015

It's made in jest this thread I assume, Geelong have no reason to hate us, after all they did beat us by a record margin in the 07 grand final and we have the head coach of our AFL side that was an ex Geelong player (Ken Hinkley), and Garry Hocking is the coach of our SANFL side.

They have a very weak backline.
Not having a recognised name doesn't mean you're weak. FFS Alex Rance made the All Australian team and he's a clanger king.

Assuming Trengove and Carlile remain fit, Port Adelaide's defence will be fine. For mine, Hawthorn is still the premiership favourite.

We have improved a lot over the past couple of years and I'd like to think we have proven we can give the elite sides a run for their money but who knows where we will be come September next year.

All a club needs is a couple of injuries during the preseason, get off to a sluggish start, never really get momentum up and you drop away quickly.

A little bit of luck, players still have the hunger to win and yeah, I think we'll be top 4 come finals time. Then it's anybody's guess.

We could win it, so could probably 4 or 5 other sides too.

It's a long season, so much can happen both good and bad.

They have a very weak backline.

Points Allowed per opposition inside 50:

Sydney 1.26
North Melbourne 1.35
Freo 1.44
Port 1.47
Hawthorn 1.49
Essendon 1.56
Geelong 1.56
Richmond 1.57
West Coast 1.65
Adelaide 1.66
Collingwood 1.69
Gold Coast 1.69
Melbourne 1.71
Carlton 1.80
Brisbane 1.86
GWS 1.89
Bulldogs 1.95
Saints 2.05

Sydney lose Malceski and Richards and Shaw age.
Freo have Mcpharlin and Johnson aging.

4th best ranked defense and that was with Carlile and Trengrove missing games (FB and CHB) and a first year player playing 18+ games.

Pittard, Broadbent, Jonas, Hombsch all took steps up and should continue to with their young age. And we barely saw O'Shea and Clurey not at all. Not a weak defense on any level, just underrated.

12.jpg
Did you catch anything? lol

so corrupt, that officiating
No corrupt officiating, come on guys!
At Alberton we don't make excuses, we just come back harder next year!
Hawthorn won the 2014 Premiership fair and square, and we had our chance to beat them and we messed up, and it was our own fault.
So full respect to Hawthorn, and lets hope we meet for next years Grand Final, as that will be a blockbuster, forget about buddy, he can watch it on TV lol.

Port's backline is under-rated, when their midfield is doing not a whole lot the Port back line tends to limit the extent of the bleeding and keeps them in the contest so when they have a surge they are in with a shot still. Their vulnerability is their midfield, they are too hot and cold.
This. We need another KPD for depth, but even missing our FB and CHB during our s**t run in 2014 we didn't lose a game by over 30. And finished the minor round with the 3rd best defense behind only the defensively minded Swans and Fremantle.

Our weaknesses have been the midfield and forward line. The midfield to some degree has been due to our forward line. The lack of another tall has led to wide and/or shallow forward entries and easy rebounds at times. Ryder addresses that concern to a large degree. And whilst Walsh was a good coach I back Voss as midfield coach to be better at addressing the midfield having patches of leaking clearances in a row.

Best 22 (Port fans know more but just a quick stab in the dark) is Premiership standard thats for sure.

B - O'Shea Carlile Jonas
HB - Hartlett Trengove Broadbent
C - Polec Wines Ebert
HF - Gray Westhoff Wingard
F - Monfries Schulz Ryder
R - Lobbe Cornes Boak
INT - White Impey Pittard Neade

But who was Hombsch?

448407-7cc1d690-86e4-11e3-92e1-07d47f226b83.jpg

Will anyone stop this football club in 2015? Their list is formidable. They are not only strong in every position on the field, they have players that are more than capable on the sidelines who are ready to make an impact. Again, they've recruited better than most clubs this off-season without having access to top draft picks. They really are the benchmark of the competition and in my opinion will be invincible in 2015..

Gday Kingy, hows tricks mate? You enjoying BF?

10702137_712818302138508_1928824741432651121_n.jpg

This. We need another KPD for depth, but even missing our FB and CHB during our s**t run in 2014 we didn't lose a game by over 30. And finished the minor round with the 3rd best defense behind only the defensively minded Swans and Fremantle.

Having said that, that stat isn't so impressive when Trengrove missed games v Essendon at AO, Richmond, Melbourne at AO and Collingwood (decimated as well). Injured during Adelaide game. NONE of those teams should be beating you by 30, you might say Richmond but the weeks after they beat you they only beat WC by 17, GWS by 27, Essendon by 18, Adelaide by 10, St Kilda by 26 and Sydney by 3, and beating Brisbane by 25 the week prior - if they are not beating those teams by 30, they aren't beating you by 30.

Carlile missed Essendon, Richmond and Melbourne.

It's also a strangely selective stat to have mentioned numerous times - not sure of the relevance of 30..

As for OP, not sure where this has come from. Yes there is some hype over Port, but hardly enough to have a subtle dig at? A goal away from a GF and went and got a player who will fix a key hole.

Big thing is their forward line - Schulz, Westhoff, Wingard, Monfries and White aren't nearly as consistent as a unit as Gunston, Roughead, Breust, Hale and Puopolo.

If Port improve their forward line (might be to do with the consistency of the midfield throughout games) then they will undoubtedly be a huge contender. They are an exciting team who will be pushing the Hawks in 2015 and worthy of some hype, so as said not sure why a troll is necessary.

FB: Hombsch Carlisle Jonas
HB: Impey Trengove Broadbent
Int: Pittard
Depth: O'Shea, Clurey

C: Ebert Boak Polec
Foll: Lobbe Wines Hartlett
Int: Cornes
Depth: Moore, Colquhoun, Young, Newton, Mitchell

HF: Gray Westhoff Monfries
FF: Wingard Shultz Ryder
Int/Sub: White, Neade
Depth: S Gray, Butcher, Shaw

Question marks:
1. Will the 2nd ruckman in the side definitively help them given their fast moving long kicking to leading forwards game plan? (Ryder sounds great for this but any other ruck would be a burden and Lobbe will play significant time forward)
2. Without the ability to throw Trengove in to the ruck (unless they sub a ruckman in the last quarter) does the backline become too tall and cumbersome? Especially as Westhoff will be floating back more to give Ryder and Schulz room in the forward line. Not to mention that putting Trengove in the ruck seemed to turn him from at times a passive defender just doing a job in to a more aggressive player
3. Midfield depth - The starting 5, plus the bench and forwards who go in to the midfield is elite, but none of the names in the depth column impress me
4. Poise of the kickers from half back - Broadbent, Pittard, Impey, Jonas - under pressure. Good players, but they haven't had a lot of big game experience yet. Do you rob the midfield or Hartlett or Polec to fill that need and then who steps up in the midfield?
5. Defensive ability of the names above (besides from Jonas)
6. Overall depth, particularly of the talls at either end (the young players are all a year older and have some good reputations but haven't got much of a chance yet)

Definite top 4 side barring a disastrous year. But they've got work to do to get passed Hawthorn. It's not as simple as being one kick away in the prelim. Injuries cost them dearly and lack of depth to go a full season in top form (or more so to arrest a form slump before it became costly) saw them miss the top 4 this year. Next year it might be that the lack of depth sees them come up short in getting a home qualifying final, or they get there and suffer a couple of injuries and the replacements aren't strong enough to stand up in big finals.

As for OP, not sure where this has come from. Yes there is some hype over P

Big thing is their forward line - Schulz, Westhoff, Wingard, Monfries and White aren't nearly as consistent as a unit as Gunston, Roughead, Breust, Hale and Puopolo.

Not many are though! Hawks forward line goes HAM

As for OP, not sure where this has come from. Yes there is some hype over Port, but hardly enough to have a subtle dig at? A goal away from a GF and went and got a player who will fix a key hole.

If Port improve their forward line (might be to do with the consistency of the midfield throughout games) then they will undoubtedly be a huge contender. They are an exciting team who will be pushing the Hawks in 2015 and worthy of some hype, so as said not sure why a troll is necessary.
I'd say the forward line is the least of their worries. Remember to add Ryder in there who might not be a consistent forward but at this stage of his career will be much more effective than Hale who dropped away a lot. Wingard was inconsistent but he's a big game player. Gray is another to add in there. Might not keep his 2014 form but he's another who will make something happen even if only playing 50% forward. And Hawthorn are the only team that come compare to having the same collection of goal kickers from the midfield - Grey, Hartlett, Polec, Wines, Boak all love a running goal.

No one will beat Hawthorn in a shoot out of 20 goals a side. It's about getting that 12-15 goals needed to win big games and Port can do that for sure. As can Sydney (even though they rely on Franklin and Tippett to do so). It's whether they defend well enough and control the flow of the game to restrict the Hawks to a similar or less score. They did it in the first and last quarter of the prelim, but couldn't do it in the middle half of the game.

Will anyone stop this football club in 2015? Their list is formidable. They are not only strong in every position on the field, they have players that are more than capable on the sidelines who are ready to make an impact. Again, they've recruited better than most clubs this off-season without having access to top draft picks. They really are the benchmark of the competition and in my opinion will be invincible in 2015.

My question to you all is, can this football side go undefeated throughout the whole 2015 season? It's a scary thought, but after looking at their list from top to bottom, it is not unreasonable to suggest they will.

How can you a label a team as the 'benchmark' when they didnt win the premiership...they didnt even finish top 4.

The answer to your ridiculous question is no and yes it is unreasonable to suggest they will go undefeated next year.

No corrupt officiating, come on guys!
At Alberton we don't make excuses, we just come back harder next year!
Hawthorn won the 2014 Premiership fair and square, and we had our chance to beat them and we messed up, and it was our own fault.
So full respect to Hawthorn, and lets hope we meet for next years Grand Final, as that will be a blockbuster, forget about buddy, he can watch it on TV lol.

This is a very classy response.

And based on this response alone, if Hawthorn doesn't win it in 2015 I hope Port does.

Top 4 for sure, hope so too as they play a great style of footy unlike the s**t Freo and Sydney play. Should win a couple flags over the next 5 or so years.